ST11 vs ST13 vs FJR13

jerryGSR

Which bike would u settle down wif? Why?  

163 members have voted

1. 1. Which bike would u settle down wif? Why?

Dear fellow riders, as i plan to settle down in 2 years time, its oso time to hang up my racing stuff n get a bike for touring......

anyone can spare or share wat they tink or noe abt the above mentioned bike?

can we start the ball rolling?

1999 - YAMAHA TZR 125

2000 - YAMAHA RX 125

2001 - SUZUKI DR 200

2002 - YAMAHA WR 200

2003 - HONDA CB 400 VTEC I

2004 - HONDA TELEFONICA MOVISTAR CBR 1000 RR4

2005 - SUZUKI GSX 1300RX HAYABUSA

2006 - SUZUKI GSR 600

2007 - HYUNDAI GETZ 1.6 FL

2014 - YAMAHA FZ 6 S1

• Replies 120

As far as i know..........FJR1300 are good at handling among the 3 bikes.It can travel up to 175miles(abt280km/hr) with slightly wobbling but as for the STX1300 it starts to wobble abv 200km/hr according to a friend of mine riding that.STX1300 is indeed nicer looking than the other 2 bikes.STX1300 got an fully adjustable rear shock but not the front fork..............whereas FJR1300 is vice versa. For FJR1300 advise to chg the rear shock,get soft easily oni got hard and soft setting oni. Well think abt it.overall for my opinion FJR1300 is a more value worth. U can look ard on the road which got the more model on the road?

Originally posted by Jerry7007@Feb 26 2005, 02:56 PM

Dear fellow riders, as i plan to settle down in 2 years time, its oso time to hang up my racing stuff n get a bike for touring......

anyone can spare or share wat they tink or noe abt the above mentioned bike?

can we start the ball rolling?

personal thoughts !

i will go for st13 !

frankly speaking ! i trust honda !

Guest william_tcw
Originally posted by SDR@Feb 26 2005, 04:51 PM

I vote for FJR1300.

I'll go for STX, hard fight for the title but i think the FJR are a tat too hot to be ridden....

And the engine gets a little too noisy after 2.5 yrs..

if wan the bells & whistles , go for the stx13 , if a normal touring bike , FJR1300 is the choice .

I rode the FJR once n felt tat although it looks big , it handles great . Sad thing is the analogue meters , when going at high speed , very hard to c wats ur speed .

how abt:-

-acceleration?

-pillion comfort?

-squeezing between vehicles during jam?

-the 2nd hand price of these bikes 2 years later?

-which wan more value for money?

1999 - YAMAHA TZR 125

2000 - YAMAHA RX 125

2001 - SUZUKI DR 200

2002 - YAMAHA WR 200

2006 - SUZUKI GSR 600

2014 - YAMAHA FZ 6 S1

Originally posted by Jerry7007@Feb 27 2005, 12:11 PM

-acceleration?

-pillion comfort?

i still cant take the fact tat FJR outaccelarate the 04R1 , but after comparing charts , its got more power output .

Nvr pillion b4 so dun know abt it , but the seat look plush compare to R1 .

Squeezing thru traffic if possible , but mind the side panniers .

STX 13 should be a bit higher in value cos more ex n its a HONDA .

prices not so sure liao .

New bike prices should be arnd 27-29k depending on age .

Originally posted by Jerry7007@Feb 27 2005, 12:11 PM

-acceleration?

-pillion comfort?

you shud be looking @ d 2 new models... FJR and STX....

End comez to wot u looking for in ur bike... u wan a plush comfortable usage n dun mind the wait... STX 13.... If u wan a bike which can take up, pick up n go..... sports bike capabilities and with at least half of a tourer abilities... FJR is the one...

Acceleration : none came close to FJR in itz class...

Pillion comfort : if ya pillion is small size and height... FJR is more den enuff... but ya pillion is of moderate size n height... FJR wud be abit of a challenge with its pillion pegs higher up n closer to the panniers..... Big size pillion no nid to elaborate... Thus, STX 13 comez up tops in this.... (Put u buy a bike for d pillion or for urself??? :cheeky:

Squeezing betw jams : Though STX 13 is somewhat slightly less wide den ST11.. squeezing betw jams is still a challenge... considering the cars in spore aint getting smaller.... But i see a STX 13 squeeze b4.... my balls shrank.... FJR is definitely very squeezable without itz panniers... with panniers on... itz still ok.... but panniers width slightly wider den side mirrors.... Thus comparing with both bikes... FJR will be less wide..... (But with big bikes... y r u still tinking of squeezing??? u dun buy the bike juz becoz u wana squeeze traffic right?? :p)

2nd hand prices : Seems 2nd hand STX13 can buy a new FJR?? :confused: FJR's value aint dropping dat much either.....

Which one more value for money : Dat depends on individual judgement on where the value lies..... If u looking for a bike soley for comfort.... get a Gold Wing.... a bike to squeeze.... get a 2B bike..... :sian: hhehehe jokes aside.....

Get a STX 13.. u probz will get better pillion comfort, compared to FJR..... Get a FJR... u wil def get better performance den STX 13..... So do u wan a Sporty Tourer... Or a Toury Sportster??

When you solve all this.... last obstacle would be $$~ :sweat:

hope this is informative~ :goodluck: in ur decision~

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by KISS@Feb 27 2005, 12:19 PM

Although I love Hondas, I will go for Yamaha FJR1300 on this one.

Like wise bro..... like wise.... :thumb:

Yamaha really outdo itself on the bike's performance.... but seems abit lacking on human ergonomics, when compared to Honda.. and vice versa...

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Feb 27 2005, 03:30 PM

you shud be looking @ d 2 new models... FJR and STX....

End comez to wot u looking for in ur bike... u wan a plush comfortable usage n dun mind the wait... STX 13.... If u wan a bike which can take up, pick up n go..... sports bike capabilities and with at least half of a tourer abilities... FJR is the one...

Acceleration : none came close to FJR in itz class...

Pillion comfort : if ya pillion is small size and height... FJR is more den enuff... but ya pillion is of moderate size n height... FJR wud be abit of a challenge with its pillion pegs higher up n closer to the panniers..... Big size pillion no nid to elaborate... Thus, STX 13 comez up tops in this.... (Put u buy a bike for d pillion or for urself??? :cheeky:

Squeezing betw jams : Though STX 13 is somewhat slightly less wide den ST11.. squeezing betw jams is still a challenge... considering the cars in spore aint getting smaller.... But i see a STX 13 squeeze b4.... my balls shrank.... FJR is definitely very squeezable without itz panniers... with panniers on... itz still ok.... but panniers width slightly wider den side mirrors.... Thus comparing with both bikes... FJR will be less wide..... (But with big bikes... y r u still tinking of squeezing??? u dun buy the bike juz becoz u wana squeeze traffic right?? :p)

2nd hand prices : Seems 2nd hand STX13 can buy a new FJR?? :confused: FJR's value aint dropping dat much either.....

Which one more value for money : Dat depends on individual judgement on where the value lies..... If u looking for a bike soley for comfort.... get a Gold Wing.... a bike to squeeze.... get a 2B bike..... :sian: hhehehe jokes aside.....

Get a STX 13.. u probz will get better pillion comfort, compared to FJR..... Get a FJR... u wil def get better performance den STX 13..... So do u wan a Sporty Tourer... Or a Toury Sportster??

When you solve all this.... last obstacle would be $$~ :sweat:

hope this is informative~ :goodluck: in ur decision~

thanz for information bro.....

1999 - YAMAHA TZR 125

2000 - YAMAHA RX 125

2001 - SUZUKI DR 200

2002 - YAMAHA WR 200

2006 - SUZUKI GSR 600

2014 - YAMAHA FZ 6 S1

juz to add on , i think it is easier to change engine oil n oil filter on the fjr cos no need to remove the fairing .

n the oil filter is situated on the left side near the gear shift lever .

but one thing abt FJR....

parts are not as durable as honda.... mayb 3 to 4 yrs.... parts may need to be replaced....

n if replace.......... u have to wait for abt 1-2 mths for the parts to come out singapore........

me n my friend gana b4..... i waited 4 abt 1mth n high n low..... for my parts n my friend waited 2 mths.......... damn R6........

a bit :offtopic: , but for those getting stx13 , i remember tat there was a recall for it , so do check out if the problem has been fixed . No such recall noticed for FJR .

Anyway , a fren of mine who is riding the FJR told me tat the rims of the bike r quite brittle n may crack on hard impact , not sure if its true anot .

Originally posted by Speedpass@Mar 11 2005, 02:32 PM

a bit :offtopic: , but for those getting stx13 , i remember tat there was a recall for it , so do check out if the problem has been fixed . No such recall noticed for FJR .

Anyway , a fren of mine who is riding the FJR told me tat the rims of the bike r quite brittle n may crack on hard impact , not sure if its true anot .

Importantly... dun crash it~!~!!~!

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by Speedpass@Feb 27 2005, 02:16 PM

i still cant take the fact tat FJR outaccelarate the 04R1 , but after comparing charts , its got more power output .

Huh... Are u sure bout this?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by Speedpass@Mar 11 2005, 02:32 PM

The recall is only for the first batch of STX 13.

I myself will go for STX 13.

http://www.club-pan.nl/pics/Foto/ST1300/PolitieCecile/Slides/2.jpg

Dun Pray Pray POLICE is watching behind you!

Leaving to America First Month in Arizona Second Month in Arizona

Originally posted by omnislash@Mar 11 2005, 07:06 PM

Huh... Are u sure bout this?

ya , it launches quite fast as the power output is lower down the rpm range as compared to r1 . but can catch up easily lah .

Originally posted by hondacbr2001@Feb 26 2005, 03:44 PM

personal thoughts !

i will go for st13 !

frankly speaking ! i trust honda !

have deep pocket will get both bike :cheeky: but $$ no enough will go for FJR1300.

frankly speaking i trust both Honda & Yamaha:thumb:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

how come no one talk about the ST11?? its a humble and hardworking touring bike...thought its still the all-time favourite among tourers??

Originally posted by kona@Apr 4 2005, 09:22 AM

how come no one talk about the ST11?? its a humble and hardworking touring bike...thought its still the all-time favourite among tourers??

Indeed ST11 is a very good touring bike and is also out for very long time.Not sure is there any new ST11 around?

But when come to ST13 and FJR13 most people will compare among these 2 bikes only as what i have seen.

http://www.club-pan.nl/pics/Foto/ST1300/PolitieCecile/Slides/2.jpg

Dun Pray Pray POLICE is watching behind you!

Leaving to America First Month in Arizona Second Month in Arizona