Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Jul 7 2004, 01:15 AM

Did a tyre change at Excel, pretty great price yet properly done (digital balancing and taking care not to chew up my rims/swingarm). Dunno about the rest, it was my 1st time there and I'm satisfied despite being, self admittedly, a little too particular when it comes to how mechanics handle my bike.

I think how mechanics treat you and your machine is very much dependant on how you behave. If you're the type that appear impatient, walk off lim kopi or simply bochup, they will pick up the vibes that you dun really care or know enough to care. If u're involved, stick around and generally try to be helpful and observant, they will take more pride in their work and attitude knowing u probably appreciate it.

HI, may i know wat tyres u bought from them and wats the price?

thanks.. :thumb:

• Replies 1.8k

Originally posted by Kino@Jul 6 2004, 04:54 PM

From E-way.... u enter AMK by Ave5 then turn Right...... i think should be the first traffic junction (stating Ave 1) turn left... GO striaght all the way.... u wil passby many shops... hawker etc..... and u will reach that industrial park.. quite small tough.... EddyOng the signboard is in the shop...... Outside the shop that signboard is not eddy ong... becareful.. i frequent there too..

it call kim lee seng

tel 64515512

Originally posted by TinyBiker@Jul 8 2004, 01:19 PM

HI, may i know wat tyres u bought from them and wats the price?

thanks.. :thumb:

Pirelli DC 120/70 180/55 at $420. RobVanDam first told me about it. They carry Metz and Pirelli exclusively :smile:

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Jul 7 2004, 01:15 AM

Did a tyre change at Excel, pretty great price yet properly done (digital balancing and taking care not to chew up my rims/swingarm). Dunno about the rest, it was my 1st time there and I'm satisfied despite being, self admittedly, a little too particular when it comes to how mechanics handle my bike.

I think how mechanics treat you and your machine is very much dependant on how you behave. If you're the type that appear impatient, walk off lim kopi or simply bochup, they will pick up the vibes that you dun really care or know enough to care. If u're involved, stick around and generally try to be helpful and observant, they will take more pride in their work and attitude knowing u probably appreciate it.

thats what i do too and most of the time i buy the mech. kopi. :sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

Pre-launch Product

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Jul 9 2004, 12:21 AM

Pirelli DC 120/70 180/55 at $420. RobVanDam first told me about it. They carry Metz and Pirelli exclusively :smile:

yo what do DC stand for, how good it is anyway the tyres. My cbr400 is going to install that tyres new one.

yo any comments on K & T accessory trading pte

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11289/normal_DSC03435.JPG

Date: XX/XX/XX

Shop Name: Yew He^g etc.etc

Address: Changi somewhere lah

Phone Number: 63######

What service/product did you purchase?

Motorcycle

Level of service: Sales:7, Admin:4

Level of knowledge: 8

Level of value for money: 4

How happy are you overall? 5

What makes this shop commendable?

Used to provide excellant sales and after sales service couple years ago and always enjoyed introducing customers to them.However, things have changed and nothing works any more. Customer services had hit rock bottom with lousy attitudes and negative assistance to customers. Everyone seems to be in pms except for sales people doing their jobs which is common.Trade in prices are below market even if you purchase from them. Interest charges are higher then average and have to pay additional charges from processing of loan. This alone amounts to addtional S$500.00. Personal reviews aren't up there in the score charts and there might be some that still prefers them.

Originally posted by frost98@Nov 23 2002, 01:38 PM

haiyah mototiams in alexander village, none is good.

[catch me if you can]

hey brother..u are rite all those at alexander are blood suckers..

they give u good services once u have any problem..but after u fix them..sorries

there are no after services there...pay $$$ to get yr 3 cents worth of advises..

Ah Hai's...anyone been there? It's located near the fire station along Bedok North Avenue 4, flatted factories. Opposite there's a temple...

Heard his workmanship is superb but is very expensive...any TZRR riders been there?

be fast, but also be safe!

Originally posted by shah@Oct 9 2003, 03:05 PM

Date: ---

Shop Name: MotoMiracle

Address: AngMoKio Indusrial Park Blk 5032

Phone Number: cant remember

basically servicing n do the necessary thing

Level of service: 9

Level of value for money: 7

How happy are you overall? 8

share the shop with his father.... name kenneth.... quite young around late 20s.... im always very happy when he service or do my bike... cos can see n THINK tat he do sincerely n charge u at a reasonable price.... recommend u to go there.... onli thing his shop is very humble... so try it there... :bounce:

Date: Since July 2003

Shop Name: MiracleMoto

Address: AngMoKio Indusrial Park Blk 5032

Phone Number: (look in shop listing)

Regular servicing and repairs

Level of service: 9

Level of value for money: 9

How happy are you overall? 8

The owner (Kenneth) is sincere and honest. He was the 1st mech i went to after buying my TA150 (used). Asked him to quote for servcing and repair, and after comparing the quote his price was reasonable. More importantly, he takes pride in his work and is honest about things.

Originally posted by djugashvili@Jul 25 2004, 10:32 PM

Ah Hai's...anyone been there? It's located near the fire station along Bedok North Avenue 4, flatted factories. Opposite there's a temple...

Heard his workmanship is superb but is very expensive...any TZRR riders been there?

his nickname is 'kwan toh hai'

think u should get the idea la right

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Jul 7 2004, 01:30 AM

i disagree with you.

i practise this quite often but mostly to a mech that im familiar with

my reason for this is that i trust them to do a good job even with my absense.

afterall, if u dont trust him to do a good job, then why bother going to that shop for a job anyway ?

Originally posted by josean@Aug 5 2004, 09:38 AM

i disagree with you.

i practise this quite often but mostly to a mech that im familiar with

my reason for this is that i trust them to do a good job even with my absense.

afterall, if u dont trust him to do a good job, then why bother going to that shop for a job anyway ?

ah ha! I DIY whatever I can, so does that give u an idea of the level of trust I have in the local shops? Just give u an example, look at the typical mech with the dirty rag. That same rag is used to wipe anything from the rim to high tolerance interal engine parts or bearings. One grain of sand is all it takes to shorten the lifespan of high tolerance components, yet how many shops u see actually bother to use those industrial 'toilet rolls' or clean rags when carrying out sensitive jobs? It's not uncommon to see a bike with engine whipped open and left standing around for DAYS, trapping dirt with the oily parts.

Doing it right versus getting it to work, the result isn't always obvious immediately but down the road, the problems will surface. I can understand for some, the bike is just a tool, use for a period and chuck and dun really care about what's going on as long it does not need immediate attention (that's the attitude I have towards my family car, dun care as long as it runs and the aircon works), but for me the bike is a very personal thing that I have fun with every min and I want it to be 100%

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Aug 6 2004, 01:20 AM

ah ha! I DIY whatever I can, so does that give u an idea of the level of trust I have in the local shops? Just give u an example, look at the typical mech with the dirty rag. That same rag is used to wipe anything from the rim to high tolerance interal engine parts or bearings. One grain of sand is all it takes to shorten the lifespan of high tolerance components, yet how many shops u see actually bother to use those industrial 'toilet rolls' or clean rags when carrying out sensitive jobs? It's not uncommon to see a bike with engine whipped open and left standing around for DAYS, trapping dirt with the oily parts.

Doing it right versus getting it to work, the result isn't always obvious immediately but down the road, the problems will surface. I can understand for some, the bike is just a tool, use for a period and chuck and dun really care about what's going on as long it does not need immediate attention (that's the attitude I have towards my family car, dun care as long as it runs and the aircon works), but for me the bike is a very personal thing that I have fun with every min and I want it to be 100%

Well said paying them is one thing, if they get the job done well. But very often these mech will create another problem. Like adding scratches to ur bike or over tightening some screws or leaving several out as they think is 2pig of the big bike companies to put it there.

These mech who dunno come from where will just do a half pass six job as they have got no pride in their work. Any motor tiam in Singapore is lousy some are worst.

Yes they will use the same cloth, spanner, screw for everthing. When all else fails they use FORCE especially when it comes to fairings they will almost break all the tabs for you.

We have a sorry bunch of mechs in Singapore...maybe except those from BMW or Harley? Well just a comment but the rest don't even have a log.:nono:

After reading 17 pages of this thread, I must say I am impressed.

Just wanna ask if anyone has gone to Wing Yap Motors before? Its at AMK Industrial Park??

FORMERLY KNOWN AS DEATHINC2004

If you train hard, you'll not only be hard, you'll be hard to beat.

New MO Thread for Bike Alarms coming soon!

Any one been to Aik Leong Motors at Jurong East? Heard from my fren that he had the worst experience of his biking life there. Below is what he wrote:

I have been a victim of a totally unjust motorbike service incidence. I believe every rider has their own bad experience but the one I had was appalling and no rider should ever received these kind of barbaric treatment.

On 07-08-2004 at 10am, I was riding to work when I found out that my chain was loose, I went to AIK LEONG MOTOR CO at BLK 350 JURONG EAST AVE 1 #01-1227(600350) to get it tighten, a very simple procedure. I paid two dollars for it (shops usually would not charge for this but I let it pass) and rode off.

I found out later in the afternoon that the mechanic tighten the chain too tightly. When I went back to the shop, I found out much to my displeasure that the mechanic has adjusted the chain so tightly that it has spoilt my chain and my chain gears.

I complained to the boss about the shabby work, the boss retorted rudely," I just did your chain for two dollars, too bad if its spoilt, that is not my business." he totally refused to take any responsibility about his shop's work. He further added," So what if you are the customer, you cannot do anything to me!!"

I was very angry and told him off that he should at least apologise for the lousy work, he pushed me away rudely that I nearly fell and shouted at me to get out of the shop!!!!!

The boss of Aik Leong dare to carry out such barbaric ways because he thinks that I could not do anything to him, and other riders will continue to patronise his shop.

Learn from my sour mistake,

don't go to AIK LEONG MOTOR @ JURONG EAST

I hope those who have been there share their experience as I do not want to ostracize this shop because of what he did to my fren. If others feel that this is a 'black' shop den I fully support blackmarking them.

Originally posted by erba28@Aug 11 2004, 12:21 PM

Any one been to Aik Leong Motors at Jurong East? Heard from my fren that he had the worst experience of his biking life there. Below is what he wrote:

I have been a victim of a totally unjust motorbike service incidence. I believe every rider has their own bad experience but the one I had was appalling and no rider should ever received these kind of barbaric treatment.

On 07-08-2004 at 10am, I was riding to work when I found out that my chain was loose, I went to AIK LEONG MOTOR CO at BLK 350 JURONG EAST AVE 1 #01-1227(600350) to get it tighten, a very simple procedure. I paid two dollars for it (shops usually would not charge for this but I let it pass) and rode off.

I found out later in the afternoon that the mechanic tighten the chain too tightly. When I went back to the shop, I found out much to my displeasure that the mechanic has adjusted the chain so tightly that it has spoilt my chain and my chain gears.

I complained to the boss about the shabby work, the boss retorted rudely," I just did your chain for two dollars, too bad if its spoilt, that is not my business." he totally refused to take any responsibility about his shop's work. He further added," So what if you are the customer, you cannot do anything to me!!"

I was very angry and told him off that he should at least apologise for the lousy work, he pushed me away rudely that I nearly fell and shouted at me to get out of the shop!!!!!

The boss of Aik Leong dare to carry out such barbaric ways because he thinks that I could not do anything to him, and other riders will continue to patronise his shop.

I hope those who have been there share their experience as I do not want to ostracize this shop because of what he did to my fren. If others feel that this is a 'black' shop den I fully support blackmarking them.

wa........like ts also got??

tell ur fren nxt time go any where repair or fixing make sure check bike first b4 u go

nver i repeat nvr trust fully mech do.even from very gd shop

human do makes mistake lah

anyway thks 4 the info bro:goodluck:

juz got my 2b license, thinking of getting 1st hand phantom200. been asking ard for the past week or so...eventually narrow down to this NEW SOUTHERN MOTOR at bukit merah, quote me $5500 includes everything, three years installment at 4.8%interest the boss even throw in a box....prob is that this shop seems to be quite unpopular to bikers here...

how guys?...any comments, advice or better alternatives???

Originally posted by Brook@Aug 13 2004, 10:07 PM

juz got my 2b license, thinking of getting 1st hand phantom200. been asking ard for the past week or so...eventually narrow down to this NEW SOUTHERN MOTOR at bukit merah, quote me $5500 includes everything, three years installment at 4.8%interest the boss even throw in a box....prob is that this shop seems to be quite unpopular to bikers here...

Better u get a second hand first. Some phantom bike owners can maintian it as good as new and u get it for $2000 less.

Some more u are a new rider, will sure to have bike fall to the ground and will :cry: :cry: , cos u not use to the weight and power of it.

New bike tyres are new and not veri season. not veri safe for new riders.

Think about it. I saw a few good offer for 2nd hand bike at the classified. :thumb:

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

get the shop to put down on paper how they derive the downpayment and monthly instalments ... take some time to go thru it ... dun commit on the spot ... in general, some shops may include extra bits (admin fees, stamp duty, extra fees for bike loan, charges etc etc) into their computation w/o informing u, so make sure all the costs components are known to you before you commit ...

i dun think $5.5k includes insurance? if included, check whether its 1st, 2nd or 3rd party and whether the insurance used in their computation is for your age and experience. if not, they may ask you to top up later :giddy:

best to have an experienced friend around :goodluck:

Adventure

Getting lost is part of the fun

Aug 2003 - Oct 2004: Kawasaki KRR150

Oct 2004 - Feb 2006: Honda CBR400RRR

Oct 2005 - Jun 2006: Honda Wave R

Nov 2005 - ???: Honda CBR1100XX Super Blackbird

Akan Datang: Suzuki GSX-R600K6

Originally posted by erba28@Aug 11 2004, 12:21 PM

can tis be settled lawfully? cause i really tink the boss had gone too far

Hey Bro,

Better be careful before buying from Southern. Check and make sure what they say about the price is correct, dont later come out all the hidden costs. Buy new bike from them is OK, but check through the prices. Then servicing, go somewhere more reliable cos Southern mechanics except for the old guy is lousy. Lastly, dont kena screwed by the ACP(Advance Care package) package they are selling, when you accident, get a lot of nonsense to claim and you can see second hand parts on your bike. This from a frens experience.Better take first party.