[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

No prob to put 1.2L, mine has always been 1.2L. I even heard a mechanic at AMK saying that he recommend all his phantom customer to put 1.5L! :cheeky:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by Keenguy@May 21 2006, 11:14 PM

No prob to put 1.2L, mine has always been 1.2L. I even heard a mechanic at AMK saying that he recommend all his phantom customer to put 1.5L! :cheeky:

used to put 1.2L, but since i am changing it every 2km then think 1 L is sufficient. save a few bucks.

Hmm.. I'm changing my oil every 2000km.. Do i still need to perform engine oil level check? I'm putting in 1.2Ltr..

Another thing: How to check engine oil level huh? start the egine, let it idle for a few minutes. Stop the engine and make the bike upright. Take out the dipstick, wipe it clean and insert it without screwing. Is this the correct way? Coz when i check the engine oil level while the bike is cold, it appears too much to me.. Not even in the upper level indicated in the dipstick..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Is this correct? Pls correct me if I'm wrong to help me correct my understanding..

When I start bike in the morning, I let it idle for 1 to 2 mins.. Aft I started moving off, i shld not drag the gears for too long as most wear & tear occurs when the bike is still cold..

Therefore, I shld shift the gear up smoothly without dragging them.. Tat means bout 65km/hr when shifting to 6th gear.. I continue this for a few minutes until when I stop at traffic light.. Listened to the engine sound.. The piston like hitting stronger than starting bike and engine seems to be hotter..

This is when I start to slowly drag the gear to utilise more power of the bike, but not to the extent of the bike screaming and vibrating strongly.. When I reached SLE, my speed will be 70km/hr at 5th gear and ready to change into 6th gear..

So is my understanding correct? Pls advice.. Thanks..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Originally posted by Technician III@May 22 2006, 10:56 AM

Hmm.. I'm changing my oil every 2000km.. Do i still need to perform engine oil level check? I'm putting in 1.2Ltr..

Another thing: How to check engine oil level huh? start the egine, let it idle for a few minutes. Stop the engine and make the bike upright. Take out the dipstick, wipe it clean and insert it without screwing. Is this the correct way?

sounds ok to me

Originally posted by Technician III@May 22 2006, 11:08 AM

Is this correct? Pls correct me if I'm wrong to help me correct my understanding..

When I start bike in the morning, I let it idle for 1 to 2 mins.. Aft I started moving off, i shld not drag the gears for too long as most wear & tear occurs when the bike is still cold..

Therefore, I shld shift the gear up smoothly without dragging them.. Tat means bout 65km/hr when shifting to 6th gear.. I continue this for a few minutes until when I stop at traffic light.. Listened to the engine sound.. The piston like hitting stronger than starting bike and engine seems to be hotter..

This is when I start to slowly drag the gear to utilise more power of the bike, but not to the extent of the bike screaming and vibrating strongly.. When I reached SLE, my speed will be 70km/hr at 5th gear and ready to change into 6th gear..

So is my understanding correct? Pls advice.. Thanks..

Also sounds ok to me.

to me its very different, i always changed to gear 6 at 80+ to 90km/h that way the 6th gear can go to 100 without much noise if change when less than 80 when reach 100 it will scream loudly thats why its up to each bike condition u can try our method and improve on it let us noe then....:cheeky:

D@v3d3v|L

sorry to interupt..

may i know if the quality of EO has got anything to do with changing gears.

i changed mine to dunno wat EO brand... now when changing gears down, esp from 2nd to 1st gears, sometimes hear this very rough sound, or the sound like the gear dropped so hard...

i still wondering this could be due to my clutch plate change?

very blur n sian... thanks

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/herculie/Valky_Siggy.jpg

EO definately got influence in changing gear actually a good EO will make slight improvement to ur bike thats wat i think EO cannot becos of save money get a not so good one cos its only change every few months. the bike most impt is the engine if that one gone or got problem means scrap or overhaul so cannot play with that. Its jus my opinion la...:goodluck:

D@v3d3v|L

ok.. i also thought so..

but since its only been like 300 to 500km since i changed le..

gonna go back to my $20, the red bottle, i think mobile one..

last time changed to that one no prob at all..

but this time cos the shop dun hav anything better than wat i changed..

Another thing: How to check engine oil level huh? start the egine, let it idle for a few minutes. Stop the engine and make the bike upright. Take out the dipstick, wipe it clean and insert it without screwing. Is this the correct way? Coz when i check the engine oil level while the bike is cold, it appears too much to me.. Not even in the upper level indicated in the dipstick..

Yap, no prob... mine 1.2L and change once a month no matter how much I travel and always flows

If you change every month or every 2000km, dun think you need the hassle to check la... :smile:

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

God Bless all riders...

This checking of 4T i also need to clarify cos not many ppl noe the correct way of checking and some ppl put 1.5 some 1.2 for me i only put one bottle thats it and it works fine for me.

Another thing some said fully syn can last for 5000km and semi syn can only last half or 2000km its that true. but some ppl change not looking at mileage but how many days since they change like 1 to 2 months so who to believe pls advice!! :help:

D@v3d3v|L

Originally posted by exploxive@May 24 2006, 12:38 PM

thx danieltanboonhuat for replying to my query regarding my TA150 2T etc... thx a lot!

you are most welcome

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12

Originally posted by Davedevil@May 24 2006, 01:56 PM

This checking of 4T i also need to clarify cos not many ppl noe the correct way of checking and some ppl put 1.5 some 1.2 for me i only put one bottle thats it and it works fine for me.

Another thing some said fully syn can last for 5000km and semi syn can only last half or 2000km its that true. but some ppl change not looking at mileage but how many days since they change like 1 to 2 months so who to believe pls advice!! :help:

If you dun travel at high speed(>100km/h) at most time, then no prob lor...

Mine 2 weeks later, can feel that the EO being 'eaten' up, then gonna top up at least 100ml or 200ml to it...

Keeping EO high and changed frequently is gd... one will know why when it needs to go for overhaul... :cheeky:

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by mercurius@May 25 2006, 11:36 PM

hi, my engine's sound tends to be very very loud when its above 80km/h, is this normal? any countermeasures? thx!

Even after having new EO? Or its after a few weeks of riding?

Sometimes, your loud may be norm to others... diff pp determine diff loudness... let your mech hear and ask if its norm...

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Keenguy@May 26 2006, 01:37 AM

If you dun travel at high speed(>100km/h) at most time, then no prob lor...

Mine 2 weeks later, can feel that the EO being 'eaten' up, then gonna top up at least 100ml or 200ml to it...

Keeping EO high and changed frequently is gd... one will know why when it needs to go for overhaul... :cheeky:

for me 100 is my average spped in expressway le but my 100km/h is diff from my friend 's S4 100kmh so how much distance travelled should i travel before i change my EO i usually put in fully syn 1 litre is it enough?

D@v3d3v|L

Like I said, if you travel everyday, either change the EO once a month or every 2000km if you can rem lor... :smile: Fully-syn will be gd... :thumb:

God Bless all riders...

Hi guys, I'm currently using a H4 socket for my headlight. Would like to ask if there's any TA200 rider having probs wif H4 55/60w bulb? I was using a 55/60w bulb n all went well till tis wk, when I started having probs wif my batt. Mechanics (various garage) advised to either revert to stock headlight, or changed bulb to H4 35/35w. Is there any ways to continue e usage of a H4 55/60w? Any solutions to e batt prob?

sky_vinz

I've been using H4 60/55W for nearly 3 months now. No prob with batt or whatsoever at the moment except replaced a H4 bulb after the low light blowed...

Do you mean that your batt got flat very fast? :confused:

God Bless all riders...

Keenguy: Having probs cranking up e bike for random days last few days. Relay starts making clicking noise, n bike doesnt starts. Lucky tat my bike is easy to push start. Read in e forum, n found a similar prob for one of e guys. Confirmed wif my mechanic, tat it's due to a weak batt. Thus hav changed a new batt yday n changed to a H4 35/35w bulb. =) Btw my previous batt was bought in Sept '05, which means ard 9mths of usage. (Probably my alarm was part of e cause of low batt too?)

sky_vinz

Ic... mmm... but batt that only used for 10 times... 2 of which will be activated by my engine... :sweat: So, his bike's batt definately will run out very soon also... :cheeky:

God Bless all riders...

Keenguy: Haha, perhaps so ba. Those guys playing soccer at e basketball court beside my place keep kicking e soccer ball at my bike. -,-" Heart pains everything I hear e alarm, as though my Phan is crying. Hmm anyway thks for ur analysis bro Keenguy! =D

sky_vinz

hi bros... i'm not sure if this Q has been asked.. i cant seems to search, maybe i m lousy at it.. haha.. sorry..

i am now confused by a friend. just wanna know whether fully or semi EO is better for phantom 200.. and their rating on the bottles, 20/50, 10/50w, 15/50w etc.. wat are all those and which one is better for us?

thanks bros..