Hi all, I'm rather new to bikes and there's some questions I wanna wanna clarify about the starting of bikes.

As I know, there are electric start and kick start of the bike, and I realised that in the driving school they don't teach us how to kick start. I wonder why?

What are the pros and cons of both kind of starts?

I heard there are also others such as choke start, and any others? Can someone explain to me what are they as well?

Thanks for reading! :angel:

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
  • Replies 15

Hi all, I'm rather new to bikes and there's some questions I wanna wanna clarify about the starting of bikes.

As I know, there are electric start and kick start of the bike, and I realised that in the driving school they don't teach us how to kick start. I wonder why?

I heard there are also others such as choke start, and any others? Can someone explain to me what are they as well?

last time driving sch use kick start bikes, then they change to electric start cos newer bikes use electric start.

now the still in production bikes that use kick start are only RXZ, YBR, RS125, Wave and spark.

cos electric start more popular so they change.

kick start very easy lah, just kick very hard on the starter then can run liao.

no batt also can kick start.

choke start is when u start ur bike in the morning need to open choke loh.

some bikes need to open choke when warming up cos they cool down very fast after every use

last time driving sch use kick start bikes, then they change to electric start cos newer bikes use electric start.

now the still in production bikes that use kick start are only RXZ, YBR, RS125, Wave and spark.

some bikes need to open choke when warming up cos they cool down very fast after every use

Am i right to say that only those with kickstart has the choke key while the rest uses autochoke?

got autochoke...?all bikes should have choke....but never heard of autochoke...

kickstarts are mostly use on 2 stroke bikes whereelse 4 stroke bikes are mostly equipped with electric starters...

2005-2006 - NSR150SP

2006-2010 - CB400 Ver. S

2010-Current - Suzuki GSR600

RS125 uses kickstart??? :thumb:

try finding the kickstarter for me pls.

http://i.imgur.com/SSSud.gif

bro, i dun think he meant the aprillia one...heard theres another suzuki rs125 if i'm not wrong....some sort like a cub...

2005-2006 - NSR150SP

2006-2010 - CB400 Ver. S

kick start are usually found in smaller cc bikes .. lower compression usually those single cylinder engines..

autochoke is usually found on bigger bikes ... like S4 bla bla bla.. correct me if i'm wrong

My Rides

Dec 2006 -Aug 2008 : kawasaki krr150

Aug 2008: Honda CB400 Super 4 Spec 1

27-29 JUNE 2009 - Hatyai (Thailand)

14-17 NOV 2009 - KL/Fraser Hill/Malacca

So, is there any pros and cons of kickstart and electric start? I only know that it's of course much easier to start using electric since it's just pressing of a button...

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg

some bikes like for example Honda Wave,have both...yes the electric start is easy...just press the button but in some case your starter might be malfunctioning due to battery problem so that's when kickstart comes in to the rescue...for bikes w/o kickstart,they might have to push start the bike...

2005-2006 - NSR150SP

2006-2010 - CB400 Ver. S

electric start - easy to start bike but once it malfunction, u got to pushstart bike lor~

kickstart - traditional way to start a bike. seems quite troublesome but werks d same. onli thing is dat, if ur piston jam, d kickstarter will be a helping tool to ensure that ur piston comfem jam juz by d feeling after kickstarting.

but i wud prefer d elewctric start. it's easier.. juz my 2 cents.. hee~~

Jεήgσ™ : |l|l|ll| With great power comes great responsibilities.Think safe, ride safe |ll|l|l|

Electric start wins kickstart hands down when you stall on a uphill. With a pillion. And most carparks in shopping centres have these steep slopes.

makes no different for me....i always hold on to the brakes when starting....be it electric or kickstart...

2005-2006 - NSR150SP

2006-2010 - CB400 Ver. S

Guest Mr LPG

Ever tried to kick-start a 500 or 600 cc 1 cylinder 4-stroke?

That's why they invented electrical start and thats why 99.9% of all motorcycles have electric start since the late '70's

RS125 uses electric start not kickstart.

sparkerS1: no.licence is trying to joke. hahas. he own a RS125 before =) *peace :cheeky:

Yamaha tzm-(31/11/2006-18/11/2007)

Gilera Runner VXR200-(02/12/2007-25/02/2009)

Drz sm 400

Ever tried to kick-start a 500 or 600 cc 1 cylinder 4-stroke?

That's why they invented electrical start and thats why 99.9% of all motorcycles have electric start since the late '70's

nope never try...& i dont want to try....

RS125 uses electric start not kickstart.

push start also can....

sparkerS1: no.licence is trying to joke. hahas. he own a RS125 before =) *peace :cheeky:

powerlah....aprillia 125....weee weee weeee

1997 - Yamaha RXZ (Jap Model), 1999 - Yamaha TZM150, 2000 - Yamaha RXS115, 2001 - Honda Wave 125S, 2002 - Yamaha 125Z, 2004 - 2011 Yamaha XJR400RR Redbull Theme, 2005 - Spark Z110, 2006 - Kawasaki KRR150, 2009 - Suzuki Bandit 400, 2010 - Suzuki GSXR400R(project cannibalism), 2011 - Suzuki Hayabusa Gen 1 White Motul Theme, 2012 - Suzuki K6 1K & RZ350LC *lead XJR Sgp since 2007 - 2012*