Prefer without windshield or with windshield?  

171 members have voted

1. 1. Prefer without windshield or with windshield?

Guest Qhira-Qhira

Hi guys, kinda new here but got an experience to share.

Im riding a Vtec 1 with a Givi Windshield A756 which I bought at 219 motor shop, priced at 220 but I bargained and got a pair of handlebar grips for free. There is a very big difference in speed and as well as comfort. I tried doing 160 on my bike at SLE just after returning from JB without the windshield and it is true, you are like holding on to the bike like doing chin up, your chest can feel the strong wind gusts. I have a rear top box and that too shakes causing your bike to be unbalaced.

After getting the windshield, I tried doing it again at SLE without top box and the difference is tremendous. Your bike goes well, cuts through the wind at that speed without any problems but the wind is directed to your helmet. By the way, I used my fullface and despite that still felt my head being shifted by the wind. I guess riding with windshield does depend on individuals. Some like it for cosmetic reasons, some like it for its performance.

My advice is to go for your individual preferences and not follow the trend. Cheers.:cheeky: :thumb:

• Replies 377

Originally posted by William Tan@Jan 25 2005, 08:37 PM

I cant imagine some ppl can actually ride constant at 140+km/h withour a windshield on a S4. I tried, but like doing chinup for 1 hr. I took out my cos my speedo mount broke because of a fall. Now no windshield, damn kang kor.

I would just like to find out, how many ppl actually prefer to tour or ride fast (130-140) constant WITHOUT A WINDSHIELD.

130 - 140km/h without windshield still ok i feel

but the laz trip back from melaka i was going at 170km/h without windshield..and i can tell u... MY NECK almost BREAK ahh...(even though i pi chia)

but still for vanity sake.. i will not put windshield on my bike :p :D

14feb2007 till now -- fz1000s

finally.. i switched to YAMAHA

Originally posted by luvpuzzle@Mar 7 2005, 11:53 PM

but the laz trip back from melaka i was going at 170km/h without windshield..and i can tell u... MY NECK almost BREAK ahh...(even though i pi chia)

sia lah............ 170kph leh. y u go so fast?!?!?! chasing the wind ah? :cheeky:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12609/May%20Lai.jpghttp://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12609/May%20LaiLai.jpg

#K029

Eat To Ride, Ride To Eat

Eat To Ride Another Day!

Guest oddyseus

thts because u r a female rite...

female usually haf smaller neck to support against the wind....

compare to the guys.....:cheer:

Yesterday Is Already A Dream,

Tomorrow Is Only A Vision,

But Today, Well Lived,

Makes Every Yesterday A Dream Of Happiness

& Every Tomorrow A Vision Hope.

sh*t load of corny crap!!!! Well stupidity wins!!!

Guest oddyseus
Originally posted by I love Honda@Mar 8 2005, 12:17 PM

thts because u r a female rite...

female usually haf smaller neck to support against the wind....

compare to the guys.....:cheer:

:sweat: but serious man....neck pain lah .....knn wind push your head like go behind like that...o_O :faint:

Originally posted by oddyseus@Mar 8 2005, 04:00 PM

:sweat: but serious man....neck pain lah .....knn wind push your head like go behind like that...o_O :faint:

i agree wif tat... if u wearing open face helmet & riding fast without a windshield then :goodluck: but to counter tat, a full face will eliminate tat strong resistance. best to wear full face if wan to travel fast if not be prepared to strain ur neck :giddy:

sori off topic a bit..

any one knows where can i got the A770 windshield from GIVI?

saw it at 219 motors selling at $195

but onli in black colour..

any where else can i get it in blue colour n price

thnks

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

actually i m quite concerned abt the remarks so far abt the wind being directed towards the head after fixing windshield..

so the best way to accomodate is to wear full -faced...

n bend low is it.?...

any better suggestions?..=)

http://www.givi.it/prodotti/img/130_116_imgprinc.jpg

as according to the pics..

resistance should b pushed upwards..??

Got windshield is to break the wind or as ur pic suggest .. pushed upward ..

but then again .. if you head is way above the windshield and in the path of wind direction .. u will feel your head being shift by the wind.

For me ... I got a A770, riding is less tiring these day as you do not require to use more energy on your body to resist the wind. For the helmet, as other folks suggest, get a full face if you riding high speed. It make a huge difference, I wore a Nolan N101E, stay lower and guess could achieve even higher speed.

FYI .. I yet to try it ... but did try without windshield at 145km @ KJE ... super tiring less than 5 min ...

May 1999 - Aug 1999 - Yamaha FZR150

Aug 1999 - Nov 2001 - Honda Phantom 150

Nov 2001 - Oct 2005 - Honda CB400 Superfour HYPER-VTEC

April 2005 - Aug 2010 - Nissan Latio

Aug 2010 - Aug 2011 - BMW 320

Sep 2011 - Current - Honda Stream

Best way to achieve even higher speed wo getting super tired?

Drive ... :cheeky:

May 1999 - Aug 1999 - Yamaha FZR150

Aug 1999 - Nov 2001 - Honda Phantom 150

Nov 2001 - Oct 2005 - Honda CB400 Superfour HYPER-VTEC

April 2005 - Aug 2010 - Nissan Latio

Aug 2010 - Aug 2011 - BMW 320

Sep 2011 - Current - Honda Stream

Originally posted by LordDraco@Mar 23 2005, 01:46 AM

Got windshield is to break the wind or as ur pic suggest .. pushed upward ..

i can break wind without the use of a windshield :D puuuuuud....

neways, some windshields may have the correct design being similar to the higher end ones but they do not do the job as well. does anyone know if brand and quality is an issue when purchasing windshields?

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

Originally posted by Pierrot@May 3 2005, 06:50 PM

i can break wind without the use of a windshield :D puuuuuud....

neways, some windshields may have the correct design being similar to the higher end ones but they do not do the job as well. does anyone know if brand and quality is an issue when purchasing windshields?

find those that don't vibrate/ shake so much under hi speeds. if u cannot find one, go s**g kw*n* and fabricate some supporting brackets so they become more ridgid.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

i wld wish for a higher windshield though even when i have a windshield up to abovemy tummy level....that was my thought when i went to fraser's hill via rawang n back a couple of days later .....its can be a bit tiring on e neck even w nolan full face n ear plugs at between 160 n 180...e wind wld occasionally bump against ur head...yup...i wld vote for a windshield n a higher windshield when i have e money....windshield windshield windshield!

I ride at 70km/hr only...please please dont blow2 at me or overtake me dangerously....wait i change into Incredible Hulk n dont know why my little baby bike will always be ahead of u if u do that

i have tried without wind shield to thailand at constant speed of 170km. with a wind shield handle will vibrate unless u have a steering damper attached. neck is a bit tired thou, i am using Arai SZ open face helmet. furthermore there isn't an original windshield for S4 so didn't bother to get it, i find windshield is useful when RAINING! hehehe

how so useful when raining? the toopid car infront of u splashing the water wun kanna u ? :cheeky:

my rides!

2003-2004 - phantom TA150 (FU6637S)

2004-2005 - nsr150 sp (FT6387T)

2005 - cb400 spec2 (FV1511Z)

2005-2006 - yamaha sparkx 110 (FZ9???Z)

2006-2007 - cb400 spec3 (FZ9???Z)

2007- ??? - GSXR600 K4 (FK????R)

---------------------------------------------------------------------

once a rider, always a rider.

Originally posted by Yuizaki@Aug 14 2005, 12:53 PM

how so useful when raining? the toopid car infront of u splashing the water wun kanna u ? :cheeky:

Sorry, abit off topic here, since u mention abt splashing water? My rear box bottom always wet wet raining? Can the problem be reduced by having a mudguard or something? Anyone knows how much and where to get?

Anyway, I personally prefer to have a windscreen as I'm used to having one. Am currently looking for one to go with my blue super 4 spec 2.

bro, dont get what u mean leh. wad u mean by "My rear box bottom always wet wet raining?"

is it inside wet or below wet only? the exterior part

my rides!

2003-2004 - phantom TA150 (FU6637S)

2004-2005 - nsr150 sp (FT6387T)

2005 - cb400 spec2 (FV1511Z)

2005-2006 - yamaha sparkx 110 (FZ9???Z)

2006-2007 - cb400 spec3 (FZ9???Z)

2007- ??? - GSXR600 K4 (FK????R)

---------------------------------------------------------------------

once a rider, always a rider.

Originally posted by ROYTANLK@Aug 14 2005, 04:17 PM

Sorry, abit off topic here, since u mention abt splashing water? My rear box bottom always wet wet raining? Can the problem be reduced by having a mudguard or something? Anyone knows how much and where to get?

yes. problem can be reduced. can get the mudflap from LAB, about $10.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by Yuizaki@Aug 14 2005, 11:04 PM

bro, dont get what u mean leh. wad u mean by "My rear box bottom always wet wet raining?"

is it inside wet or below wet only? the exterior part

sorry bro! I mean wet at the bottom... think I typed too fast.. =p

Guest enHANZed

those who experience head banging even with wind shields installed ...wonder if u have ever tried this ....simply place your palm facing out in the top middle part of the wind shield ...u'll be surprised how quiet your ride becomes ....its like putting ur head behind the shield kind of feeling .

anyway motorworld has a new MRA adjustable height windshield for naked bikes. ..when i enquired its about $200+ with brackets ...but the height of it (even when extended full) is still about the same height as my current shield so i dropped the idea .

think the best shield is not the height of the shield but the curvature of the tip ...anyone got any lobang to add a curved tip to my current shield ?