• Replies 1.6k

eh... endless...

there is diff between nake and full fairing as well leh

nake bike sustain less wind blast... (own experience... maybe 1/3 - 1/2 compared to a full fairing)

Ano is right.

I didn't explain more earlier because...I can save my fingers some typing effort o_O

Certain bikes are more affected by cross winds than others. Those with big surface areas. So bikes with tall and big windshields. Bikes with full fairings. Bikes with pillions. And I suppose bikes with big riders o_O

Also, bikes with a sharp and agile steering geometry (sharp rack angle or small trail) versus relax geometry.

An example is my bike: STX1300. It's one of the heaviest bike around. But it's very sensitive to crosswinds because of it's big windshield and big full fairings, and a very small trail. I do feel crosswinds and turbulences from big buses and big lorries. Although I do get shocked sometimes by their sudden presence, it is not something that I think it's that dangerous along NS.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

I do have a thumb of rule for safe "speed differential" between your bike and surrounding vehicles.

Speed differential is the difference between your bike's speed and the speed of the vehicle that you overtake/or being overtaken.

To me, it should be +/- 20kmh. Probably 30kmh max. 50kmh is going into dangerous side, even along NorthSouth.

Why is there a certain safe zone for speed differential? Why can't you just pass vehicles at whatever speed you like? Or vice verse, why can't you ride at whatever relax cruising speed you like on the road?

The aim is to maximise your safety and the premise is basically to ride in a way that is as predictable as possible to your surrounding traffic.

If you ride at a speed that is so fast that is beyond what normal drivers/riders on the road expect you to, then, they may not keep a lookout for you or may perform manoevres that don't cater for your fast approach speed.

Take for example: It is common along NS that buses drive at 110kmh. If you approach them at 160kmh, the closer rate is at a relative 50kmh. The bus driver might have checked his rear view mirror and saw that it was clear and then he performs a slow overtaking manoevre onto the right lane. The driver did not expect anyone to close in at such fast rate. You would either have to jam brake or eat the bus' rear.

It is quite a common phenomenon along NS for bikes to jam brake because of a sudden overtaking by a slow vehicle into the rightmost lane.

And many bikers had accident because of this espeically the hayabusas that were doing 200 along NS. They crash not out of nothing but that their closure speed is just too fast and vehicles got into their way and they had not enough time to react.

This is also applicable in Singapore. Along expressway, if the surrounding traffic is doing 90kmh, and you overtake them at 130kmh, no one would expect any vehicle to be doing 130 and they could get into your path.

This is also applicable to traffic crawls dearing peak hours. You can't squeeze in between cars and too high a speed differential because cars could side step out to change lanes.

The reverse is also true for not riding too slow.

So the idea is to ride at a speed that is relative and keeps in pace to the surrounding traffic. One cannot ride at a certain absolute speed, without taking into account of speed of surrounding traffic.

29 Mar:

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

I've got another question for the shifus out there! You mentioned about doing 90-110kmh... but it seems that buses are doing about that speed on the NSH, so is it good that we go faster than them so as to avoid getting wind suction from the buses? But how much faster should we go?

Firstly, it's not the "suction" that the heavy vehicles created. It's the turbulence created by the heavy vehicles that is causing instability on our bikes when we ride pass.

http://www.keesfloor.nl/elmar/5wind/5gebouwzij.gif

To minimize the disturbance caused by the heavy vehicles, try to keep a distance away from them when over-taking. The further the distance, the lesser the effect of the turbulance wind acts onto your bike.

Another good way to reduce your exposure to the turbulence is to over-take in the shortest (and in a safe manner) possible time. As to how fast a rider wants to do it, it all depends on how comfortable you can go. Don't go beyond a speed that you can't handle. The critical point is when you pass the front of the heavy vehicle.

For me, I always throttle a bit more when approaching the front of the vehicle so that I can clear away from the wind turbulence faster, thereby reducing my exposure.

For those who are riding out of Singapore, it is always important to find out the road culture in other countries. What we do in Singapore roads might not be exactly the same way done in other countries. It is by having some idea of the road culture, one can read the behaviour of the road users of other countries and react accordingly. i.e. "Body Language" of vehicles.

Most importantly, observe the road & traffic condition and exerise some common sense when on the move.

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg

Sv650 is right

The pic posted commonly refer as turbulence -> similar to airline term Clear air turbulence... but we are not moving at tat kinda speed.

Sub vacuum created as a result of clashing air pockets. That is where all the instability comes ......

Shorter expose time subconsiously make the episode become shorter.. thus u don feel much. Unless you like to enjoy your bike being "blown away" or experience "tankslap-like" momentarily throwing of left and right of ya handlebar..... Feel free to keep same pace as the big trailers and buses.....

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

Hey old birds!

Recently i kenna 2 close calls, wanted to share and ask for opinions as to how to react to these situations or how to avoid them totally.

1) I was approaching a red light at slow speed, middle lane on a three lane road. I was closing the gap toward the car in front about to come to a stop. The car on my left suddenly swerved towards me really quickly. Chua tio liao i swerve over to the right lane, luckily the car noticed and jammed brake. If not......Also kenna those people on the right turn lane already, i moving slowly coming to a stop already..suddenly can just swerve into my lane(most right lane for going straight)...almost knocking into my front wheel...lucky i cover brakes so can jam the brake....i starting to feel like my front brakes kenna abused because of these rude and reckless !~@#!!(#%(!*@^$!(*@%!

2) Chinatown area. X junction before OG and the keep right to filter to CTE entrance. extreme right lane. Light turn green so i slowly move of because i got pillion. Suddenly this !@#$er driving a mitsu minibus chiong very fast past my front wheel, less than 3feet. luckily i managed to jam brake and also if i riding alone, my pickup slightly faster...who knows.........I keep thinking is it my fault or what sia..i understand i can take it even slower because my right side view kenna block by construction so traffic kua boh..but also, if the traffic light turn green then i move off, the guy must have been beating the red light damn jialat already...these type of people leg should kenna chop off so cannot step on pedals anymore...

comments and suggestions!? please?!?!

Hi Petrified,

Interesting encounters. Thanks for sharing. And despite hair raising moments, glad you came out alright for both. :)

On your first incident:

I think you did all the right moves! :thumb:

- The slow approach to the junction. If you had came in fast, you might have missed picking up the side-swiping car or when you hit the brakes hard, either can't stop in time or skid.

- Spotting the swerving car to your side. If had not spotted, then many things could have happened...

Most riders just see what's directly in front of them as a result of the school training. But many threats or hazards originate from abreast, in peripheral view or adjacent lanes.

- Quick reflexes and good braking skill

You could engage your brake lightning fast. Brake hard, yet without falling, or skidding. Sounds like the typical E-brake scenario in our riding school. But in a real life situation, most riders can't execute good e-brake finishes in an instant. Braking skill is so important that 99% of time when facing threats or hazardous situations, it is the most effective response.

- You want to improve your riding skill further.

There's no end or finishing line or graduation for motorcycling skill and safety skill.

On can be further improved. My suggestion. This might or might not be relevant because you were at the situation, I was not:

- Apply HOV vision even earlier on.

The side-swerving car would probably have displayed signs of "abnormal" behaviour before the driver execute his sudden side-swerve. Such as approaching the junction at a rate even slower than other cars, or leaving an unusually big gap between his car and the car /junction in front, before he decided he was heading the wrong direction and had to change his direction.

HOV vision is basically constant scanning of the whole field in front of the rider, including the adjacent lanes because threats can start from there.

The follow on response would be the same as what you did: you have early detection, and buys you time to come to a stable stop in time to avoid the threat.

And allows you to sound your horn to notify the errant driver of your presence.

Good job :thumb:

For second incident, I don't quite get the direction the bus was traveling and where the bus originate from.

29 Mar:

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

Thanks for the info!! really look forward to the HOV session!!

I seem to notice the first incident happening alot to me...does it happen to you guys often too??

About the second incident..The minibus was chionging through the intersection...i think he beat the red light from my right...so imagine what it must have felt like...green light for me to go...i move off...he beat the traffic light on my right...if i had accelerated a bit faster...he would have smashed head on right into my right side...really shocked me man!! perhaps over HOV with coffee and tea i could describe better? :)

See you soon!!

I seem to notice the first incident happening alot to me...does it happen to you guys often too??

About the second incident..The minibus was chionging through the intersection...i think he beat the red light from my right...so imagine what it must have felt like...green light for me to go...i move off...he beat the traffic light on my right...if i had accelerated a bit faster...he would have smashed head on right into my right side...really shocked me man!! perhaps over HOV with coffee and tea i could describe better? :)

Its just about the most common incidents happening to road users who avoid all the other hazards. The sleepy ones unable to keep a straight line, the hesitant ones who may be looking for a new destination or route, the handphone users who either sway within the lane or go slower than traffic, these u can spot and track early before it happens, allowing you to react immediately rather than be taken by surprise. Then there's still those last minute no warning type that catches you by surprise once every other month or so.

In the second senario, its a safe practice to go only after you have accertained that the side traffic is braking almost to a complete stop. Sometimes the right turning traffic from the side will try to beat the flashing green arrow too. In your situation you did the right thing by accelerating out slowly as you mentioned your view was blocked. Without your pillion, even if it was a green light it might be wise to inch slowly ahead as you would be unsure of any possible oncoming vehicles from the right.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

hi all..just wanted to pop by and say that i think this thread has been very informative and useful. To all who contributed (esp Spectrum and endlessloop), a big thanks! took me quite a while to read from 1st to last post though ha.

This is pretty decent one i came across. Echoes one of the street smart tips that accidents often happen within the first 5 minutes of our rides.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

This is pretty decent one i came across. Echoes one of the street smart tips that accidents often happen within the first 5 minutes of our rides.

This is a good teaching aid. :clapping: :thumb: :clapping: :thumb: :clapping: :thumb: :clapping: :thumb: :clapping: :thumb: :clapping: :thumb:

that is so damned good... had my first skid prolly about 5km +/- from home (Mandai Hill Camp U-turh to Yishun Ave 6)... heh... butt still hurts when i sit too long... :(

Grounded... :/

very good video to remind pple..

anyway, i think i saw you and dreamer just outside motoworld a few days back..

hey bros.. need advise..recently heard from my frien there's this lady rider which made a stop on a red light..and well from the back the car e braked and smack her from behind..and well rider flew and now is critical condition...

does any1 have ideas on watchin out this?

Gooner For Life

Wat u see might not be wat u get...

Preception is reality

hey bros.. need advise..recently heard from my frien there's this lady rider which made a stop on a red light..and well from the back the car e braked and smack her from behind..and well rider flew and now is critical condition...

does any1 have ideas on watchin out this?

It partly depends on how one makes a stop at a red light. Generally when approaching a traffic light junction from 3 arrows away or more, if traffic is heavy/you have a tailgater/a vehicle accelerating towards you, you could

1. Decelerate to comfortable cruising speed to cross the junction early. ie 30-40km/h, 50km/h, even 60 or more depending your acceptable risk level, and whether there is right turning vehicle formed up at the right turning pocket/there is vehicle which may right turn at the time u reach the junction.

2. Change lane if possible (when there is tailgator)

3. Flash high beam and horn if u are crossing an amber/possibly red (not advisable).

4. This one always applicable-Pray harder and hope for the best nothing happens. Its a last resort, and may not work :deal: Step 1 still better, and the trick is to do it early.

That said and with Murphy's Law, riders still bear the brunt of risks/screw ups. There is no 100% safe method to crossing every junction. Its a risk we choose to accept when riding. We may cross 6 junctions a day (3 to work and 3 home), or 2000 a year, and many many in a decade. It takes only 1 driver's mistake or our own mistake to end our riding career/work/current lifestyle. You never know when u meet a right turning drunk driver or youngster without license. But our responsibility is to minimize the risk to an acceptable extent such that its really tough luck if things go wrong, and we have done everything humanly possible to avoid an accident.

eh but wat if is the vehicle behind u juz chiong..cos eh tat's the case.and it's amber..

Eh you can pretend to look like you are "losing control of your vehicle" by turning your handlebar a little bit left a little bit right! Remember this is only to scare the driver/rider behind...

If the driver/rider see that you are "losing control of your vehicle", I'm very very certain that he/she will keep a distance from you! :lol: :lol: :lol:

You can see an example on this video on YouTube! :lol: :lol: -->

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

eh but wat if is the vehicle behind u juz chiong..cos eh tat's the case.and it's amber..

if all safety precautions like slowing down when reaching road junctions and accident still happens, the driver behind must be daydreaming..

Eh you can pretend to look like you are "losing control of your vehicle" by turning your handlebar a little bit left a little bit right! Remember this is only to scare the driver/rider behind...

If the driver/rider see that you are "losing control of your vehicle", I'm very very certain that he/she will keep a distance from you! :lol: :lol: :lol:

You can see an example on this video on YouTube! :lol: :lol: -->

wahaha.. it's funny if you do that... i'll be frightened if i'm riding beside you lol...

perhaps follow wat we learnt in school? tap rear brakes a little at a time to notify drivers behind you are slowing down? so even if tailgaters sees you, they'll change lane...:thumb:

Damien :angel:

tailgaters will see you tapping brakes, cut across while very close to you and cut back in with the possibility of jamming brakes while just in front.. hoho ho seh liao..

Riders generally develop their own habits in dealing with tailgators。These range from

1. Changing lane (most reccomended but not always possible)

2. Slowing down gradually

3. Lane splitting to get to spaces ahead

4. Holding 2 seconds rule from vehicle in front

Option 1 is my preferred choice because you actually “get away” from the tailgating situation before it happens。 It is possible to get away from many tailgating incidents by judging who will tailgate u before they do。 By moving out of the way early,you can watch them go tail others。I don't always do this well,so I rely on the other 3.

Option 2 invites more middle fingers and horning than I can recount。 The driving centre teaches you this but I have some doubts the instructors themselves will practice what they preach。This method agitates drivers and should only be used when necessary, such as when approaching junctions or bends-the situation calls for speed reduction.

Option 3 carries more risk than the others,but it resolves the tailgating situation most quickly。 This is one of the more favoured options because its gives riders a sense of empowerment and control。

Option 4 requires a rider to have a lot of self control。 Its easy to get angry by watching someone tail u closely and not doing something about it。Most drivers will tail someone else in a faster lane if they realize that they can't "push" you to go faster. Beware of vehicles entering your lane from the sides to use the space to overtake。Use your safety distance to accelerate when necessary.

At all times, never feel pressured to close the gap between yourself and the vehicles in front。 Tailgating is a form of domineering behaviour。 By responding in a non escalating manner, you take the fun out of their game。 It is not fun tailing someone who keeps holding their safety distance or moves out of the way by changing lanes or lane splitting。If you do not respond with a challenge and lose your temper, the tailgator gets nothing out of you。

tailgaters will see you tapping brakes, cut across while very close to you and cut back in with the possibility of jamming brakes while just in front.. hoho ho seh liao..

yeah... juz kena on way home... i on BKE going 95k++ liao... fu*ker tailgating so waiting for when i could i would move over to the left lane for him to overtake... (btw inner most lane was not heavy)... but before i could do that the mo'fo overtake me on my left (squeezing in front of a pick up truck and me) went infront of me and started to slow down... basket... lucky i was aware when i saw in rear view when he overtake otherwise goodness knows what i'd be doing right now instead of typing this!

Grounded... :/