Maybe, but usually I'm alert. This morning don't have. =P

Power!

I'm certain that it is not accidental. Not at all.

The driver had the headlight on all the time. The highbeam turned on immediately after I overtake the car.

Furthermore, I don't like people who use highbeam all the way.

I'm unable to check my rear view with my mirrors because of those irritating glare from the mirrors.

Sure, that vehicle got my attention. Other than that, I can't see anything else clearly! Even during the day.

Danielling, don't assume too much. I know how accidental flash looks like.

Sorry zac. meant it as a jokingly manner. I believe you noe wat accidental flash looks like.

For the riding with high beam, after reading some of the forumers saying it helped, just wanted to try it out myself. I also think will only turn highbeam on in the day ONLY. also will turn it off if LS behind other riders.

good for you! effective right? the high beam morning trick has saved me a few close encounters.

So far so good. But i do wonder if daytime high beam will affect others like night time anot. Will ve to test it with my gf driving while I riding in the day. Dun wish to bother other road users either... I remember when i just got my bike, it came with HID. Within 1 week i go change it becoz i myself buay tahan the brightness. Dun understand how others can tahan their lights SOooooooo bright...

i also wan to ask , why do riders wear sunglasses at 530 to 630 pm ??

sun very glaring ?

I do. Actually the setting sun is very glaring in certain directions. For me, becoz i dun really ve the option to wear my shades anytime I wish, i will just estimate my journey. If i will reach destination when sun is still up, i will put on shades. For safety reasons too becoz encounter before when dun ve this habit, kanna blinded by the sunlight to the extent tat I really couldn't see.

• Replies 25.1k

sun very glaring ?

Because we are cool. :cool:

You won't understand one lah! You not one of us mah! :lol:

Just kidding. Most likely they have been wearing the sunglasses for a long time before the evening sets in.

I once wore my sunglasses on the way back to SG from Malaysia. Been riding for 3 hours, then realised it's getting darker and darker. :cheeky:

sun very glaring ?

Can get those new helmets with build in sunshade, can flip up when not needed and flip down when got sun. :p

We R One!

sun very glaring ?

Yes. If you riding towards the west. Its damn glaring.

Today while riding, I was closing in on a driver at lane 1.

Lane 2 was clear, so I overtook the car from its left.

When I switch back to lane 1, this driver high-beamed me.

What is wrong with him? I overtook the car with much clearence and I was travelling at much faster speed than the car. It was around six in the morning.

Weird.

some drivers dun like to be overtaken.. ego problem..

had a few encounters whereby driver was road hogging lane 1. lane 2 was clear so i overtook the car and switch back to lane 1 with a safe distance. driver then start to accelerate and proceeded to tailgate me

Maybe he forgot to turn on headlight. Then as u pass him, realise dun ve e light shining on ur bike. Then turn on lo. An he installed HID.

Or maybe just accidently press e flash. Usually if i wan flash pple i will do it multiple times to make sure theres no misunderstanding tat it could be a accidental flash.

Ps: now i also ride with high beam in e day. Today 1st day. Saw a few drifting cars tat stop drifitng when i got near. Hope this is a good way to make ourselves more visible.

good for you! effective right? the high beam morning trick has saved me a few close encounters.

so far got encounter any driver that get offended with turning on high beam? i used to turn on high beam while riding in the morning on my x1-r. some drivers got offended and started to turn on their high beam and follow me

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

I both drive and ride. As a driver, the bike's high beam height most of the time nicely hits the side mirror or even blanks out the rearview mirror. Makes one more noticeable, doubtless. When it comes to impatient or careless drivers, might actually complicate things. All you see in the mirror is a ball of light. You know something is coming, but cannot gauge how fast or whether it's far behind. Naturally, logical answer would be to wait before changing lane right? That's where some drivers will wait a few secs, don't see you go past, then decide that you're not approaching after all and quickly process with the lane change. Just so happens, you reach their side, then.....whammo....

I'd say save the high beam and flick the pass switch if extra visibility is needed.

Plus if directly behind driver, rearview mirror awash in light, cannot monitor vehicles coming up behind easily.

And, morning, so many grumpy drivers, get annoyed faster.

It's kinda like point a torchlight at someone's face whilst talking to them. They know you're there, but dunno how far you are from them nor what you look like/are.

Sidenote, those geniuses with non-stock HIDs fitted in reflector headlamps, regardless of car/bike. They are the most annoying ever, cannot see anything but white glare in the mirrors.

Smile! Tomorrow will be worse.

SBT #1149 Price List

I both drive and ride. As a driver, the bike's high beam height most of the time nicely hits the side mirror or even blanks out the rearview mirror. Makes one more noticeable, doubtless. When it comes to impatient or careless drivers, might actually complicate things. All you see in the mirror is a ball of light. You know something is coming, but cannot gauge how fast or whether it's far behind. Naturally, logical answer would be to wait before changing lane right? That's where some drivers will wait a few secs, don't see you go past, then decide that you're not approaching after all and quickly process with the lane change. Just so happens, you reach their side, then.....whammo....

I'd say save the high beam and flick the pass switch if extra visibility is needed.

Plus if directly behind driver, rearview mirror awash in light, cannot monitor vehicles coming up behind easily.

It's kinda like point a torchlight at someone's face whilst talking to them. They know you're there, but dunno how far you are from them nor what you look like/are.

Sidenote, those geniuses with non-stock HIDs fitted in reflector headlamps, regardless of car/bike. They are the most annoying ever, cannot see anything but white glare in the mirrors.

Good points. So far when i drive, during e day when i c those flash high beam, is not tat noticeable. Ve not encountered any constantly on high beam car or bike yet thus unable to comment.

For normal lights, i think when far still ok. But u r right when nearing, e high beam may even obstruct e front vehicles view. But trying to become more visible by flashing may also cause irritation to other vehicles. Both way also seems to ve negative effect.

Any other suggestions to make us riders more visible without causing any irritation?

I do get a little bit annoyed when bikes or drivers switch on their high beams when there's no reason to. Glares on my side mirrors. Normal beam is enough. Why can't just keep a safe distance? I hate it when some taxis do that when they're driving behind me so it reminds me to not do that to others too.

One of the most idiotic things I've experienced are drivers who continually high beam you to get out of the way during a traffic jam when there is no way they can overtake in the first place..

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

Any other suggestions to make us riders more visible without causing any irritation?

How about high-vis jackets? The disconcerting and bright colours are chosen to deliberately get the attention of our eyes.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

I do get a little bit annoyed when bikes or drivers switch on their high beams when there's no reason to. Glares on my side mirrors. Normal beam is enough. Why can't just keep a safe distance? I hate it when some taxis do that when they're driving behind me so it reminds me to not do that to others too.

One of the most idiotic things I've experienced are drivers who continually high beam you to get out of the way during a traffic jam when there is no way they can overtake in the first place..

btw, have u guys notice that some drivers adjust the level of their normal beam higher than usual? not sure if it is done on purpose, but some cars' normal beam looks as though it is high beam

:box: :box: dbl post..

btw, have u guys notice that some drivers adjust the level of their normal beam higher than usual? not sure if it is done on purpose, but some cars' normal beam looks as though it is high beam

Yea, I notice that too. Darned irritating. I think most of em would be those high n mighty SUVs. Headlights already far from the ground. Though, yes, seen some regular cars with either high beam on, or super badly aimed low beams.

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac46/Tachnicolour/Completed%20works/combination_2.jpg

Convert your backlight COLOURs at : <CMO> Speedo Backlight colour CONVERSION by Tachnicolour

an eye for an eye and the world goes blind ... woooooo
I don't like people who use highbeam all the way.

I'm unable to check my rear view with my mirrors because of those irritating glare from the mirrors.

Sure, that vehicle got my attention. Other than that, I can't see anything else clearly! Even during the day.

My sentiment exactly.

I once encountered this.

While parking, there was this van with its beam directed straight to my face.

I approaced the driver politely and asked if he could turn his highbeam off.

He checked his switch and it's already off!

He came out of the vehicle and see. Agreed that his van's low beam was too high and switched his headlight off. Good fella.

A fast and cost free way I check my vehicle's low and high beam is to shine it at a wall at a distance, and see the pattern and height of the headlight's light throw.

Edited by zac__

today while riding to work

encountered at least 3 lane splitting taxis

and a taxi going at 80 on lane 1+2 on ECP, holding up all the cars behind him. the cars beamed, horn and tailgate also no use. the bugger just hog lane 1 and 2 happily

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

today while riding to work

encountered at least 3 lane splitting taxis

and a taxi going at 80 on lane 1+2 on ECP, holding up all the cars behind him. the cars beamed, horn and tailgate also no use. the bugger just hog lane 1 and 2 happily

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Sorry zac. meant it as a jokingly manner. I believe you noe wat accidental flash looks like.

For the riding with high beam, after reading some of the forumers saying it helped, just wanted to try it out myself. I also think will only turn highbeam on in the day ONLY. also will turn it off if LS behind other riders.

So far so good. But i do wonder if daytime high beam will affect others like night time anot. Will ve to test it with my gf driving while I riding in the day. Dun wish to bother other road users either... I remember when i just got my bike, it came with HID. Within 1 week i go change it becoz i myself buay tahan the brightness. Dun understand how others can tahan their lights SOooooooo bright...

I do. Actually the setting sun is very glaring in certain directions. For me, becoz i dun really ve the option to wear my shades anytime I wish, i will just estimate my journey. If i will reach destination when sun is still up, i will put on shades. For safety reasons too becoz encounter before when dun ve this habit, kanna blinded by the sunlight to the extent tat I really couldn't see.

i tried before on myself. no issues.at night time will be very glaring because its dark surrondings. but in mornings when its bright, the driver can still see his surrondings although your headlamp will be "glinty" in their mirrors. that's all.

some drivers dun like to be overtaken.. ego problem..

had a few encounters whereby driver was road hogging lane 1. lane 2 was clear so i overtook the car and switch back to lane 1 with a safe distance. driver then start to accelerate and proceeded to tailgate me

so far got encounter any driver that get offended with turning on high beam? i used to turn on high beam while riding in the morning on my x1-r. some drivers got offended and started to turn on their high beam and follow me

never leh, is it the timing? I use it during morning commute to work around 8-9am. and evening 5-6pm. nobody dulan. at least not that i know of.

Good points. So far when i drive, during e day when i c those flash high beam, is not tat noticeable. Ve not encountered any constantly on high beam car or bike yet thus unable to comment.

For normal lights, i think when far still ok. But u r right when nearing, e high beam may even obstruct e front vehicles view. But trying to become more visible by flashing may also cause irritation to other vehicles. Both way also seems to ve negative effect.

install TP horn! :p

yesterday while going home saw a cyclist riding on road shoulder at CTE

wonder how he manage to go in

he's not supposed to be there...

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

yesterday while going home saw a cyclist riding on road shoulder at CTE

wonder how he manage to go in

This may be old but where there is a will there is a way. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

How about high-vis jackets? The disconcerting and bright colours are chosen to deliberately get the attention of our eyes.

Good idea. But i wonder y is it tat sometimes other road users cant c us when our headlights is on. i think best is put red/blue blinking light. :)

Sometimes i think is not we r not visible but is a choice not to c.