today wet wet day like alot of accidents sia.... today saw an accident between a car and an ah pek riding kup along queensway. rider seems alright as i saw him standing, car stop in 2nd lane and the driver was outside talking on his cell phone. slight jam just before a right turn to farrer road.

saw something which is funny to me... this phantom rider actually switch off his ignition when the light turn red, when about to turn green he just e-start his phantom and off he goes.... how much petrol can he save by doing that i wonder? i heard somewhere if u start and off your ignition frequently, it's actually not good for your engine?

Edited by ahcaibiker

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

• Replies 25.1k

today wet wet day like alot of accidents sia.... today saw an accident between a car and an ah pek riding kup. rider seems alright as i saw him standing, car stop in 2nd lane and the driver was outside talking on his cell phone. slight jam just before a right turn to farrer road.

saw something which is funny to me... this phantom rider actually switch off his ignition when the light turn red, when about to turn green he just e-start his phantom and off he goes.... how much petrol can he save by doing that i wonder? i heard somewhere if u start and off your ignition frequently, it's actually not good for your engine?

Not so much the petrol he can save but how much draining of the battery and wear and tear of the starter motor he can do.

Battery maybe abit cheap but the starter motor is not... save a few cents of petrol but spend a few hundreds to repair starter motor???

Totally illogical.

today wet wet day like alot of accidents sia.... today saw an accident between a car and an ah pek riding kup. rider seems alright as i saw him standing, car stop in 2nd lane and the driver was outside talking on his cell phone. slight jam just before a right turn to farrer road.

back in cdc whilst taking my 2b, there was this fella who kept on stalling on purpose coz lazy to pull clutch, so after tat he just need to e-start the bike back. kinda irritating tho~

if start n off ignition frequently, not good fr engine eh? i not sure bout that. if like that then the bikes used to deliveries how sia? surely easy spoil ~

----

anyway, i have a story to share.

i have a colleague who pumped diesel into his bike. well, not really HIS bike. it's th company's bike. :faint:

feel free to discuss wat happened to the bike haha

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

WOW bike makan Diesel sia..curious wad will happen..hahas..piston jam..x.x

Class2B - 11 Dec 08

Past - Honda Wave 125S

Current - Kawasaki KRR 150

Class3 - 26/09/09

Current - Lancer GLX 1.6

One Life, Treasure It

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x70/nengwei/R6-1.jpg

Future - YZF R6

i saw this incident several times ... looks cute but very unsafe...

i rather transport my little kid (in the future hor i still unmarried) on a bicycle rather than on a bike ... sigh dunno wat this people thinking

http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/7836/lolso.gif

It's alright to transport your little kid even if you are still not married. It's a modern society, we understand. No need to hide your kid until you get married... poor kid. :D

Ok.. i'm sorry, time to hide.

http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/6538/deadn.gif

or better still dont ride at all. just now wet weather, i experience nothin whilst riding BUT i fell whilst cycling at work. TSK ~

See!! And you wanted to transport your little kid by bicycle?? :lol:

then at bedok, someone suddenly spit out of his van !!! ARGHH ~~~ luckily i wasnt so near that van, but still paranoid la ! go back and wash my raincoat liao !

Er, ok... back to serious mode.

Please be aware that many disgusting thing may occur while you are riding such as this. Do try your very best to focus on the ride, and do not let these things affect your judgement, and subsequently control of your bike.

In other words, it's better to take the spit in the face rather than suddenly jerk your body to siam and end up kissing the road.

Eeeeu. Can't believe i said that. Once again i would like to kiss the inventor of that thingy called "visor". :lol:

seeing more and more people wash their bikes, all in for the hari raya mood ! hehehehehes ...

Yay!! Celebrations! Good food!! Woohoo!! :clap:

Dear P-plated Phantom rider, with pillion and wearing slippers don't you know that the BKE to PIE exit is very wet from the afternoon's thunderstorm?

You rode like you were in a race. Although I have DOT race tyres on my bike.. I see they way you take the corner I also shrink... thought I was going to see a crash infront of me. Were you using race rain tyres??

Do you know that today is the last day of the Ghost month and they are all going home tonight? Were you rushing to join catch the last flight home with them??

Ride safe everyone.. there is already enough risks in riding a bike on Singapore roads... don't up the ante.

Personally i feel Phantoms are quite decent at tackling corners, not with stock tyres obviously though. Change it to a decent one and its pretty fun to play.

But i've been riding a TA150 day in day out for 8yrs, so i'm biased. :lol:

Maybe he is already in the last few km on reserve? Phantoms dun have fuel meters one mah. :lol:

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Dear P-plated Phantom rider, with pillion and wearing slippers don't you know that the BKE to PIE exit is very wet from the afternoon's thunderstorm?

You rode like you were in a race. Although I have DOT race tyres on my bike.. I see they way you take the corner I also shrink... thought I was going to see a crash infront of me. Were you using race rain tyres??

Do you know that today is the last day of the Ghost month and they are all going home tonight? Were you rushing to join catch the last flight home with them??

Ride safe everyone.. there is already enough risks in riding a bike on Singapore roads... don't up the ante.

Fuwah, hail the power of TRT... :eek:

Today while riding... aiyah, the usual mix of toot drivers, humji drivers, violate-bus-lanes drivers, etc... And just now after dinner, found my bike sprinkled with snow (ashes)... Yes, the coffee shop stall owners were happily burning the last batch of joss paper of the year, about three/four cars away... One lady was flinging the strips of joss paper and shouting "HUAT AH...!"... She even took a stack and fling it at one of the parked cars (probably hers?)... HUAT AH...!

Anyways, realized that I have been riding more aggressively of late... Should really re-learn to relak a bit more on my next ride onwards... :o

Not so much the petrol he can save but how much draining of the battery and wear and tear of the starter motor he can do.

Battery maybe abit cheap but the starter motor is not... save a few cents of petrol but spend a few hundreds to repair starter motor???

Totally illogical.

well.. sometime i switch off engine at traffic light too... those long wait..traffic lights upto 2 minute (yes i counted) .. because.. bike will overheat and fan will turn on.. hot air blowing direct to me on stationary bike is not very pleasant...

do share with us.

stick leg out rossi style? :lol:

no la.. just create a wider turning radius if you feel like your bike is gonna skid in order to get better grip. this is because the square of your speed is proportional to the radius of circle. so by increasing your radius, you can increase the threshold of your speed without going into a skid.

locking up your wheels and letting the momentum pull you along is not drifting, that's skidding.

skidding is not drifting for goodness sake.:slapforehead:

skidding and drifting is the same la. the only difference is one is with intention and the other is accidental. haha...

if start n off ignition frequently, not good fr engine eh? i not sure bout that. if like that then the bikes used to deliveries how sia? surely easy spoil ~

----

anyway, i have a story to share.

i have a colleague who pumped diesel into his bike. well, not really HIS bike. it's th company's bike. :faint:

feel free to discuss wat happened to the bike haha

it won't spoil la. just lifespan lower only. there's a hearsay that the ignition has a lifespan of a certain amount of e-start. just that the limit is too high for us to realise it. maybe one person can go try play with his e-start 24 hours straight to test it out. and if pump diesel, the bike still can run right? except that its death is very near.

no la.. just create a wider turning radius if you feel like your bike is gonna skid in order to get better grip. this is because the square of your speed is proportional to the radius of circle. so by increasing your radius, you can increase the threshold of your speed without going into a skid.

skidding and drifting is the same la. the only difference is one is with intention and the other is accidental. haha...

it won't spoil la. just lifespan lower only. there's a hearsay that the ignition has a lifespan of a certain amount of e-start. just that the limit is too high for us to realise it. maybe one person can go try play with his e-start 24 hours straight to test it out. and if pump diesel, the bike still can run right? except that its death is very near.

turning radius? square of speed? huh? me is lost. hehhh.

thres a particular bike at my store , e-start spoil. wonder wat causes it to spoil. so all the way must kick start. ahahs ...

pump diesel ah. the bike didnt even make it out of the petrol station alive. hahaha .. hafta push back all the way ... the way my friend recalls the story to me and my other friends, we laughed hysterically.

yours truly.

long time nvr post le.

jus nw while riding.came out frm cte tunnel towards aye massive jam.all de way ride in between vehicles + gt TP infrnt so all vehicles gave way 2 him.when reached west coast exit saw signboard n it says lane 1 & 2 closed, no wonder so jam packed,den realized gt accident wif blue tent.

rip to the fella.haish.life is short.

i was stuck in the jam too..took more than 40 mins to get from vivocity to corporation road. was wondering wad the hell happen man..

felt damn sad when i passed the blue tent..

hai.. R.I.P to the rider.. life is so fragile.. pls pls pls ride safely pple.. especially when road conditions are slippery or sandy..

and like 100m before i passed the accident spot, traffic came to a momentary halt. then i stopped in between lane 2 and 3 coz no space in front. then, knn... suddenly felt a nudge from the car behind me.. the headlamp was nudging my kneecap! ccb..the driver behind me was too engrossed in trying to see infront got what accident.. nearly cause me to become accident victim!

i was stuck in the jam too..took more than 40 mins to get from vivocity to corporation road. was wondering wad the hell happen man..

felt damn sad when i passed the blue tent..

hai.. R.I.P to the rider.. life is so fragile.. pls pls pls ride safely pple.. especially when road conditions are slippery or sandy..

and like 100m before i passed the accident spot, traffic came to a momentary halt. then i stopped in between lane 2 and 3 coz no space in front. then, knn... suddenly felt a nudge from the car behind me.. the headlamp was nudging my kneecap! ccb..the driver behind me was too engrossed in trying to see infront got what accident.. nearly cause me to become accident victim!

so far when i passed by accident sites, i dont try to look at what happened, scared i may get affected by what i saw. but just now my eyes itchy wanna look at the CD guys, then as usual, singaporeans kepo wanna see what happen. coz it was after the PIE exit just outside of safra there, some cars really brake and slow down to see what happen, and i almost kissed a cars backside coz i also turned to look at the guys. but when i saw the wreck of the lorry, i shake head.

but recently, i have several friends who got into bike accidents. what's worst is that, it's gonna be hari raya in 2 days time! make me more scared of whatever will happen on the road. and yes ! to change my brakes and tyres. coz one of my friend, he got sandwiched coz a car jammed brake, he couldn't brake in time and the car behind him was tailgating him.

speaking of tailgating, saw on AYE towards keppel, a spark with pillion being tailgated sooo closely by a car on lane 1, and eventually kena horn. dunnow what the driver thinking, even if the rider moved out or lane split, not much of a difference coz the spark itself was already quite close to the car infront.

these kind of drivers, horn horn but never think. go out and drive but leave their brains at home. tsk~

oh, and it's really not fun to be riding on sand/rocks/stones/pebbles. whatever debris that trucks left behind. coz i almost skid whilst riding the wave. wanted to squeeze through cars towards gap, then OMG~ sand. just ram my way through. felt rear tyres wanna give way. my heart really go up my throat ~ hehhhh

yours truly.

nearly kanna bang down today outside raffles hospital. stupid SUV just lane change immediately after signalling. my bike is already in line with the rear tyre of the SUV , sure cannot brake in time, so llst down gear and pull away, with the car missing me by inches. and i am inside the lane, not lane splitting.

stopped at the traffic light in front, turn around, hand signal the "use your eyes to check blind spot~! jack@ss" with a very big and obvious thumbs down pointed at the driver in front of all the cars and pedestrians, who are looking at us now cos of the loud sound from the exhaust when i pick up very harshly just seconds before.

and TADA~~~~ you've guessed it~! its a lady driver~!!!!! and she didnt even bother to on headlights at 7.45pm.

!@##%@#%&$#$@$!@# bloody idiot

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Could you give a more in depth explanation? I am interested in the formulae, never heard of it before. Can give an example?

Is the speed in KMH or MPH, the radius in metric or imperial units?

I race bikes... and getting good traction in the corners is an issue if resolved would result in higher corner speeds which will translate to faster lap times.

Edited by Raptor

eh? i thought skidding your tires are not moving...drifting your tires are moving...though both are sliding? anyway...

@Raptor: think the unit of measure is not important because the relationship remains the same even if you change the units. bigger radius will always give you higher speeds...but in a race, you don't always want a bigger radius because you want maximum exit speed so normally in a race you brake at the latest point, turn in relatively sharp to get a good exit line that is as straight as possible for highest acceleration...correct?

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
long time nvr post le.

jus nw while riding.came out frm cte tunnel towards aye massive jam.all de way ride in between vehicles + gt TP infrnt so all vehicles gave way 2 him.when reached west coast exit saw signboard n it says lane 1 & 2 closed, no wonder so jam packed,den realized gt accident wif blue tent.

rip to the fella.haish.life is short.

the jam was so bad it stretch back until ECP flyover after keppel road exit..:faint:

skidding is the total lock up of brakes and losing control of it.

drifting is causing loss of traction in the rear wheels through turns, while preserving vehicle control.

Could you give a more in depth explanation? I am interested in the formulae, never heard of it before. Can give an example?

I race bikes... and getting good traction in the corners is an issue if resolved would result in higher corner speeds which will translate to faster lap times.

Haha. Don't tekan the fella lah...

Just... erm.... square off the turn. :lol:

That seems to be the simplest way anyway. :p

Slow in, flat hard out. Heh heh.

eh? i thought skidding your tires are not moving...drifting your tires are moving...though both are sliding? anyway...

@Raptor: think the unit of measure is not important because the relationship remains the same even if you change the units. bigger radius will always give you higher speeds...but in a race, you don't always want a bigger radius because you want maximum exit speed so normally in a race you brake at the latest point, turn in relatively sharp to get a good exit line that is as straight as possible for highest acceleration...correct?

Layman view here. I'm no sexpert by any measure...

Bikes don't drift (unless you're talking about drifting into ppl's path becos of inattentiveness... :lol: )

Bikes powerslide. And we can also skid.

The diff is that, in a powerslide, your wheel speed is higher than your road speed, similar to cars drifting.

Or we can also skid into a turn, when you drop it 2 or 3 ratios down and the compression lock or engine braking causes the rear wheel to spin slower than the road speed.

Either way, both will cause your rear end to want to come out and around and you'll have to counter it, or end up in a low or highside... which will be pretty :angel: ....

I've experienced an unintentional powerslide before coming out of T5 @ PG. I gassed it too hard and had the unpleasant sensation of my rear losing grip and whipping about. Luckily I was just already coming out of the turn and the bike was going vertical, so I just held the throttle there and the slide eased off.

Had I closed it in panic, I probably would have taken a gravel dive the hard way.

and the best of all, saw an sbf forum member's (i was told) phantom with fantastic ge-tai style lights. made me smile big big :) :) :) :) :)

is it a white phantom?wif white lights.i tink gt purple oso.if it is den i noe who oredi :lol:

ya laa KAK eva long time never read ur post .. ahah

---

then at bedok, someone suddenly spit out of his van !!! ARGHH ~~~ luckily i wasnt so near that van, but still paranoid la ! go back and wash my raincoat liao !

haha.now im busy with my studies.no time to even on PC.even if i did on i'll be checking email only.thanks to pavlov,thorndlike & skinner my head gonna xplode.haaaaa

nxt time if u kena the spit.go to the frnt of the vehicle.turn arnd.by dis time make sure ur spit is those huge ones.if gt yellow ones oso can.den spit onto the vehicle :thumb:

my frn ever told me his frn go pumped diesel.only managed to move to the exit of the petrol station den bike dead.lol.i kept luffing sia :lol:

wah bro.nxt time b careful.advisable nt 2 look.somemore my kind of person.bfor i got my bike license saw dis accident when i was in the cab n cab went past inches frm de guy's body.str8 away de images kept replayin over & over.even yest's 1.i kept seeing blue tent over n over again.hurhur

:clap: I love my cute, small bike! :clap:

think the unit of measure is not important because the relationship remains the same even if you change the units. bigger radius will always give you higher speeds...but in a race, you don't always want a bigger radius because you want maximum exit speed so normally in a race you brake at the latest point, turn in relatively sharp to get a good exit line that is as straight as possible for highest acceleration...correct?

I think Scub is talking about the general relationship of velocity versus turning circle required. It's a simplified theory not taking into account of traction (which will then have its own headaches, road condition, compound used, contact area, temperatures... etc, leave those to ppl at bridgestone or dunlop).

More or less it's just common sense put into words: go faster, and you'll need to turn wider. No specific formula or calculation for you to develop a winning strategy (go into turn 2 at exactly 122.36km/h at point X, lean 47.25 degrees, keeping 1.87cm clear of the apex demarcated by the blueish-green frog sitting on a rock, while tilting your head 32.3 degrees to the left to smile for camera 22...). :lol:

Haha. Don't tekan the fella lah...

Haha. Yup. :lol::lol::lol:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

I think Scub is talking about the general relationship of velocity versus turning circle required. It's a simplified theory not taking into account of traction (which will then have its own headaches, road condition, compound used, contact area, temperatures... etc, leave those to ppl at bridgestone or dunlop).

More or less it's just common sense put into words: go faster, and you'll need to turn wider. No specific formula or calculation for you to develop a winning strategy (go into turn 2 at exactly 122.36km/h at point X, lean 47.25 degrees, keeping 1.87cm clear of the apex demarcated by the blueish-green frog sitting on a rock, while tilting your head 32.3 degrees to the left to smile for camera 22...). :lol:

Haha. Yup. :lol::lol::lol:

are you talking physics? physics was never my forte, in fact, i hated it ! hahaha

------

today whilst riding, it was a looong ride !

tampines > yishun > woodlands > dover > town > yishun > sembawang > tampines .

at woodlands, the right turn green arrow just refuses to turn green ! it's those junction where there's the red right turn arrow. i waited, and waited, four times the lights turn green but then the right turn green arrow didn't light up. after that, told my pillion to wave to traffic to let me past and just go straight.

then on the way to dover, got lost! passed by upper bukit timah instead, the place where the trailer with the crane incident happen. i forgot that i was riding my own bike instead of wave, and ran through the road like as if i'm riding a scrammie! and before this junction, the road was kinda uneven, like those cement left over marks on the road. and i nearly skidded !

heart shrink. from dover to town, i realized how near it was to get from dover to town ! without using the expressway. 3 years of schooling at SP and only now then i realized its close proximity.

but all in all, riding today was a pleasant one. and to pillion someone who is 10 kg lighter than me, i'm so paranoid! eversince witnessing my colleage fell backwards off th bike, i'm so scared the same might happen to my pillion. worst still, i cant feel anything when i'm pillioning him. pillioning my other friend, who was 20kg heavier than me, my bike wanna cry already ! no matter how hard i throttle, the power not there, only managed to go 90km/h MAX.

anyway , wishing all Muslim mates here a selamat hari raya aidilfitri. ride safe and think of your loved ones ! wet weather nowadays, better to take the public and not ride, later outfit nice2 all gonna be drenched. oh dear! im taking the public transport tomorrow. NOOOOOOOOOOO :gun::gun::gun:

yours truly.

Probably firefox87's referring to the centripetal force formula (F = mv^2 / r). Of course, this is a "snapshot" equation - assuming F is constant. During the turn, you decelerate in and accelerate out, so everything is dynamic... And once you start sliding, your tyres need much less "F" to continue the slide than when initiating the slide (static vs rolling friction).

Nevertheless, you can see the manifestation of this in the racing line. But well, as scubasimon mentioned, sometimes, the purpose is not only to go past the corner, but also taking into account the entry and exit strategy, leading to early/late apex lines.

(i'm sleep deprived and heavily caffeinated after pulling an all-nighter :p)

are you talking physics? physics was never my forte, in fact, i hated it ! hahaha

No, i didn't even touch on physics... it'll give me headaches. I just generalised it in layman's terms. :lol:

If you wanna know more, read chuan.z's detailed explaination below.

Probably firefox87's referring to the centripetal force formula (F = mv^2 / r). Of course, this is a "snapshot" equation - assuming F is constant. During the turn, you decelerate in and accelerate out, so everything is dynamic... And once you start sliding, your tyres need much less "F" to continue the slide than when initiating the slide (static vs rolling friction).

Nevertheless, you can see the manifestation of this in the racing line. But well, as scubasimon mentioned, sometimes, the purpose is not only to go past the corner, but also taking into account the entry and exit strategy, leading to early/late apex lines.

(i'm sleep deprived and heavily caffeinated after pulling an all-nighter :p)

(Good luck explaining when you see alot of blur faces, mine included :lol:)

at woodlands, the right turn green arrow just refuses to turn green ! it's those junction where there's the red right turn arrow. i waited, and waited, four times the lights turn green but then the right turn green arrow didn't light up. after that, told my pillion to wave to traffic to let me past and just go straight.

Yup... still hate those traffic lights that rely on outdated sensors (which senses only CARS or bigger vehicles). Everytime when i'm stuck at those lights that does not change in my favor (especially past midnight with no cars waiting together with me), i'll just check clear and ignore the red lights.... o_O

but all in all, riding today was a pleasant one. and to pillion someone who is 10 kg lighter than me, i'm so paranoid! eversince witnessing my colleage fell backwards off th bike, i'm so scared the same might happen to my pillion. worst still, i cant feel anything when i'm pillioning him. pillioning my other friend, who was 20kg heavier than me, my bike wanna cry already ! no matter how hard i throttle, the power not there, only managed to go 90km/h MAX.

You can always use ropes to tie your lighter pillion down... so there's no way they can fly off. :lol:

90km/h is a little sad... When i used to pillion my colleague weighing 90+kg on my TA150, i could still go way above 120... by dragging on the lower gears (and drag and drag and drag and drag)... :lol:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

there are always smart alex around la lol

No, i didn't even touch on physics... it'll give me headaches. I just generalised it in layman's terms. :lol:

If you wanna know more, read chuan.z's detailed explaination below.

(Good luck explaining when you see alot of blur faces, mine included :lol:)

Yup... still hate those traffic lights that rely on outdated sensors (which senses only CARS or bigger vehicles). Everytime when i'm stuck at those lights that does not change in my favor (especially past midnight with no cars waiting together with me), i'll just check clear and ignore the red lights.... o_O

You can always use ropes to tie your lighter pillion down... so there's no way they can fly off. :lol:

90km/h is a little sad... When i used to pillion my colleague weighing 90+kg on my TA150, i could still go way above 120... by dragging on the lower gears (and drag and drag and drag and drag)... :lol:

haha !

tie him down? cannot lahh ... later people think i kidnap him.. i requested that he hold to my waist but he insisted that he's ok on the bike (but deep down i know he paiseh to tumpang a girl hehe). as for my "heavier" friend, she wanted to hold my waist but i'm just too small built for her. lol ...

i wanted to drag laa, but my bike really noisy, like it's complaning. "weiii ! so heavy , dont force me go faster laaa ... " hahaha

selamat hari raya to all muslim friends! :smile:

i want green packet can ?

there are always smart alex around la lol

ouch !

---

today, i nearly couldn't taste th spirit of hari raya. dear mummy requested that i send over hari raya cookies over to pasir ris, so i willingly did as it's not too far from my place. after sending the goodies over, rushed back home as i realized i'm already late.

and dear oh dear. whilst making a left turn after filter lane, i forgot to drop gear, and i was making that turn in gear 5 ! took the corner but somehow my tyres sorta slip at the white markings, moving nearer and nearer to the kerb. i was sooo not prepared to take the fall. i was in slippers, pants and tshirt.

didnt know how to counter that kinda situation, so i just nudged to the left. somehow it helped but i was still few centremeteres away frm the kerb. quickly lifted my feet in the air and and managed to complete the left turn.

and i was terrified by what happened . rode back slowly back home. but somehow i'm glad that nothing happened to me . :faint:

yours truly.