Coolant Comparisan  

353 members have voted

1. 1. Coolant Comparisan

• Replies 814

so u mean i can add those premix ones from kiosk into my coolant as i'm using engine ice.

Yah...that's right.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

hey thr, i've been riding spec III for 3 yrs n yet to change coolant. i was told original coolant frm Japan got the best grades. was it true? :(

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

hey thr, i've been riding spec III for 3 yrs n yet to change coolant. i was told original coolant frm Japan got the best grades. was it true? :(

Not sure who told you that and base on what reliable reference source but generally, manufactural have a certain standard of quality that they have to commit.

I believe there are many type of koolant out there that gives better performance. However, as long as it meet your rerquiremnet and riding style and usage, the best affordable coolant will do...just never mixed them with tap water. :sian:

Not sure who told you that and base on what reliable reference source but generally, manufactural have a certain standard of quality that they have to commit.

I believe there are many type of koolant out there that gives better performance. However, as long as it meet your rerquiremnet and riding style and usage, the best affordable coolant will do...just never mixed them with tap water. :sian:

:sweat:.. yeah a friend of mine... thnks Ah Pek for the info. greatly appreciated. :angel:

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

hello. i;ve heard of fake engine ice. any idea how we differentiate a fake one?

suuupppaaaa da fooouuurrrrr! :angel:

weetec 1

Education Status

Currently Pursuing :

Masters for Jamming Brake in Tail Gating Management

hello. i;ve heard of fake engine ice. any idea how we differentiate a fake one?

The supposing fake one I think..its normally lighter in colour than the original. The original has a stronger texture colour of blue on the deeper side with a tint of purplerish colour. The one I got was only $30 (that's why I bought just to try) instead of $30+ and I got this from a very "reputabe" mototiam. Less than f**king three weeks, my reserve tank was dry out! :faint: Looks like it has been further premixed with "tap water" likely. CB!:sian:

The one I had for my friend from Bukit Batok Autobag was ok..very duck purplerish (violet blue). I may be wrong but I doubt so..think of it these days ppl know how to make quick $s!o_O

wahs. basket. i somehow got a feeling that i got conned too. how sia! but no one can confirm mine is fake. siao liao.

suuupppaaaa da fooouuurrrrr! :angel:

weetec 1

Education Status

Currently Pursuing :

Masters for Jamming Brake in Tail Gating Management

The supposing fake one I think..its normally lighter in colour than the original. The original has a stronger texture colour of blue on the deeper side with a tint of purplerish colour. The one I got was only $30 (that's why I bought just to try) instead of $30+ and I got this from a very "reputabe" mototiam. Less than f**king three weeks, my reserve tank was dry out! :faint: Looks like it has been further premixed with "tap water" likely. CB!:sian:

The one I had for my friend from Bukit Batok Autobag was ok..very duck purplerish (violet blue). I may be wrong but I doubt so..think of it these days ppl know how to make quick $s!o_O

i think you're right. i heard from one of the bikeshop that real engine ice color will be abit purplerish. if possible, take picture the color of the real engine ice, so that we know whether the one we using is fake or original. all i know is that i kena conned for fake engine ice before. how i know is because my water pump spoil, send for service. the mech then told me is fake base on the color.

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

Ride safely. Be courteous. =)
wahs. basket. i somehow got a feeling that i got conned too. how sia! but no one can confirm mine is fake. siao liao.

start to monitor your reserve reservoir of coolant.. or to play safe and you have $$ to spare.. flush it out and pour new coolant in lor.. hah..

just a random question

if we can't mix tap water into coolent, then does it means we should add distilled water?

how about those distilled water that sells for $0.50 at NTUC?

just a random question

if we can't mix tap water into coolent, then does it means we should add distilled water?

how about those distilled water that sells for $0.50 at NTUC?

Can. It is still distilled water.

http://i451.photobucket.com/albums/qq235/kepalabutolah/SuzukiGSXR1000Banner.jpg

anyone tried flushing coolant with Blue Coral Fast Flush? the one available in many supermarkets for $4+. need some reviews abt it b4 i diy... but couldnt find any

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg
If it dried up on you...don't ever use the same again. Don't just use distilled water..get those premix ones from kiosk would do..they don't dry out that quicky as what you have already use. You want good coolant, pm me.

ah pek my reserve always got low n alwayts got brown sludge, a;lways clean them up flush the reserve bottle then the sludge comes back.....change new water pump last yr dec, old 1 spoil , flush a few times to get the rusty water out.but still the reserve got sludge, is tis normal, using maxima coolant.can pm me bro??should i change coolant....??i gona flush it soon caue time to change engine oil n stuff also.any tips??

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

ah pek my reserve always got low n alwayts got brown sludge, a;lways clean them up flush the reserve bottle then the sludge comes back.....change new water pump last yr dec, old 1 spoil , flush a few times to get the rusty water out.but still the reserve got sludge, is tis normal, using maxima coolant.can pm me bro??should i change coolant....??i gona flush it soon caue time to change engine oil n stuff also.any tips??

i am not ah pek, but just to add..

you can try pressing all the coolant hose, the 'rust' have could well be accumulated there..

The word "flush" has been very much misused in my context and been quite misleading. When say "flush" coolant system, its meaning that chemical is used to remove contaminant content inside the system. By the term flush here, I think what most ppl does is actually cleanse with tap water or hosing it. Proper flushing requires at least 15 mins of running with the chemical that remove contaminat inside the cooling system.

There is nothing worng with the coolant you used as far as colour changes is concern. What dargforce say is correct probably its not clean enough as existing rust are stuck in your cooling system. These rust comes from water use in your radiator and get stuck and adhere to the sticky hot surface of the inner coolant rubber hoses. These are the stuff that comes loose and form sort lsudge like browny colour 'mud' in your coolant reserve tank.

The word "flush" has been very much misused in my context and been quite misleading. When say "flush" coolant system, its meaning that chemical is used to remove contaminant content inside the system. By the term flush here, I think what most ppl does is actually cleanse with tap water or hosing it. Proper flushing requires at least 15 mins of running with the chemical that remove contaminat inside the cooling system.

There is nothing worng with the coolant you used as far as colour changes is concern. What dargforce say is correct probably its not clean enough as existing rust are stuck in your cooling system. These rust comes from water use in your radiator and get stuck and adhere to the sticky hot surface of the inner coolant rubber hoses. These are the stuff that comes loose and form sort lsudge like browny colour 'mud' in your coolant reserve tank.

ah pek i dunderstand the part on the flushin of the radiator....smehow i duno if its the pipes....cause since i changed the metal n rubber pipes also, all new.n after that every mth i went down flush 4 around 2 times liao.....then sludge back , its there any way to total rid of the sludge or its always there 1??or i flush it again n c how??reali headache

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

ah pek i dunderstand the part on the flushin of the radiator....smehow i duno if its the pipes....cause since i changed the metal n rubber pipes also, all new.n after that every mth i went down flush 4 around 2 times liao.....then sludge back , its there any way to total rid of the sludge or its always there 1??or i flush it again n c how??reali headache

Probably it's from residues of the remains from water jacket..etc. Since you mentioned 2 times..should be quite clean unless chemical is not sued. If this isn't the case, may be your Maxima coolaide has been mixed with tap water..repacked that is..who knows.:sian:

so erm do u tink i should buy the distilled water 4 the bike shop im goin , or wil they use tap water???i reali duno wat kinda water they used when flushing or topping up the new coolnt.should i ask them straihgt if tats distiilled water ur using or just buy myself n pass to them...??

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

i think most of the shops use water straight out of the tap to flush..

hey bros, if anyone of you are looking for switch fan, i have one with me. Sealed orignal OEM for spec II. not sure whether can fit the rest of the versions. Do give me a PM. :)

Just nice... I want... I want... PM u already...

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp350/glennkoh/TDM900/TDM.jpg
so erm do u tink i should buy the distilled water 4 the bike shop im goin , or wil they use tap water???i reali duno wat kinda water they used when flushing or topping up the new coolnt.should i ask them straihgt if tats distiilled water ur using or just buy myself n pass to them...??

I can't answer thatbecause even if it's real distilled water in the transparent jelly can..if it's tap water, I would be able to tell till I taste it...LOL! Anyway, in my area of work for this, I don't do that..you get out right pure distilled water. Its not the cost..its the inconviences that mototiam faces sometime...so just top up with tap water and that's where rust formulates i your radiator.

You can try bringing your own but I'm not sure whatever mototiam you go, how they gonna take it. You got the right to do so but they will still tell you tap water is same_same...LOL!