Any brudders riding a magna750 here?

How much average is a 2nd hand FP plate Magna? Saw a FP plate selling @ $5.5k, average condition.

• Replies 51

There is one on sales at the 'Garage Sales' Segment. Not the latest one, but the older Magna 750, 4 pipes aiming the sky. Do check it out if you are keen. :)

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

Originally posted by Intruder@Apr 26 2005, 01:18 AM

There is one on sales at the 'Garage Sales' Segment. Not the latest one, but the older Magna 750, 4 pipes aiming the sky. Do check it out if you are keen. :)

they call that model magna V45...nice...:thumb:

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

That was my childhood 'Legendary' bike. There then 1 nvr saw a solid casted wheel b4 with 4 chio pipes aiming at the sky. Too bad, if to buy now, worry that it will gives many mechanical problems. Heng Motor got one for sales mths back, not sure it still ard.

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

Originally posted by nitro@Apr 25 2005, 10:05 PM

How much average is a 2nd hand FP plate Magna? Saw a FP plate selling @ $5.5k, average condition.

thanks folks for so many replies.

But none has answered my query 8(

Is an FP plate reasonably worthed $5.5K based on an average market value?

i rode the Magna 750 when it hit the roads 10 years ago.

paid $21.5 for it brand new....

this is the most solid cruiser, in my opinion.

the sporty tune of the 4 exhaust and the quick revving engine producing more than 80 horses...pick up is really blazing and cruisibility excellent. took the bike up north a few times. even with a pillion, the magna 750 proved its versatility.

if condition is good $5.5 is alright lah

did some crazy mods with it, like extending the gas tank by another 5 liters..

here's a pic

http://img121.echo.cx/img121/571/imgp30702bp.jpg

Cool bike you have there Throttle, just a qns here, how the modded tank? Just wonder if there is any leakage in your memory for as long as you have the bike?

I managed to located a shop who does enlargement for bike tank but shop owner is very reluctant to do it as he mentioned leakage may occur in short-run from his experience with customer feedbacks.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Originally posted by nitro@Apr 25 2005, 10:05 PM

I think the price is slightly on the high side for a FP plated which I assume is of 96-97 year old bike. This is just my opinion which I thought you can get a 750 Shadow ACE at around the same price but newer in term of age.

But you get a different type of power with the shadow 750. And you get spoky rims as well.

Originally posted by William Tan@Apr 27 2005, 07:27 AM

But you get a different type of power with the shadow 750. And you get spoky rims as well.

Of course, Magna is on V4 while Shadow is on V-Twin thus some differences but looking at the petrol consumption with its small tank size of 3.6 gallon which is around 13.6 litre with average achievable distance of around 214km is really not touring friendly even if its using tubeless and V4 engine.

Shadow 750 on the other hand is using V-Twin with a 3.7 gallon tank which is around 14 litre can achieve around 262km on average although using spoke wheel, we can always seal up the spoke holes and use tubeless tyre.

The hugh differences are solely on power which Magna definitely win hands down. Other than that, you compensate with comfortness and hugh petrol consumption.

Nights How are you my friend? It's been long time seen last meetup. Ok, my view to Shadow and Magna as a bystander. In terms of fuel consumption, mileage i think Shasow 750 win, but put into consideration Shadow got 2 working piston where the Magna got 4.

There comes the trick, a V4 if properly tuned and set, it can be very effective in terms of quicker response, not to mention power. Power is only how we want it to be. But if a V4 is off tuned it can be quite uncomfortfy.

MAgna is a shaft driven bike, low maintenance, cleaner rim. But is the shaft gears gives problem during oversea trip, then that is it. Tow it BACK! Heh heh....for Shadow, if proper tools and spares are bring along, it can basically do up on the spot and zoom it goes. Handling wise i got not much experience, maybe Throttle, the Cigar man can enlighten us.

So both got their beauty loh, depend what we want, for me i would confirm choose a Magna, cos i am crazy abt shaft driven bikes. I love their trustworthy final drive and almost to zero maintenance, with good engine brake.

For 5.5k, i think it is abit high side. As we all know, many of these bikes Shadows, Steed or Jap's cruisers can be worthless when selling in to bike shop....dann them! So if you pay 5.5k for the magnificent Magna how much they willing to take it back when you want to trade in for other bike. Mine was quoted very low price even i have cleared my installments. I was asking for the Diverson 900. The shop gave me shitty price.....for a fully paid $10500 bike....sianz. :sian:

Originally posted by nights@Apr 27 2005, 08:38 AM

we can always seal up the spoke holes and use tubeless tyre.

I agree on the touring part.

Regarding the sealing of spoke rims so that it can run on tubeless. I know in the US, this is possible. But do they have a reliable place here in Singapore that does it. If there is, I myself would mind getting a Shadow 750.

Do let me know if you have any contacts here that does a realiable job of sealing a spoke wheel.

Many thanks!

Nonsense, the Magna750 is better than the Shadow750 in all major areas, touring? I tour with the magna for more than 250km non stop no prob lah...

fuel consumption is very manageable for my Magna.

The only thing is that the shadow is a classic design so if you like the classic look than go for shadow. Magna is the modern look. notice that the Harley V-rod is so similar to the magna 250 even? hahah

Originally posted by William Tan@Apr 27 2005, 09:23 AM

I agree on the touring part.

Regarding the sealing of spoke rims so that it can run on tubeless. I know in the US, this is possible. But do they have a reliable place here in Singapore that does it. If there is, I myself would mind getting a Shadow 750.

Do let me know if you have any contacts here that does a realiable job of sealing a spoke wheel.

Many thanks!

I do have a few places (some are scrambler workshops) in mind that do sealing up of spoke wheel. I got a quote of $80 per rim for sealing up but I m still considering as I have to change my tyres as well which is still fairly new.

Have to agree with you there about the reliability of the job thus I'm still into researching before committing afterall I will be upgrading my bike soon in near future thus have to consider the worthness of the job.

Originally posted by Intruder@Apr 27 2005, 08:57 AM

Nights How are you my friend? It's been long time seen last meetup. Ok, my view to Shadow and Magna as a bystander. In terms of fuel consumption, mileage i think Shasow 750 win, but put into consideration Shadow got 2 working piston where the Magna got 4.

There comes the trick, a V4 if properly tuned and set, it can be very effective in terms of quicker response, not to mention power. Power is only how we want it to be. But if a V4 is off tuned it can be quite uncomfortfy.

MAgna is a shaft driven bike, low maintenance, cleaner rim. But is the shaft gears gives problem during oversea trip, then that is it. Tow it BACK! Heh heh....for Shadow, if proper tools and spares are bring along, it can basically do up on the spot and zoom it goes. Handling wise i got not much experience, maybe Throttle, the Cigar man can enlighten us.

So both got their beauty loh, depend what we want, for me i would confirm choose a Magna, cos i am crazy abt shaft driven bikes. I love their trustworthy final drive and almost to zero maintenance, with good engine brake.

For 5.5k, i think it is abit high side. As we all know, many of these bikes Shadows, Steed or Jap's cruisers can be worthless when selling in to bike shop....dann them! So if you pay 5.5k for the magnificent Magna how much they willing to take it back when you want to trade in for other bike. Mine was quoted very low price even i have cleared my installments. I was asking for the Diverson 900. The shop gave me shitty price.....for a fully paid $10500 bike....sianz. :sian:

Oh my...sorry for being slightly confuse overhere, I noticed that you guys are talking about shaft driven which I have read from another website that it is chain driven so which version of the year that the magna 750 are we talking about?

BTW nitro, the magna you saw is of shaft-driven? :confused:

Hello Intruder bro! Still as usual for me. You going for the Kruzerfest?

Originally posted by Throttle@Apr 27 2005, 10:42 AM

Nonsense, the Magna750 is better than the Shadow750 in all major areas, touring? I tour with the magna for more than 250km non stop no prob lah...

fuel consumption is very manageable for my Magna.

The only thing is that the shadow is a classic design so if you like the classic look than go for shadow. Magna is the modern look. notice that the Harley V-rod is so similar to the magna 250 even? hahah

Hi Throttle,

Your 250km is after your modification of tank or? Not sure which year make is your Magna 750 but the review I read is of 1999 thus, reckon for the information on fuel consumption, Shadow Ace win hands down even at high rpm perhaps there is some changes over the year?

The reason why I said Magna 750 is not as touring friendly as the Shadow Ace 750 is due to the fuel consumption when riding at higher speed as V4 does consume more fuel.

Other than the above, Magna 750 is a great muscle bike that can outrun a Honda Valkyrie or any big twins.

Originally posted by Throttle@Apr 26 2005, 09:29 PM

this is the most solid cruiser, in my opinion.

the sporty tune of the 4 exhaust and the quick revving engine producing more than 80 horses...pick up is really blazing and cruisibility excellent.

......yes i agree 100%......this is a 'sports bike' disguised in a cruiser body.......sadly it's dated.....

..........decided 2 do?.....then do it!.......2 do nothing is 2 get nothing..........

no with my big tank I can do about 300++km easily

difference is not much. just stop and pump lah...

I tell you , the power and torque of the MAgna will keep you gleeing all all the other cruisers in its class. :thumb:

My 1995 Magna750 is Chain driven I remember..?.

It shares the same engine as the VFR800...basically

Oh...it's chain driven.....Sorry mistake made.

Originally posted by nights@Apr 27 2005, 10:56 AM

BTW nitro, the magna you saw is of shaft-driven? :confused:

Hello Intruder bro! Still as usual for me. You going for the Kruzerfest?

Sori bro i think have made a mistake on the final drive....or is it? :sian: Kruzerfest i m not sure whether going or not....depend on certain factors..

I think this old one is shaft driven.

http://sg.wrs.yahoo.com/;_ylt=AiswuyrKGXTo7HQplDRl9TIu4gt.;_ylu=X3oDMTA4NDgyNWN0BHNlYwNwcm9m/SIG=13q5odakr/EXP=1114662680/**http%3A%2F%2Fwww.motorcyclemaniac.net%2FPictures%2FAngstForumMembers%2FImages%2FMachVIIIs%2520Magna1.jpg

The new Magna.

http://sg.wrs.yahoo.com/;_ylt=AiswuyrKGXTo7HQplDRl9TIu4gt.;_ylu=X3oDMTA4NDgyNWN0BHNlYwNwcm9m/SIG=137cv7lla/EXP=1114662834/**http%3A%2F%2F209.51.150.38%2F%7Eadmin451%2Fauctions%2Fpersonal%2FImages%2Fmagna11.JPG

http://sg.wrs.yahoo.com/;_ylt=AoScyfLnIiyX1JHuYOY.SoMu4gt.;_ylu=X3oDMTA4NDgyNWN0BHNlYwNwcm9m/SIG=1373bosm9/EXP=1114662956/**http%3A%2F%2F209.51.150.38%2F%7Eadmin451%2Fauctions%2Fpersonal%2FImages%2Fmagna10.JPG

it had original givi engine guards and saddle bag supports

Originally posted by Intruder@Apr 27 2005, 08:57 AM

For 5.5k, i think it is abit high side. As we all know, many of these bikes Shadows, Steed or Jap's cruisers can be worthless when selling in to bike shop....dann them! So if you pay 5.5k for the magnificent Magna how much they willing to take it back when you want to trade in for other bike.

What's the reasonable $ for a FP plate?

Originally posted by nitro@Apr 27 2005, 10:15 PM

What's the reasonable $ for a FP plate?

This i think more experience magna old bird can answer you. Wat i know is usually, bikeshop tends jackup the bike price high. Mine is a very good example, the price they want to take in mine makes me kpkb. Mine i bought 8.8k FS plate, after installment 10.5k, now they want to take in for veri veri low when i aksed if to trade in for a Diverson 900. You can see the diff there loh.

COE also plays a part. FP plate if i m not wrong is ending soon, but if they renewed the COE for another 10 years then price maybe higher abit. Mileage ran on the bike too plays a part.

Stability of the bike's price also got to depend on the market demand and popularity of it. So far to see a magna on the road sometime can be difficult.

Just my 2 cents worth of opinion. Maybe Throttle can show us more detail lighting on the pricing. Mine is the general feel on the pricing only...i maybe wrong.

you are absolutely right about that Intruder.

Just like when I buy a car, if I really like the model and the condition is fabulous with low mileage and from honest owner, I pay a fair bit more, I dont mind.