Hi guys, i planning to get a r6 or cbr6, but couldnt make up my mind... i love the outlook & design of the r6, simply irresistible... had tried n experienced the cbr6, totally love the performance...

heard from mah motors that the cbr6 is better in performance; r6 cannot even smell smoke? is that true?

oso noticed that lots of ppl selling r6, seen some FBB & FBC plates on sale, barely a year to a few months... is there some problems with r6?

wat abt fuel comsumption, repairs, parts? which is easier to find parts & which is more costly in maintance?

Some help guys? Thx a million!!!

• Replies 29.8k

Hi guys, i planning to get a r6 or cbr6, but couldnt make up my mind... i love the outlook & design of the r6, simply irresistible... had tried n experienced the cbr6, totally love the performance...

heard from mah motors that the cbr6 is better in performance; r6 cannot even smell smoke? is that true?

oso noticed that lots of ppl selling r6, seen some FBB & FBC plates on sale, barely a year to a few months... is there some problems with r6?

wat abt fuel comsumption, repairs, parts? which is easier to find parts & which is more costly in maintance?

Hi Bro,

i guess you shld buy a bike u truly love and which is always on your mind.

Example you like the performance of the CBR600 but you keep tinkin of the R6, do you tink you will enjoy your ride?? if you wana tok abt preformance wise, both have their own pros and cons and which year CBR 600 you refering to?

One more thing to point out which is you must know what are you gettin the bike for and what do you like abt individual bike.

Hope this helps you out

Lamer

My Friend you are in good hands as God knows whats best for you. 30/10/12 Dedication,love,arrogance,pain tolerance...these things WILL bring you lvl after lvl.Strength of mind. Strength of character.Drop your hero worship. Become the animal.U can do anything. Work. Practice. Crash. Improve. Crash. Win. Nv give up. Nv surrender. Crush them. Crush their spirit. Crush their dreams.Now Move.

thx a lot for the prompt response LamerFornica,

actually i like the r6 more... but i've notice many new r6 being put on sale, which leads me questioning, is there a problem with the bike?

i'm oso concerned abt after sales stuffs... the guy at mah's oso says that honda parts are cheaper n earier to get? is that true? if servicing & repairs is gonna be costly for 1 i'll definately choose the other...

i'm comparing 08 model for both... how long does the problems usually comes in? after 1st year? 3rd year? will the engine die faster if i keep travelling at high speeds? i know they're meant to be racing bikes so the engines should be able to handle consistent wacking and sustain itz durability, m i right to say that?

sorry for posting such noob questions lol... dont kill me... i better end here.. =p

Heard R6 is peaky and good for track, Honda had a better low to mid range power band which is good for daily road use, so depends what u want loo....

But outlook wise, R6 wins on all others!

Thats pure crap sales talk...

"This bike is better! R6 cannot even smell smoke..." F**k him and f**k his whatever bike. Just another sales gimmick trying to push his sales of the bike. My opinion? Choose the bike with you fall in love with...

When I got my R6, it was beside the 08 CBR6 with Tenkate Hannspree paintwork. And its even cheaper than the R6. Guess what? I still took the R6 without considering the CBR600. Its all abt the feelings...

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
Thats pure crap sales talk...

"This bike is better! R6 cannot even smell smoke..." F**k him and f**k his whatever bike. Just another sales gimmick trying to push his sales of the bike. My opinion? Choose the bike with you fall in love with...

When I got my R6, it was beside the 08 CBR6 with Tenkate Hannspree paintwork. And its even cheaper than the R6. Guess what? I still took the R6 without considering the CBR600. Its all abt the feelings...

when the feeling is right , everything is right! :thumb:

if a cbr600 can let a R6 "CAN'T EVEN SMELL SMOKE" den i dun see the reason why R6 is selling more ex and more ppl are buying..

wat i feel is more on the rider den bike..

cos no matter wat its still a 600cc diff won't be as if heaven and earth!

(Mar05) Honda SP 150 FR9470B

(Nov05) Kawasaki KRR 150 FU8637D

(Sep06) Suzuki GSX400 FK7652

(Nov06) Yamaha Sparks135 FBB511H

(Mar07) Honda RVF400 FN4991T

(07-10) Yamaha YZF R6 FBA7370G

(08-09) Suzuki DRZ 400 FBC4821G

well said chun!!!!!!! :thumb: :thumb:

r6 is a torquey and high rev bike, true madness unleash from rpm10 pull strong all the way to redline. 08 r6 have ycci so pickup midrange is not a issue. 0607 r6 have top reviews for track but slightly less for road due to its high rev nature that is -road friendly. the bike rev up fast,u wont bother with pickup n mid as u already hit the powerpeak in no time.

LAWrenceZ if u wan buy bike for sg road only ,get the cbr ;)

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

actually i like the r6 more... but i've notice many new r6 being put on sale, which leads me questioning, is there a problem with the bike?

i'm oso concerned abt after sales stuffs... the guy at mah's oso says that honda parts are cheaper n earier to get? is that true? if servicing & repairs is gonna be costly for 1 i'll definately choose the other...

i'm comparing 08 model for both... how long does the problems usually comes in? after 1st year? 3rd year? will the engine die faster if i keep travelling at high speeds? i know they're meant to be racing bikes so the engines should be able to handle consistent wacking and sustain itz durability, m i right to say that?

sorry for posting such noob questions lol... dont kill me... i better end here.. =p

Not forgetting, Yamaha bikes are famous for its TPS prb.:giddy:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Ok lets have a fair opinion, some shops are pushing CBRs more den the R6s due to over kept stock like one gd example which is e CBR06 which i heard frm my frends there is one certain shop i do not wish to name incase of flaming and untruth of a hearsay from my frends which is you buy the CBR, they give you a arrow end can or full system(which i cant rememeber). Im stating the above statement not saying CBR is not good , infact when you see the cbr on track, you will be amazed but for the sales person to tell you the CBR win hands down..i disagree strongly as you are comparing both 08 models. If you talk abt 06 07 R6 VS CBR 07 08 den i would say CBR have a slight advantage in power to weight ratio as they increase power and shorten wheelbase and lighten weight a little. Well still on e track and on NSH the difference is minimal as really depens on the riders experience.

When talk abt R6 08, you will be blown away by its new midrange power which was missing from the 06 07 R6. Some ppl might say R6 08 certain fairing parts why like this and tat compare to R6 06 07 but all i can tell you is thumbs up for the R6 since 06 -08 currently in all departments of machine to looks to little features that Yamaha has created for you.

The answer to why ppl sell away the R6s is not due to lousy performance or lots of fault but due to upgrading of a litre bike.

Go and take a look at both bikes closely and look at all the cosmetics details like example what the speedo has to offer, the looks with the little fairings details and what kind of features the Yammie has to offer and what the Honda has to offer. I cannot point out the flaws of honda to make you like the Yammie as it is unfair to you (New buyer) as you must decide what you like. Go read up what features Yammie has and what Honda does not or vice versa.

Lamer

My Friend you are in good hands as God knows whats best for you. 30/10/12 Dedication,love,arrogance,pain tolerance...these things WILL bring you lvl after lvl.Strength of mind. Strength of character.Drop your hero worship. Become the animal.U can do anything. Work. Practice. Crash. Improve. Crash. Win. Nv give up. Nv surrender. Crush them. Crush their spirit. Crush their dreams.Now Move.

Hi bro, I feel that you should take into consideration on the riding posture of the bike if u are considering both bikes. If you are using for daily transport, Ithe r6 kinda heated up during the day ride. It not really very comfortable riding the R6 for long distance. For as the cbr6 i am not really sure. The R6 is like "taxis" in Singapore. Some go for their looks, some really appreciate the bike.

In terms of performance, if you are able to push both bike to the maximum potential then there will be a factor in considering which bike is better. At this point of time, i guess is the rider and skills that counts of which bike is better.

Potential Problem of R6 06-07

1. Exhaust Value Problem (small issue)

2. Throttle Positioning System (mostly 07 models)

R6 08, haven't heard of any problems yet so far.

The 08 model of the R6 excel better then the 06/07.

If you don't mind getting the 07 model, PM me.

(just my opinion of it)

hahahaha....

so hw bro, get ur things alr? :angel:

Barongan bro im waiting for Sapi to go track also ^_^

wen is ur turn bro... hehehehe

he alr went down to track bro, wit his new r6... :angel:

when is my turn?? that day you at KTM with funky chicken at nite, i went down during the day on friday day time ^_^ . Yah sapi 08 seem power ah, saw him at dam change exhaust remove mirrors waiting to tear my 07 apart LOLX

wa!! he change exhuast liao ar?? take out mirror?? fierce liao..:thumb:

hahha..where got fierce... u all more fierce then me liao... testin only...wanna practise not to use side mirror alwaes..coz i safety rider mah..trying to kick off habit...hahah..wat a bad decision... btw on the 7th im goin..tag along??

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs040.ash2/35356_414049126044_657851044_4755090_2936721_n.jpg

GUYS GUYS!!! watch this..kinda scary lei...

warning for those working at raffles place...:cheeky: :cheeky:

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs040.ash2/35356_414049126044_657851044_4755090_2936721_n.jpg

wow juz got home... thx for the replies guys! really appreciate every single one of your comments... i also posted the same questions on the cbr6 forums, every1 say the fellow's comments is crap, and says that both are equally good and it all boils down to riders' experience. i got same comments from 3 different class 2 friends. one of which also own's a cbr6 07.

i wanna thx every1 here manz... u guys made my day, now i can totally disregard the crappy guy and juz follow my heart.. lol... R6 for me!!! coz i can sub rider on my friend's cbr6 and swap anytime!! yeah!!

law.. of cos the r6 cant smell the smoke of the cbr.. becos its INFRONT.. hahaha :lol:

but seriously.. being an owner of a 06 r6 i juz cldnt resist tryin out the latest cbr and juz nice i have a fren ridin a red one.. so i asked her nicely if i cld have a go on the way back to sg.. (we were in malaysia)

the cbr has more torque in the low n mid range.. tats quite nice.. narrower seat and lower seat height so its gd for shorter riders.. the hesd (honda electronic steering damper) is good for high speed riding.. hmmm.. other then tat i cant rem anythin outstandin else.. i suppose the fuel gauge is useful too..

all in all.. the r6 is stil the best lookin bike.. and i wldnt trade is for anythin else.. except for maybe a crazy as hell 450cc motard.. heh heh heh

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

Saw some1 familiar jux now at amk ave 10 s-11...isit you chun...haha...riding a rvf pillion some1...rite??hehe...want say halow to you,but your bike ran so fast...haha..

**still waiting for my gpr from JR...F**k service....haiz...

law.. of cos the r6 cant smell the smoke of the cbr.. becos its INFRONT.. hahaha :lol:

but seriously.. being an owner of a 06 r6 i juz cldnt resist tryin out the latest cbr and juz nice i have a fren ridin a red one.. so i asked her nicely if i cld have a go on the way back to sg.. (we were in malaysia)

the cbr has more torque in the low n mid range.. tats quite nice.. narrower seat and lower seat height so its gd for shorter riders.. the hesd (honda electronic steering damper) is good for high speed riding.. hmmm.. other then tat i cant rem anythin outstandin else.. i suppose the fuel gauge is useful too..

all in all.. the r6 is stil the best lookin bike.. and i wldnt trade is for anythin else.. except for maybe a crazy as hell 450cc motard.. heh heh heh

motard rox~ :thumb:

GUYS GUYS!!! watch this..kinda scary lei...

warning for those working at raffles place...:cheeky: :cheeky:

Looks like most probably edited.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Looks like most probably edited.

but very scary~~ :giddy:

27th trackday this Sunday. See you guys there!

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough