Some of the problems I have always encountered when it comes to bike storage, even when I am storing them in-door, are:

1. They gather dust and dirt;

2. The are exposed to natural elements when stored at balcony, near windows: rust, UV-related discolouration, never failed to surfaced after a while.

I tried all bike covers. Most are ugly, pricey, and opaque too - I was shocked in many occasions to find lizards, cockroaches and other bugs getting comfy under the cover. An overseas friend even found snakes.

Frustrated, I started designing a cover myself and managed to get a manufacturer made it for me. This is how it looks like:

DSC04607.jpg

Some of the features I managed to attain:

1. Durable, one-size-fits-all. For bikes up to 180cm, so it suits motorcycles too.

2. Provides all the protections mentioned above.

3. Could be used on bikes standing or mounted.

4. Transparent. Users may now show off their beautiful, prized possession. And of course, no bug surprises.

This is how it looks like on some bikes:

Black_Cannon.jpg

White_Cannon.jpg

Due to the difficulty in making such a huge cover (2.5m including gusset!), and selected LDPE materials to provide adequate strength and UV protection, it must sell closer to $9 (if commercially made, in mass), for any chance to breakeven. Even this trial production order cost me more than $20 per piece, including shipping.

So if I may have your precious opinion, if you think that this product and price point would work, at least in Singapore, it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone, in advanced!

• Replies 9

This will only be useful in private property. I will not want to be using this in HDB areas which will highlight the bike or the parts itself.

Make it more prone to bike thief

This will only be useful in private property. I will not want to be using this in HDB areas which will highlight the bike or the parts itself.

Make it more prone to bike thief

Base on your observation, with or without the cover, your bike is still a target anyway. I grew up in an environment where I was associated with well, people that steals bike. And I can tell you that they don't need a cover to convince them that your bike is not worth taking. Lol.

Think protection bro, that's what this cover is all about. If you have a bike worth protecting, of course.

im interested leh... hahahaha can order from you??

haha for me my bike is open pod so must cover cannot tio rain.. but then i also wan show off bike hehehehe... so this is just fine...

hows the protection against rain bro....

Correct me if I'm wrong, but that plastic looks like the kind which will melt under excessive heat, which is kind of a problem when you think of covering a hot exhaust on a motorcycle, as not only will it burn through, it will also end up sticking on the exhaust pipe.

What I need from a bike cover (to park in the open):

1) Must resist rain

2) Must resist sunlight

3) Must resist exhaust heat

4) Must ward off attention

5) Must be durable

For yours, it seems only to be able to attain 1) because it's plastic. Also, for 180cm it's too small for a road bike. If it's 2.5m, it's should long enough.

You didn't mention the height of your cover, but from your pic it's too short. So if you want to manufacture one, you need to factor in the height of a motorcycle, not bicycle. Remember we got mirrors. I expect it to reach the ground when covered, else I would call it too small.

Shape of the cover is also a major factor.

In short, I think your cover is not able to replace a general motorcycle cover, unless there are ppl that is willing to use 2 different layers of bike cover, then yours would be a good outer layer to ward off rain, provided the size is big enough. So far I never seen my friends using double layers, other than myself.

if the bike cover can be able to unfold itself into a square box the size of a standard HDB bike parking box, Squarish tent and its like those container to put foods with structures holding the square form. and lastly it has those kinda chain locks that tied or chained to ur bike wheel incase wind blew it off etc.

i'd pay for it even if it costs 50bucks.

PS: the square structure makes it dun come in contact with bike exhaust so its a plus point as well. How cool is ur bike with a cover that can easily unfolds into a bike cover like those food covers. and on display amongst whole row of bikes thats kanna rain and dust.

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present