[PK - Oversea Trip Discussion Thread]

Yeap, remember to waterproof it and get chargers which have built-in fuse. Mine just screwed up from the wet weather.

hehe... unlikely that it'll get wet coz i'ld probably unmount and keep it in top box at the first few drops of rain :angel: that's the purpose of making it detachable using a coupling plug between the batt and the splitter... but i haven't got time to find the right coupling i want :p

may all be well and happy

• Replies 683

yup... my pda n gps receiver come with adapters (converts 12V to 5V) that draw power from my car's "cigarette hole". i have a 3-way splitter but need only a 2-way for a pda n a gps receiver. i can connect the splitter directly to the batt but would like to make it detachable using a male-female link. this way, i don't need the splitter around when i don't need it :thumb:

Wow. I was considering how to manage a GPS system on a bike. I see alot of bike mounted GPS sold in the US - Gemini to name one of them. With josephsbs's electrical and mechanical expertise now there is a way for Singapore riders to use GPS on a bike :thumb: ...How much you charge for installation for others...:p BTW josephsbs I will be needing you and your GPS for the upcoming Friday night 2nd link ride...please update your name thanks!!

I love the responsibility of riding smartly.

I love riding alone on a motorcycle.

I love riding in groups.

I love how motorcycles make me feel the hero I'm not.

Excerpt from Cycle World Sep'07

many bikers are already using GPS on their bikes... i'm but just a laggard trying to get something running for myself :angel: i've seen some bikes with pda cradles fitting n blending in nicely with the bikes' fairing

still thinking how and where to fix the cradle on the phantom so that pda is visible yet doesn't look too ugly. another big problem is to find a cradle that can hold pda firm enough when bike is running at 90+kph... not good to start with pda and end without it :cheeky:

Osfar, if you were to go any slower, might as well make it a 2 day one night tirp. Its not hard to handle 100 on a TA. You can ask Kmax how fast he goes that day.

As for the schedule planning. You guys can ask Arjen for his route planning he did on the last trip. Joseph, I believe you received a copy too the other time. Used it as a reference.

I think it will be better for all the bikes to be run in first. That way, you guys will not have the burden within you.

1 day trip to malacca is very rush. new riders may not be able to take it.

mersing sound like a good idea :thumb:

furthermore can tag along with uncle panda ... swee :angel:

Malacca can wait till bikes are ready... yup, TA200 can go 100-120 easily but not when its still running in :p the FZ6 lagi no need to say lah :p

So guys is it possible to do a 1 day 80km/h cruise Mersing trip?

I love riding in groups.

Mersing? Cool. Non-stop windy roads between Kluang town and Jemuluang~ I'm interested in the trip too!

gp esso to mersing via kluang ~230km

... if go by this route, then distance same as going malacca liow

gp esso to mersing via pasir gudang hwy & jln kota tinggi ~152km

... this one shorter by a lot leh

So guys is it possible to do a 1 day 80km/h cruise Mersing trip?

from gps, distance ~152km from gp esso. need a stop around kota tinggi or ulu tiram which is about 40+km after setting off, then a long 110+km dunno got petrol station to stopby or not o_O

say we roll out at 8.30am, stopby kt petrol stn about 9.30am, stopby after another 40+km (just somewhere safe) at 10.30am, reach mersing 11.30am for lunch... should be :thumb:

can also consider coming back via causeway but see majority vote lor

about mersing

http://journeymalaysia.com/MC_mersing.htm

http://wikitravel.org/en/Mersing

Ask Gnay... he mounted his on his R1 at 180km/h also still intact...

saw his setup, but phantom got no sai-tau to stick the cradle leh. his cradle "suck" firmly onto the windscreen inside and nicely protected from wind blast :thumb:

my cradle currently "suck" onto glass above speedo and secured using the net type helmet holder to the tank. quite cute actually but worried about wind blast lor :D

the distance is about the same for mersing and melaka, but going to melaka is straight on NSHW and boring.. IMO.

mersing trip is winding roads and up-down hills, nice scenary on road side, best for photoshoot :)

Looks like there is some interests for a Mersing -winding, hilly and scenic route. Based on josephsbs GPS calculations seems like it is possible to do a 1 day relaxed(80km/h +/-) cruise trip.

So anyone interested and willing to spare a Sunday for the trip - 9th December just add your name below. From there we can see how many would be able to go and confirm the trip.:p

Other suggestions are also welcomed. :cool:

Interested participants:

1. osfar

I love riding in groups.

Looks like there is some interests for a Mersing -winding, hilly and scenic route. Based on josephsbs GPS calculations seems like it is possible to do a 1 day relaxed(80km/h +/-) cruise trip.

So anyone interested and willing to spare a Sunday for the trip - 9th December just add your name below. From there we can see how many would be able to go and confirm the trip.:p

Interested participants:

1. osfar

2. Richsg300+1pax (will go if times allow me)

:angel: :cheeky:

Happy as ever....................................

Hi Josephsbs, could you help to provide a best time estimate for Start (from Singapore 2nd Link) and End (Singapore 2nd Link customs). Thanks! :thumb:

==========================================================

Start time and date from Singapore 2nd Link customs: 7-8am

Reaching time and date to Singapore 2nd Link customs: To be determined

Interested participants:

1. osfar

I love riding in groups.

Hey man when there is a road trip & phantom bike is going & got ppl like your for company Must get me to go leh.

So anyone interested and willing to spare a Sunday for the trip - 9th December just add your name below. From there we can see how many would be able to go and confirm the trip.

Start time and date from Singapore 2nd Link customs: 7-8am

Reaching time and date to Singapore 2nd Link customs: To be determined

Other suggestions are also welcomed.

Interested participants:

1. osfar

3. BennyDcode

Born to da life

True to my code

For my passion

I shall roll

Wait! ちょとまて!

gp esso to mersing via kluang ~230km

... if go by this route, then distance same as going malacca liow

gp esso to mersing via pasir gudang hwy & jln kota tinggi ~152km

... this one shorter by a lot leh

the distance is about the same for mersing and melaka, but going to melaka is straight on NSHW and boring.. IMO.

mersing trip is winding roads and up-down hills, nice scenary on road side, best for photoshoot :)

the hilly and scenic route takes 230km woh... back to square one leh. at 80+km/h, we are looking at leaving early in the morning and back about midnight.

tot you guys wanted something shorter :confused:

added in later:

ya hor... forgot that we can go up by kluang (230km) n come back down by kota tinggi (152km), this is definitely more comfortable. gimme some time with gps n see what it says :angel:

last post from mersing trip... enjoy guys, my passport gona expire, no trips at the moment.. :)

smooth roads and nice scenary

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/devilika/07-15-2007-mersing/DSC00307.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/devilika/07-15-2007-mersing/DSC00304.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/devilika/07-15-2007-mersing/DSC00309.jpg

best seafood

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/devilika/07-15-2007-mersing/DSC00292.jpg

that's squid with salted-egg-stuffed, chilli crab, grilled fish.. yummy..

hi kmax,

which route did u guys go by... kluang or kota tinggi? mapking gps seems to say if going by kluang, then not using NS highway leh. give more details on route can? thanks :thumb:

i followed uncle robert (phatom_panda)'s friend, they are frequent travellers to mersing, so they know the petrol stops, half-way coffee-break place, good photo taking scene.

Who interesting???Want go to bike Genting Highland on DEC??

1998- Yamaha RX-Z(FR****K)

2002-2003(Oct)- Honda Super 4 Vtec II(FV***C)

2006 to 2010(June)- Honda ST1100(FQ****M)

2006 - 2010(June)... Honda Super 4 Vtec II(FW****U)

hi kmax,

which route did u guys go by... kluang or kota tinggi? mapking gps seems to say if going by kluang, then not using NS highway leh. give more details on route can? thanks :thumb:

Hi Josephsbs, if I get to ride with you on the Friday evening ride tomorrow, we can go through the preffered shortest 1 day route as I have a map of Johor which I will bring along for tomorrow's trip. You can use your GPS to verify. Hope to c u tomorrow. :cool:

Hey man when there is a road trip & phantom bike is going & got ppl like your for company Must get me to go leh.

Sure thing BennyDcode, good company and a good ride makes for a very pleasant Sunday!

I love riding in groups.

hi kmax,

We go through Kota tinggi... Never near the NS highway. The most enjoy part of the ride is the winding road. That is why we choose Mersing rather than Malacca (Which travel through NS highway) most of the time. No petrol kiosk after kota tinggi. Pump full tank at JB enough for you to reach Mersing. There is a pit stop with shelter, drinks and toilet abt an hour riding after kota tinggi, but sori i dun know how to tell you the actual location. We dun use GPS, because i travel amost every weekend previously to mersing to go tioman for scuba diving... cheers

TEAM PANDA ส.สุรà¸à¸²à¸¢ ชาตรี

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x247/Phantom_Panda/photo%20taking/2113945937_4ea209c67e_b1.jpg

Who interesting???Want go to bike Genting Highland on DEC??

Hehe, I would definitely like to take a long ride but thought of trying out a short one (1 day) first as suggested by some. Also longer rides require faster speed and my bike is in the run-in period but should complete towards the later part of Dec.:)

I love riding in groups.

when i get my heavily moded TA700, will surely go for many trips...

but also after run-in... slightly :offtopic: :cheeky:

hey uncle panda, josheph, dont wait till dec... faster go mersing .. heheh

KUALA LUMPUR -

RUMOURS that chunks of gold are buried beneath a Malaysian beach have sent scores of villagers digging through the sand in hopes of striking it rich, police said on Thursday.

Prospectors have flocked to a beach in the Mersing district of southern Johor state since residents reported finding gold deposits there last week, district police chief Harun Idris said.

'A big crowd is going there,' Mr Harun said. 'People are really excited.'

Natural gold deposits have been found in Mersing in recent years, Mr Harun said.

Some prospectors, including housewives and children, were combing the beach with flashlights at night, said another police officer, who declined to be identified, citing protocol.

He warned that people were exaggerating the size and value of gold discoveries. He said those who were lucky might find gold worth RM80 (S$34).

'It's gold dust actually,' the officer said. 'It's not economically worthwhile.'

-- AP