• Replies 25.1k

i have a colleague who pumped diesel into his bike. well, not really HIS bike. it's th company's bike. :faint:

feel free to discuss wat happened to the bike haha

My friend scolded the pump attendant for not warning him when he top up the tank with diesel. Yes, he suspects something is wrong because the "Price" is too low but never suspect is diesel. After moving out of the kiosk, bike loose power and die. Have to spend money to get some one to wash the fuel tank/engine.:faint: This mistake can happen since more fuel pump are combine with petrol/diesel.

so far when i passed by accident sites, i dont try to look at what happened, scared i may get affected by what i saw. but just now my eyes itchy wanna look at the CD guys, then as usual, singaporeans kepo wanna see what happen. coz it was after the PIE exit just outside of safra there, some cars really brake and slow down to see what happen, and i almost kissed a cars backside coz i also turned to look at the guys. but when i saw the wreck of the lorry, i shake head.

oh, and it's really not fun to be riding on sand/rocks/stones/pebbles. whatever debris that trucks left behind. coz i almost skid whilst riding the wave. wanted to squeeze through cars towards gap, then OMG~ sand. just ram my way through. felt rear tyres wanna give way. my heart really go up my throat ~ hehhhh

and this is another reason why big vehicles must have a speed limit. too high of a speed and all these stuffs go flying onto the road.

@Raptor: think the unit of measure is not important because the relationship remains the same even if you change the units. bigger radius will always give you higher speeds...but in a race, you don't always want a bigger radius because you want maximum exit speed so normally in a race you brake at the latest point, turn in relatively sharp to get a good exit line that is as straight as possible for highest acceleration...correct?

in a race, only your gut feelings can help you la. just a question of how low and fast are you willing to go in a corner. and importantly, cornering line.

Could you give a more in depth explanation? I am interested in the formulae, never heard of it before. Can give an example?

Is the speed in KMH or MPH, the radius in metric or imperial units?

I race bikes... and getting good traction in the corners is an issue if resolved would result in higher corner speeds which will translate to faster lap times.

Probably firefox87's referring to the centripetal force formula (F = mv^2 / r). Of course, this is a "snapshot" equation - assuming F is constant. During the turn, you decelerate in and accelerate out, so everything is dynamic... And once you start sliding, your tyres need much less "F" to continue the slide than when initiating the slide (static vs rolling friction).

Nevertheless, you can see the manifestation of this in the racing line. But well, as scubasimon mentioned, sometimes, the purpose is not only to go past the corner, but also taking into account the entry and exit strategy, leading to early/late apex lines.

(i'm sleep deprived and heavily caffeinated after pulling an all-nighter :p)

here you go! well explained already. in short, if i'm losing control on my bike in case of a skid, i just turn wider so that the bike will regain traction on the road. that's all. by increase R(radius of circle), i will lower the the centripetal force. as long as the centripetal force is lower than the threshold of the frictional force, i'll be damn sure not to be skidding down the road. any expert please correct me if i'm wrong as this is what i've just been taught la.

for racing purposes, cornering line is more important. slow in and fast out while maximising on the traction limit. an ideal line will allow you to reduce your margin of error. and if uncle raptor is interested, visit here and here to know more about the physics behind racing lines. and if you want to reduce the time going round the turn, i'm sure the above links will really help you understand more on that! but then again, i'm sure you are good enough to know beyond what i'm talking about. haha...

and today while riding, i rode my bike while my family went public/cab to go house visiting. this is the time when i wish i have a car license instead. sigh...

Edited by firefox87

just go out and ride la..

the more you ride, the more you understand how bikes handle..

you dun pass your 2b/2a/2 licence all thru theory..

and i dun tink track junkies take out the formula and calculate all that ding dongs.. -.-

ouch !

---

today, i nearly couldn't taste th spirit of hari raya. dear mummy requested that i send over hari raya cookies over to pasir ris, so i willingly did as it's not too far from my place. after sending the goodies over, rushed back home as i realized i'm already late.

and dear oh dear. whilst making a left turn after filter lane, i forgot to drop gear, and i was making that turn in gear 5 ! took the corner but somehow my tyres sorta slip at the white markings, moving nearer and nearer to the kerb. i was sooo not prepared to take the fall. i was in slippers, pants and tshirt.

didnt know how to counter that kinda situation, so i just nudged to the left. somehow it helped but i was still few centremeteres away frm the kerb. quickly lifted my feet in the air and and managed to complete the left turn.

and i was terrified by what happened . rode back slowly back home. but somehow i'm glad that nothing happened to me . :faint:

some how sometimes u just tend to forget wat gear u are in dun u:cheeky:

My friend scolded the pump attendant for not warning him when he top up the tank with diesel. Yes, he suspects something is wrong because the "Price" is too low but never suspect is diesel. After moving out of the kiosk, bike loose power and die. Have to spend money to get some one to wash the fuel tank/engine.:faint: This mistake can happen since more fuel pump are combine with petrol/diesel.

I like this.

Scold pump attendant for one's own mistake and cockliness of pumping diesel into a petrol tank. Some more can suspect coz price is too low... how come your friend don't kpkb that the price is too low?? But only kpkb when he found it was diesel... did he feel he was 'cheated' out of a good deal?

Next time if your friend get into an accident, I suppose he will scold the TPs for not booking him for speeding also???

Got one colleague who only drives actually asked me if my bike ran on petrol or diesel... So, don't assume that everyone knows bike don't take diesel!

I pump at C, blue = diesel, green = 95, silver = 98. Check pump color and price... if after all the checks, sh!t still happens, count yourself unlucky nia lor, no need to go scold ppl...

Got one colleague who only drives actually asked me if my bike ran on petrol or diesel...

very common, somemore say bikers reckless n dangerous, they haven seen the worst drivers yet:nono:

haha !

tie him down? cannot lahh ... later people think i kidnap him.. i requested that he hold to my waist but he insisted that he's ok on the bike (but deep down i know he paiseh to tumpang a girl hehe). as for my "heavier" friend, she wanted to hold my waist but i'm just too small built for her. lol ...

i wanted to drag laa, but my bike really noisy, like it's complaning. "weiii ! so heavy , dont force me go faster laaa ... " hahaha

Haha. I always tell my heavier pillions, "if anything happen to my bike, you get down and help push". So no worries, can drag until piston fly out from exhaust. But then again, 2-stroke phantoms can take a hell lot of abuse and still go on strong. Simply amazing design. :lol:

today, i nearly couldn't taste th spirit of hari raya. dear mummy requested that i send over hari raya cookies over to pasir ris, so i willingly did as it's not too far from my place. after sending the goodies over, rushed back home as i realized i'm already late.

and dear oh dear. whilst making a left turn after filter lane, i forgot to drop gear, and i was making that turn in gear 5 ! took the corner but somehow my tyres sorta slip at the white markings, moving nearer and nearer to the kerb. i was sooo not prepared to take the fall. i was in slippers, pants and tshirt.

didnt know how to counter that kinda situation, so i just nudged to the left. somehow it helped but i was still few centremeteres away frm the kerb. quickly lifted my feet in the air and and managed to complete the left turn.

and i was terrified by what happened . rode back slowly back home. but somehow i'm glad that nothing happened to me . :faint:

Had experienced those quite a number of times, and didn't make it through some, so i know how you feel. Cold sweat man.

Pretty sure your bike can take the corner even at 5th gear (unless its those kind of super sharp left turn filter lanes) if not for the loss of traction on white marking. Or else your bike should be able to make it, just counter steer abit more (if going fast) and lean into the corner.

Once kena those hazards and traction goes haywire, the headache starts and usually panic takes over. To prevent panicking, now i avoid all suspicious road hazards (suspected oil, sand, white marking, puddle of liquid, debris, etc) at all cost even if it mean i have to take a wider or tighter turn.

If die die have to ride through those funny stuffs, remember to release all brakes (after using them as hard as possible to reduce as much speed as possible going into the corner) and maintain throttle (like jamming brakes, sudden shifts in weight on front/back wheels can cause loss of traction) while keeping the bike as upright as possible (screw the line, can always turn alittle tighter after crossing the hazards, although if the hazard is grease or similar, you're more or less screwed anyway).

But remember this whole lot of mumbo jumbo dont mean jack sh1t if you go into a similar panic situation. You'd probably forget everything i said here, and i wouldnt be there to remind you (wouldnt want to, coz that will mean i'll be your pillion... no thanks! haha). You'll be on your own.

So... the morale of the story is to ride safely at all times. :lol:

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

not today but 2 days ago, i m not sure if i had unintentionally offended the driver or what. but she kept coming very close to me while i was riding. first was overtaking me really close. almost hitting me. when was stopping really really close to me at the traffic light. i turned back and stare at the driver, no reaction from her whatsoever. so was she doing it intentionally or is she has a very poor judgement of distance or what. nvm... i just squeezed to the frontline to avoid this dangerous driver.

pissed off....

307293_10150857547520648_672525279_n.jpg

Katie... I am flying with you...

that one is really .. dumb ..

i used to pump 98 instead of 95 but heng la not much of difference. only difference is pocket more hole.

that guy who pumped diesel actu

and this is another reason why big vehicles must have a speed limit. too high of a speed and all these stuffs go flying onto the road.

in a race, only your gut feelings can help you la. just a question of how low and fast are you willing to go in a corner. and importantly, cornering line.

and today while riding, i rode my bike while my family went public/cab to go house visiting. this is the time when i wish i have a car license instead. sigh...

the other day, a sheet from newspaper flew out of a lorry. i was behinddd ! haaaa ~

luckily my parents allowed me to follow me ride in the car with them at first. after that was public, but public transport = headache. huhuhu ! but ok laa, i can't be riding on my bike with my baju kurong ... later the kain tear i cry ! hahaha

some how sometimes u just tend to forget wat gear u are in dun u:cheeky:

haha ! yess ! but i'll roughly know if i'm in 4 5 or 6 .. if on the eway, sometimes gear up gear down until dont know what gear ... suddenly neutral, then whack throttle and create noise ! hahaha

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

Some good habits can be picked up from track riding.

Despite what BBDC or whatever says... it is safer to downshift first before braking for the corner regardless of your speed. The higher the rpms the safer you are then you can make use of the engine braking... all you need to do is close the throttle and the bike will pull into the corner instead of drifting out.

And to make the bike turn faster into the corner... trail brake on the front brake into the corner. That changes the geometry of the bike..ie lowers the front allowing it to turn easier.

Never, never use the rear brake when going fast into a corner.. confirm crash.

Go to a track like Tuas to learn how to ride fast...you will be surprise how effective the front brake is and how well it makes your tyre grip when trail braking.

haha ! yess ! but i'll roughly know if i'm in 4 5 or 6 .. if on the eway, sometimes gear up gear down until dont know what gear ... suddenly neutral, then whack throttle and create noise ! hahaha

wah! u ride and what do u listen to while riding? your mp3 too loud ah? for me, i also always forget which gear i'm at but i usually know my gears from the sound of engine and my speed. and that is also after listening to mp3. the sound of 2 stroke is really loud eh.

not today but 2 days ago, i m not sure if i had unintentionally offended the driver or what. but she kept coming very close to me while i was riding. first was overtaking me really close. almost hitting me. when was stopping really really close to me at the traffic light. i turned back and stare at the driver, no reaction from her whatsoever. so was she doing it intentionally or is she has a very poor judgement of distance or what. nvm... i just squeezed to the frontline to avoid this dangerous driver.

pissed off....

were u on your ktm or scoot? Maybe she was curious to see what you would do when u stopped, like how you were going to balance your bike cos she also wanna ride tall scrambler :clap: a fan of female scrambler riders!

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

while riding just minutes ago, saw an incident that really make me shake head. :nono::nono: this idiotic pedestrain cyclist i think live long enough liao wanted to die. light was green in favour of vehicles, the adjacent pedestrain crossing timer already "03" counting to "0" before the "red man" will show) cars starting to move (turn left) when this idiotic cyclist suddenly dash to cross the road despite the timer showing an obvious "03". very heng the driver alert enough to siam the cyclist or not sure kenna. what an idiot. this kind of people asked for it, if he/she really died, i also wont pity one. :gun:

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

Listening to music while riding on the NSH makes sense to keep out the boredom and sleepiness. But to listen to music while riding on Singapore roads... thats abit dangerous IMHO.

Situational awareness helps you survive on Singapore roads. I like to hear the sound of the engine and the bike when on the move and also keeps me aware of the vehicles around me.

In the USA I have seen a car nearly T-boned by an ambulance at a traffic light junction. In the USA when any emergency vehicle is on the road with its siren blasting, everyone pulls over to the side and stop to give way and at traffic light junctions.. all sides stop to give way to the emergency vehicles.

This stupid Mexican idiot had his ghetto blaster music blasting in his car and did not hear the siren and shot off when the light turned green. :nono:

were u on your ktm or scoot? Maybe she was curious to see what you would do when u stopped, like how you were going to balance your bike cos she also wanna ride tall scrambler :clap: a fan of female scrambler riders!

haha... i was riding my scooter actually. i get those kind of stares quite often on my ktm... either it's stares of curiousity or fear that i will lose my balance and fall onto their vehicle. lol.

307293_10150857547520648_672525279_n.jpg

Katie... I am flying with you...

Some good habits can be picked up from track riding.

Despite what BBDC or whatever says... it is safer to downshift first before braking for the corner regardless of your speed. The higher the rpms the safer you are then you can make use of the engine braking... all you need to do is close the throttle and the bike will pull into the corner instead of drifting out.

And to make the bike turn faster into the corner... trail brake on the front brake into the corner. That changes the geometry of the bike..ie lowers the front allowing it to turn easier.

Never, never use the rear brake when going fast into a corner.. confirm crash.

Go to a track like Tuas to learn how to ride fast...you will be surprise how effective the front brake is and how well it makes your tyre grip when trail braking.

i'm utilizing more of my front brakes but there are several instances where i jammed and nearly superman off the bikey when lanesplitting and the bike infront suddenly stop. nyehh ~

i'd like to try track riding soon. but daddy wont allow .... and no gears. kekeke

wah! u ride and what do u listen to while riding? your mp3 too loud ah? for me, i also always forget which gear i'm at but i usually know my gears from the sound of engine and my speed. and that is also after listening to mp3. the sound of 2 stroke is really loud eh.

sometimes i plug into mp3, mostly listen to trance and r&b, sometimes abit of underground music. removed all jiwang songs coz of obvious reasons haha ~ i'm still in the process of still knowing my bike, so i'd usually look at the rpm and the sound to gauge what gear i'm in. but i realized tat wen i take off my helmet and ride the bike, the sound really different ehh . hehes

haha... i was riding my scooter actually. i get those kind of stares quite often on my ktm... either it's stares of curiousity or fear that i will lose my balance and fall onto their vehicle. lol.

omg.. u ride ktm ... i envy you ! :bounce:

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

at the lights, i'll lend u my tyres any time~ :clap:

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

i want green packet can ?

---

i notch yet married arh! :cheeky: otherwise can consider red packet. :cheeky:

have u changed ur brakes and tires? (the other time was complaining abt tires rite?)

sis, if we all can predict wat will happen, den no need "safety gear" eh?

if u have safety gear on... ok, stop nagging... :faint:

dun worry, soon la. :smile:

Got one colleague who only drives actually asked me if my bike ran on petrol or diesel... So, don't assume that everyone knows bike don't take diesel!

wow, just how misunderstood are we bikers? :faint:

pissed off....

get out of her way. women driver dun need reason wan. :sian:

while riding just minutes ago, saw an incident that really make me shake head. :nono::nono: this idiotic pedestrain cyclist i think live long enough liao wanted to die. light was green in favour of vehicles, the adjacent pedestrain crossing timer already "03" counting to "0" before the "red man" will show) cars starting to move (turn left) when this idiotic cyclist suddenly dash to cross the road despite the timer showing an obvious "03". very heng the driver alert enough to siam the cyclist or not sure kenna. what an idiot. this kind of people asked for it, if he/she really died, i also wont pity one. :gun:

bro, a bit lost at the scenario.

how old the cyclist look? i rmbr when i was 9, 1 acquaintance died coz ran across x-junction. :(

when 1 was 10, a close friend died at marsiling mrt station coz an idiot van driver reversed into him. :( :( :(

when 1 was 12, a close friend went cycling with me in the rain and he din noe the brakes not working, i qiong after him to notify him, but when i reached him he ald kenna banged by car coz he cant stop - KNN, luckily he survived with minor bruises, the bicycle chuiz like fug. rally fug him upside down, qiong so fast gum l@n arh! :angry:

when i was 15, went cycling with a group of friends, just left his house only 1 funker sports car qiong light turn right and bang my fren, heng he survived by lifting his leg up at the last possible moment and the car brake like fug, jit tao go back home end of cycling expedition.

ok, very off topic, but in that sense im glad the idiot cyclist made it through, hope he woke up after that close shave.

i'd like to try track riding soon. but daddy wont allow .... and no gears. kekeke

a fullface helmet, armor jacket and gloves will traject you in the correct direction nonetheless. :cheeky: ok, stop nagging... :faint:

today while riding....

crashed into a car at route 50 and broke my finger. dunno how i managed to ride 100++ km back to sg and get myself to the hospital lol...

now in a cast and on mc for the next 7days. and no riding till i recover :(

haizzzzz.... tmr need to go down idac.

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

i notch yet married arh! :cheeky: otherwise can consider red packet. :cheeky:

have u changed ur brakes and tires? (the other time was complaining abt tires rite?)

sis, if we all can predict wat will happen, den no need "safety gear" eh?

if u have safety gear on... ok, stop nagging... :faint:

dun worry, soon la. :smile:

wow, just how misunderstood are we bikers? :faint:

get out of her way. women driver dun need reason wan. :sian:

bro, a bit lost at the scenario.

how old the cyclist look? i rmbr when i was 9, 1 acquaintance died coz ran across x-junction. :(

when 1 was 10, a close friend died at marsiling mrt station coz an idiot van driver reversed into him. :( :( :(

when 1 was 12, a close friend went cycling with me in the rain and he din noe the brakes not working, i qiong after him to notify him, but when i reached him he ald kenna banged by car coz he cant stop - KNN, luckily he survived with minor bruises, the bicycle chuiz like fug. rally fug him upside down, qiong so fast gum l@n arh! :angry:

when i was 15, went cycling with a group of friends, just left his house only 1 funker sports car qiong light turn right and bang my fren, heng he survived by lifting his leg up at the last possible moment and the car brake like fug, jit tao go back home end of cycling expedition.

ok, very off topic, but in that sense im glad the idiot cyclist made it through, hope he woke up after that close shave.

a fullface helmet, armor jacket and gloves will traject you in the correct direction nonetheless. :cheeky: ok, stop nagging... :faint:

choose a legoman helmet!~ :clap:

Edited by zyrofillica
today while riding....

crashed into a car at route 50 and broke my finger. dunno how i managed to ride 100++ km back to sg and get myself to the hospital lol...

Wah. Power seh, very strong will power.

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

today while riding....

Wah you very "deng" (hard) ah... Anyways, speedy recovery!