Originally posted by sportb1ke@Aug 24 2005, 08:34 AM

hmmmm bro, i tot mah is selling full black (jp) model?

they offer better price than my current one but i still prefer the black/silver, thats y i didnt get from mah...

could it be that what mah had was the 04 all-black?

that would be:

http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/7937/blackcbr044gf.jpg

this isn the same all-black as the one buzzbeam posted. not onli izzit the 04 model, but i believe its finish is more matte than glossy. i believe its the US 05 all-black that has a glossy finish. when i went shopping for my bike, Looi's oso had this 04 black going for cheaper than the 05 silver/black, and i almost bought it. just that 3 weeks later finally gonna buy skali the 05 bikes prices dropped to wat was quoted f0r the 04 model previously, so of coz i bought 05 model.

on a side note, found the following all-black from a japanese website:

http://www.motobum.co.jp/bike/image/cbr600rr-base.jpeg

i think its the 600rr racer base sold by honda to racing teams/clubs. really look like stealth, this one.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

• Replies 17.1k

wow!! thanks soo much for the info.. u guys are very helpful! thank u thank u...

btw.. how abt the bike size? comparing GSX vs CBR vs R6.. which has the most comfortable riding position and which is "smallest" ? hmmm actually i seldom get to see GSX and the '05 CBR but i get to see 05'R6 more often cos there is one parked downstairs.. i find the R6 size quite tempting cos its seems small so makes handling seem much easier.. wat do u guys feel?

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 24 2005, 09:12 AM

that would be:

this isn the same all-black as the one buzzbeam posted. not onli izzit the 04 model, but i believe its finish is more matte than glossy. i believe its the US 05 all-black that has a glossy finish. when i went shopping for my bike, Looi's oso had this 04 black going for cheaper than the 05 silver/black, and i almost bought it. just that 3 weeks later finally gonna buy skali the 05 bikes prices dropped to wat was quoted f0r the 04 model previously, so of coz i bought 05 model.

hmmm sometimes im confused within eu, us, & jp specs also...

but im quite sure the one i have seen at mah is 05 cbr6...full black.

the sales person told me its from jp...

even new southern motor claimed that they can get a 05 cbr6 full black for me upon request...

but eventually, i bought from looi's....love at 1st sight for the black/silver color :sweat:

maybe u wan to take a look at jp honda official site?

http://www.honda.co.jp/motor-lineup/cbr600...lack/index.html

DEC 2002 ~ NSR150RR

APR 2004 ~ CB400VS

JUN 2005 ~ CBR600RR

OCT 2010 ~ YZF-R1

Originally posted by Kanariya@Aug 24 2005, 11:13 AM

wow!! thanks soo much for the info.. u guys are very helpful! thank u thank u...

btw.. how abt the bike size? comparing GSX vs CBR vs R6.. which has the most comfortable riding position and which is "smallest" ? hmmm actually i seldom get to see GSX and the '05 CBR but i get to see 05'R6 more often cos there is one parked downstairs.. i find the R6 size quite tempting cos its seems small so makes handling seem much easier.. wat do u guys feel?

i think the f4i has the best riding posture n the cbr600rr has the most back breaking posture .

Biggest size i think its GSX n smallest i think is the Kawa .

I put the f4i beside my 04R1 , can say 04R1 looks smaller . Or maybe color deception ? Red always look bigger . :sweat:

Originally posted by sportb1ke@Aug 24 2005, 12:01 PM

but im quite sure the one i have seen at mah is 05 cbr6...full black.

the sales person told me its from jp...

even new southern motor claimed that they can get a 05 cbr6 full black for me upon request...

:slapforehead: Doh!

nobody told me i could have gotten the all-black!

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 24 2005, 09:12 AM

that would be:

on a side note, found the following all-black from a japanese website:

http://www.motobum.co.jp/bike/image/cbr600rr-base.jpeg

i think its the 600rr racer base sold by honda to racing teams/clubs. really look like stealth, this one.

the stealth 1 looks :thumb: .. should i remove my decals..

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

2005 Honda CBR1000RR5 FZ9xxxZ

2007 Honda Fit 1.5 Vtec SGU2xxxR

2008 Mitsubishi Colt Version R SJF9xxxG

Originally posted by Speedpass@Aug 24 2005, 12:54 PM

i think the f4i has the best riding posture n the cbr600rr has the most back breaking posture .

Biggest size i think its GSX n smallest i think is the Kawa .

I put the f4i beside my 04R1 , can say 04R1 looks smaller . Or maybe color deception ? Red always look bigger . :sweat:

the 05 kawa zx-6r is the biggest, not the smallest. no fight actually. i'm not sure bout the 03/04 zx-6r; certainly smaller than the 05 version, but again i doubt they're the smallest.

in fact i beleieve the cbr and the r6 should be the smallest. and the gsx-6 stock height is 5mm taller than the cbr. these bikes are tall, no height adjuster, only preload adjustment so will need proper tuning if u change anything, so the seat height quite important.

and even tho the cbr6 could be considered most extreme riding position, i've never broken my back. i dun even feel any strain. not even on my arms, even after a 40min continous ride. the only strain i feel is on my left wrist during heavy traffic; heavy clutch very tiring on stop/go traffic, but its the same for all class2 bikes. of coz, end of the day its still a sportsbike, so riding posture is still forward; dun expect the comfort of a tourer.

forgot to add: i referring only to the rider. the pillion will brak his/her back :lol: but not that i could care :lol: i tell my frens u wanna ride i no prob, u wanna kpkb not comfortable go and take bus :lol: :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 24 2005, 04:52 PM

:slapforehead: Doh!

nobody told me i could have gotten the all-black!

strip off the silver stickers! haha... :sweat:

DEC 2002 ~ NSR150RR

APR 2004 ~ CB400VS

JUN 2005 ~ CBR600RR

OCT 2010 ~ YZF-R1

That's what I agree also... fuyoh--...---

By the way, anyone using an aftermarket balancer? My aftermarket one keeps loosing off, almost dropped it at highway today. And I dun have the stock balancer for some reason. So if anyone has any to let go at cut-throat prices, please PM me!

Originally posted by Kanariya@Aug 24 2005, 11:13 AM

I would suggest you try all 4 bikes first if you have the chance. Might regret eventually if you get the wrong 'un. Just my advice.

Originally posted by Shark@Aug 25 2005, 01:19 AM

By the way, anyone using an aftermarket balancer? My aftermarket one keeps loosing off, almost dropped it at highway today. And I dun have the stock balancer for some reason. So if anyone has any to let go at cut-throat prices, please PM me!

wat aftermarket balancers do u use ??

i think i have e OEM balancers at home.. nit to search though hehe

i have 1 motovation balancer with me 2

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

oic.. thanks a lot guys!! seems like most prob i would wanna get F4I or R6 cos these 2 on comparing the sizes really look smaller.. dun know y just give me a feeling i will be more comfortable handling them..

think i will go look ard first..but a pity i dun have frens riding all these bikes for me to test ride a bit hehe...thanks for all the help!!

Originally posted by Kanariya@Aug 25 2005, 11:10 AM

oic.. thanks a lot guys!! seems like most prob i would wanna get F4I or R6 cos these 2 on comparing the sizes really look smaller.. dun know y just give me a feeling i will be more comfortable handling them..

think i will go look ard first..but a pity i dun have frens riding all these bikes for me to test ride a bit hehe...thanks for all the help!!

can i just advice one more thing about 'comfort'.

u need to be aware that 'comfort' is not solely about the physical size of the bike. a smaller bike is not necessarily more comfortable. for example, a bike which has a slightly lower seat height but fat or wide petrol tank might cause u to spread ur legs when sat on and u might still end up on tiptoe, as compared to another bike with slimmer dimensions. i look at my fren's gsx-r1000k2 which is physicaller bigger but i can believe even more comfortable than my cbr6.

a bike with a more 'extreme' riding position will also be less comfortable despite being smaller. but this is a very personal thing, best to go showroom and ask to sit on the bike. example, ppl say cbr6 'most extreme' (possibly true) but like i said, i dun find it uncomfortable at all. obviously i wouldn go touring with it, but its not a prob for me. i find the location of its bars and pedal etc etc spot on for asian sized ppl like me, although the seat a bit high. in fact, how u normally sit plays a part too. i lock my knees, pivot my waist/hip and bend elbows and somehow 90% of my weight on my butt, not arms or back. but thats my normal position; a cruiser person will never feel comfortable even on the most comfortable sportsbike.

so basically just to share that comfort is more than just physical size.

Originally posted by AlvZz@Aug 24 2005, 06:25 PM

:lovestruck: wah the stealth version sure was damn chio

That's what I agree also... fuyoh--...---

u noe ah guys, i realised upon closer inspection that the stealth cbr600rr is essentially a stock black 03/04 cbr600rr, without headlight bulbs, without signal indicators front/rear, without rear pegs, without end-cad heat protector and of coz without decals :cheeky:

i think in future what i'd like to do to achieve the 'stealth' look is to fix 'flat' indicators (i hate the stock ones sticking out), re-spray a combination of matt black and gloss black on different parts and leave only honda logo on tank and small cbr600rr logo on fairing (a la RC211V). oh and black tinted windshield. and mebbe carbon fiber finish end-can. ~wala!~ stealth cbr600rr! copyright mechwira Aug 2005 :cheeky:

slowly slowly, will be project spanning several years.......

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 25 2005, 11:29 AM

can i just advice one more thing about 'comfort'.

u need to be aware that 'comfort' is not solely about the physical size of the bike. a smaller bike is not necessarily more comfortable. for example, a bike which has a slightly lower seat height but fat or wide petrol tank might cause u to spread ur legs when sat on and u might still end up on tiptoe, as compared to another bike with slimmer dimensions. i look at my fren's gsx-r1000k2 which is physicaller bigger but i can believe even more comfortable than my cbr6.

a bike with a more 'extreme' riding position will also be less comfortable despite being smaller. but this is a very personal thing, best to go showroom and ask to sit on the bike. example, ppl say cbr6 'most extreme' (possibly true) but like i said, i dun find it uncomfortable at all. obviously i wouldn go touring with it, but its not a prob for me. i find the location of its bars and pedal etc etc spot on for asian sized ppl like me, although the seat a bit high. in fact, how u normally sit plays a part too. i lock my knees, pivot my waist/hip and bend elbows and somehow 90% of my weight on my butt, not arms or back. but thats my normal position; a cruiser person will never feel comfortable even on the most comfortable sportsbike.

so basically just to share that comfort is more than just physical size.

o ok! yup agree wif u.. thanks a lot! so i think first i will go n take a look n sit on those bikes before deciding.. cos sports bike i m already prepared for the uncomfortable position... actually i find the position quite comfortable for rider haha.. but for pillion a bit painful.

hopefully i can just find some frens who currently own these bikes so i take just test ride a bit hehe..

You can adjust the suspension system for comfort actually. Me rear sus used to be high because the old owner is very tall so i had to tip-toe when stopping. Eventually i just adjust them to my comfort.

yeah but its only pre-load, no height adjuster per se. means will need more fiddling with the shocks after adjusting to ensure the bike doesn end up with bad settings.

of coz, if bring bikelab, then yes i agree can adjut to individual preferance and still have good suspension settings.

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 25 2005, 11:39 AM

i think in future what i'd like to do to achieve the 'stealth' look is to fix 'flat' indicators (i hate the stock ones sticking out), re-spray a combination of matt black and gloss black on different parts and leave only honda logo on tank and small cbr600rr logo on fairing (a la RC211V). oh and black tinted windshield. and mebbe carbon fiber finish end-can. ~wala!~ stealth cbr600rr! copyright mechwira Aug 2005 :cheeky:

im tempted! :lovestruck:

can u authorise ur copyright to me? haha...

DEC 2002 ~ NSR150RR

APR 2004 ~ CB400VS

JUN 2005 ~ CBR600RR

OCT 2010 ~ YZF-R1

Originally posted by sportb1ke@Aug 25 2005, 02:50 PM

im tempted! :lovestruck:

can u authorise ur copyright to me? haha...

copyright fees!!!!

make me an offer!!!

:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Originally posted by mechwira@Aug 25 2005, 05:01 PM

copyright fees!!!!

make me an offer!!!

:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

how much :confused:

bidding starts now :sweat:

btw i installed tinted headlight cover, at least the front looks "stealth" alike hehehe...

DEC 2002 ~ NSR150RR

APR 2004 ~ CB400VS

JUN 2005 ~ CBR600RR

OCT 2010 ~ YZF-R1

Originally posted by Kanariya@Aug 25 2005, 11:44 AM

o ok! yup agree wif u.. thanks a lot! so i think first i will go n take a look n sit on those bikes before deciding.. cos sports bike i m already prepared for the uncomfortable position... actually i find the position quite comfortable for rider haha.. but for pillion a bit painful.

hopefully i can just find some frens who currently own these bikes so i take just test ride a bit hehe..

I did a short test-ride for the 636RR today (undertail exhaust). Wot i can say is the bike is damn powerful & the sitting posture is actually not bad (comfy spongy seats). But only managed up till gear 3 so I can't say much also. But meter is a bit small to see. Handling-wise, the owner had a damper on so of cos it's stable during cornering. Will try to get us much facts up within the days.