well, i think he did something similar to that with yamaha with honda transition.

perhaps, he needs his own brand.

apart from the tyre war, yamaha seriously is lacking in performance. look where the 3 remaining yamaha end up. colin is quite a good rider, but struggling. honda made tremendous improvement after their upgrade, but only factory team got it first.

he is making the difference as the rider. but i think the 990cc races were more exciting, be it any rider. there were alot more dog fights. now with 800, everyone is riding alone.

Yeap, you are right,bro.

Honda got good riders.

Suzuki got good riders.

Ducati got good riders.

Yamaha got good rider.

But Kawi...never had good rider till today.

Next year Hopkins will be joining Kawi (finally good rider joining Kawi) but his last few rides not so prommising. Makes me worry about his performance with Kawi next year.

Anthony West seems to be doing very good in the begining (just join the company..sure work hard one....all the skill sure come out in the begining...under probation mah.

But after got confirmation letter, always tuang now i.e. performance drop liao).:faint:

De Punniet seems to be improving ( I mean never crash for the past couple of races):thumb:

By the way, I always noticed that there is another 250cc Aprilia rider with the name of Anthony West also from AUST.

Is this the same guy racing the Kawi premier class after the 250cc? Must be tiring lei...just finnish 250cc then faster faster change different suit and go to premier class:faint: Just wondering...any one realise this? Or is it different guys with the same name?

• Replies 125

Team Illmor!!!

Just as you speak, there had been an intention of Team KR using the Ilmor engine for next year. Honda is not willing to supply KR engines to run 2 bikes next year, while KR is having a hard time getting sponsor who is willing to sponsor only 1 bike team, so KR decided to talk to Ilmor to have them supply enough engines for KR to run 2 bikes.

Not bad huh....things happen after you mention it. :angel:

did you notice rossi's top speed on the straight is faster than hayden's bike? it was around 310 or something like that. i dun think his bike is slow. he has a different yamaha from the rest. rossi is not just a rider, he is himself an engineer and he knows how to drain every last bit of horsepower in that bike in terms of setup. of course there is no answer to ducati's 330kmh. but the jap bikes are going at about 310kmh-320kmh around there...

and i thought the 800ccs are supposed to be slower.... :cheeky:

Bro, since when Rossi got degree on engineering? He could not even speak proper english :lol: Okay, I get the point that Rossi is one special racer who is able to tell his engineers the difference when something new was done to the bike, whether it is going to be useful or not. He is just like Mich Doohan, another such special racer.

I feel that Rossi is fast because he is a racer with brains. He would ride around problems. Last year he completed the rest of the race with a broken footpeg tells a lot about him. With a good bike, he is always looking for the weirdest place to overtake, weirdest lines to take. But yet he dun crash when he rides out of norms.

So I feel those who support him, should look beyond the fact that he was not winning races. There are things that even a great rider like him could never control. He gave directions to Yammie to focus on handling, only to be caught short of top speed. When the Yammie got to dice at the front more, it became Michelins unable to hold onto the distance. But with my very own eyes, I see Rossi fighting. He never gave up. Which convinces me more that he is what champions are made of, compared to those few years which he simply plays the predator in the cat and mouse game. We knew he need not wait to pound on his prey, and could had actually win the races ahead like Stoner is doing now.

With the new rules for next year, may the best racer win. :thumb:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Yeap, you are right,bro.

Honda got good riders.

Suzuki got good riders.

Ducati got good riders.

Yamaha got good rider.

But Kawi...never had good rider till today.

Next year Hopkins will be joining Kawi (finally good rider joining Kawi) but his last few rides not so prommising. Makes me worry about his performance with Kawi next year.

Anthony West seems to be doing very good in the begining (just join the company..sure work hard one....all the skill sure come out in the begining...under probation mah.

But after got confirmation letter, always tuang now i.e. performance drop liao).:faint:

De Punniet seems to be improving ( I mean never crash for the past couple of races):thumb:

By the way, I always noticed that there is another 250cc Aprilia rider with the name of Anthony West also from AUST.

Is this the same guy racing the Kawi premier class after the 250cc? Must be tiring lei...just finnish 250cc then faster faster change different suit and go to premier class:faint: Just wondering...any one realise this? Or is it different guys with the same name?

Ant West, he had been struggling with his bike setup at Philip Island, so that's why he could not be in the front as much as he wanted to. Even the same goes for Chris Vermulen. In fact most of the races Ant West, Chris V, Colins E and Carlos C are fighting for position 8 ~10, with Ant West leading the group of 4 racers, until eventually he lose touch due to tyre wear, and Chris V and Colins E eventually caught up with Marco Melandri.

The last race at Motegi, had it not been his jump start, God knows where would he be at the finishing line!

Ya, Ant West was actually racing 250cc with a private team, without factory bikes. But his performances frequently see him finish the race ahead of factory teams in 250cc. Alas, the team ran out of funds and he jumped over to race World Supersports as a sunstitude rider for a Yammie R6, which he won 2 races before drafted over to replace Oliver Jacque for the Kawasaki MotoGP Team.

So it is the same Anthony West in the 250cc GP championship, MotoGP championship and World SuperSports championship.

Ant West, he had been struggling with his bike setup at Philip Island, so that's why he could not be in the front as much as he wanted to. Even the same goes for Chris Vermulen. In fact most of the races Ant West, Chris V, Colins E and Carlos C are fighting for position 8 ~10, with Ant West leading the group of 4 racers, until eventually he lose touch due to tyre wear, and Chris V and Colins E eventually caught up with Marco Melandri.

The last race at Motegi, had it not been his jump start, God knows where would he be at the finishing line!

Ya, Ant West was actually racing 250cc with a private team, without factory bikes. But his performances frequently see him finish the race ahead of factory teams in 250cc. Alas, the team ran out of funds and he jumped over to race World Supersports as a sunstitude rider for a Yammie R6, which he won 2 races before drafted over to replace Oliver Jacque for the Kawasaki MotoGP Team.

So it is the same Anthony West in the 250cc GP championship, MotoGP championship and World SuperSports championship.

Bro i salute you ..... you are my Cnn ... very well informed

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

for some reason lorenzo should perform better than rossi, its gonna be a respol honda team situation.

I foresee Its either Yammies come out with something really good else situation wont change. Its clearly seen that even Honda is faster than yamaha during the race.

Tks for the info, bro. Really appreciate that.

Must be really tiring for Ant West everytime to quickly change his Aprilia racing suit to Kawi racing suit and hop into the 800cc bike as soon he completed the 250cc race. He must be almost completely drained by the time the 250cc over before hopping into 800cc.:faint: Yet, he still can finish top ten most of the time on his 800cc. This guy got stamina,man.

From what I see, Kawi seems to have chatter/grip problems compared to other bikes on the motoGP. Always their riders complain about this. They never complain about the power, nor about the tire..but often about the chatter/grip. Pity them also,lah.

Think Randi/Oliver must be those riders whom might have the highest crash/broken bones/swollen parts due the the Kawi's grip/chatter problem.

Kawi really damaged their body,man.

Maybe because of this, not many other riders eager to join Kawi. This is just my assumption only. I may be wrong.

Practically speaking, most of us prefer to ride a more stable/grip bike (eventhough power not so high) rather than riding a powerfull bike but poor grip.

Sepang will be another interesting race this year. All their winter test data had been screwed due to the resurfacing of the tracks a couple of times this year.:faint:

When everyone in the workd talk about what if Rossi joinning Duc or Honda, just wondering how will be the outcome if Stonner to ride Kawi?? (hypotetical case).

Must be really tiring for Ant West everytime to quickly change his Aprilia racing suit to Kawi racing suit and hop into the 800cc bike as soon he completed the 250cc race. He must be almost completely drained by the time the 250cc over before hopping into 800cc.:faint: Yet, he still can finish top ten most of the time on his 800cc. This guy got stamina,man.

From what I see, Kawi seems to have chatter/grip problems compared to other bikes on the motoGP. Always their riders complain about this. They never complain about the power, nor about the tire..but often about the chatter/grip. Pity them also,lah.

Think Randi/Oliver must be those riders whom might have the highest crash/broken bones/swollen parts due the the Kawi's grip/chatter problem.

Maybe because of this, not many other riders eager to join Kawi. This is just my assumption only. I may be wrong.

Practically speaking, most of us prefer to ride a more stable/grip bike (eventhough power not so high) rather than riding a powerfull bike but poor grip.

Sepang will be another interesting race this year. All their winter test data had been screwed due to the resurfacing of the tracks a couple of times this year.:faint:

When everyone in the workd talk about what if Rossi joinning Duc or Honda, just wondering how will be the outcome if Stonner to ride Kawi?? (hypotetical case).

i read in 1 bike mag that Kawi got the second highest horsepower after Ducati.. powerful bike is nothing without grip.. may b u r right about grip problem they encountered.

wow this is something new to me .... i din know Kawi has grip prob.

Care to explain more in detail ??

Bro, since when Rossi got degree on engineering? He could not even speak proper english

I read in a mag that he is a qualified engineer. I wun be surprised that the GP grid is filled up with highly educated people... Max Biaggi has a degree in law... :faint: that was brought up when he lost his Repsol ride, coz apparently riding is not his only option in life.

and yes, rossi is a special rider. he knows how to make the best out of situations, just like Wayne Rainey, Doohan etc. but he is not THE special one. nobody is IMO... not even Jose Mourinho :lol:

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg

Antony West used to race 250cc this season half way, switch to Supersports momentary, then now to MotoGP. Not racing Aprilia 250cc then swap to Kawa 800cc.

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s122/edmundino/avatar77_Artwork.jpgJimmy Chan #77 our mentor will always be in our hearts.... RIP

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s122/edmundino/My%20Track%20Day%20Pictures/36052_477507261797_778161797_6619068_5697776_n.jpg

Bro i salute you ..... you are my Cnn ... very well informed

Told you I'm damn free now, so did lots of reading on things I truly like :lol:

for some reason lorenzo should perform better than rossi, its gonna be a respol honda team situation.

If there's a war between Rossi and Jorge, I'm all for Rossi. It would be like the Repsol garage. Yammie is desperate to continue their success with someone when Rossi leaves them. I will never forget how aggressive Lorenzo was back in Motegi 05 when he took out 2 riders in one turn. Can kindda tell he is not going to be the humble sort, and yes, there will be lots of sparks. Go Rossi! (for this rivalry, hee)

Yup....a mechanix for the Pramac team noted that to us in a US forum quite a while ago, how mighty fast Team Green had become. If only Shinya was still on that bike.

I read in a mag that he is a qualified engineer. I wun be surprised that the GP grid is filled up with highly educated people... Max Biaggi has a degree in law... :faint: that was brought up when he lost his Repsol ride, coz apparently riding is not his only option in life.

I thought Max was intending to sue Honda himself for banning him a Honda ride :cheeky: I still cannot get to grips that Rossi is an engineer, lol. Anyways, there was some rumours that Max could be riding the Gresini Honda next year as he did not get a ride with Alstar Corona Suzuki. Alstar Corona could not pay his salary for next year, suspect to be 7 figures....Damn, he gets a million Euros salary?

Antony West used to race 250cc this season half way, switch to Supersports momentary, then now to MotoGP. Not racing Aprilia 250cc then swap to Kawa 800cc.

AMA had a few riders doing that, racing 2 different class back to back....Can you imagine that? Wow...

Yes, bro. I heard about that also and I saw the same thing written on the net too.

But....

If you notice all the 250cc race till today (I repeat till today), "Anthony West Aust Aprilia" name still displayed on the grid and on the result on each 250cc up to today.

Then upon completion of the 250cc, his name will again displayed during the MotoGp800cc.

If my memory doesn't fail me, he got 14th position at Philip Island last week on 250cc class.

Just wondering wheter is it the same guy. Tried to search the net but could not find any info about this.

Confused lei...

Could it be different guy but just having the exactly same given name/same surname and same nationality???:giddy:

Done some searching on the official moto GP website this morning. Below is the Montegi race result.

Ant West got 17 position.

After seaching the riders profile, yes...it is the same guy coz the photo is the same.

Salute to Ant West....for quickly changing the suit and race again.

600931.pdf

Originally Posted by antonioshabirto

I dont think he suites yahama ........ he should be choosing either italian bikes or go to suzuki or honda.

Hello all, i really enjoyed reading all your views! I'm a huge Rossi fan! But rather i think i'm a Yamaha fan. That's why i like Colin Edwards too; incidentally Colin also switch from Honda to Yamaha.

According to his biography, the reason for him leaving honda is the very competitive and stifling culture. He detests the culture in Honda which is only focused on winning with little human touch, unlike Yamaha. At Yamaha, things are more laid back, relax and more fun! Therefore, don't think Rossi will ever join Honda again

That's exactly the reason I love Yamaha too! And i share the same sentiments as Rossi too!

Support the underdogs. Yamaha: Touching Your Heart.

sunnyB

P.S. Ironically, im riding a Honda though i wld like to ride the R6 some day.. hehe..

Done some searching on the official moto GP website this morning. Below is the Montegi race result.

Ant West got 17 position.

After seaching the riders profile, yes...it is the same guy coz the photo is the same.

Salute to Ant West....for quickly changing the suit and race again.

Yes friend. He's ranked #17 in the "WORLD 250CC CLASSIFICATION" not at the race. At Motegi...no classification....Please don't interpret the classification wrongly.....:cry: :giddy:

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s122/edmundino/avatar77_Artwork.jpgJimmy Chan #77 our mentor will always be in our hearts.... RIP

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s122/edmundino/My%20Track%20Day%20Pictures/36052_477507261797_778161797_6619068_5697776_n.jpg

Yes friend. He's ranked #17 in the "WORLD 250CC CLASSIFICATION" not at the race. At Motegi...no classification....Please don't interpret the classification wrongly.....:cry: :giddy:

Hee.... :cheeky:

Rossi seems set to stay in Yammie till his contract ripened. But the news is that he will likely be using Bridgestone, unless it is going to be 1 spec tyre for 2008.

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/19102007/58/malaysian-gp-rossi-bridgestone-switch.html

Many tks for clearing my doubt.

Now I understood.

Tks again, bro. :thumb: :thumb:

By the way, Rossi not doing very well at Sepang yesterday and today....

Tires really got problem.:faint:

Bridgestonne will be using a harder compound as they found the newly resurfaced track was more abrasive.

Michelin....?? They brought something "new and good" but results not so good.:faint:

Despite all the bad tires and machines, Rossi still can give a relatively "good results".

This shows he is really goooood.:thumb:

Now I understood.

Bridgestonne will be using a harder compound as they found the newly resurfaced track was more abrasive.

Michelin....?? They brought something "new and good" but results not so good.:faint:

Despite all the bad tires and machines, Rossi still can give a relatively "good results".

I believe this is not only the tyre problem or the surface issue. Team yamaha is facing yet another problem.

Read the latest news

http://www.crash.net/motorsport/motogp/news/156111-0/rossi_disappointed_edwards_embarrassed.html

Now I understood.

We all know that Rossi is probably the best racer to ever exist....and we truly understand that a racer given a not so tip top package is just as human as anyone else on the grids.

Mind you that Kurtis Roberts is still capable of riding faster than the best track rider in SG. The privateer ZhongZhen Aprilia 250GP bikes that came in last 2 bikes (backmarkers in fact) for the 250 race last year was thrashing us like mad when they tested on a Sepang trackday. Tiptop riders on 1000cc bikes could not keep up, that's how high the standards of these racers. I am not being disrespectful to our local riders, but the gap is really very very wide.

Look out for Anthony West who is 5th, just behind DePuniet on the grid. Interesting to see Kawi qualified pretty well.

Mind you that Kurtis Roberts is still capable of riding faster than the best track rider in SG. The privateer ZhongZhen Aprilia 250GP bikes that came in last 2 bikes (backmarkers in fact) for the 250 race last year was thrashing us like mad when they tested on a Sepang trackday. Tiptop riders on 1000cc bikes could not keep up, that's how high the standards of these racers. I am not being disrespectful to our local riders, but the gap is really very very wide.

Well said bro, you're not being disrespectful to anyone. GP class is way above our reach. Don't know if we can even reach WSBK standards. Well for Singaporeans at least... our neighbours Malaysia and Thai, who have their own tracks, have nurtured GP riders. If only we have our own track, our own race programe.....

And as for MotoGP racers, I don't know how many have seen them ride from the pits. At ground level, they are like a circus; their skills are unforeseen. I've seen Hayden coming into Sepang turn 1 sideways after the braking marker and I really thought he was going to bin it, but on tv replay it looks so 'normal'.

Also saw Rossi wheelie while cornering towards turn 3 exit in practice in a show of skill. And he has so much variation in his riding style, he doesnt attack the same line everytime.

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg
We all know that Rossi is probably the best racer to ever exist....and we truly understand that a racer given a not so tip top package is just as human as anyone else on the grids.

Look out for Anthony West who is 5th, just behind DePuniet on the grid. Interesting to see Kawi qualified pretty well.

Well said bro, you're not being disrespectful to anyone. GP class is way above our reach. Don't know if we can even reach WSBK standards. Well for Singaporeans at least... our neighbours Malaysia and Thai, who have their own tracks, have nurtured GP riders. If only we have our own track, our own race programe.....

And as for MotoGP racers, I don't know how many have seen them ride from the pits. At ground level, they are like a circus; their skills are unforeseen. I've seen Hayden coming into Sepang turn 1 sideways after the braking marker and I really thought he was going to bin it, but on tv replay it looks so 'normal'.

Also saw Rossi wheelie while cornering towards turn 3 exit in practice in a show of skill. And he has so much variation in his riding style, he doesnt attack the same line everytime.

you 2 guys pointed out good points..if only they did a track at marina south area instead of a casino -_-

yamaha days are gone, long gone, since the days of 500cc motor race. wat crap the yamaha team is doing, changing and experiment things during championship race. He did change enging half way thru championship race. I think he will try Ducati (Italian bike) for Italian rider or he would try SUZUKI b4 he change to 4wheels.

Once A Rider,aLways A RideR