Purpose of airbox

wah stanboy , you think your original air filter is K&N washable?

better dont try it again.

the effects = choked throttle response

lucki nothin happen ah... :sweat:

went 2 change a new 1 liaoz... :p

wheres my siggy?!?!

• Replies 87

U sure u can wash with WATER?? eeeh, I think yr filter by now should have been torn already! did u oil after u dry?

Just my 5cents thought!

Tony :p :P :p

nope...i nv oil @ all...juz dry as much as i can n put bac... :sweat:

wheres my siggy?!?!

wht happen if u didnt fix a airbox in yr bike?for a 2b bike lah :sweat:

loss of acceleration.

Your best friend in forum :: Search ::

My air box no filter one~ is it because its a 2B bike? Wad if i put a cone filter inside the air box?

Where to find aftermarket filters for airbox?

****ing nobody answer my qns~ :mad:

if i put cone filter, dat means my air box is not there liaoz mah~ then how to direct air to the air filter? making a big tube towards it? :confused: no air box means air filter easily dirty, and can get wet summore~

I newbie in this airbox thing... I heard some people drill holes in their airbox to make it go faster... is this true that drilling holes in the airbox will make the bike go faster?

Oct 2003 - Dec 2005 ----> Y 125 Z

Jan 2006 - Mar 2007 -----> RXZ

Apr 2007 - May 2008 -----> SUPER 4 Version S

June 2008 - Present -----> RXZ

Removing the air filter will put less restriction to the air intake, so more air can flow easily into the engine. However, this means the air/fuel mixture is leaned out too, therefore the increase in performance (if engine was running rich with air filter) or decrease in performance (if engine is running too lean).

Too lean mixture can result in serious engine damage! Becareful...

Wah lau!

it is essential that you run your bike with the airfilter ON! gawd, have you seen what particulate matter from riding can do to the slide (in the carb) and other parts of the engine??? what a crazy nehnek idea is it that no airfilter=better performance! sure you'll get better performance but at what cost? damage to sensitive components that are hard to get at and expensive to fix! its just not worth it!

if there was no need for an airfilter, the manufacturers would not have put in one. The airbox also serves as a component of the combustion cycle's breathing system. Air box shape and interior volume is designed to improve engine breathing by resonating at specific points in the engine's power band.

anyways, if you want better performance, get a bigger bike lah!

air filter care:

paper filters are meant to be replaced. once they reach the service limit, replace them.

foam filters: wash with mild soad (basically squeeze with soap and water), dry completely, and reoil (oil is an essential component of air filter care- helps trap particles). so it is a good idea to get 2 filters. one on the bike, and one spare. so when you need to change/clean your filter just use the clean one and wash the soiled one before your next change is due.

k&N: make sure you get the recharge kit. meaning spray filter cleaner and filter oil. this is a high flow and easy to maintain system.

all this advice is for your daily rides. now if you are racing, its a different matter cos you'll be looking at engine rebuilds on a regular basis. but how many of us can afford that? take care of your bike and she'll take care of you!

can i ask the mech to wash the k&N filter ???

wad purpose does it serves ???

wads is the difference between the k&N and normal airbox in krr ???

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/53/46/7716435/3484044263522l.jpg
Guest BoBOKik
Originally posted by kAtH3rIn3@Apr 29 2004, 06:43 PM

can i ask the mech to wash the k&N filter ???

wad purpose does it serves ???

wads is the difference between the k&N and normal airbox in krr ???

K&N air box??? or are u referin to K&N Air Filter???

the only advantages of K&N air filter is it can be reuseable lor..

KNN is Reusable so that can save $$money$$ when comparing with replacing costly unwashable air filter.

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2004-2004 DUcati Monster 400

2004-2006 Suzuki Gixxer 400

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

2011-current CB400 Vtec 1

• 10 months later...

where to buy KNN cone air filter n how much???

2002-2003 aprillia rs125

2003-2008 Honda SP

2005-2006 Yahama 125z

2006-2006 Yahama R1 2001

2006-2011 Suzuki Gxsr1000 K6

2007-2007 Aprillia RS250

2008-2011 Suzuki Gxsr1000 K8

2011-2013 aprillia RSV4

2011-now ktm 525sm

2013-now husquvana 510 sm

what if i put a small fan blowing towards my air filter, will it work?

this one my scooter

http://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/mahjesty4-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/mahjesty3-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/mahjesty2-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/mahjesty1-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/image251-thumb.jpghttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/image252-thumb.jpg

this one is what I do

http://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/01r1-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/triangle-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/red_honda-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/haya-thumb.JPGhttp://ernie25.blogs.friendster.com/photos/ernie/gsxr-thumb.JPGhttp://weixiang.yenallia.net/images/ernie4.gif

Take a look at my works

Originally posted by zinc1@May 2 2005, 10:50 AM

what if i put a small fan blowing towards my air filter, will it work?

sounds like what people call a "supercharger" i think. except supercharger the fan should be more "hardcore". if really manage to put a lot more air into the carb, then need to re-tune carburetor (increase fuel supply) also lor, or else will have "lean" mixture.

don't really know a lot about these things la.. better someone else answer. =)

edit: eh, fan put in front of air filter ah? i think if put after air filter will be more efficient? if put before.. the increase in "windspeed" from fan might just be a fraction of what you'll get by riding normally, then a bit no point (but i really have no idea how much difference it'll make). i think superchargers' air pumping takes place after filtering.