Will you warming up your engine by letting it idle for a few minute before riding off?  

685 members have voted

1. 1. Will you warming up your engine by letting it idle for a few minute before riding off?

• Yeah, I let the engine running at idling speed for a few minutes.
    • No, what for? Waste of petrol.
    • Depends, usually will if have not started engine for a period of time.

• Replies 297

ya i did try the choke but it doest seem rite for me ... every single morning i msut use choke?? welll i dont know how u guy did??

Normally, if your mileage is high, the use of choke is quite normal. Even on my 1-year old S4 (done 3,800km only), I also have to use choke if I don't start for 1 week, but for next day starting, it's not necessary to use choke. Otherwise, it will also die when I try to throttle. And the worse thing is because of my low usage, my battery is also undercharged at 12.2 Volts (open circuit) only. Normal ones should be 12.4 Volts.

Another thing I don't like is that there is no headlamp switch and it will automatically be ON when the key is turned to IGNITION mode. This will definitely drain the battery and lower its voltage tremendously, causing a weaker spark at the spark plugs.

I think that those bikes fitted with EFI (Electronic Fuel Injection), like the new REVO, will not have this problem already. That's because the petrol is directly controlled by the fuel pump via the EMU (Engine Management Unit).

Anyway, if you eventually will manage to solve this problem, please post your solution here so that we can all learn from it. Thanks.

U guys might think it may not be the battery problem but think twice.

The spark from the spark plug come from where?

Battery right?

So it might not have enough charge to fire off the sprak plug.

PS: Correct me if i'm wrong

Yes...you are wrong. The spark from the spark plug does not come from the battery. The sparks comes from your step up voltage ignition coil which gets its rectified supply from the rectifier. The battery only provides you starting supply to the starter motor and all lightings. :angel:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Yes...you are wrong. The spark from the spark plug does not come from the battery. The sparks comes from your step up voltage ignition coil which gets its rectified supply from the rectifier. The battery only provides you starting supply to the starter motor and all lightings. :angel:

well let me correct you mate , u did made ur point correct till supply from rectifier but batter does count in :D ... just for practical experiment try to take out ur batter off ur bike , start ur bike push start in 2nd gear be easy , and try to get to more RPM , or even ride it i hope u can get to 100km in like 5 mins xD

i hope u was saying like this as i mention below

.-----> battery

Alternator --> rectifier----

`-- > ignition coil ---> sparks

but where i think its there is bypass with batter y and ignition coil if battery charge rectifier will cut off the charging and will keep giving the uniform current to battery but , ones if u give full throttle and try to go fast you need more current it gonna get some missing volts from ur battery to ignition

.-----> battery

Alternator --> rectifier---- X

`-- > ignition coil ---> sparks

or if i couldnt explain my self due to of very very good english xD

please take off ur bike battery off ur bike start it up by pushing and u will see miss fire

hi i riding vtec1 i had this experice that if my bike don warm up the vtec wont work...... i don knw the bro here have encounter this problem b4.....

http://www.motorcycle.kuarto4.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/2011-yamaha-fz1-motorcycle1.jpg
izzit wrong to rev the engine and switch off immediately ????

Er... y do u want to do that?

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

hi i riding vtec1 i had this experice that if my bike don warm up the vtec wont work...... i don knw the bro here have encounter this problem b4.....

It's best bet to warm up our bikes for, I think, about 3 mins at least... :cheeky:

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

haa.. all discussions always so fierce one.. just start engine, wear helmet, smoke 1 stick and ride off lah. just nice one! :thumb:

Mod-ed Ride.. Mod-ed Rider....

2007 - Gilera Runner SP180 (FS 3139T)

2007-2008 - Honda Phantom 200 (FV1428G)

2008-2009 - Honda Super 4 Spec 1 (FT 9543P)

2009-2010 - Kia Cerato Forte (SJS 4772K)

2010 ~ Present - Honda Civic VTi-S ES1 1.7M (SKA 543*Z)

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x275/1Seth1_FXRSP/edit.jpg

haa.. all discussions always so fierce one.. just start engine, wear helmet, smoke 1 stick and ride off lah. just nice one! :thumb:

Fierce discussion is always misinterpreted. Smoke 1 stick? How about non-smokers? :cheeky:

How time flies...

Fierce discussion is always misinterpreted. Smoke 1 stick? How about non-smokers? :cheeky:

Save the stick! according to official Honad Engineer's reply on one bike mag i read before, it is NOT necessary to warm up the engine for morden bikes, just start and ride off, but don't ride to close redline in the first couple of minutes before it reach its normal working temp.....:thumb:

I m not doubting ur words. Personally, i find it hard to believe when the BMW car engineers said their cars can last for 25000km before doing an oil change - how much do u believe in this statement?

To be on the safe side, I would warm my bike be4 moving off.

On the S4, there isn't a oil temp gauge to tell u if the bike is at its normal working temp. :cool:

How time flies...

I so long never use my choke... when wan to use stuck cannot cum out..

Tink need to service carb alredy..

Cease liao lah. But y u wanna use ur choke? Cannot start? I hate using the choke - gives me a feeling that the engine machiam got problem like tat - personal feel lah...:cheeky:

How time flies...

hmmmm.. non smokers can use a cloth and wipe down their bikes before moving off? lol.. just a crappy suggestion.. i have a remote start unit on my bike.. so when i'm on the way down before i enter the lift, i start my engine, by the time i wear my helmet, the bike warm up liao..

Mod-ed Ride.. Mod-ed Rider....

2007 - Gilera Runner SP180 (FS 3139T)

2007-2008 - Honda Phantom 200 (FV1428G)

2008-2009 - Honda Super 4 Spec 1 (FT 9543P)

2009-2010 - Kia Cerato Forte (SJS 4772K)

2010 ~ Present - Honda Civic VTi-S ES1 1.7M (SKA 543*Z)

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x275/1Seth1_FXRSP/edit.jpg

hmmmm.. non smokers can use a cloth and wipe down their bikes before moving off? lol.. just a crappy suggestion.. i have a remote start unit on my bike.. so when i'm on the way down before i enter the lift, i start my engine, by the time i wear my helmet, the bike warm up liao..

Just to conclude the alarm with remote start systems, what brand is yours?

How time flies...

hi

i read somewhere saying remote start is not too good for the bike? cos it instantly starts the engine.. its recommended that the rpm gauge is supposed to go to max then back to idling rpm before the engine starts..

sorry not too good with describing.. hope you guys understand..

thinking of installing steelmate 2 way alarm..

ya i did try the choke but it doest seem rite for me ... every single morning i msut use choke?? welll i dont know how u guy did??

I have the same problem as you with my version S. Just lately, when I on my engine in the morning, after few secs it will die off. I have to play with throttle for about 3 to 4 mins so that the it will be stable. Once I ride or stop in any junction it doesn't gave any problems. It only occurs every morning when I start my bike or when I leave my bike for 30 mins before I start of my bike again.

I tried to us the choke but it doesnt help that much.

I just change my eo, spark plugs, oil filter and service my carb 2 weeks ago and still it remain the same.

End up frustration every morning.

-------------------------------

All*Roads*Lead*To*Rome

I m not doubting ur words. Personally, i find it hard to believe when the BMW car engineers said their cars can last for 25000km before doing an oil change - how much do u believe in this statement?

To be on the safe side, I would warm my bike be4 moving off.

On the S4, there isn't a oil temp gauge to tell u if the bike is at its normal working temp. :cool:

Why not??

They have a reputation and they wont just employ any tom,dixk and jerry...

And they also have to factor in the worst case scenario...

And car engines are not very hard on oil....Some bikes can rev 3 times as much as normal cars....So which is more taxing on oil.......You wont find bike that can last 25000km for a oil change stated on the manual.....

Most dont have to use fully syn oil....Dont have to use high octane petrol...

No additive....No snake oil......Cos they had factor all that in...

They are engineers with data,spec and technology to match...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

warming up is a must.. several months ago i didn't warm up my bike and just go after starting because pissed off about something.. when i blasted past 7k rpm at 1st gear my vtec never open..i was so scared that i stopped at the side, off and on my engine, and let it warm up properly.. :sian:

http://distilleryimage11.s3.amazonaws.com/4ad27eb6714811e3b59a0ebb7344746f_6.jpg
Why not??

They have a reputation and they wont just employ any tom,dixk and jerry...

And they also have to factor in the worst case scenario...

And car engines are not very hard on oil....Some bikes can rev 3 times as much as normal cars....So which is more taxing on oil.......You wont find bike that can last 25000km for a oil change stated on the manual.....

Most dont have to use fully syn oil....Dont have to use high octane petrol...

No additive....No snake oil......Cos they had factor all that in...

They are engineers with data,spec and technology to match...

I agree with you statement. Car's dont need to change eo frequently unlike our bikes is because they dont have this wet clutch system.

As for the vtec not opening up when not warming up. Its true,happend to me once on a rainy day,left my bike for few hours,start and move off immidietly and my vtec did'nt open. :faint:

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

heard from ppl tt if u never warm up ur bike properly it does affect the engine block? how true is tat??

to me its the same rationale as u just wake up in the morning.. u cant run immediately after just waking up from ur deep sleep...

heard from ppl tt if u never warm up ur bike properly it does affect the engine block? how true is tat??

to me its the same rationale as u just wake up in the morning.. u cant run immediately after just waking up from ur deep sleep...

Not just engine block bro,there's more,anything that moves and produces friction will wear out faster. Warming up is also good for the battery,when idleing,your system voltage will rise up charging the battery.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

yeaa.. wait for a min to warm ur engine is worth it one... is not good to ride off immed starting the engine...

~ The Most Dangerous Practice - Tailgating. Accidents can be avoided if drivers Know how to Tailgate ~

I have the same problem as you with my version S. Just lately, when I on my engine in the morning, after few secs it will die off. I have to play with throttle for about 3 to 4 mins so that the it will be stable. Once I ride or stop in any junction it doesn't gave any problems. It only occurs every morning when I start my bike or when I leave my bike for 30 mins before I start of my bike again.

I tried to us the choke but it doesnt help that much.

I just change my eo, spark plugs, oil filter and service my carb 2 weeks ago and still it remain the same.

End up frustration every morning.

Im facing the same prob. wif my VS, but not as bad as yours. It only happen during very cold morning. :mad:

4-stroke bike shld not be facing this kind of prob. rite?

TZRR

TA200

Twister 250

CB400 VS

:gun: :bouncefire: