Brake (Front/Rear)

eFzek17

Originally posted by XiaoZhong@Jan 14 2006, 07:19 PM

chANge DIsC brAKe eFfectiVe? i tRieD my FreN's x1 wif Disc BRake behiNd and rAcing FootReSt~ lIke neVa FeEl the BRaking Leh~ :confused:

what i feel is the braking wont be as effective as compared to those bikes which come w/ standard rear brakedisc

but it's definitely better than the kind of braking u get frm the stock drum brakes after fixing racing footrest

• Replies 1k

Originally posted by skazuz@Jan 15 2006, 12:34 AM

GUYS U PUT IT UNDER THE SWING ARM WEHN U GUYS BRAKE THE CALIPER TENDS TO MOVE UP COS THATS NT THE CORRECT POSITION SO PLS CHANGE IT.TEHRE'S AN ACCIDENT WHERE THE CALIPER WELDED TO THE SWINGARM BREAK THE CALIPER WENT INTO THE RIMS U GUYS NOE THE RESULT I GUESS..

hm..interesting...

but i tink its gonna be quite difficult to mount the caliper above of the swingarm leh

cause the bracket for the dual suspension at the rear kind of blocking...

anyone managed to have the caliper mounted above? pls intro place where u did it... :smile:

Originally posted by Gresini@Jan 15 2006, 04:45 PM

Maybe u guys could buy original parts from the Wave special edition to replace.

Too ex....u'll need the swingarm as well.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b12/Ah_Hia00/Thai/MaeSod.jpg

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

25th Dec 2005 to 9th Jan 2006

Singapore - Malaysia - Thailand

Total Distance Covered ~ 7000+ km

Originally posted by skazuz@Jan 15 2006, 12:34 AM

GUYS U PUT IT UNDER THE SWING ARM WEHN U GUYS BRAKE THE CALIPER TENDS TO MOVE UP COS THATS NT THE CORRECT POSITION SO PLS CHANGE IT.TEHRE'S AN ACCIDENT WHERE THE CALIPER WELDED TO THE SWINGARM BREAK THE CALIPER WENT INTO THE RIMS U GUYS NOE THE RESULT I GUESS..

if i'm not wrong, there're oso bike whose capliers are mounted below e swingarm.

& i believe tat it's stock, can explain tat too?

if it's really wat u mention, wonder y OEM comes in tat way?

你期望你所è¦å¾—, 但å´æ²¡æœ‰å‘现到你所真正ç惜的

Originally posted by Gresini@Jan 15 2006, 04:45 PM

Maybe u guys could buy original parts from the Wave special edition to replace.

hm..my aftermarket caliper is positioned in exactly that way as shown in the picture

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Jan 15 2006, 11:47 PM

if i'm not wrong, there're oso bike whose capliers are mounted below e swingarm.

He's not talking about OEM brakes.

He's stating the facts for aftermarket modified cubs with rear disc brakes using custom made brackets which are not as stable as OEM ones.

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Jan 15 2006, 11:47 PM

bro if its stock den its the manufactuer idea.. i'n onli talkin bout x-1 cos of the weldin..

Originally posted by Thai_R@Jan 16 2006, 03:01 AM

He's stating the facts for aftermarket modified cubs with rear disc brakes using custom made brackets which are not as stable as OEM ones.

thanks dude..

hm..i guess there's nothing much besides carry on using customised brackets since there arent any OEM brackets for me to use :confused:

Originally posted by Gresini@Jan 16 2006, 10:57 PM

This bracket very detailed. Very difficult to measure to exact.

hm..nice bracket and caliper!

but i wonder how come the part to adjust the tension of the chain at the end of the swingarm is not there anymore? :giddy:

Originally posted by d0n^@Jan 16 2006, 11:11 PM

hm..nice bracket and caliper!

the caliper is not even manufactuered as a flower disc.

Look carefully......

It's a normal round disc drilled and cut to look like a flower disc....

Dangerous.....

bro u can change ur swing arm to the 125z want if u want.. can try if it fits..

that not the point~ the suspension has to change too~

get thsoe bracket that is supported on the swingarm rather den the axle only.

if u notice those bikes with bottom mounted caliper, there is always an extra rod attached to the caliper.

I actually have intentions to convert too. But to think of drilling swingarm, changing rearsets, rims, searching for calipers dats suitable, measure & bring aluminium to workshop for enginerring, spending all the monies, effort... i hardly use rear brakes too... sibeh siong leh...

http://i14.ebayimg.com/04/i/05/e2/f0/1a_1_b.JPG

point noted.

thanks~!!!

你期望你所è¦å¾—, 但å´æ²¡æœ‰å‘现到你所真正ç惜的

Originally posted by StingRhea@Jan 17 2006, 12:46 AM

if u notice those bikes with bottom mounted caliper, there is always an extra rod attached to the caliper.

hm..im not exactly a bike fanatic so i know nuts abt class 2A and class 2 bikes

can name me the model of the bike so i can search for pics of the rear brake calipers? thanks

Originally posted by stroker@Jan 19 2006, 07:46 PM

hi all, anyone has any idea why 8 out of 10 cub prix racers had their calliper changed to the underneath instead of the original mounting location at the top (125z)?

realli meh.. okie wait i check wif my mech n his cub bikes..

MERGED THREAD

Topic : ANYbody knows

Description : where can i find gd steel brake line?

as above? any1 knows the price? and where to get? :cheeky:

Rs125 Replica, Nsr150sp , Skipper 125, Bandit400, Honda CBRXX , XR4 , Wave 125R , Honda ST11 PE

Kia Picanto - coming soon!!

Originally posted by fate@Jan 21 2006, 10:13 AM

as above? any1 knows the price? and where to get? :cheeky:

Can try get the HEL stainless steel brake hose with banjo at Vector One. Think they sell it abt SGD$70 to $80 dollars for single installation.