Originally posted by emrun@Jun 17 2006, 10:58 PM

if u remember, how much does it cost u in total? was quoted 400-500 by TA, few mnths ago.

are u sure?! so expensive? i remember i recently did mine up for $330.. hmm.. i think u better ask for break down of the price..

• Replies 11.9k

• Wildswans

• -ResiDue-

• Sharpey

• machine k

You can ride your scoot without a clutch... not adisable except in an emergeny... But... by just jamming the gear change you can get your scoot to a mechanic.... Others have done it too, just don't make a habit of it and you wont do any long term damage....I know because I've done it :D

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

if your definition of power cut is the same as those bigger bikes whereby when it hits a certain speed, it will not go further....no...it does not happen for vintage vespas.....

power cut in bigger bikes works electronically....so for a vintage vespa, it is not possible because of the design of the bike.....

1995-1996: Yamaha TZR125

1996-1997: Kawasaki KIPS150

1997-present: Vespa Sprint Veloce

2001-2003: Honda CBR400RL

2005-2005: Honda CB400Vtec2

2005-2007: Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

2013-2014: Harley Davidson Nightster

2014-present: Harley Davidson Fatboy

Originally posted by emrun@Jun 22 2006, 05:31 PM

one question. just curious to find out.

is there any power cut in vespa?

power cut? hmmm, there is when i was riding sprint v with 6v then, usage off rear brake will cut the scoot. gotta kick start again. So gotta clutch/neutral gear and throttle a bit while breaking.

www.vespaclub.sg

http://www.teamvespa.com.sg/Images/abc.jpg

http://www.vespaclub.sg/others/footer.jpg

Originally posted by un-sith@Jun 23 2006, 11:53 AM

power cut? hmmm, there is when i was riding sprint v with 6v then, usage off rear brake will cut the scoot. gotta kick start again. So gotta clutch/neutral gear and throttle a bit while breaking.

un-sith, your scoots stalled after you stepped on the rear brakes?

that may be due to the electrical running of your bike....

previously i was on a 6V (magneto - contact and non cdi), i do faced the prob you have above...

stepping of the brakes will stall your engine when there is a break (open circuit) in circuit (e.g. rear lights blown)...

I reckon that after you have converted to the 12V CDI, you didnt faced such a problem rite? Correct me if i am wrong....

hey guys....i m ridin vespa super...1973...n i wana noe y tt when i change my spark plug e engine seems to be stallin when it comes to gear....like kinda no petrol or when e bike is juz turnin into reserve

thx

hey guys....i m ridin vespa super...1973...do u noe y tt when i change my spark plug e engine seems to be stallin when it comes to gear....like kinda no petrol or when e bike is juz turnin into reserve

thx

Originally posted by joze@Jun 24 2006, 12:09 AM

hey guys....i m ridin vespa super...1973...do u noe y tt when i change my spark plug e engine seems to be stallin when it comes to gear....like kinda no petrol or when e bike is juz turnin into reserve

thx

if u just change ur spark plug, mebbe not the usual spark plug u use? have u screw fully? plug cap secure? last time my plug cap always come off and always stall on the rd, so i had to scotch tape it until getting the ngk plug cap.

wks ago, i change a new spark plug too. suddenly needs to kick start 4-6 times. and when it does start, ther is a lot of smoke. tot it was the spark plug problem so i change spark plug like every wk. den i realise i've been trying out with formula 98 for couple of wks. the nxt top up, i change to my normal vpower. now, its back to my usual 1 kickstart every morning.. :sweat:

if urs stalling? mine's a bit diff. was going at 110km/h and the vespa keep 'pulling back' and i can feel like the engine wanna die off. so i ride slowly again and keep revving up the engine. this problem only occurs day time.. thats the unusual thing.

Emrun, do be careful... its sounds to me like this 'pulling back' you mention is actually soft-seizing... ie. just about a piston jam.... check your plug colour by doing a plug chop.... ride at 90-100kmh for about 4-5 mins and then kill the engine and pull over to the side of the road... by killing the engine at this point you can see exactly how rich the engine is at high revs... if your plug looks anything like whte or grey you are TOO LEAN... and need a bigger main jet..

Maybe tell us your setup so we can help??

no...no...mine not stallin.......its juz when i try to put in gear e engine sounds sooo no power....n it dies off juz like tt...n it happens only when it is switch into gear...hmmmph i wonder....btw u guys in a scooter group or sumthin?

Originally posted by Sharpey@Jun 24 2006, 10:04 AM

Emrun, do be careful... its sounds to me like this 'pulling back' you mention is actually soft-seizing... ie. just about a piston jam.... check your plug colour by doing a plug chop.... ride at 90-100kmh for about 4-5 mins and then kill the engine and pull over to the side of the road... by killing the engine at this point you can see exactly how rich the engine is at high revs... if your plug looks anything like whte or grey you are TOO LEAN... and need a bigger main jet..

Maybe tell us your setup so we can help??

seriously. i nvr seen my plug, white/grey in color. all i see, is black. wats the usual main jet? where to look for it? to be honest, i didnt even noe wat main jet is. mebbe u can explain? heh. i newbie lah with all this internal stuffs.

when you took out your spark plug, was it after a plug chop at high revs? The condition inside your engine will be different at high revs then at the kind of speeds you do around town (mix of high and low...)... You scoot can easily run rich around town and lean on the expressway...

Find the post about carb tuning that I posted a while back... the info is pretty comprehensive...

Basically, if you want to continue driving at such high speeds and not break your scoot, you'll need to get an understanding of the internals...

Ask around about which jets to use... 200cc's are different to 150's.. so the jet I use will be far too rich for you. I don't want to give advice on this cos I don't know.

Originally posted by Gweester@Jun 23 2006, 01:52 PM

un-sith, your scoots stalled after you stepped on the rear brakes?

that may be due to the electrical running of your bike....

previously i was on a 6V (magneto - contact and non cdi), i do faced the prob you have above...

stepping of the brakes will stall your engine when there is a break (open circuit) in circuit (e.g. rear lights blown)...

I reckon that after you have converted to the 12V CDI, you didnt faced such a problem rite? Correct me if i am wrong....

yap. No prob @ all after changing. No more electrical worries. Only wear and tear problems. haha

www.vespaclub.sg

http://www.teamvespa.com.sg/Images/abc.jpg

http://www.vespaclub.sg/others/footer.jpg

un-sith.....yup...the 12V CDI change made the difference....

no more such problems.....

Sharpey, how's your new carbs running?

what's your jet size?? :bounce: :bounce:

The vortex (now that the inlet has been matched) is fantastic. Can't say a bad thing for it....

I've got a 125main BE4 mixer, 100/50 idle... the air corrector is an adjustable one...

The vortex (if you can wait a few months to get one) is easily the upgrade of choice for a scooter... unlike a top end, it won't use alot more fuel than stock, and won't make the scoot more unreliable than stock... it will though give heaps more torque than stock, meaning that while you mightn't get a difference in top speed, your power and acceleration increase noticably...

check out hotrodscooters.com for more info (not much there...) or instead email scooterpartsdirect (they are the company that sells them direct from the manufacturer...)

That's the thing about great products I guess... they almost market themselves...

Originally posted by Sharpey@Jun 26 2006, 10:36 AM

The vortex (now that the inlet has been matched) is fantastic. Can't say a bad thing for it....

I've got a 125main BE4 mixer, 100/50 idle... the air corrector is an adjustable one...

The vortex (if you can wait a few months to get one) is easily the upgrade of choice for a scooter... unlike a top end, it won't use alot more fuel than stock, and won't make the scoot more unreliable than stock... it will though give heaps more torque than stock, meaning that while you mightn't get a difference in top speed, your power and acceleration increase noticably...

check out hotrodscooters.com for more info (not much there...) or instead email scooterpartsdirect (they are the company that sells them direct from the manufacturer...)

That's the thing about great products I guess... they almost market themselves...

125 as main jet...hmmm....you should be getting heaps good torque on that....

Are you using any air hose (don't know whether this is the correct term)? or are you using any filters?

Anyone can advise on the pros and cons of the following 150cc alloy block kits available?

1) Malossi

2) Pollini

3) Pinasco

Which is better?

Maybe you have used it and would like to leave some personal comments...

Heaps... is the word :thumb:

this is what I've got

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/5236/photo0314060014zu.jpg

Its a green foam filter (blue after spraying with filter oil)... much less restrictive than the stock filter inside the carb airbox [which I've removed].... You'll need to upjet if you decide to get one... I got the idea of the people at Stellaspeed.com..... very cheap upgrade :thumb:

As for where you can buy them in Singapore.... ask dirt bikers... or be lazy and do what I did and get them shipped from the US... Denis Kirk have decent shipping rates....

Phwah! All this talk about torque and carbs is flying right over my head. A lot of technical jargon, man. Damn cheem. Someone speak English please!

It's embarassing but I know zip about the internal workings of my scoot. I just want my scoot to look pretty. I feel like a bloody himbo! haha! But would be good to learn from the more knowledgeable brudders here.

I know I changed to the CDI thing, I got some Malossi thingamajig in and then had to change my carburetta to match (whatever that means). Before my mech fine-tuned my scoot, it would what u call "pull back" at high speeds and die when I come to a stop. Now it runs virtually problem free except for the occasional cable snap.

So on a completely different topic, does anyone know where I can find those cool chrome road tax discs? Those plasticky ones I have now just aren't cutting it. Thanks!

ah boy or the shop along it... im sure you could find it there..well to me, u gotta know a bit or two abt engines if u gonna own a vespa. its just the part and parcel of owning one. some things are easily fix by yaself.

Come original, u gotta come original...

Retro_King I also same same as you..

Maybe worst.. I don't even know how to change the tyre..:cry:

Well I know now.

As for the clutch cable after see and looking ...and reading..

Should know liao..Have not tried it out yet.

Was talking to a friend that knows inside out of his bike...

To him it is a passion to know everything the bike.

For me so far don’t really have this passion.

I be more that happy as long as

The bike work fine (can move without problem) with regular servicing.

Of cause it is better to know a few things

about the engine and part just in case when in needs.

esp like what reddy said "some things are easily fix by yaself"

But too bad I don’t know how to situation happened.

Knowing abt the engine is one thing but to put the knowledge to practise is hard. it take mistakes to know ur engine real well. changing a clutch cable from the websites seems easy. it is, but depending on wat headset u using.. Px headset allows for easy changing. for headset which doesnt have an open top, ie sprint or super.. its a bit of a chore.. can easily take 30 mins or so.u can verify with reddy with regards to it. for those who have tried on the classic headset will know wat trouble it takes.

to enjoy ur scooter u gotta get ur hands dirty. U will have more attachment to the bike. and probably will safe u some money.its juz my view.

for example: u can change ur engine oil on your own. all u have to know is how many ml of engine oil ur engine need. invest in a pump bottle with a long nozzle(easily available from hard ware or plastic ware. cost less than $2). get the know how from internet an u are ready to do it. it juz lossening 2 screws. and thats it. i don know how much it cost to do servicing at shop but i mostly do it myself. it onli takes 15 mins or so.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12430/Signature%20copy.jpg

NTU Vespa Club