Originally posted by flykite@Aug 12 2006, 09:27 PM

uh! i also go yishun often! maybe fiz saw my bike? my basket is in the center one... plus 2 x hello kitty sticker at the front! and new racing boy sport rims! haha...

anyway, wave-i is pretty rare i think, i've only seen 4 on the road so far, excluding mine and silversurfer's, which i havent seen. i'm sure a wave-i is worth at least 2k. fyi, i got mine from SBF classified, by exchanging my NSR150SP. i think its a good deal and fair trade, i'd say, at least. (dunno if she's reading this, hello to u if u are :D )

wave-i got powercut, yes, but if u wanna go so fast, then don't get a wave. u'll only spoil it. but u need to get used to the speed, and it takes alot of time and patience.

silversurfer, is your horn and electric starter button yellow in color??

yes its yellow.. lol y do u ask?

is there a different colour?

• Replies 543

Hallo ... brother bear here... or if in malay can call me beruang.

Anyways... i just bought a wave i from bike production. FX 8xxx series.

blue colour

Cost is 2.1k bike price.

A lot of parts very original parts and hardy any mods at all ... not even rims, suspension etc. Really good paintjob i must say, and i cant really see if the bike have been in an accident before.

Mileage 40000++

They gave me a givi e33 second hand and theres a centre basket too.

Anyways.. im really new to the wave i community.

Previous bike was a ST11 .. yeah baby .. i reduce 90% of my bike cc from 1100 to just 125cc.

Pls advise me more on wave i, eg, best engine oil, iridium spark makes a diff ? battery maintenance, chain maintenance, etc.

Anyways.. will wait for any of u to reply first, so i dont seem to talk alone.

Till then ..

gd nite brudders

Originally posted by brother_bear@Aug 18 2006, 09:13 PM

Hallo ... brother bear here... or if in malay can call me beruang.

Anyways... i just bought a wave i from bike production. FX 8xxx series.

blue colour

Cost is 2.1k bike price.

A lot of parts very original parts and hardy any mods at all ... not even rims, suspension etc. Really good paintjob i must say, and i cant really see if the bike have been in an accident before.

Mileage 40000++

They gave me a givi e33 second hand and theres a centre basket too.

Anyways.. im really new to the wave i community.

Previous bike was a ST11 .. yeah baby .. i reduce 90% of my bike cc from 1100 to just 125cc.

Pls advise me more on wave i, eg, best engine oil, iridium spark makes a diff ? battery maintenance, chain maintenance, etc.

Anyways.. will wait for any of u to reply first, so i dont seem to talk alone.

Till then ..

gd nite brudders

halo abang

welcome to ride wave, think u might not be used to the weight and speed if u previously on st11. but still, wave-i is a super good bike in my opinion and u'll soon start to love your ride (provided it doesn't give u problem) and the 60+km per litre it will get you.

to answer some of your questions:

price is good, mileage is fair, 40000 for a 3 year bike, average lah, i already clock 10000 in 3 mths, so, yeah. impt is that your wave has the secure keyhole so that it will not be hack into so easily.

GIVI e33 is just right for the wave, not too big and not too small. but if u are those type like me need to carry around 2 helmet then maybe it will not be able to satisfy u. center basket is very useful can put water or your barang barang and can even squeeze in your open face helmet. i even transported a cat from one place to the other in the basket before.

for battery, try not to put too much high electrical consumption things like neon light etc cos the battery is very important in powering the CDI and the injectors, if u screw up the batt u also can accidentally screw up the engine.

for spark plug, im using NGK ones, shiok. for chain, if u have the chain guard in place, maybe once a month wax it can liao. no need use o-rings or x-rings for chain, just normal but strong chains since this wave's engine brake is quite power.

for engine oil, since its the only coolant and protection the engine has, i'd recommend that u use a fairly good 15/50 one but change it often. ie. maybe dont have to use those super good ones, but instead of 5000km change once maybe 3000km can change liao. my opinion.

gd morning and rgds.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg

hey flykite.. thanks for the reply

So far i filled up my first tank with caltex platinum .. 3.1 litres only.

And i only changed iridium spark plug.. denso .. coz the shop got no ngk.

But anyways... i was riding from balestier to bukit panjang yest .. seems to be very smooth.

And i went market this morning too a lot of things went in the centre basket.

Would need your advise on tyres and good brake pads to use la.

Coz my tyres near worn out ..maybe can last one month max.

Brakes .. sometimes i brake got screech sound..

but dont know what the fault is.

The shoe shows that still got rubber when i peep inside.

Oh ya... mine the blue one.

Will upload some pictures later.

Thnks again.

If u are staying in the east, maybe sometimes we can meet up for kopi.

I staying near siglap.

Got a few places to rileks, drink tea and see bike.

Originally posted by brother_bear@Aug 20 2006, 10:10 AM

But anyways... i was riding from balestier to bukit panjang yest .. seems to be very smooth.

Thnks again.

I staying near siglap.

halo abang, u live very near me, im at marine parade only. can go masayu next time haha :smile:

anyway, the wave tank can take slightly more than a US gallon, about 3.8 litres. u need to slowly slowly shake the bike to release the air bubbles that are trapped inside the fuel tank so that u can pump more. but usually i don't bother with shaking the bike like an idi0t unless im pumping in JB, then that one different story. but still, it is nice to have an additional 30 -40km boost which can be really critical for me sometimes. shell v-power and caltex platinum are the best fuel for the bike, imo. it makes the engine run soooooooo smooth! and can't feel the price difference between $2.03/L and $1.817/L if u're only doing less than 4 litres.

tyres are your best bet against kissing the tarmac, so better to change if they're worn. im using racing boy sport rims and bt39f from the previous owner and im going to change them to bt39ss soon. very grippy! but my advice, as some would not agree with, is that with super good brakes we should do super grippy tyres and some significant weight on the bike, otherwise at high speed they'll just lock and u'll fly. so imo, the stock front brake pads are good enough, albeit insufficient for some wave lacers, but the bike is so light even with pillon! the rear brake screeches alright, it's normal, that's life with drum brakes. if u have good mechanic friends, u can get them to air-spray the rear hub and brake pads to remove the brake dust so the sound will go away for a while before coming back. just enjoy the sound if u can... :lol: at least everyone around you knows that you are braking... haha

better to ride defensively and keep a safe distance from the retard in front, so that i'll never have to put all my faith and life on the brakes and tyres which can sometimes fail u disappointingly. my 2c!

Yo flykite...

nice to know that u are a fellow eastern biker.

Sure.. can meet as masayu..or even the makan makan corner opposite siglap centre.

or if u wanna pump caltex platinum at frankel or even east coast road, call me..

if i free, maybe can meet up for awhile.

Anyways.. if u free, do sms me or call me.

HP 96666234.

Hey this mesg not only for flykite lah..all the other wave i personnel.

Lets share HP and keep in touch ok.

Sha

aka. brother_bear.

Originally posted by brother_bear@Aug 20 2006, 10:10 AM

Thnks again.

I staying near siglap.

how much u bought ur iridium spark plug?

yes, centre basket is useful, i onced removed mine cos i thought its bulky but still put it back cos i felt something is missing. but u must b becareful not to accicentally kick the basket hard or else fairing(near the center mounting screw) will crack.

yah...Siglap is a nice and relax place, i myself stay in east(tampines)

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

upz bros, i seldom pump in singapore, always go JB, though it's a bit far, nonetheless, any outings or suppers can sms me ????????, i'll try to be present if possible!

hello flykite, silversurf, allen key and all other wave i riders that i have not mentioned but u know who u are...

greetings again, sorry have not kept in touch.

Actually, i rarely go jb to top up petrol with my wave, coz every time i pump in spore only.

By the way my wave mileage so far the best i got is between 44 - 48 per litre.

I think a lot have to do with my 80s (kg) frame.

So i fill up in spore only, using caltex platinum.

Almost 4 or 5 days once i pump less than $5. Using hsbc card some more, some times the salesgirl laugh at me.. pump so less use hsbc credit card to get discount.

hehehe... dont care.. can use, i sure use.

Anyways, i was just wandering if u guys can advise me on one problem i have with my ride.

Sometimes, especially when im carrying my wife pillion (ocasinally only .. usually i ride alone) .... when i slow down got this vespa sound coming from my back tyre.. or back brake ... or dunno from where..... ke-thuck-ke-thuck-ke thuck ...

sometimes paisey to the neighbouring bikes... i ride wave, sound like vespa..

However high speed ok ... only when low speed or slowing down.

Some say, stock rims the problem, or maybe its the chain sound..

my chain got no more chain guard... maybe the prev owner broke it.

Beruang.

halo abang, it should sound more like a bicycle brake than a vespa, anyway, if you are cruising at 110km/h then probably your consumption is 40+ km/L only.

Oh ya ...... i usually full throttle.

Until the engine like cry like that... no wonder under 50km per litre.

So u mean, u all travel 80 - 90 kmh only ah ? So Kwai one....

In that case, i will slow down then.

But so far i dont have any complain about anything else and i enjoy the ride.

Sometimes when i bring the bike go market etc, i do feel that its very smooth. My mrs think so too. She say like electric bicycle. I use to take her for 200kmh on st11.

Hahaha

Im using iridium sparks, denso and castrol r4 fully synthetic.

Is true that what the other threads say must change engine oil every 1500km or 6 weeks whichever comes first ??

And its becoz that wave got no engine oil filter.

Pls enlighten me on this brudders.

yo brither bear.. i ride a wave s.. i dun mena to dampen ur spirits but.. somewhere in this wave riders forum.. it states that wave i with plate FY3*** and above are ok but below got problem with the fuel indicator.. so be careful.. contact this member wit d name Razgriz.. he willl tell u more..

Originally posted by flykite@Aug 22 2006, 07:48 PM

upz bros, i seldom pump in singapore, always go JB, though it's a bit far, nonetheless, any outings or suppers can sms me 92392640, i'll try to be present if possible!

u l;ive in the eastern part but u pump in JB.. worth it meh.. wen u reach back.. 1 quarter gone aredy rite... and mr beruang.. u wunldnt be the person whu did mac delivery wit st11 rite???

morning abang, yeah u shd change eo every 3000km or so lah, considering that it is the only coolant and protecting feature that the engine has. imho, there is no need to use super good eo, just ordinary ones will do but change it once every 3000km or once a month or so. usu i try not to full throttle cos i very scared spoil the efi sensors or the piston.

yeah usu i cruise at 80km/h on the meter which is actually more like 70+ km/h actual speed (tested against a civic 1.8) and cruising at that speed give me about 62-65km per litre. if i cruise at 60-70km/h i can actually hit up to 70km/L. total mileage is actually dependent on how much petrol u squeeze into the tank also. u gotta shake the bike like an idiot when u are pumping to actually get that distance.

anyway upz :bounce: pyro13 my wave-i is before FY3++ well its been serving me fine so far. no problem with my digital fuel meter, would u care to explain wat problem is it or ask razgriz to come and discuss about it? actually im interested to find out wat problem too. my last bar consistently gives me average 55km before running dry if i cruise at 80km/h. and of cos i dont go straight from home to JB pump and come home and waste 80km. usu i drop by to JB for a pump after dropping my gal home at woodlands so it's not actually a big detour there and back. otherwise if im near home and need fuel urgently, usu i'll do shell v-power. well, good thing about wave-i is that i get more than 260km per really full tank of petrol. upz :bounce:

hello again....

pyro13 .. no lah .. im not the st guy who delivers fastfood.. there use to be one st rider who i know who does that, and thats simon.

flykite.... 80kmh ? can never imagine going that slow, not at ecp at least, coz will be late for work. Haha ..

Eh fellas, need to consult u all on something,

Remember my vespa/bicycle sound problem, a shop opposite Mazda Motors at Macpherson told me that its the problem as im using spoke rims. If overloaded, there will be this sound.

They introduced me this sports rim with a very big and round brake plate, and say that its a sports rim from thailand that is used for wave. And they added that its better than racing boy. The rim is black in colour, and has many sports legs.

Dunno if u guys have seen it. They offering it at 180sgd

Another thing is that they recommeded that i use this YSS shocks, look like the normal spring type but they invited me to sit on one of the bikes using that, and i felt that its quite durable for my size. They say that its retailing about $55 and its better that the gas ones ( like super 4) as its maintenance free.

Care to share your experience and thoughts ?

Hey ... finally this thread is moving faster.

Keep it up wave i-ers

harlow!!

me not a wave-i rider.. :cheeky:

but i used to have the same problems as brother bear.

i went to 3 diff bike shops and made them check my bike. none of them could find the problem. so the 4th bike shop i went to, i made sure the sound was very loud, they checked my rims and told me where the problem lies.

got my rims changed and thankfully, till now there's no more sound! yipppppppppppppppeeeee~

$180 for a sports rim? so expensive?!!!!!! :faint:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v369/princessafizah/bunny.jpg

ملاي وي٠رايدرس

hey princezzfiz, then i think i should get it changed soon.

Ok..then wait for payday then change rims, and hopefully sound goes away for good.

Thanks for the advise.

Abt the rims, dunt worry, will be getting it in JB instead..just doing my shopping in spore first before buying.

So at least i know how much it is here compared to our neighbour

Originally posted by brother_bear@Sep 21 2006, 12:18 PM

hello again....

pyro13 .. no lah .. im not the st guy who delivers fastfood.. there use to be one st rider who i know who does that, and thats simon.

flykite.... 80kmh ? can never imagine going that slow, not at ecp at least, coz will be late for work. Haha ..

Eh fellas, need to consult u all on something,

Remember my vespa/bicycle sound problem, a shop opposite Mazda Motors at Macpherson told me that its the problem as im using spoke rims. If overloaded, there will be this sound.

They introduced me this sports rim with a very big and round brake plate, and say that its a sports rim from thailand that is used for wave. And they added that its better than racing boy. The rim is black in colour, and has many sports legs.

Dunno if u guys have seen it. They offering it at 180sgd

Another thing is that they recommeded that i use this YSS shocks, look like the normal spring type but they invited me to sit on one of the bikes using that, and i felt that its quite durable for my size. They say that its retailing about $55 and its better that the gas ones ( like super 4) as its maintenance free.

Care to share your experience and thoughts ?

Hey ... finally this thread is moving faster.

Keep it up wave i-ers

actually, morning ecp always jam, so trying to hit 80km/h is not that easy too haha. but it takes some time and discipline to ride slow and subsequently ride safe. think i can understand how u feel, cos last time i was sp rider, always peh pehhh at 120km/h or so. but im glad now that im used to 80km/h on wave, cos i managed to avert several near-accidents which i would have got myself into if i were travelling faster.

anyway, are the sport rims brand call racing boy? if they are, JB got sell, the one with huge brake disc is eight spoke going at RM230. the one without the brake disc is six spoke going at RM170. be careful, don't get carrot. even if u change to the sport rims, the rear drum brake will still produce the sound sometimes, esp after rain. the sound is due to the brake dust, and is a perpetual problem for ALL drum brakes, overloaded or not.

im currently using the six spoke racing boy sport rim, the rear hub is good, but the braking sound comes back after some time, wat i do is i will go back to my friend the mech in JB, buy him coffee, then ask him to spray off the brake dust, which will render my rear brakes sound free for two weeks or so, after that the sound comes back. that's life with drum brakes, no choice unless u modify to brake disc.

for the suspension, i have no idea, cos im using stock ones, which are so damn soft, but well, can use can already, wait for them to spoil then i change to super four suspension haha. anyway, u have my hp number, if at the point u need to ask anything urgently can always drop me a sms i will try to help as far as i can. going JB to change EO soon, and my friend just bought another wave-i! soon we can go masayu talk about bike liao!

Originally posted by brother_bear@Sep 21 2006, 04:37 PM

hey princezzfiz, then i think i should get it changed soon.

Ok..then wait for payday then change rims, and hopefully sound goes away for good.

Thanks for the advise.

Abt the rims, dunt worry, will be getting it in JB instead..just doing my shopping in spore first before buying.

So at least i know how much it is here compared to our neighbour

abang the racing boy sport rim looks like this (that's my wave)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/Photo-0591.jpg

bro bear, i not riding wave-i... me riding wave-s. still saving $$ to buy brand-new wave-i (if can find tat is).

some qns to ask wave-i riders... wave-i got choke like other waves? how do u guys tune idling speed, manually with a screwdriver? and wat abt air/fuel ratio? i dont think there r any adjustment screws on the EFI rite?

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg
Originally posted by allen key@Sep 22 2006, 02:19 AM

bro bear, i not riding wave-i... me riding wave-s. still saving $$ to buy brand-new wave-i (if can find tat is).

some qns to ask wave-i riders... wave-i got choke like other waves? how do u guys tune idling speed, manually with a screwdriver? and wat abt air/fuel ratio? i dont think there r any adjustment screws on the EFI rite?

hi allenkey,

the beauty about wave-i is that there's no choke, there's no screw to adjust idling, there's no need to tune air-fuel ratio cos it's all calculated by the ECU and automatically adjusted to suit each combustion cycle.

still got new wave-i i think, it looks nicer than the 1st batch ones :bounce: hope to see u on EFI soon! :cheer:

here some pics of the new 2nd batch wave-i... i took the pics of the main differences in outlook, the rest of the wave is exactly the same

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/newwavei1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/newwavei2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/newwavei3.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/newwavei4.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/newwavei5.jpg