hi there,

question for all who knows,

If i am to layup the bike at a bikeshop, can i still transfer out the bike number plate to another bike? Can i also sell my bike later with the new number plate to the new owner who will just buy new insurance,roadtax and the to release the layup fee?

is this possible?:p

• Replies 79

Thankz a lot Dude for the Reply...

But juz another Q in Mind. If i have a bike tat i onli wan 2 Use for Track. Can i lay-up at My Mech in JB???

http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/6462/30203157wn7.jpg

It says here if the bike is garaged within singapore you'll need a letter from the owner approving the bike to be parked there. Logically this means you can lay up out of SG as well. Correct me if I'm wrong.

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg

a laid up bike don't need road tax too!!

KTM EGS 200CC 2004

APRILIA RS125CC 2005

SYM GTS 200CC 2006

HONDA SUPER 4 VTEC 3 2007

http://img382.imageshack.us/img382/408/stealthlogogs0.jpg

That means, if i want to buy a bike from my friend, i just need to pay for the transfer of ownership and the fees for laying up the bike? Cause I heard, an insurance is needed to transfer the ownership?

no insurance also can xfer name.. laid up bike needs neither insurance nor road tax.. :sweat:

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/av-334001.gif

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/TR_LOGO.jpg

That means, if i want to buy a bike from my friend, i just need to pay for the transfer of ownership and the fees for laying up the bike? Cause I heard, an insurance is needed to transfer the ownership?

when U get to the LTA counter...just tell the person U want to transfer ownership and also lay-up the bike.

FN XXXX L - Yamaha RXZ - 2008 to 20??

To be old and wise, you must first be young and foolish.

What are the odds of having two punctures, on the same tyre, on separate occasions, in a 223km ride?:dozed:

all,

Juz curious, If the bike still under load from bike shop. Still can laid up rite?

But then must buy insurance not. If happend the bike kena burn or thief. No insurance then how.

Other Q is : wat is the penalties if ride without avail road tax only...

all,

Juz curious, If the bike still under load from bike shop. Still can laid up rite?

But then must buy insurance not. If happend the bike kena burn or thief. No insurance then how.

Other Q is : wat is the penalties if ride without avail road tax only...

Dont play play... you will be required to attend court and ur license will be revoke. On top of dat, a fine of $800 depends on judge.

My license was revoke because driving without road tax. Car license i got from the army and my bike which i took in 1995 was all revoke.

Now, I just passed my car license back and in practical 5 for my motorbike. Not worth it.

I sense that there's an unwritten rule here amongst bureaucracy.

Weird, where does it say in the list of penalties that -- assuming you have insurance -- that a person that does not pay road tax faces license revocation?

I thought it was a maximum of $2000 fine for unpaid road tax; and that license revocation only applies to an uninsured rider/car?

Sorry if I went off topic but it just doesn't tally with what's written on the road tax printed sheet where your road tax disc is. o_O

How much does inspection cost upon recovering from lay up for a 2b bike ?

Winner dont quit.!

Quitter wont WIN

Year 2009 March - Honda NSR 150 SP (FT606*S)

Year 2010 Feb - Honda FireBlade CBR400 (FN640*S)

Year 2010 April - Honda RVF NC35 (FP 156*S)

Year 2010 July - Honda RVF NC35 (FR*75*L) - CURRENT

tow bike to inspection site: $20/-

Inspection: $20/-

Insurance & Road Tax: depending on your bike, your age & your licence.

Okay lets say I dont have a license now but have a bike on layup.

Upon passing my TP on monday for example.

And I wanna ride legally on monday itself.

What are the procedures "?

Do I,

Tow my bike from the garage address to inspection,

Buy insurance,

OR buy road tax first ?

And in the event that I buy insurance on monday[the day i pass tp]

It needs 2 or 3 working days to process my insurance certificate right ?

During that time Can I ride my bike legally out ?

And where do I buy road tax?

Thanks for all the help in advance.

Need advise from ppl who unlay a bike before. =)

Winner dont quit.!

Quitter wont WIN

Okay lets say I dont have a license now but have a bike on layup.

Upon passing my TP on monday for example.

And I wanna ride legally on monday itself.

What are the procedures "?

Do I,

Tow my bike from the garage address to inspection,

Buy insurance,

OR buy road tax first ?

And in the event that I buy insurance on monday[the day i pass tp]

It needs 2 or 3 working days to process my insurance certificate right ?

During that time Can I ride my bike legally out ?

And where do I buy road tax?

Thanks for all the help in advance.

Need advise from ppl who unlay a bike before. =)

All the best.. u go get insurance first, and settle COE, road tax etc... and you can ride!!!

You want tow go where sia?? Haha...

All the best.. u go get insurance first, and settle COE, road tax etc... and you can ride!!!

You want tow go where sia?? Haha...

I tot need to tow to inspection upen unlaying of the bike.

And how does buying of insurane work. ?

Isit dat i pat th emoney den on the spot they give me the insurance ?

Or must waiting a few working days for process?

Winner dont quit.!

Quitter wont WIN

Can park under HDB but it's illegal parking! Think it's $120 fine! :lol:

The LTA Lay up form will ask you to state where you going to garage your bike, so have to have a HDB block/ Bike shop address/ condo address with letter stating the owner allows you to park the bike there for lay up.