Originally posted by Gurd@Sep 8 2005, 08:51 PM

ENGINE OIL

I just bought a new wave 125 R, but I'm not too sure of maintaining it. In a week, I travel about 130 to 150 km. So how often do I change engine oil? And what's the best brand to use for my kind of usage? Should I use synthetic or semi-synthetic engine oil? Since it's a new bike, how many km must I travel before I change the engine oil for the first time?

SERVICING

What is the servicing payments like? Besides changing brakepads and all, what else must I service?

Please let me know.

Thanks people

Gurd

Its a new bike y u change brake pad??? a new pair normally can last u up to a yr.

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

• Replies 291

Originally posted by Gurd@Sep 8 2005, 08:51 PM

ENGINE OIL

I just bought a new wave 125 R, but I'm not too sure of maintaining it. In a week, I travel about 130 to 150 km. So how often do I change engine oil? And what's the best brand to use for my kind of usage? Should I use synthetic or semi-synthetic engine oil? Since it's a new bike, how many km must I travel before I change the engine oil for the first time?

SERVICING

What is the servicing payments like? Besides changing brakepads and all, what else must I service?

Please let me know.

Thanks people

Gurd

for ur case tink fully syn would b gd.. u can try Castrol R4 or Rockoil cost ard 18-19...every 400km change 1 time until 1000km den run in finish liao hor every 2000km change 1 time..den every 4000km change sparkplug..tats wat i m doin ...hope it helps.. brakepads no need change 1..can use quite long..chain have 2 tighten if loose..tats all :thumb:

http://www.freewebtown.com/idioticlown/library/image/Pic_0011a.JPG

Lamer by Day Poser by Night

EX-Wives

r ppl whom u cant have....

Current Wife

is in ur heart nt on screen...

All is not lost..at least i did it b4.Have you? Life is not abt regrets, its abt how you live it 2 the fullest everyday..Bt its doesnt matters anymore cos i have been fooled by e deceptions of LIFE..

Thanks guys for your replies. I want to know, when do I do a full servicing?

Must I service my block, piston, conrode and pipe? If yes then how many km must I travel to do a full service?

Thanks,

Gurd

!! **** the Rest !!

u can change ur own eo for wave one full bottle dats 1litre..

Originally posted by Gurd@Sep 9 2005, 11:26 PM

Thanks guys for your replies. I want to know, when do I do a full servicing?

Must I service my block, piston, conrode and pipe? If yes then how many km must I travel to do a full service?

Thanks,

Gurd

ermmm bro i tink u worry 2 much liao...ur 'full service' is like overhaul sia.. block, piston all these can last at least a fews yrs unless u wack ur bike everyday..

EX-Wives

Current Wife

All is not lost..at least i did it b4.Have you? Life is not abt regrets, its abt how you live it 2 the fullest everyday..Bt its doesnt matters anymore cos i have been fooled by e deceptions of LIFE..

U just follow Idioticlown advise just change engine oil every 2000Km, then change sparkplug every 4000Km..... that is good enough

Originally posted by IdiotiClown@Sep 9 2005, 09:23 PM

for ur case tink fully syn would b gd.. u can try Castrol R4 or Rockoil cost ard 18-19...every 400km change 1 time until 1000km den run in finish liao hor every 2000km change 1 time..den every 4000km change sparkplug..tats wat i m doin ...hope it helps.. brakepads no need change 1..can use quite long..chain have 2 tighten if loose..tats all :thumb:

is there a need to change eo every 400km during the first 1000km? y huh

Urgent thks...

haha, thanks guys. Really appreciate your answers. Btw, ya I think I do worry too much. Got too much sh*t from 2 stroke bikes. Was riding a tzm and Rxz previously, but both were 2nd hand; came with a bagpack full of problems. Maybe that's why I worry too much. But I heard wave's a low maintenance bike and I really need transport for work, that's why I got it.

What does a full service comprise of? (Not overhauling)

Gurd

!! **** the Rest !!

For the first 2000km pls use mineral oil to aid running in.

After that use any oil that suits your budget.

But i would really rec that u use a oil that has ester as it's base stock.

For example, Motul 300V/Fuch Pro 4/Maxima Extra/RedLine.

These are excellent oils to use.

Using good oils with excellent base stock will enhance ur biking and also reduce wear and tear on ur engine parts.

Also u will save a bit of petrol cuz the engine runs smoother.

The cheapest u can get the above mentioned oils in the shops will be $18.

If u look in the mass order section, there is a bro who can get the Pro 4 for only $16 a bottle.

Get a few bottles are change the oil yourself. After run in u can change every 3000-4000km. Becuz the ester base stock will hold it's properties longer than other "synthetic" oils.

Trust me, u won't regret.

*Wai*

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b12/Ah_Hia00/Thai/MaeSod.jpg

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

25th Dec 2005 to 9th Jan 2006

Singapore - Malaysia - Thailand

Total Distance Covered ~ 7000+ km

Hmmm what is ester base? How do I differenciate? And what is mineral oil? What brand? Please suggest me a brand to use. I'm now at 545km already. Haven't changed any oil. Pls help. Thanks

Gurd

!! **** the Rest !!

Originally posted by Gurd@Sep 12 2005, 09:57 PM

haha, thanks guys. Really appreciate your answers. Btw, ya I think I do worry too much. Got too much sh*t from 2 stroke bikes. Was riding a tzm and Rxz previously, but both were 2nd hand; came with a bagpack full of problems. Maybe that's why I worry too much. But I heard wave's a low maintenance bike and I really need transport for work, that's why I got it.

What does a full service comprise of? (Not overhauling)

Gurd

change spark plug wif every 4000km n engine oil 2000km..tats all...

is there a need to change eo every 400km during the first 1000km? y huh
bcos u must let ur piston get 'season' 2 e cyclinder...friction causes debris therefore need 2 change oil more frequently until run in finish..

Hmmm what is ester base? How do I differenciate? And what is mineral oil? What brand? Please suggest me a brand to use. I'm now at 545km already. Haven't changed any oil. Pls help. Thanks
for Wave ah use fully syn rockoil or castrol R4 or mobil 1 can liao..its advisable 2 change enghine oil every 2000km..cos 4 stroke bike wil tend 2 'eat' engine oil..if u wan u can try wat others says ard 3000-4000km can save 1 bottle...den i can noe if i m rite or wrong :cheeky:

EX-Wives

Current Wife

Originally posted by IdiotiClown@Sep 13 2005, 10:45 PM

for Wave ah use fully syn rockoil or castrol R4 or mobil 1 can liao..its advisable 2 change enghine oil every 2000km..cos 4 stroke bike wil tend 2 'eat' engine oil..if u wan u can try wat others says ard 3000-4000km can save 1 bottle...den i can noe if i m rite or wrong :cheeky:

Bro i'm not asking him to save engine oil lah !

It's just that I'm telling him good ester based oils can last longer(as in break down slower) than normal synthetic oils. So u can extend ur oil change interval.

But on a more serious note.

Wave doesn't consume more oil as in burn up engine oil faster.

It's recommended to check engine oil level every week and top up if necessary.

Do not take it for granted.

*Wai*

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

Originally posted by Gurd@Sep 13 2005, 04:23 PM

Gurd

Ester is a form of synthetics. That is made made chemical compound that is added to motor oil to increase it performance.

Here this !

Mineral oil just get the cheapest ones u can get ur hands on.

Like those $3-5 type is normally mineral oils.

500+km liao ?

Better go change cuz when new engines run in they leave metal debris floating on the engine oils. So if u never change, these metal debris will scratch the walls of the block and cuz more wear and tear to ur engine. When the walls are not even u will experience alot of problems.

To understand oils better PM il4.

He's the man to talk to. I'm not proficient yet.

I'd bet he has some links to help u.

*Wai*

Even the mechanic will tell you to use semi-synthetic or mineral oil when running in. The oil is thicker thus will aid in the run in process. Thicker air equates to more friction between the cylinder wall and piston ring.

The purpose of running in is to allow the piston ring to form correctly with the cylinder wall (Not the piston). Using semi-synthetic or mineral oil is the way to go than.

I personally think that using Full Synthetic cause no harm at all but because the oil is thinner (higher viscosity) the run in distance will be longer cause the wearing down of the piston ring circumference to fit nicely to the cylinder wall will be slower.

125km/hr to 0km/hr in 1 sec will make mince meat. Ride slowly to show off your bike, Ride slowly to save your life.

Ex-Girlfriend:

Phantom TA200 (Blue) FV7889U

Piaggio Hexagon (Ducati Yellow) FM4183T

Piaggio X9-250cc (Blackies) FT4920S

Honda Wave-R (Bright Bright Yellow) FZ4494Z

Current GF (IN USA),

Ford Taurus 3.0L (Blue)

http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/8164/562/1600/RX-78-wallpaper.jpg

MERGED THREAD

Topic : wave R

Description : Nil

ive been riding a wave R now for 2 months+. havent done anything to it yet. 3000+km, havent change engine oil(!!!)[no time lah], havent change spark plug, havent anything lah, except for petrol only. haha.

1)heard that it's advisable to change spark plug every 4000km.

-where at? how much?? what brand is the best?

2)heard it's advisable to change engine oil every 2000km.

-what brand's the best? i'm lazy to do myself so any shops to do for me? and how much?

3)i wana change my side mirrors to smaller ones [original ones like apek's].

-where? how much?

4)i wana change the chainguard [to posh/yoshimura/whatever lah].

-where and how much also.

5)what rims are the best to use? i want pink rims ah.

-where and how much.

6)tyres?

-same ol` questions: where and how much.

7)throttle?

-what brand? where? how much?

8)im a chinese and i heard some of my malay frens say 'change gantong/gantung'.

-what's that?

9)i wana fix acerbis handguard.

-where to get 2nd hand ones? how much? where can i go to ask them to fix for me?

10)footpegs?

-brand? how much? where?

oh fyi, i'm asking for prices and places in singapore only. im not going jb. lazy. blahh. help answer my questions k. thanx la brotherrs.

Amazing ! 1st of all please get the oil change first. Cheap... cost around $10 to $15 at any bike shop will do, after that change the oil every 2000~4000km. For others question you have raised are not so improtant can find out when you have more free times.

New bike mostly will find some metal chips inside the engine, I found these metal chip inside my Wave-S and Wave-I when their are now duirng 1st time changing the engine oil. Recommended for new bike should change oil after first ~600km.

Regards.

Originally posted by Wave s2i@Oct 3 2005, 09:30 PM

New bike mostly will find some metal chips inside the engine, I found these metal chip inside my Wave-S and Wave-I when their are now duirng 1st time changing the engine oil. Recommended for new bike should change oil after first ~600km.

actually should be within the first 100km better.

Imagine how much of the chips are circulating in the engine for the 600km ???

scratching the walls and piston surfaces..... scary !! :giddy:

is yrs new bike? if it is new bike..and 3000km never change engine oil..the first ting is change yr bike first..:giddy:

if 2nd hand ...also pls get it change..less than a bottle nia...use semi syn also cheap mar

--==anything more than a handful is waste==--

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/89/36/3386398/2918831032400l.jpg

MERGED THREAD

Topic : How much Full Service?

Description : In JB..

bros of wave. how much does a full service in jb cost? includes wat? kos my mechanic in jb says my wave is quite heavy as in moving off and also wanna reach top also slow... my top speed only 100km/h.. full tank mileage last time can go 150km, now 125km.. why is that so? anyone kena this b4?

Thinking of full service opening the the engine( actually i duuno wat thing ar the mech told me).. so asking from u guys here. apreciate if u can help..

Guest R1szuan
Originally posted by dxruzty_@Oct 27 2005, 11:52 PM

bros of wave. how much does a full service in jb cost? includes wat? kos my mechanic in jb says my wave is quite heavy as in moving off and also wanna reach top also slow... my top speed only 100km/h.. full tank mileage last time can go 150km, now 125km.. why is that so? anyone kena this b4?

Thinking of full service opening the the engine( actually i duuno wat thing ar the mech told me).. so asking from u guys here. apreciate if u can help..

think the rider is too heavy.. time to loose weight man... :cheer: