I am thinking of DIY engine Oil change, but my concern is the disposing the Used Engine Oil. :rolleyes:

I thought of filling the used Engine Oil back to the Engine Oil Bottle & throw it in the Recycle Bin..... Dono is this ok?

Any One have any ideal / Any Advise?

• Replies 11

I am thinking of DIY engine Oil change, but my concern is the disposing the Used Engine Oil. :rolleyes:

I thought of filling the used Engine Oil back to the Engine Oil Bottle & throw it in the Recycle Bin..... Dono is this ok?

Refill back, and send to bike shop that you know as they have the recycling drum. Or might as well just sent to shop ... :)

have bike will travel . . . . .

www.kruzer.sg

i have one qns, normally the retail price of the EO stated by the bike shop include the labour fee also. if u just buy their EO and DIY then in actually fact u lugi. unless u buy in petrol kiosk or mustafa than is diff story.

BTW u are very environmental friendly, thumbs up to u. Coz i believe many ppl would just pour the used EO down the drain.

Please DON'T! Never ever put motor oil in the trash/rubbish bin or pour it on the ground, or down a drain. Because motor oil can contaminate and pollute the soil, groundwater, and rivers if not handle properly. Recycle it instead! Many motorcycle or car workshop accept used motor oil.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

technically, u could put the oil back into the bottle and throw it away like regular trash. Just make sure the bottles do not leak. The filters at the incineration plant will take care of the contaminants when it is burnt. 100% of Singaporean trash is burnt, and because of the temperature, all the oil is vaporised.

I am not sure if its legal though. But theoretically, because of the filters at the incineration plant, there is little way your few bottles of engine oil could damage the environment any more than other trash which turns toxic when burnt, like plastic.

technically, u could put the oil back into the bottle and throw it away like regular trash. Just make sure the bottles do not leak. The filters at the incineration plant will take care of the contaminants when it is burnt. 100% of Singaporean trash is burnt, and because of the temperature, all the oil is vaporised.

I am not sure if its legal though. But theoretically, because of the filters at the incineration plant, there is little way your few bottles of engine oil could damage the environment any more than other trash which turns toxic when burnt, like plastic.

It is illegal to dispose your used motor oil improperly.

It is not appropiate to think that the incineration plant will take care of everything because its smoke emitted from the incinerator's chimneys are escaping into space. This can increase the Earth's temperature, and when that happens, the ice, snow in the coldest part of the world will melt, making the level of the sea rise. It would flood the coastal areas and everything close to the shore would vanish beneath the oceans. This is what "Live Earth" is all about educating our people to recycle rather than dumping everything into the trash bin.

Some additional information for sharing:

Re-refining

Proper, modern Re-refining with careful feed and product quality control, as well as sophisticated processes can successfully treat used motor oil to remove impurities so that it can be used as base stock for new lubricating oil. In other words, with good design and process management the used oil can be re-refined into “new” oil, giving it a second life so it can be used for vehicle motor oil again

Reconditioning

In some industries, oil is filtered through a commercial filtration system or otherwise cleaned. This process helps remove insoluble impurities so the oil potentially can be used again and again. Although the cleaning process does not always bring the oil back to its original quality, such cleaning, when combined with replenishment of key additives, does extend the oil’s life and use.

Re-Use and Reprocessing

Both lubricants, such as motor oil, and fuels, such as heating oil, are petroleum products. When an oil can no longer perform its original lubrication job, it may be perfectly suitable for Re-use and a second life as a fuel petroleum product in, say, a power plant with little or no treatment. If some treatment is needed, reprocessing of used motor oil removes some water and particles so that the oil can be burned and used as fuel to generate heat or electricity for commercial operations. 74% of all oil re-use/recycling in the U.S. is for burning in turbines, incinerators, power plants, cement kilns and manufacturing facilities (asphalt, steel, etc…). An additional 11% of used motor oil is burned in specifically designed industrial space heaters. This creates a valuable form of energy, which helps our economy by avoiding the need to refine new commercial heating oil from imported crude oil.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Hi Guys, Thanks for all the advise to help to save our Environment.

Where Do i Get My EO:

Usually from Carrefour, 1 Bottle of 4T - Semi Syn (15W40) cost abt less than $7.

From Petrol Station: Slight More , much more for Fully Syn EO

I prefer DIY for EO change bcos I am a Handy Person... I change EO exactly every 2K for my mean machine :)

Best Solution:

Refill them back to the bottle & send it to Moto Tiam for disposal; like tat a bit Lay Chay ley..... may as well let the shop do the job ~~

Saving Gaia. Thats the "in" word nowadays. Wat Nights said is abolutely right.

Most of the EO collected by the Waste companies will be re-cycle for other industrial usage. Some of it will go thru filters to separate the residues.

Anyway, back to topic.

For me I buy EO Esso gOLD OR cASTROL frm LAB. 16 bucks per botol. Change EO n almost all other things DIY me self.

Where to throw EO?

Ehem..... I work petrochemical industry so I throw into a proper place at work:dot: :dot: before treatment lah. :thumb:

Alternatively, change EO, pour back into empty botol then dispose at ROSLI'S lah. Your frenly cKruzers mech. :angel:

BTW, fyi all motodiam must pay service charge to the waste collector's companies and that includes Rosli. So before u do that, carry some balls with the mechs lah. :angel:

One last word..... DO NOT! PLS DO NOT DISPOSE ANY EO ONTO THE GRASS! THE GRASS WILL DIE AND SO WILL GAIA.

p.s if want me to dispose for u, can, but belanja kopi lah. "wink" "wink" :dot:

Oh ya...another thing to note.

If u wanna DIY change EO n if u love your smooth n silky palm, do wear latex gloves.

Why?

Cos EO is corrosive. Kena ur skin n u might get dermatitis.

That means if you love skin, u must love Gaia too.

Ciao.

• 3 years later...

Are there any places besides shops where we can dispose the oil? Like a recycling centre we can go to?

Bike shop does not pay for disposal of used Engine oil.they get paid for every 200L barrel @ $20.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave