CBR929 and CBR954 riders

Axxis

• Replies 3.3k

i come in to view the posts mainly, seldom got things to say.

waiting for the police report so that i can change my end can which was damaged by some farker.

so now riding a not so nice 929

NSR 150SP; Super 4 Spec I; CBR 929; GSX 750; R 1150 GS; Piaggio X8

Feels like moving a circle....

Originally posted by CBR_Rider@Dec 17 2005, 12:13 AM

dun be so negative ah keep going track and eventually will fall ........... u are a very negative person. i admit ppl will fall in pg but if u keep to yr limits and not lose yr head in a battle on the track i dun think that u will fall...... thats my opinion lor

I know myself well. I will push and push and eventually fall. It's not about being negative. It's about knowing yourself.

I have some friends who've been going to track for quite a long time and they have never fallen. But then again they aren't exactly quick. My first session out on the 929 and I was going what I consider "slowly" and I was passing a number of these friends. My back tyre was already sliding about in two cf the orners at the end of the session.

To find your limits you have to push past them. It's the same with any sport. If you wanna get good you have to push hard.

ALL of my friends who are quick have gone down atleast once. It's part and parcel of learning. I approach all sports this way.

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

Originally posted by Hikaru@Dec 18 2005, 10:10 PM

try riding a stock 954 then a K5 ....and you will know the diff

In this case it's not just the cc difference.

Try comparing an old 1000cc (pre Y2k) and a K5!

Previous rides:

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Originally posted by Axxis@Dec 19 2005, 11:37 AM

I know myself well. I will push and push and eventually fall. It's not about being negative. It's about knowing yourself.

I have some friends who've been going to track for quite a long time and they have never fallen. But then again they aren't exactly quick. My first session out on the 929 and I was going what I consider "slowly" and I was passing a number of these friends. My back tyre was already sliding about in two cf the orners at the end of the session.

To find your limits you have to push past them. It's the same with any sport. If you wanna get good you have to push hard.

ALL of my friends who are quick have gone down atleast once. It's part and parcel of learning. I approach all sports this way.

i gotta atmit that u might be correct cause i buang once at gudang b4 and after that i went faster and faster dunno y??

Originally posted by Sckona@Dec 18 2005, 11:54 PM

i come in to view the posts mainly, seldom got things to say.

waiting for the police report so that i can change my end can which was damaged by some farker.

so now riding a not so nice 929

wat happen sia??

i'm thinking of buying a slipper clutch from ebay. its new and its from a racing team but i dunno whether i will be able to use it fully or if its worth it for track cause its not really cheap. so any suggestions u guys?

hmmm... very tempting. Means you don't have to worry so much about downshifting. Question is always how much value you get for your money. If you're just playing track casually to improve your riding skills then maybe you won't get maximum value from it. But I think it should make it a little safer.

Previous rides:

Originally posted by Axxis@Dec 20 2005, 08:57 AM

hmmm... very tempting. Means you don't have to worry so much about downshifting. Question is always how much value you get for your money. If you're just playing track casually to improve your riding skills then maybe you won't get maximum value from it. But I think it should make it a little safer.

it cost 350 pounds so i really dunno...... very tempting leh

hmmm.. what's the shipping cost?

My friend just got one for his KTM525 from the US for about $1.5k SGD (shipped to SG).

But in his case he's a Motard racer so it's certainly gonna be worth the $$$

I think for that price it's kinda pointless unless you're a total track junkie or seriously competitive. Better to put the $$$ in your account and wait for your next bike upgrade. The other thing about these purchases is that you won't get the money back when you sell the bike.

Previous rides:

MY DIY oiler!!!!!

oiler bottle at my rear seat

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/561605719/oiler1.jpg

the setup, knob, better version den others, turn in n out to control flow rate of lubrication oil. very nice control as well

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/267072670/oiler2.jpg

view from the back

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1736438039/oiler3.jpg

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/865636268/oiler4.jpg

nipper driper x 2

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/24323152/oiler5.jpg

drilled 2 holes on my front chain guard to hold the 2 dripers onto chain at correct places.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/2054192525/oiler6.jpg

this is how i tried to hide the tube n oiler bottle

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/569049877/oiler7.jpg

total cost:

Knobs x 2 = $2 ($1 each)

Dripers x 2 = $1 ($0.50 each)

tube x 4 metres = $2 ($0.50 each metre, but i used 1 metre only)

oiler bottle x 1 = $0.80

so total amount of money needed is only $4.30 + ur lubrication oil + drill + time

oh ya, b4 doing the oiler, have to clean chain first.

I used 300ml of diesel, clean the dirt let it settle for 5 mins, den clean off for an hour or so..den do oiler.

oiler takes abt 20 mins to complete. however, while tinking n trial n error, i used 40mins. :sweat:

Cool! Fish tank tubes and valves. Neat idea.

Previous rides:

haha... the prize is the free instructions on fitting an oiler to your bike.

Previous rides:

Originally posted by Axxis@Dec 22 2005, 09:01 AM

haha... the prize is the free instructions on fitting an oiler to your bike.

problems are facing. need to have a few more rides b4 i feedback on the oiler :sweat:

ah okie. Keep us updated.

Actually I was wondering if 2 nipples are really necessary.

Previous rides:

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 22 2005, 10:13 AM

Many have been PM-ing me asking if im a female rider. Im quite lazy to reply all. So if i dint reply u, sorry abt tat. Yes, im a female rider

Meaning you like to ride females right?

Previous rides:

Originally posted by Axxis@Dec 23 2005, 10:13 AM

ah okie. Keep us updated.

Actually I was wondering if 2 nipples are really necessary.

2 nipples are essential to lub both sides of the chain. advantages are:

1. oil able to flow n lub the sides of the rear sprocket

2. oil able to flow n lun the centre of the rear sprocket

in fact, actually main purpose of the 2 dripers is to lub the both rings of the chain :cheer: :cheer: i will update the problems tat im facing later this evening. still trying something :sweat:

Originally posted by Axxis@Dec 23 2005, 10:14 AM

Meaning you like to ride females right?

i have edited my signature after seeing this!! haha better not gif ppl the wrong idea!!!!

Originally posted by Axxis@Dec 21 2005, 09:54 AM

hmmm.. what's the shipping cost?

My friend just got one for his KTM525 from the US for about $1.5k SGD (shipped to SG).

But in his case he's a Motard racer so it's certainly gonna be worth the $$$

I think for that price it's kinda pointless unless you're a total track junkie or seriously competitive. Better to put the $$$ in your account and wait for your next bike upgrade. The other thing about these purchases is that you won't get the money back when you sell the bike.

it will be ard 1k to send the thing here.total i mean the slipper clutch and shipping cost. then sporting slipper clutch costs 1.6k...... so i dunno

i think i wun sell this bike in a very long time

Originally posted by CBR_Rider@Dec 25 2005, 01:27 AM

it will be ard 1k to send the thing here.total i mean the slipper clutch and shipping cost. then sporting slipper clutch costs 1.6k...... so i dunno

i think i wun sell this bike in a very long time

it depends u see. if u tink its worth it den go for it!! i support u!! :cheer:

i am also saving up some money b4 doing something to my 954 :sweat:

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 25 2005, 09:10 PM

i am also saving up some money b4 doing something to my 954 :sweat:

Upz! Look fwd to seeing what this is.

Previous rides:

Very tempting...

http://www.spieglerusa.com/cfm/sbk.cfm

http://www.spieglerusa.com/images/SuperbikeKit.jpg

http://www.spieglerusa.com/body_pages/images/LSL_09.jpg

http://www.spieglerusa.com/body_pages/images/LSL_11.jpg

LSL Handlebar Riser Kits

So, you like the look and performance of your sportbike but have grown tired of aching back and arms?

LSL has the answer for you! Utilizing the same craftsmanship and quality materials you have come to expect from a top German manufacturer, LSL has developed handlebar conversion kits for nearly all popular sport bikes. LSL is raising the bar!

Most kits include new top triple clamp or adapter, handlebar, and Spiegler's patented stainless steel braided brake lines.

Kits which require them also contain items like clutch lines or cables, mirror stays and other necessary accessories.

LSL superbike handlebar kits include silver bars, and clear coated brake lines with silver anodized aluminum fittings (when applicable).

The kits can be customized to individual tastes by ordering them with color anodized bars or color coordinated brake lines for a additional charge.

Attention: Current generation sportbikes have very tight clearances in the handlebar pocket of the fairing. Modifications to the windshield and/or fairing may be necessary for proper mounting of these kits. LSL superbike handlebar kits are TÜV approved, and have been demonstrated to mount and work properly in the form that they arrive.

Previous rides:

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/23january02...02cbr954rr.html

2002 Honda CBR954RR: Race Track Press Introduction

We have previously written about the technical changes Honda made to last year's CBR929RR with the introduction of its 954RR this year. We had a chance to ride the new bike at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, and briefly wrote about our experience on January 16, 2002. This is a more thorough discussion of our day at the race track with Honda's new open-class sport bike.

With its larger displacement and higher compression engine, Honda sought to maintain the light, nimble handling of the 929 (and even improve on that handling) while boosting torque and horsepower to compete more directly with Yamaha's R1 and Suzuki's GSX-R1000. Honda deliberately chose not to go all the way to 1000 cc, however, in order to combine what it saw as the best of both worlds, i.e., big horsepower and light weight.

Although you should go back and read our introduction and technical analysis of the 954RR, I will mention the points that stood out in Honda's technical presentation the evening before we rode the bikes.

The 954RR is the direct descendent of engineer Tadao Baba's revolutionary CBR900RR, introduced in 1993. That model combined the weight and size of a 600 with the engine performance of an open-class machine. It was a revolutionary model in the sport bike class. Baba's twin goals of ultra lightweight ("light is right") and all-around ability, never changed. Indeed, the 2002 CBR954RR is the lightest open-class sport bike. It has a dry weight of 370 pounds -- identical to Honda's CBR600F4i model. It also has a slightly less radical seating position this year, with the bars 10 mm closer to the rider (the result of a shorter gas tank) and slightly better wind protection (an optional, taller windshield is available, as well).

Power and torque at the crank are 154 at 11,250 rpm and 77.4 pound feet at 9,500 rpm, respectively. The engine features not only increased displacement, but larger throttle bodies (now 42 mm) and the lightest piston in its class. Cam timing has been changed, and a titanium muffler has been added for lighter weight.

The geometry of the 954RR's chassis is unchanged from last year, but stiffness, both torsionally and laterally, has been adjusted by Honda to improve handling. The steering head casting thickness, for instance, has been increased, and, together with new tapered roller steering-head bearings, the 954RR provides even more precise steering feel (something I agree with after riding the bike).

The new swingarm is an attractive and interesting part of the chassis. The right-side of the swingarm is press formed and is connected to a left-side extrusion. The new swingarm is larger, yet significantly lighter due to reduced wall thickness. From the right side of the bike, the swingarm looks like a work of art.

The revisions to the 929's brakes include the new, steel pistons with Teflon-coated seals, and fluid pressure is increased by 10% (presumably, due to master cylinder changes).

Detail changes to save weight include a lighter shock spring, LED-type tail light (which is extremely bright), and aluminum foot peg brackets (formerly steel). Of course, the body work and head light design are also new.

I rode the new 954RR in four, separate twenty-minute sessions on the same track used by the AMA Superbike series several years ago, combining an extensive infield course with use of the high banking as the main, fast straightaway section. I rode the same track for one twenty-minute session on last year's 929RR, for comparison purposes.

The 954RR has much greater low-end and mid-range power than the 929RR. This power characteristic makes the bike much more flexible -- a choice of two gears while exiting corners is typical. The bike pulls smoothly from as low as 3,000 rpm, and hard from as low as 5,000 rpm. The useful powerband is huge, with peak horsepower arriving above 11,000 rpm. This factor alone will make the 954RR a much more entertaining street bike.

It was difficult to isolate the causes for the new front-end feel given by the 954RR, because the new bike features new tires from Michelin (Pilot Race 2). Part of the enhanced feel has to come from the chassis changes, including the new steering-head bearings and the stiffer, thicker steering-head casting. While the 929RR provided good front-end feedback, the 954RR provides phenomenal feedback from the front tire (noticeably better than the 929RR). As a result, I found myself trail braking into corners (something I am not normally comfortable with) and trusting the front-end to stick. You can even feel track surface changes quite accurately through the bars as you ride the 954RR, and, particularly, while hard on the brakes.

The shorter reach to the bars, and the re-shaped gas tank on the 954RR make the new bike significantly more comfortable to ride than the 929RR. Being closer to the front end (with the shorter gas tank) places more of the rider's weight onto the front contact patch, and must also contribute to the tremendous feedback the rider receives from the front end of the bike. The gas tank shape, including the knee cut-outs, just seem to work better than last year's design, and allow the rider to move more easily from side to side while transitioning through turns.

Ergonomically, the bike is otherwise very much like the 929RR. For a sport bike, it provides a reasonably comfortable mount for street use, while being aggressive enough to feel right on the race track.

No complaints about the clutch or transmission. Like many Honda transmissions, you do feel a "clunk" on most gear changes, but gear changes are positive and low effort, nonetheless. Gear spacing felt about right, but the powerband is so wide it would be hard for Honda to screw this up.

Honda wanted the 954RR to change directions even easier than the 929RR, and feel even more like a 600 in this respect. I don't know that I could tell much of a difference, however, in part, because the 929RR is already the most nimble open-class machine. What I did notice was a more balanced feeling from the 954RR. Somehow, Honda has taken a chassis with virtually identical geometry and made it feel different in this sense. Although both the 929 and the 954 felt neutral on the track, and handled extremely well, the 954 simply has a more cohesive feel to it. It is as if the 954RR tracks slightly better through corners. Unfortunately, although I tried to ride the 929 and the 954 back-to-back in the same session, I was unable to do so. Due to another magazine editor's crash, all of the journalists were kept off the track for an extended period of time immediately after I rode the 929. Suffice it to say, I came away believing the 954 handles significantly better than the already-excellent 929 -- with a more balanced feel, better feedback from both tires, and much improved braking feel (and power).

Despite riding the 954RR on a race track, and not on the street, I nevertheless believe the 954RR will be a much improved street bike. The significant boost in low-end and mid-range power, as well as the more balanced feel and improved ergonomics, should result in a big step forward from the 929RR.

The CBR954RR will be available in dealers in the United States next month at an MSRP of $10,599.

By the way, as a side note, I had an extensive discussion with engineer Tadao Baba at the race track while a different group of journalists was riding. I asked him, specifically, why the 954RR had a "pivotless frame" where the main frame spars extending from the steering head do not join the swingarm pivot. I wanted to know why the 954RR had this feature while Honda's dedicated superbike (the RC51, or the SP-2 in Europe) had a traditional frame that carried the spars all the way to the swingarm pivot. While discussing this subject with me, he created an original drawing that he gave to me -- showing technical differences between various models and design changes that made the pivotless feature appropriate for both the 929RR and the 954RR. I will scan this drawing and create a link here (check back later).

Previous rides: