Other than government agencies and authorized contractors, who else can issue parking fines to us?

I remember seeing someone wheel clamping a bike for squeezing into an empty space beside a bike lot at the carpark beside DblO. The person wheel clamped the bike and took photographs of it. Then i saw a sign, wheel clamp area, fine $120.

I was thinking if they are allowed to fine people. For example, if we park at a private place, then the people there wheel clamp your vehicle and demands that you pay a fine or fee to remove the clamp from your vehicle. Are they actually allowed to do so, or can report to police for illegal retention of other's vehicle. For places like Plaza Singapura and maybe a privately owned landed property and you park outside their place especially.

• Replies 19

this is my opinion...if it is a private place and they had clearly indicate that illegal parking will be clamped and fine...i believe they have the right to clamp yr vehicle

...if u think that they are illegally clamping yr vehicle then go ahead n call police...police will then advise the building managment to release the clamp and i believe the managment will then request u to pay the fine but if u do not wish to pay the fine on the spot, think they will do it by law suit which means more money to pay...but wat i can say is tat u r still in the wrong if u had park illegally in their premises..hope tis helps

RIP Heath Ledger 1979-2008

this is my opinion...if it is a private place and they had clearly indicate that illegal parking will be clamped and fine...i believe they have the right to clamp yr vehicle

...if u think that they are illegally clamping yr vehicle then go ahead n call police...police will then advise the building managment to release the clamp and i believe the managment will then request u to pay the fine but if u do not wish to pay the fine on the spot, think they will do it by law suit which means more money to pay...but wat i can say is tat u r still in the wrong if u had park illegally in their premises..hope tis helps

wah kao, like that i buy a piece of empty land then ppl go park there i wheel clamp and demand $$

its like unlawful compound of your vehicle leh

for public roads and car parks - the government has the authority.

for private roads and property - the owner has the right to exclude you from his property. if he has put up reasonable warnings to you to exclude you, and you park there anyway, then he can take reasonable and proportionate action against you.

if he has put up a no unauthorised parking and wheel clamp sign with a release fee, then you should prepare to get clamped and pay to release it.

He who hesitates is lost!

haiz, today i park my bike on e pavement n sit nearby to eat. then a police car came , inside got ard 4 guys, 1 came out n start copying e few bikes nos plates on some paper on his hands, then after done he went back in n drove off!! no time to even go up..

any1 know what to expect later? fine $70 ??

haiz, today i park my bike on e pavement n sit nearby to eat. then a police car came , inside got ard 4 guys, 1 came out n start copying e few bikes nos plates on some paper on his hands, then after done he went back in n drove off!! no time to even go up..

Ya.. If not wrong, parking on pavement, $70.. No choice.. Where u got it? They nv give chance sia..

wah kao, like that i buy a piece of empty land then ppl go park there i wheel clamp and demand $$

Well, you said it liao. you bought the land, its legally yours.

you want people to deprive your right to use the land?

park on private property? the owner never sue u for trespassing good loh!

:thumb: true enough.. trespassing criminal offence.. but they cant sue u for tresspassing as the place is accessible by public and not fenced up or gated.. if its an enclosed area and u climb over the fence. just to take a short cut to the other side.. then its trespass

actually, dun have to fence up....

there are different type of tresspass.. criminal tresspass and wilful tresspass..

ya $70 fine

Four Wheels Move The Body,Two Wheels Move The Soul

yup! you can always do that. but i doubt anyone wanna go to that certain spot to park a bike. haha. build carpark need to pay gvmt you know? and buying land not soo easy fyi.

The street is for show, the track is for go. Put up or shut up

alot people can issue l0r

rov, tp, premas idiots, ura people, town council.... normal police, cisco.... hate them

Looking at the ride tells everything about the rider

from my knowledge

all traffic related fine - TP, ROV, Police

they can even take down take down ur number plate and issue u a summon when they are back at the HQ...

for management of buildings n shopping centres, i think they cant fine u but they can wheel clamp and demand for a unlocking/releasing fee

http://www.speedtest.net/result/211227977.png

http://i38.tinypic.com/205fs0m.jpg

from my knowledge

they can even take down take down ur number plate and issue u a summon when they are back at the HQ...

for management of buildings n shopping centres, i think they cant fine u but they can wheel clamp and demand for a unlocking/releasing fee

jus to add on for cisco, outsource agency they can only fine for the parking offend made within the carpark... if u are parking on the pavement just beside the carpark they cant do anything..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/211227977.png

http://i38.tinypic.com/205fs0m.jpg

from my knowledge

from my recent knowledge, if the building put up a wheel clamp area sign, and u still park there. they can wheel clamp you as they have already warned you. if no warning and they just wheel clamp, cannot.

jus to add on for cisco, outsource agency they can only fine for the parking offend made within the carpark... if u are parking on the pavement just beside the carpark they cant do anything..

lets take for instance Prema can only summon you for parking offences

so if you park along white line or double yellow line, they can do nothing

from my recent knowledge, if the building put up a wheel clamp area sign, and u still park there. they can wheel clamp you as they have already warned you. if no warning and they just wheel clamp, cannot.

lets take for instance Prema can only summon you for parking offences

so if you park along white line or double yellow line, they can do nothing

i thot if park along double yellow in carpark also can get fined by Premas?

i remember i got such a fine when i parked next to a bike parking lot when all the lots were taken up. they purposely drew double yellow lines on the non-parking lot areas. :giddy: