Originally posted by squallgoh@April 21, 2007 04:10 pm

2B shld be raise to 250cc.. 2A to 500cc.. but for 4 strokes only..

for 2 strokeres,

2B shld be lowered to 135cc (rxz), 2A to 250cc

afterall, it's abt power output.. not capacity.. it's a loophole in e policy..

most high speed fatal accidents happen to 2B 2 strokers or class 2 superbikes right? and the former haf bikes tt haf power beyond their capability.. not in controlling the bike but in controlling their need for speed..

Pretty restrictive preposition you have there, yah?

Interesting, but I think our current multi-tiered license system fits in nicely with the market of mostly 150cc, 400cc and 600 above bikes. Any change and it'll probably upset the sales of some bike models. It entails a long explanation but I won't elaborate that much here; you'll get the gist...

• Replies 50

I think the current system is fine already. Changing it will upset too many things.

But if it has to change, then switch the classes to look at "Horsepower" instead of C.C so that new riders can opt to ride 250cc 4 strokers.

Lol I can't imagine the horror on the roads with newbs riding 250cc 2 strokers!

An example would be Americans. There are few or no 125cc sportbikes there. 250cc's are aplenty.

Originally posted by QuietStorm@March 01, 2007 01:16 pm

i believe a ktm200 is also powerful? actually dat 50cc also no big deal...

that 50cc DOES make a difference for the KTM200..

trust me, the 200cc is nothing compared to the 250cc.

a lil off topic but i feel tat d 2A cap shud be raised to 600cc... no new 2a sportbikes arnd... even rs250's production has been stopped n tats d latest a 2a sportsbike can get

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/12/46/4746421/125249541l.jpg

i'm not a racer, just an ILLEGALLY FAST RIDER...

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 aprilia rs 125 (Suppu)

Nov 2004 - Jun 2006 chauffered by TIBS, SBS n SMRT drivers

Jun 2006 - May 2007 suzuki gsxr 400 (Benny)

Jun 2007 - ??? suzuki gsxr 1000 k1 (Spartan)

i jus feel that the age should be raise

not cc caps..

as i feel the older u are the more "scared" u feel

the older u are the less "hot blood" u have

the older u are

u think of consequences more

jus my views onli

Originally posted by wait4me@May 03, 2007 06:09 pm

i jus feel that the age should be raise

not cc caps..

as i feel the older u are the more "scared" u feel

the older u are the less "hot blood" u have

the older u are

u think of consequences more

jus my views onli

You cant really say that..

I have seen crazy ah peks riding real fast on the expressways.

Maybe they should classify the licence under childish/mature.

No the CC caps :lol:

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@May 04, 2007 09:29 am

You cant really say that..

I have seen crazy ah peks riding real fast on the expressways.

Maybe they should classify the licence under childish/mature.

No the CC caps :lol:

but the majority of ah peks vs young hot blood ?? :sweat:

i always thought its the rider, not the ride. seen those kamikaze kups from deliveries? if the rider's mentality is to run fast, even when he riding wave also very dangerous.

age should increase, to a point when they will be learning that their lives are important, not cc.

so the best is, just give us a straight class 2 license without 2b and 2a.. those who chooses to speed dies young, no matter what classes they are riding.

learn from other's mistakes.

you cant live long enough to make all those mistakes yourself..

...but the problem is, too many deaths in our kiasee (pun) little island prompted our state elders and authorities to do something about it.

(I maintain a neutral point of view. Japan also have this system, except that people can choose to jump straight to Class 2 after taking a tricky TP test)

big bike not equals to fast rider...:sweat: so its up to the rider liao.. i got a fren rides 200cc normal ride at 100-120km/h.. im riding 400cc, normally travels 80 -100km/h... so its up to the rider :cheeky:

:offtopic: i think 2A should change to 600cc n below.. so that i can ride Fazer.. :cheeky:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

Originally posted by diablo_gixxer@May 03, 2007 01:50 am

a lil off topic but i feel tat d 2A cap shud be raised to 600cc... no new 2a sportbikes arnd... even rs250's production has been stopped n tats d latest a 2a sportsbike can get

I think so too. 400cc isn't a 'proper' capacity class anymore.

Personally, I would like this system:

2B - Up to 250cc

2A - Up to 600cc

2 - Above 600cc

In agreement with some who has mention that bigger cc does not mean speeding, I don't see the reason limiting the cc because of this as well. Years back when riding a 125cc (and I am a light weight guy then), the bike could barely climb up Sheares Bridge! :giddy: 80km/h....70km/h....60km/h..... :giddy:

Are there such segregation in other countries?:sian:

Personally, I would like this system:

2B - Up to 250cc

2A - Up to 600cc

2 - Above 600cc

In agreement with some who has mention that bigger cc does not mean speeding, I don't see the reason limiting the cc because of this as well. Years back when riding a 125cc (and I am a light weight guy then), the bike could barely climb up Sheares Bridge! :giddy: 80km/h....70km/h....60km/h..... :giddy:

Are there such segregation in other countries?:sian:

I read somewhere in the forum that Japan still has it. Anyway, such a system is bring considered by the European Union for its member nations. Read it in BIKE.

In my opinion, if a rider can control both a small capacity bike and a large capacity bike equally well, riding the former is a more dangerous choice.

Small capacity bikes are usually built to a budget, and that means they are made of budget parts, brakes and tyres included. In an emergency situation, these cheap components could easily kill you.

Another major flaw in the license classification system in mi opinion is the one year wait before u can upgrade ur license, say from 2b to 2a or 2a to 2. In that one yr, it does not matter whether u ride or not.

I feel that a newly-passed rider is more skillful than a 'qualified' rider who have passed for a year but have not rode since passing.

There are quite a few bike/scooter models that are 250cc. Due to the current licence classification system, i feel that very few 250cc bikes are brought into sg market because 2A holders rather get a 400cc.

If class 2B can be reclassified to 250cc and below, those 2b holders(with no intention to upgrade) will have more choices. Best of all, it opens up the market for 250cc bikes....

After all, to most riders, bikes are used as a form of transport, so not a lot of riders choose to ride big cc bikes.

actually i dun mind, den i can buy pgm4!

Looking at the ride tells everything about the rider

Small capacity bikes are usually built to a budget, and that means they are made of budget parts, brakes and tyres included. In an emergency situation, these cheap components could easily kill you.

IMO, if we lived in an idealistic world where no-one new rider has the sudden urge to speed, our gov't (and our transport authorities) would've considered concentrating on scrutinising the age of bikes and not the CC.

hai, they should implement class 2 license straight but have to go pracs for a whole year starting from 2b to 2....

IMO, if we lived in an idealistic world where no-one new rider has the sudden urge to speed, our gov't (and our transport authorities) would've considered concentrating on scrutinising the age of bikes and not the CC.

No no... they shouldn't be looking at the age of bikes... they should be looking at the ages of bikers.

In fact, they shouldn't have class 2/2A/2B. They should have just Class 2 (Age below 30) and Class 2 ( Age 30 & Above).

For Class 2 ( Age below 30)...

100cc max for 4T

50cc max for 2T

For Class 2 (Age 30 & above)...

Any cc allowed.

:popcorn: :cheer:

No no... they shouldn't be looking at the age of bikes... they should be looking at the ages of bikers.

In fact, they shouldn't have class 2/2A/2B. They should have just Class 2 (Age below 30) and Class 2 ( Age 30 & Above).

For Class 2 ( Age below 30)...

100cc max for 4T

50cc max for 2T

For Class 2 (Age 30 & above)...

Any cc allowed.

:popcorn: :cheer:

And the rich brat whose father bought him or her a beemer can just zoom the highway at 200kmh 2nd lane and flashes light at 500m away expecting you to give way, and jam brakes ****ing close to you that his disc brakes wail, and he HONKS at you, before doing what he should have done in the first place, THAT IS TO OVERTAKE ON THE RIGHT?

You honestly think that nerfing the bike capacity of new riders will help? tink again.

I do think that instead of giving categories according to CC, i think its better to give categories according to the BHP of the motorbike. 20BHP is enough to zip around in singapore.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

i don't agree with that... because diff cc bike diff horsepower.. scare some ppl cannot handle den in the end becomes the bike control the rider.. like that accidents are bound to happen.. very fatal.

http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/8408/sigpic393221.jpg
i don't agree with that... because diff cc bike diff horsepower.. scare some ppl cannot handle den in the end becomes the bike control the rider.. like that accidents are bound to happen.. very fatal.

first time hear u say something good

yun sound very expert, he must be riding a haya or zx-14....