Yamaha YZF-R6

Gnixer

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Oct 23 2005, 07:07 PM

What's so chim about it? It is just something that makes you ride and corner faster with more confidence and safety. Highly recommend a damper for all R6, the bike has a very quick handling geometry, downside is that it can get unstable on regular roads. Think of a damper as an insurance.

Bro, may I enquire where u get ur Scotts Rotary Damper from ?

• Replies 29.8k

Hai~~

Tomolo onwards have to stay in liao...

Will not be able to organise outings liao, if got any outing sms me...

Maybe about to org outing 9 weeks later! hahha

-=*Xe'jsor*=- a.k.a A|aN

http://homepage2.nifty.com/lau_hongkong/exibithion-3/img/trexi-singapore-200510/s-45.jpg

Originally posted by eSPy`56@Oct 23 2005, 07:51 PM

Bro, may I enquire where u get ur Scotts Rotary Damper from ?

Bought it online from the states Ussuperbikes.com. There was a group buy organise through r6messagenet

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Oct 23 2005, 06:07 PM

What's so chim about it? It is just something that makes you ride and corner faster with more confidence and safety. Highly recommend a damper for all R6, the bike has a very quick handling geometry, downside is that it can get unstable on regular roads. Think of a damper as an insurance.

currently i'm using ohlins damper..

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Oct 22 2005, 03:28 PM

Actually they cost the same as an Ohlins linear damper with mounting kit. I got my Scotts damper complete with mounting kit for slightly less than $700. They work great, everyone who has one agrees and they're very popular in the States from street rider to club racer levels. The Scotts damper is designed by Ohlins and license produced by Scotts, so u know the quality is there.

The advantage of the rotary style damper is that they're so easy to adjust on the fly, the knob on the left allows u to adjust the damp rate even when riding. They also have 2 stage damping (normal and high speed damping), so your damper does not have to be rock hard to give good stability doing high speed cornering over uneven roads.

A second advantage is that the damper itself is universal, you just need to acquire a mounting kit when u change bike. Linear dampers have to worry about stroke and usually need to sell as a set.

where to service this damper? or rather who's capable of servicing this damper in singapore?

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11573/happyhalloween.jpg

Originally posted by tealeaf@Oct 24 2005, 12:47 PM

where to service this damper? or rather who's capable of servicing this damper in singapore?

I think RaceIncorp now brings in the damper, they should be able to service. Actually servicing the Scotts is easier than linear dampers, no special tools required. It is detailed in this webpage.

http://natra.dirtrider.net/damper.htm

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Oct 24 2005, 01:35 PM

I think RaceIncorp now brings in the damper, they should be able to service. Actually servicing the Scotts is easier than linear dampers, no special tools required. It is detailed in this webpage.

yes they do and it costs 780 a pop :giddy: , only gripe i have is that its easy to install and easy to take out, means easy to kena kapo.

But your bike park inside your house so okay la, no problems there :sweat:

http://img359.imageshack.us/img359/1270/3sincity8ya.gifhttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y213/ashyamahar6/DSCF0256.jpg

Originally posted by ashyamahar6@Oct 24 2005, 02:24 PM

yes they do and it costs 780 a pop :giddy: , only gripe i have is that its easy to install and easy to take out, means easy to kena kapo.

But your bike park inside your house so okay la, no problems there :sweat:

since its easy to take out like u say, everytime ride finish take out lor :cheeky: juz kidding:sweat:

Originally posted by and@Oct 24 2005, 10:35 PM

damn is he breaking in:confused: can a 05 go 230 at 4th gear:cheeky:

thats an O6 R6, the RPM meter is characterized by a crazy redline of 18-20 K RPM.

Its on a dyno, 4th gear reach 230 which is incredible :giddy:

O5 can reach 230 on 4th ah, u try then let us know :cheeky:

when u collecting ur bike, from which shop

http://img359.imageshack.us/img359/1270/3sincity8ya.gifhttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y213/ashyamahar6/DSCF0256.jpg

Originally posted by ashyamahar6@Oct 24 2005, 11:14 PM

thats an O6 R6, the RPM meter is characterized by a crazy redline of 18-20 K RPM.

Its on a dyno, 4th gear reach 230 which is incredible :giddy:

O5 can reach 230 on 4th ah, u try then let us know :cheeky:

when u collecting ur bike, from which shop

sian still waitin for my bike :sian: nobody dyno or try their bike meh. dun believe 05 and 06 diff so great :mad:

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Oct 24 2005, 01:35 PM

i see, so that solves one issue, the other one is theft any good way(mechanically) to prevent?

since R1 and R6 accessories are very prone to theft.

Err guys... Y or not let's talk abt some interesting...

Wat's u had oreadi done or intend to do on yr R6? Like install a steering damper... PCIII... etc... And how u feel dat these parts might helps u?

人生就是为了找寻爱的过程,每个人的人生都要找到四个人。

第一个是自己,第二个是你最爱的人,第三个是最爱你的人,第四个是共度一生的人。

但很悲哀的,在现实生活中,这三个人通常不是同一个人。

http://www.yamaha-racing.it/assets/images/novita/r6_yec/b.jpg

Originally posted by Titus62@Oct 26 2005, 01:13 AM

Wat's u had oreadi done or intend to do on yr R6? Like install a steering damper... PCIII... etc... And how u feel dat these parts might helps u?

Why dont u start off first reviewing ur bitubo steering damper and rear shock, ur micron exhaust (now sold redy), ur HID lamp, digi voltmeter + some more acc

u start first la :thumb:

Originally posted by tealeaf@Oct 25 2005, 08:14 PM

i see, so that solves one issue, the other one is theft any good way(mechanically) to prevent?

since R1 and R6 accessories are very prone to theft.

Scotts sells 'security' hex screws. They provide some degree of protection in the sense that regular allen keys cannot be used to open them. They cost USD$10. I find them to be total junk, the head strips too easily. You can always buy some quality Torx screws in Singapore.

Frankly speaking, all dampers are easy to steal. If the thief has been obeserving your bike, he'll be prepared with the tools. Your best insurance is to remove it when not required. I do that for the Scott. It is so easy to remove/install, just 2 allen bolts. SGP riding, damper sits at home. Malaysia riding, damper takes less than 1 min to go on.

You might want to check out the Sprint damper if you're keen to fit one on your cbrF4i. It's a quality damper, just that it is a new brand locally. Few friends have been using it, no complaints from them. The offer at BikeLab is 660 with mount kit, good price. Since u did your suspension there, u might get special offer :thumb:

I going to put a PCIII soon!!!! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Looking For R6 08 anyone selling?

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i177/luthertoh/PGsepang.jpg

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Oct 26 2005, 03:40 AM

You might want to check out the Sprint damper if you're keen to fit one on your cbrF4i. It's a quality damper, just that it is a new brand locally. Few friends have been using it, no complaints from them. The offer at BikeLab is 660 with mount kit, good price. Since u did your suspension there, u might get special offer :thumb:

actually im asking for my another bike's(future) use hehe... my current bike doesnt need a damper.

thanks for the info. :smile:

Originally posted by R46@Oct 26 2005, 10:52 AM

lolx..

then remember to tell us how it feel...

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by tealeaf@Oct 26 2005, 12:41 PM

actually im asking for my another bike's(future) use hehe... my current bike doesnt need a damper.

thanks for the info. :smile:

What bike will that be :cheer: Lurking around an R6 thread, so....an R6? :cheer: Go track must jio hor. Also psychoing Hamsterz to change R6 or CBR600RR, his big red tomato is just too precious and clumsy to go fast on track.

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Oct 26 2005, 12:50 PM

What bike will that be :cheer: Lurking around an R6 thread, so....an R6? :cheer: Go track must jio hor. Also psychoing Hamsterz to change R6 or CBR600RR, his big red tomato is just too precious and clumsy to go fast on track.

But his harley like exhaust system simply ROARS!!!

Originally posted by R46@Oct 26 2005, 10:52 AM

how much is a pc3usb:confused: not getting together with aftermarket full sys or slip on:confused: