Any recommendations on what brands of lubricants are best for Super4? Furthermore my chain tends to sag down after 1 month of riding...any advice anyone?

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif
  • Replies 24

whats your budget? can be at either ends of the scale...

getting a scottoiler will be a good maintenance. as easy as 'install and forget' just need to top up once in a long while. get your chain really nice and clean. can get whole set around $170 plus minus...

for a real cheap alternative, get a bottle of gear oil (SAE 80 or 90 at a few bucks), apply with a 50 cent made in china brush. chain nice and clean also. but oil get fling around and have to do a fair bit of cleaning...

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by chrislayer@Mar 10 2005, 12:24 AM

Any recommendations on what brands of lubricants are best for Super4? Furthermore my chain tends to sag down after 1 month of riding...any advice anyone?

i Use PJ 1...

but i do remember someone told me that one brand that are no longer avaliable in SG that after applying will not even fling off and its very clean...

perhaps, anyone can help me by posting it here?

if yOu NeVeR tRy, YoU nEvEr LiVeD

live ToDaY to tHe fullest, FoR yOu will NeVeR see it again once iTs gone

Originally posted by kuppoh@Mar 11 2005, 09:11 AM

i Use PJ 1...

but i do remember someone told me that one brand that are no longer avaliable in SG that after applying will not even fling off and its very clean...

maxima

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by kennethy@Mar 11 2005, 05:45 AM

getting a scottoiler will be a good maintenance. as easy as 'install and forget' just need to top up once in a long while. get your chain really nice and clean. can get whole set around $170 plus minus...

for a real cheap alternative, get a bottle of gear oil (SAE 80 or 90 at a few bucks), apply with a 50 cent made in china brush. chain nice and clean also. but oil get fling around and have to do a fair bit of cleaning...

wow...! dat EX huh...well...I'm just looking for a slick and dirt-less lubricant...no more dirt on my chain and rims(especially)...

Originally posted by kuppoh@Mar 11 2005, 09:11 AM

i Use PJ 1...

I've just switched to PJ-1 recently too...and I find that it is the best that I have used so far...no need to clean my rims that often...and it's quite cheap too....if i'm not wrong 8 bucks...[/font]

btw where can i get this scottoiler lub?

Originally posted by quizesilver@Mar 11 2005, 08:48 PM

motorworld

it is good!

Thx!

Guest bomerman81

can try motorex.... abt $ 18/ can quite a big can....

can get @ sporting motor.....

veri gd wont fling so much n the lube will sets in the chain fast like ard 20mins.....

Originally posted by bomerman81@Mar 13 2005, 08:53 PM

can try motorex.... abt $ 18/ can quite a big can....

can get @ sporting motor.....

veri gd wont fling so much n the lube will sets in the chain fast like ard 20mins.....

Thx bro~

i like to use hunting chain lube is good. Use to believe it. i seldom need to tighten chain. i think 6 months once or longer....

Signal First Before You Brake

I maybe always meowing but sometime i ROAR

SuperFour Biker

Beware of 6350 RPM .................. VTEC .

Posts ALL Rights reserved�.

Reading purpose only. Not for copying or duplicated �.

THE WINGS TO RIDE FREELY

Guest 60KMH

You mean we actually can use Engine Oil to lube? So use USED engine oil or UNUSE Engine oil???

Do we need to lube the chain and leave it overnite? Anyway some say we can use kerosene to clean the chain and where we can get kerosene??? Thanks

Originally posted by chrislayer@Mar 10 2005, 12:24 AM

Check with u... Do u use alot of engine brake when u intend to slow or stop the bike????

Using of Engine brake may cos chain to elongated if i am not wrong....

It Is Not How FAST You Can Travel, But How FAST You Can Handle?

Originally posted by VOODOO_DOLL@Mar 14 2005, 10:49 PM

Check with u... Do u use alot of engine brake when u intend to slow or stop the bike????

Using of Engine brake may cos chain to elongated if i am not wrong....

yeah man...i do use lotsa engine brake...hmm..guess u could be right..where did u get the info from bro?

besides this, any other ways to avoid the sagginess on my chain besides this factor?..cos its really worrying me...sigh

Originally posted by 60KMH@Mar 14 2005, 12:54 PM

You mean we actually can use Engine Oil to lube? So use USED engine oil or UNUSE Engine oil???

Do we need to lube the chain and leave it overnite? Anyway some say we can use kerosene to clean the chain and where we can get kerosene??? Thanks

yeah... EO as chain lub is good... cos they are design to take that strain from the engine wear and tear... so the same protective effect can apply to your chain...

prefer new EO lah... oil one will make the chain looks dirty leh.. kekeke... anyway, get a bottle of EO you can use for donkey years...

can get diseal to clean but not petrol... cos petrol will 'eat' into the chain...

but if you use EO, dun really need to clean the chain anymore cos when you move the EO will fling off with the dirt... maybe first time before you apply the EO have to clean a bit lah... once you started with EO, dun really have to clean the chain anymore.. but some cleaning if the EO fling to some other areas on your bike...

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by chrislayer@Mar 15 2005, 01:17 AM

yeah man...i do use lotsa engine brake...hmm..guess u could be right..where did u get the info from bro?

besides this, any other ways to avoid the sagginess on my chain besides this factor?..cos its really worrying me...sigh

if you use a good chain (with 'o' rings) plus constant lub, the chain will maintain for a long time...

my last experience is up to 8 month dun have to re-adjust the chain... :smile:

All Must Work Hard!

i tink the best is Maxima chain wax!!!

Maxima chain wax for street riding but it attracts dirt abit,i`m currently trying maxima chain guard so far so good but it flings. Chain wear depends on riding style,pillion or single riding and regular mantainence.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

Flinging sux man.....

i hate chain lube that flings, make mi bike and rim damn dirty. Sometimes clothes also kena.

The biggest culprit = Castrol chain spray (white)