• Replies 1.1k

Guest Chris1974

Dear DreamTCS

Thanks for taking the time to share your valuable opinion.

The shop also included the IU unit and gave me a 2nd-hand GIVI box plus new helmet free. In addition, he changed the engine oil for me without any charge. The bike seems to be perfoming well on the road.

The only concern is that I'm not sure whether this bike is from BoonSiew or parellel imported considering the fact that it is 2year 2months' old. Do you know how to see the difference?

Once again, thanks for your advice.

Chris

yea.. getting a 2nd hand bike is like striking 4D.. i tried once before.. lol not a good experience for my wallet

Originally posted by Chris1974@Jun 18 2005, 06:00 PM

Dear Senior Wave Riders

Firstly, please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Chris and I just bought a 2nd-hand Honda Wave-125S (with digital) and paid SGD2200.00 excluding insurance and transfer fees. It is a two-year-old and 2 months bike with 1 owner. Just curious to know if the price is reasonable. Your comments are very much appreciated.

I am new to Honda-Wave. Therefore, I would seek your kind advice and assistance.

Thanks for your time and patience.

:cheer: hello welcome to wave community

Guest Chris1974

Hello Dafanshu

Thanks for the warm welcome. Any comments from you...???

Chris

Originally posted by cs_kup_oh@Jun 18 2005, 08:58 AM

hey bro, i bought 110 2nd hand wave too

things to look out for.............

1)check for any cracks on the fairings or body parts..........

2)test ride to see smooth or not, including braking effectiveness

3)ask for any buang records

4)examine tyres, see need to change or not

5)ask for the user's manual

if u think all the above never gena b4, then ~$1500 is alright

but if got above problems, then can ask to reduce price liao

mine is a problematic 110, machine price at $1300, but in total plus insurance plus change here and there about $1900

Thanks for your feedback, bro. You really enlightened me on things to look out for.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/184/480425405_09de1ea2d6.jpg

cos i am a "guo lai ren" who gena chop into 'bar chor'(mice meat)

dun wan to see another packet of bar chor in wave riders...

Just buy wave for transport lor..

cost saving ... I going to downgrade from 98 to 95 heeh save and save

buy first hand if you can afford it..

Originally posted by Chris1974@Jun 18 2005, 06:49 PM

Dear DreamTCS

Thanks for taking the time to share your valuable opinion.

The shop also included the IU unit and gave me a 2nd-hand GIVI box plus new helmet free. In addition, he changed the engine oil for me without any charge. The bike seems to be perfoming well on the road.

The only concern is that I'm not sure whether this bike is from BoonSiew or parellel imported considering the fact that it is 2year 2months' old. Do you know how to see the difference?

Once again, thanks for your advice.

Chris

hi Chris

jus for your info..ur bike is parallel imported if it's none other then the oni model Innova dat are brought in by Boon Siew..pls check if the essential like the brakes,suspensions etc are in gd & workable conditions..Big big welcome to the Wave-S family..:cheeky:

Guest Chris1974

Dear Dafanshu, dear tigerjoe23

Thanks for your comments and advice.

Yes, you are right to say that Wave is a good choice for transportation purposes.

By the way, where do you normally service your bikes ??? Will Boon Siew accept this bikes for servicing (lubricant, etc) ??? If not, how can I ensure that my bike is maintained with original Honda Wave parts ???

Sorry, I always prefer original parts. Just to have the sense of security.

Chris

Originally posted by Chris1974@Jun 19 2005, 05:47 PM

Dear Dafanshu, dear tigerjoe23

Thanks for your comments and advice.

Yes, you are right to say that Wave is a good choice for transportation purposes.

By the way, where do you normally service your bikes ??? Will Boon Siew accept this bikes for servicing (lubricant, etc) ??? If not, how can I ensure that my bike is maintained with original Honda Wave parts ???

Sorry, I always prefer original parts. Just to have the sense of security.

Chris

Hi Chris..

Pls be noted that Boon Siew WILL NOT accepts servicing of imported bikes like Wave R or S..btw certain items requires using original Honda parts(Recommended) while others don't..like oilseals,O-rings etc it's better to insists on using originals while others like brakepads etc don't..we're having regular meetups @ our base in Sin Ming AGA(Asian Golf Academy) so leave ur contacts we can contact u for any informal meetups for more tips & advices..Regards :bounce:

Guest Chris1974

Dear TigerJoe23

Thanks for your prompt response and friendly advice.

I am very appreciative of your comments. It is really nice to have kind souls like you who are willing to share your knowledge and knowhow.

I would like to attend the meeting but regrettably, I am always travelling in & out between Singapore and Malaysia.

But anyhow, when I'm ready, I will let you know.

Thanks for the invitation !

Chris

Hello everyone,

just to share on this since u guys mentioning abt boon siew and parallel import.

I bought my bike from the owner. He told me that he get his bike from Boon siew. He paid thru his own bike shop and insist them to get it thru Boon Siew for the Honda Wave S. he paid extra 300 dollars and it comes with one year warranty. I don't think he is lying and I believe if u r willing to pay, u still can get it thru boon siew. Therefore, i think not all honda wave r P.I. just to share on this.

Patiepie

hello,

i think it is not expensive too. consider 28000 Km for 3.5 years. Avg abt 8000Km per year. i bought my 2nd hand Honda Wave S last week. Dec 2003 purchase it but the mileage already 35K KM when i took over. So i think yours is still ok.

patiepie

Guest Chris1974

Dear Patiepie

Thanks for your comments and input.

It is interesting to know that there are Honda Waves that are sold by Boon Siew. Mine is quite similar to yours with a Boon Siew sticker by the side of the seat. According to the shop where I bought this bike, he said that it is a Boon Siew bike but anyone can claim that it is a Boon Siew bike.

Anyhow, this gives me the hope and possibility of sending my bike to Boon Siew for servicing.

Will go down to Boon Siew to verify and will let you know the outcome.

Chris

one more thing

check to see of the mileage is fake............

cos mine, after buying then realise the mileage meter will not move lor...........

)(*^&%$

bloody hell B** H** Brother........

i think the milleage is gd enough, mine around half of that 14000km but my bike is only half year old.......... hee hee :smile:

mantainence is the key issue too..............

check all brakes and lights.......sHould look at alignment of the wheels and Fork....play saFe......... b :goodluck:

Accident Reported @ 17/12/05 9.15pm AMK ave 10

Storage List..........VACum PAcked....

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

2004-???? Honda Wave R 125

Originally posted by Chris1974@Jun 19 2005, 10:15 PM

Dear Patiepie

Thanks for your comments and input.

It is interesting to know that there are Honda Waves that are sold by Boon Siew. Mine is quite similar to yours with a Boon Siew sticker by the side of the seat. According to the shop where I bought this bike, he said that it is a Boon Siew bike but anyone can claim that it is a Boon Siew bike.

Anyhow, this gives me the hope and possibility of sending my bike to Boon Siew for servicing.

Will go down to Boon Siew to verify and will let you know the outcome.

Chris

If yours Is not accepted By boon Siew, Let us know.......... We can introDuce few Shops For servicing...........

easy Maintainance and Sevicing...........

thats wat Wave is FOr.............

Accident Reported @ 17/12/05 9.15pm AMK ave 10

Storage List..........VACum PAcked....

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

2004-???? Honda Wave R 125

wat lubricat can intro to lube the joint parts ? etc wheel areas? or area with rust ?

don think the zam char oil is good for the job rite?

http://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_kanan.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_katagiri.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_ringo.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_yuukisan.gif
Guest Chris1974

Dear all

Just realise that my 'new' 2nd-hand Honda-wave engine is leaking through one of the screws st the engine cover. I wonder if this could lead to other consequences. I must say that it is a mild leak. My questions are below:

Can a 2.5 year-old bike engine leak ? If yes, why and what is the cause of it ? Does such problem requires an engine overhaul or any other major repairs.

This will help me to decide whether to send it to the workshop.

Chris

Originally posted by skydude@Jun 20 2005, 12:58 PM

wat lubricat can intro to lube the joint parts ? etc wheel areas? or area with rust ?

don think the zam char oil is good for the job rite?

bro..WD-40 will be highly recommended,dude..while zham-chia(sewing machine) oil will oso do the job,no harm..all lubricant..even 2T will do the wonders :smile: :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by Chris1974@Jun 21 2005, 12:34 AM

Dear all

Just realise that my 'new' 2nd-hand Honda-wave engine is leaking through one of the screws st the engine cover. I wonder if this could lead to other consequences. I must say that it is a mild leak. My questions are below:

Can a 2.5 year-old bike engine leak ? If yes, why and what is the cause of it ? Does such problem requires an engine overhaul or any other major repairs.

Chris

depends on where is e leak..u wan u can go dwn 2 one of our fellow forum member's garage at sin ming ave...he can check 4 u..:cheer: e worst case tat can happen is gasket spoilt..

http://www.freewebtown.com/idioticlown/library/image/Pic_0011a.JPG

Lamer by Day Poser by Night

EX-Wives

r ppl whom u cant have....

Current Wife

is in ur heart nt on screen...

All is not lost..at least i did it b4.Have you? Life is not abt regrets, its abt how you live it 2 the fullest everyday..Bt its doesnt matters anymore cos i have been fooled by e deceptions of LIFE..

Originally posted by Chris1974@Jun 21 2005, 12:34 AM

Dear all

Chris

Is the leak come out from the engine oil drain nut there? If yes, then maybe your thread nut spoil liao...

Guest Chris1974

Dear all

Just double checked and confirmed that none of the screws are leaking.

ANyway, good news to share with you that Boon Siew has confirmed that my bike is supplied by them. As such, I can now send my bike to them for maintenance and servicing.

Chris