Today while riding, I saw a female Phantom rider turning into NTU.

FV plate. The bike got wide handlebar, and she was wearing an open face helmet with the cheapo green plastic bubble visor from Regina.

Look very weird. But face not too bad looking! :lol:

how come you have all the luck? the lady riders i saw tend to be s**** and f**. and i saw one of them mount onto a ktm 200. i'm only hoping that the suspension is too soft indeed.

Today while riding, I almost skidded on the way into PIE from Toh Guan coming back from IMM. It was raining, coming to the Junction again ORANGE LIGHT! Check speed 50 km/hr, too late & dangerous to Ebrake! :eek: And at that speed, Dry can turn Wet cannot!!!! I braked hard, to slow down to corner. Rear brake again very good, immediately lock like last time! :lol: Can feel the rear not spinning, let go a bit of brake, ok, got some control, then press brake again, lock again. can feel the rear starting to give away, about to fishtail, and that's when I need to do the 90 degree turn.

Failure to turn = Slam into barrier at a perpendicular angle and fly over the railing down to the ground about 5 storey down... Scarey... :sweat:

Fortunately, there were no cars besides me except 1 small white lorry some way back. (I had already out accelerated all the other cars.) The pros of riding a scrambler. :)

So I let go the brakes and did a wide turning, and got away with it. Phew! :sweat:

Look into the mirror the 1 small white lorry chiong the ORange light also. Turtle must be red by the time he turned. :D

Yeah! Live to tell story another day! :cheer:

you're damn lucky you get away with it. for me, i just use my feet to help me back up. worse case scenario, just do wide turning like you. physics never fail! :angel:

i always have the same phobia of slamming into the wall and being flung over!! i think it's just the gut feeling when you have too much acceleration.

seriously careful on those knobs. i made the transition from scrambler on knobbies first bike to a few road going scooters. Till now, i still ride like im on a mountain bike everytime! the knobbies have given me too many close shaves and has made me allergic to wet roads and corners.

same sentiments here! :cheers:

a few days ago while riding, i realised that newton circus is god damn dangerous!! too many traffic lights! cars going too fast! cars not understanding the point of a circle! i thought if you happen to be in the inner circle but u want to turn out, you have to slowly overtake and if cannot, just go turn 1 more round until can!

1) as i approached the circle, i stopped instead even though there was no traffic lights since i saw a car going fast on the outer lane. a bloody hell car behind honked at me!! right after the horn, the car zipped past me, mere centimetres!!! if his horn had made me moved forward a bit, i'll be dead meat!

2) after turning into the middle lane, got 1 car from inner lane chiong-ed all the way out to scotts road, making me and a few other cars jam-braked to avoid colliding onto it. and how he drove? from the inner lane, he rode straight out into scotts road, without due concern for other motorists. can someone tell me of another route to avoid ERP when going town? that is the only way that i know of though.

• Replies 25.1k

how come you have all the luck? the lady riders i saw tend to be s**** and f**. and i saw one of them mount onto a ktm 200. i'm only hoping that the suspension is too soft indeed.

you're damn lucky you get away with it. for me, i just use my feet to help me back up. worse case scenario, just do wide turning like you. physics never fail! :angel:

i always have the same phobia of slamming into the wall and being flung over!! i think it's just the gut feeling when you have too much acceleration.

same sentiments here! :cheers:

a few days ago while riding, i realised that newton circus is god damn dangerous!! too many traffic lights! cars going too fast! cars not understanding the point of a circle! i thought if you happen to be in the inner circle but u want to turn out, you have to slowly overtake and if cannot, just go turn 1 more round until can!

1) as i approached the circle, i stopped instead even though there was no traffic lights since i saw a car going fast on the outer lane. a bloody hell car behind honked at me!! right after the horn, the car zipped past me, mere centimetres!!! if his horn had made me moved forward a bit, i'll be dead meat!

2) after turning into the middle lane, got 1 car from inner lane chiong-ed all the way out to scotts road, making me and a few other cars jam-braked to avoid colliding onto it. and how he drove? from the inner lane, he rode straight out into scotts road, without due concern for other motorists. can someone tell me of another route to avoid ERP when going town? that is the only way that i know of though.

Agree, Newton circle there very dangerous 1. Lucky I nvr met those funky drivers over there. I will always try my best not to use that route, unless cannot avoid liao then I use.

Yesterday while riding in heavy rain on Steven road towards PIE. Was gg slowly like 40kph at the most inner lane. B4 exiting to PIE there is this slight turn, as I turn I saw quite a deep water (maybe 2-3cm depth) so I brake all of sudden but very gently. B4 the turn, cannot see the water. As I turn, my bike like floating & I did very wide turn almost get into the next lane. I was fortunate there was no car using the next lane at that moment. I think the car behind me shock looking at me like that. Haha... When I felt my bike floating, I told myself, OMG Im gonna fall this time. :angel:

When I reach home, I sit down drink a glass of water, and tell myself next time i ride on heavy rain, I will slow down till 20kph b4 turning. I would say, that Steven rd turning is a failure planning. There shouldnt be any road that can collect water after a turn, no matter sharp or slight turn. Becareful guys when u pass that road on heavy rain.

Edited by Red_Devils

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

can someone tell me of another route to avoid ERP when going town? that is the only way that i know of though.

i also dont like to go through newton circus, the circle is scary and the traffic lights sometimes on, sometimes off. if can i would avoid it. maybe you can try using stevens road, pass rgs and it will also take you to scotts road. :)

newton circle lights normally on during peak hours only...

In the evening normally off de..

Getting used to that dangerous roundabout already..

my tip is to keep extreme left in the roundabout...

encountered an f***ed driver along hougang ave 2 that got me fired up enough to issue an thumbs down hand gesture.

was riding along hougang ave towards ubi, saw a toyota coming towards me from the rear very fast, about 2-3 vehicles length ahead of me is a lorry, i always tend to keep a longer safety distance if im behind a larger vehicle, if not change lane and overtake whenever is safe to do so, this damned toyota driver starting tailgating me very closely despite the fact a lorry is just metres ahead of me, i tapped my brakes in an gesture to him to back off, he K*N got the cheek to high beam me, thats when i gave him the thumbs down hand gesture, he then proceeded to overtake me dangerously from my left, cutting into a bus lane (during bus lane hours) and so close on my left i can punch his window literally. now im freaking pissed liao la, i blasted my horn, change lane into bus lane and overtook him and gave him a long hard stare, sped off and lane splitted to the front, that bugger had no chance to chase me.

i mean you drive so fast for what? fast nevermind, infront got vehicle right? tailgate me so close for what? give you warning not to tailgate you still got the audacity to high beam me? if i was driving a lorry, i swear i would had jam my brakes and let him kiss my ass. seriously screw that driver.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

ughh...another ugly commuter. tailgate also achieve no purpose, in front no space to give way what..

drive like a maniac..endanger other lives..all to save what..a measly 10 min?

..maybe his house caught fire or he rushing to get re-incarnated....>.

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

ughh.....another ugly commuter. tailgate also achieve no purpose, in front no space to give way what..

drive like a maniac..endanger other lives..all to save what..a measly 10 min?

maybe his house caught fire or he rushing to hell....>.>

yeah man sis... was actually hoping he was trying to chase me down and end up rearending another vehicle. evil thinking? perhaps yes, but i say he freaking deserve it.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

encountered an f***ed driver along hougang ave 2 that got me fired up enough to issue an thumbs down hand gesture.

was riding along hougang ave towards ubi, saw a toyota coming towards me from the rear very fast, about 2-3 vehicles length ahead of me is a lorry, i always tend to keep a longer safety distance if im behind a larger vehicle, if not change lane and overtake whenever is safe to do so, this damned toyota driver starting tailgating me very closely despite the fact a lorry is just metres ahead of me, i tapped my brakes in an gesture to him to back off, he K*N got the cheek to high beam me, thats when i gave him the thumbs down hand gesture, he then proceeded to overtake me dangerously from my left, cutting into a bus lane (during bus lane hours) and so close on my left i can punch his window literally. now im freaking pissed liao la, i blasted my horn, change lane into bus lane and overtook him and gave him a long hard stare, sped off and lane splitted to the front, that bugger had no chance to chase me.

i mean you drive so fast for what? fast nevermind, infront got vehicle right? tailgate me so close for what? give you warning not to tailgate you still got the audacity to high beam me? if i was driving a lorry, i swear i would had jam my brakes and let him kiss my ass. seriously screw that driver.

he is late for his appt to wrap a tree mah. aiyo u too slow lah. blocking him liddat. later he cannot wrap tree how? haizzzz :cheeky:

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

There shouldnt be any road that can collect water after a turn, no matter sharp or slight turn. Becareful guys when u pass that road on heavy rain.

clementi ave 6 - pie(Changi) that turn also cannot see flood/ breakdown vehicle.

i rmbr one night i was going along relac ba long long, scarlee 1 truck breakdown IN THE TURN, no hazard light, no triangle plate, only the truck driver standing near the rear flashing his puny torchlight.

another time was same turn, after rain, turn halfway fwa! flood. :faint:

bro, no offence, but i always think of it this way:

u are human, u can dulan.

driver also human, driver also can dulan.

what he dulan abt, i dunno, and i also dun wanna noe.

what i do noe, is that you can lanesplit, u can middle finger, u can thumbs down, u can wave bye bye, u can horn, u can punch door, u can kick mirror... but u cannot kill him. As in, even if u want, u cant!

driver, on the other hand, CAN kill u...

they are "given" the right, they CAN kill u. just need to say rider reckless, u hosay liaoz. At most they 1 min jail, $0.20 fine...

clementi ave 6 - pie(Changi) that turn also cannot see flood/ breakdown vehicle.

i rmbr one night i was going along relac ba long long, scarlee 1 truck breakdown IN THE TURN, no hazard light, no triangle plate, only the truck driver standing near the rear flashing his puny torchlight.

another time was same turn, after rain, turn halfway fwa! flood. :faint:

what i do noe, is that you can lanesplit, u can middle finger, u can thumbs down, u can wave bye bye, u can horn, u can punch door, u can kick mirror... but u cannot kill him. As in, even if u want, u cant!

they are "given" the right, they CAN kill u. just need to say rider reckless, u hosay liaoz. At most they 1 min jail, $0.20 fine...

true that true that ! driver can kill us anytime . drivers like to tailgate, especially if you give a slight clearance between your bike and the vehicle infront. yesterday at CTE kena tailgate close2, really block my whole mirror, i wanna go faster but cannot, coz i already very close to the vehicle infront, somemore with pillion. dont dare lanesplit already. then suay2 the car infront brake, luckily can brake in time. my pillion slide down until my seat, fwaa can become single seater already laa my bike ! hehe

yeaa, clementi ave 6 - pie changi th flood during heavy rain horrible. still remember on that night where i self skid during heavy rain after entering PIE, before that my crocs got stuck in the puddle then i drop my crocs.. hehs .. that was before entering the turn, at the chevron marking ..

jackohjack, when wanna go take defensive riding? :angel:

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

yesterday a toyota was tailgating me too! it was a 2 lane road and the left lane was empty. was travelling on the right lane and there were a few cars infront of me, everyone keeping about 3 cars distance from the vehicle infront because the road was quite empty. and then comes this toyota, tailgating me. he even high beam me wtf. i mean, if he was in a rush he could use the EMPTY left lane right? if he got infront of me, there are other cars blocking him too what. so i lane changed to the left and mr toyota speeds up and finds himself blocked by another car, so he lane changed to the left too tailgating me again. damnit, we stopped at the red light infront and later when lights turned green i moved off to the right and he zoooomed away.

before this i gave way to an opc when our lanes were merging. and then when he was infront of me he started spraying water and cleaning his windows. i could see the water shoot high up and because i was behind him, it landed on me. sway! but i think he wasnt doing it on purpose, when i switched lanes he was still spraying water. haha

thats why i didnt jam my brakes, i only tap my brakes lightly to signal to him to back off. i understand we riders are always on the losing end in an accident. a case of egg hit rock. we are the egg the tards in cages are the rock. i was kind enough to tap my brakes lightly in an effort to tell that driver to keep a further following distance but he freaking high-beamed me instead. take note im not road hogging as there is a truck just a few metres infront of me. if i was driving a lorry instead of riding a bike i confirm jam brake let him kiss my ass one. blow a hole in his pockets and make sure his insurance premium rise sharply.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

yesterday at CTE kena tailgate close2, really block my whole mirror, i wanna go faster but cannot, coz i already very close to the vehicle infront, somemore with pillion.

jackohjack, when wanna go take defensive riding? :angel:

i think u shd try to keep a safe distance to the vehicle in front nonetheless.

OH YA! im supposed to go for defensive! :cheeky: now pocket and time a bit tight arh.

after 18 dec my fyp will come to a calm rest point, no need so hectic, but i think only early jan i'll have some spare cash. :cheeky: pm me ur contact? i'll contact bbdc abt 18 dec. :smile:

thats why i didnt jam my brakes, i only tap my brakes lightly to signal to him to back off. i understand we riders are always on the losing end in an accident. a case of egg hit rock. we are the egg the tards in cages are the rock. i was kind enough to tap my brakes lightly in an effort to tell that driver to keep a further following distance but he freaking high-beamed me instead. take note im not road hogging as there is a truck just a few metres infront of me. if i was driving a lorry instead of riding a bike i confirm jam brake let him kiss my ass one. blow a hole in his pockets and make sure his insurance premium rise sharply.

if i was driving a lorry, i swear i would had jam my brakes and let him kiss my ass. seriously screw that driver.

my apologies, coz the earlier post quite wordy, i skimmed through and only saw the words in orange. :cheeky: ps ps.

now that i read it again, actually u r right in getting away from him, 2 heated loggerheads ain't gonna solve anything yeah? :smile:

i think u shd try to keep a safe distance to the vehicle in front nonetheless.

my apologies, coz the earlier post quite wordy, i skimmed through and only saw the words in orange. :cheeky: ps ps.

now that i read it again, actually u r right in getting away from him, 2 heated loggerheads ain't gonna solve anything yeah? :smile:

no probs bro. it is important to keep a safe following distance, let's imagine an scenerio, i am riding a motorcycle, behind me got an idiot tailgating me closely and fiercely making me very uncomfortable, other lanes are occupied with vehicles streaming past, no chance to lane change, i decide to speed up and got closer to the vehicle infront of me, the idiot behind still tailgating despite my effort to pull away of him by speeding up. sway sway the vehicle infront of me jammed brake, i jam brake also, cannot brake in time and slammed flat into the back of the vehicle infront of me, the idiot behind also cannot brake in time and slammed into my rear. what becomes of me? become the fillet in between the 2 bread like fillet o fish. chances of survival? almost nil.

we as riders can gear up, full face, armor and gloves, practise safe and defensive riding. we can do whatever possible on our part to reach our destination safe and sound, yet there are factors we cannot control, other ppl's action, it just takes an act of stupidity from a road user to just put our lives in danger. the sad thing is from what i observed, these kind of idiotic drivers on the roads are increasing as time pass. this part of the percentage of the risks a rider faces on the road is growing and obviously it isn't helping us. the problem lies majority in these kind of inconsiderate and irresponsible road users and not us riders, and pls don count in the black sheeps among us who rides recklessly w/o regard to the safety of other road users.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

we as riders can gear up, full face, armor and gloves, practise safe and defensive riding. we can do whatever possible on our part to reach our destination safe and sound, yet there are factors we cannot control, other ppl's action, it just takes an act of stupidity from a road user to just put our lives in danger. the sad thing is from what i observed, these kind of idiotic drivers on the roads are increasing as time pass. this part of the percentage of the risks a rider faces on the road is growing and obviously it isn't helping us. the problem lies majority in these kind of inconsiderate and irresponsible road users and not us riders, and pls don count in the black sheeps among us who rides recklessly w/o regard to the safety of other road users.

sadly, i have to agree with you on this. last time, i can be so flustered at every single of their idiotic antics. too many times until i realised that no matter what i did, nothing will change them. so now? i'm just focused on staying alive. be alert. ensure i'm riding at centre of lane unless lane splitting. any slight movements of cars, i just slalom past, ensuring a buffer of air space in between. after red light, i always go faster to get away from the pack. then, i go slower to let those 'racers' in front. then, i'll be in the centre of the pack where i'll try to ensure the nearest car is as far as possible. always check blindspot as some cars like to go so fast until you don't realise they are just at your blindspot.

today, i had finally bought a Komine mesh jacket after waiting for so many months. and i realised that i bought it at $130 along with guards but it feels more comfortable after removing the guards. wanted to get the basic mesh jacket at $99 but no more stock. :(

just now while riding for a short distance to petrol station..

i feel people stare at me cause i ride small bike yet i wear full face :sian:

It doesnt matter whether u r riding mini, small, medium, big, or huge bike with full face helmet. What most important is our own safety. :angel:

I myself wearing FF helmet riding CBR150, which is kind of skinnier than ur SP. :angel:

Now we all encounter tailgating incidents by reckless driver more and more each day. I realise during my time taking license, none of the instructors told me what to do best, except tapping the brake 3 times. But this does NOT help at all.

Anyone ever ask the authority (TP) on what to do in this situation? Kind to share???

just now while riding for a short distance to petrol station..

i feel people stare at me cause i ride small bike yet i wear full face :sian:

woohooz! u passed! :thumb: safety on the road ah, ff is good to start with. :smile:

Now we all encounter tailgating incidents by reckless driver more and more each day. I realise during my time taking license, none of the instructors told me what to do best, except tapping the brake 3 times. But this does NOT help at all.

Anyone ever ask the authority (TP) on what to do in this situation? Kind to share???

maybe they fine u for hogging... :sian:

"ya la, orh bee what!?!? OF COURSE they can do that, fine u!!" :faint:

It doesnt matter whether u r riding mini, small, medium, big, or huge bike with full face helmet. What most important is our own safety. :angel:

I myself wearing FF helmet riding CBR150, which is kind of skinnier than ur SP. :angel:

yea i love my face very much de :cheeky:

but the bad points of ff helmet is very hot and the helmet is heavier and bigger. very bulky to carry around.. :(

woohooz! u passed! :thumb: safety on the road ah, ff is good to start with. :smile:

maybe they fine u for hogging... :sian:

"ya la, orh bee what!?!? OF COURSE they can do that, fine u!!" :faint:

yeah i passed. :D where u stay btw? :o

was riding home on PIE just now.... when my helmet bag sling suddenly SNAP.

lost a helmet, hp and wallet. FML! damn sad now. :(

wa u are really very suay.

then what happened to your things? on the middle of the highway?

wa u are really very suay.

then what happened to your things? on the middle of the highway?

if on the middle still good... i cut to road shoulder, walk back at least a good 100m also cannot find. maybe drag under car or knock by other car to dunno where liao. :cry:

肥仔七åƒå·

if on the middle still good... i cut to road shoulder, walk back at least a good 100m also cannot find. maybe drag under car or knock by other car to dunno where liao. :cry:

wa like that sian.. :sian:

means ur ic all lost liao lor..

hopefully someone returns ur things? possible ba? :)

now im freaking pissed liao la, i blasted my horn, change lane into bus lane and overtook him and gave him a long hard stare, sped off and lane splitted to the front, that bugger had no chance to chase me.

wat for do all these n might even endanger urself? tat driver could even knock u down on purpose.

ride safe:)

when i switched lanes he was still spraying water. haha

haha, his car too long nv wash liao, cannot see anything in front

i realised that i bought it at $130 along with guards but it feels more comfortable after removing the guards. wanted to get the basic mesh jacket at $99 but no more stock. :(

mesh amour jacket but u remove the guards? i advise u to leave the guards on, safety first:thumb: