Which of the following Brand of pertol do you think is best for your S4, in term of $$ and  

532 members have voted

1. 1. Which of the following Brand of pertol do you think is best for your S4, in term of $$ and

Guest DR Guru

No matter what petrol we r using, come to think abt it air plays a big role meaning to say fuel cap not jus lock it will do/ try this use rubber abt 2mm to 3mm thick go round the fuel cap author & cut a nice shape out, once it done use it by the side of the fuel cap trap the air next once u top up petrol,lagi more milleage dont believe try it no harm.

• Replies 442

Originally posted by loh_dennis@Oct 25 2005, 02:54 AM

No matter what petrol we r using, come to think abt it air plays a big role meaning to say fuel cap not jus lock it will do/ try this use rubber abt 2mm to 3mm thick go round the fuel cap author & cut a nice shape out, once it done use it by the side of the fuel cap trap the air next once u top up petrol,lagi more milleage dont believe try it no harm.

hmmmm keeping the air in would help wif the petrol milleage meh ?? :confused: 1st time heard that air also helps in milleage......

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f144/Allan82/29092008148.jpg

Chio Bu on my ex ride !!!

i think it is more 2 reducing evaporation of fuel.

the idea is there.

but don't over do it, by using thicker dimension. it will actually stop the fuel fr flowing down due to the negative pressure or vaccum created.

Talking abt petrol I usually fill up with v-power at jb. But I went down to K&T at ubi to wash my carbs Clifford used some of my petrol to do the washing…. He then smelt the petrol and ask if I fill up at jb then I said yes… he told be petrol at jb mix with kerosene and ask me to smell… haha… like I can tell the difference… anyways just wana share…

Mixed with Kerosene?Then isn't it good?Heard kerosene can be used to clean chain?If really mixed with Kerosene then would it mean that the more we pump V-Power in JB, the cleaner our Fuel tank and pipes would be?!?hee!

I also always pump V-Power in JB, only once or twice a month pump in Sg if i feel lazy.

Agree that the V-Power there and in sg is different.Smell different too.Local V-power smell much better and you can feel some extra power but be prepare to feel a little pain when u tilt your head to see the price after pumping.(my personal habit as i always make sure my tank is filled to the brim when i fill at the other side.To busy with squeezing the jerky nozzle with correct pressure):cheeky:

Life's a gift... That's why they called it the present. :cool:

Originally posted by Perrin@Oct 26 2005, 03:09 AM

Talking abt petrol I usually fill up with v-power at jb. But I went down to K&T at ubi to wash my carbs Clifford used some of my petrol to do the washing…. He then smelt the petrol and ask if I fill up at jb then I said yes… he told be petrol at jb mix with kerosene and ask me to smell… haha… like I can tell the difference… anyways just wana share…

I read abt petrol mixed wif kerosene in 1 of our local chinese newspapers abt a couple mth ago....

But i heck care lo... Coz so far no1 gt any problems wif their bikey after so many years usin our neighbour's petrol...

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg

Dunno man ...

I tried around with different petrol ... But i found out that SHELL for my baby gave me more milage ... thats why i stick to SHELL .. ^^Y

ThE sPiRiT oF sHaRiNg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v187/AmmoTyr/Web%20Stuff/bounce.gif

1985 – 2000 SBS, TIBs and MRT

2000 – 2005 Honda XL185, Suzuki GX125, Skipper, NSR SP 150

2001 – 2005 Nisson Super Saloon, Honda City

2005 – onwards Super4 Hyper Vtec

Originally posted by Kinetic@Oct 21 2005, 05:45 PM

i using singapore esso 95.. FC 22+km/l.. 340 to reserve.. speed 100-110.. okok leh..

tried esso 92.. but seemed really "boh lat" like tt.. so switch back to esso95.. good enough for me..

can't remember what was in the owners' manual, but personally i won't go below 95.

it's not the boh lat that we need to worry, it's the engine knocks that we should be concern about. long term damage to engine isn't a fun thing.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by Allan82@Oct 25 2005, 09:45 AM

hmmmm keeping the air in would help wif the petrol milleage meh ?? :confused: 1st time heard that air also helps in milleage......

yeah, as your carb suck out the fuel from the tank, there must be also some space for the outside air to be drive into the tank.. if you seal it so tight, the result is not going to be good for your bike...

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

personally prefers malaysia's F1 Esso as it gives the best mileage and value for $

when i tried petronas it kinda got knocking sound. i wonder wads wrong now.

mileage is abt 360 travelling at 100kmph.

for sg.. power 98 is more den enough for me. but usually i go for 95. mileage is about 370.. but the $$.. :giddy:

my rides!

2003-2004 - phantom TA150 (FU6637S)

2004-2005 - nsr150 sp (FT6387T)

2005 - cb400 spec2 (FV1511Z)

2005-2006 - yamaha sparkx 110 (FZ9???Z)

2006-2007 - cb400 spec3 (FZ9???Z)

2007- ??? - GSXR600 K4 (FK????R)

---------------------------------------------------------------------

once a rider, always a rider.

Originally posted by McSpike@Oct 31 2005, 10:45 PM

Does anyone has any idea why BP stations had switched to SPC stations?

Bro, BP has been brought over by SPC... ...:offtopic:

Originally posted by rhys@Nov 1 2005, 12:10 AM

Bro, BP has been brought over by SPC... ...:offtopic:

I heard that BP sold its petrol stations to SPC due to the small market in here. However BP is also one of the shareholders at SPC after the transfer of assets.

Originally posted by royong@Oct 25 2005, 05:40 PM

i think it is more 2 reducing evaporation of fuel.

the idea is there.

but don't over do it, by using thicker dimension. it will actually stop the fuel fr flowing down due to the negative pressure or vaccum created.

Ya very true. Air tight tanks will cause a vaccum and thus leading to petrol unable to flow into the engine and result causing a piston jam. Which is y u see in some bike they have additional air tube to provide more air into the tank so that during a full throttle it will provide u more petrol for u to go faster. As air is pushing down the fuel into your engine. :thumb:

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/070804middle.jpg

went to eunos to do normal servicing.

asked him how's business....

said last few mths...spark plugs sold like 'goreng pisang'

till ran out of stock...

asked him why.....he found out that the octane level from JB petrol kiosk was reduced

drastically till the effect causes damage to spark plugs....

a lot of bikers mentioned bike no power...

u guys experience such symptoms?

Originally posted by AdiBzZz@Nov 24 2005, 12:38 PM

went to eunos to do normal servicing.

asked him how's business....

said last few mths...spark plugs sold like 'goreng pisang'

till ran out of stock...

asked him why.....he found out that the octane level from JB petrol kiosk was reduced

drastically till the effect causes damage to spark plugs....

a lot of bikers mentioned bike no power...

u guys experience such symptoms?

The previous time when i tried the petronas i can feel slight power loss.However V-power still doing fine.

By the way, which recommended plugs do Ver 's' use and how much for one?:confused:

Life's a gift... That's why they called it the present. :cool:

just got mybike recently.. i pump esso/mobil blue pump..donno wat number cos i werk pizzahut mah..they say pump blue, i pump lor.. cheaper i guess..

my mechanic told me 2 use caltex cos give more "power" acordin 2 him..

he say don't ever pump shell, cos he say may damage the engine..

i also donno .. newbie mah

so now whenever i go J.B, i pump caltec lor..

any comments on that?

i seldom look @ the 95/98 number.. i always remeber the colour..hehehe..

pls advice.. b4 i damage my bike further.. :help:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

singapore esso

blue - 92

red - 95

green -98

got someone ever said b4 e manual advise no lower then 95 octane (red).. so i think better to pump red then blue in singapore. and also the $$ difference is negligable. not like from 95 to 98 the difference is almost 10cents..

oh ya.. i also pump singapore 95 (red).. so far so good.. good fc.. 22km/l

(2002 - 2003) Yamaha RX-Z (Blue)

(2003 - 2004) Honda Super Four Version R (Red)

(2004 - 2005) Honda Wave (Blue)

(2005 - 2006) Honda Super Four Spec 1 (Black)

(2006 - 2007) Hyundai Getz (Blue)

(2007 - 2008) Honda Super Four Spec 3 (Silver)

(2008 - 2009) Suzuki DRZ 400 SM (Yellow)

(2009 - 2019) Kia Picanto (Blue)

http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u87/wongyuanshun/Delta.jpg

Anyway,to clear your doubts.. there is no such thing like Malaysian petrol added with kerosene...trust me...I'm working in the petroleum line...any such nonsense the company will get sued..don belief me..try adding SG petrol with kerosene...see whether ur bike can move or not.kerosene and petrol don blend.even Shell pure Vpower is colourless and to add the blue dye is not anyhow adding..we have our own ration and proportion....explaination as why your carbs are dirty..simple...the pump station holding tanks are not well maintained..impurities etc etc.as for RON reducing.its up to the Petroleum company...its just a matter of adding a solution call MTBE to boost the RON... Just sharing my knowledge.. :smile:

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k74/waklabib/esso.jpg

I just broke my record for JB-KL timing

Just Pump V-Power 15.50L / $31.47 :cry: Super Expensive manz.. 1L cost $2.03 oh my god !! But definitely i can feel the difference of V-pOWER ! I play pickup.. shiok haha..And the idling sound of my exhaust also sound fierce .

世上最é¥è¿œçš„è·ç¦»æ˜¯æˆ‘站在佪的é¢å‰ï¼Œ 佪å´ä¸çŸ¥é“我爱佪。

2000 to 2002 : HONDA NSR 125R FM 7541

2002 to 2006 : CBR 400 L MODEL FN 3561

2006 to 2007 : S4 SPEC II FW 2118

2007 to 2009: 92 Civic Esi SBU 7959

2009 to <Present> : Lancer Ex 1.5 (S)

Now Caltex with the new Techron in their petrols, throtle response feels better and sounds more crisp. Been using in my RX-Z and the piston head is easier to clean now.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"