Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 9 2005, 02:00 AM

So what's the prob with the injector??? How can I tell??? The Wavei I'm getting is a FY double digit.....The owner told me it's the 1st batch. I cannot really try the bike today as it was laid up, and I just go round and round in the carpark. But so far, it's pretty OK, and it seems a tad more power than my buddy's WaveS. Will only try to go 120kph once the bike is rightfully mine. So, can the prob be fixed???

Will try to meetup when I get my Wavei On The Road. Some of you guys met me before at Yishun Dam when I went down for one of the meetup with a Wave Rider.

But only 2 Waveriders talk to me, as I was not riding Wave then...... :cheeky:

In the meantime, I'll register when the Wavei is really mine.

If it is the first batch.. then you must be very careful.. there might be a problem with the fuel injector. Try to ask the owner abt it and if possible, try to get the bike up to 110km/h-120km/h. If the bike got sport rims.. will reach around 110 for a 70kg guy.

Ride wave weight of the rider plays alot lol.

• Replies 543

Originally posted by silversurfer2012@May 10 2005, 07:14 PM

If it is the first batch.. then you must be very careful.. there might be a problem with the fuel injector. Try to ask the owner abt it and if possible, try to get the bike up to 110km/h-120km/h. If the bike got sport rims.. will reach around 110 for a 70kg guy.

Ride wave weight of the rider plays alot lol.

Yup, with sports rims.....and yes, 70kg spells the reading on the weighing scale.

So long as I can get the bike up to 110kph, it's good to go??? Anyways, the previous owner did 120kph on a downslope once only......he takes very good care of the Wave. Fully syn eng oil/2 months and only Shell 98. Pretty bike too!!! Love at 1st sight.......

I'll try tomorrow when I get it. Anyways, I managed 110kph on my fren's Wave S. Full ball on the highway...... :sweat:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Guest ZZR-Pilot

Fuel injected cubkia.. hmm.. so can put PowerCommander or not? Hehe...

FI is a dream to get

the new machine price is to $$$, thats why hard to get

but think of the petrol u will save!

and change your engine oil according to milage best

dun use timeframe

some ppl say change 5k, but for wave, 2-3k should change liao

roughly estimate should be ard 1 month change once.

got power cut meh?

by right can drag 3rd gear to 100km/h one leh (by right, but shouldn't ah)

but mine wave S, so i'm not in the say

wave i riders please comment?

Originally posted by ZoRoM@May 10 2005, 12:30 AM

Hi 3 Digits Bro!

More 3 Digits Rider Join leh! My also leh....

:cheer: :cheer: :thumb: :cheer: :cheer:

yo....me also 3 Digits...No plate..

ahaha...can join the gang of 3 digit....

:sorry: :offtopic:

TOO PHAT

VIVA LA BAM

10 Years AFter, Life IS a BoOZe

Originally posted by ewanktm@May 10 2005, 01:34 PM

hey! bro, how to run at 110 or 120km/h. even want to reach 90km/h only then like got restriction like power cut. engine like slow down. does this apply to all wave-i ?

Just got my 2 digit Wave i 1 hr ago. Yup, same problem......so what I did was to maintain throttle before the part where the engine lost power, and I was able to go 100kph, with a pillon.

I figure if I'm alone, should have no prob getting to 110kph, though it's a bit fustrating. Well, dun think I will gun this bike afterall.

Originally posted by ZZR-Pilot@May 11 2005, 01:56 AM

Fuel injected cubkia.. hmm.. so can put PowerCommander or not? Hehe...

U have 1 to loan??? Try on my Wave i then :lol:

My bike is bought in Aug, my bike used to be able to go up to 125+km/h stock, but since changing to sport rims, adding a rear box and gaining some weight in my waist, my top speed dropped to 110km/h. The main cause of it was the sport rims.

Up till now... there is no problems with my fuel injector, i take care of it by pumping v-power everytime since day 1. Its only abt 30cents more per tank but the benefits are great such as the assurance of a cleaner engine due to the addictives added in. This ensures the injectors are kept clean.

I have a friend riding a wave-i too... its a FX plate and it still can go up to 120km/h with a near stock condition. His routine is to pump a tank of v-power for every 3 tanks of '98.

Another example is another friend that also rides a wave-i. He pumps the cheapest petrol he can find but adds 2 caps of stp fuel injector cleaner every 5 tanks he pumps. So far so good.

My advice would be to pump v-power everytime. Our FI already so save petrol.. what is 30cents more lol.

What im trying to say here is, take care of your injectors, you dont want it to get choked cause when it is choked, the problem of not being able to go over 90km/h will come. Anyway wave go above 100 abit unstable ready. I dont recommend to go full. 80-90 will do for a wave.

Hmm, never think of fuel injector cleaner.......forgot about it already. Was a fav during my 2B days.....

Can pour half a bottle??? Ha ha ha.......

Originally posted by silversurfer2012@May 12 2005, 04:00 PM

If you go up north to Thailand, there is.. but not power commander brand lah.. some other brand.

Ha.....but the tank of Wave already so small.....and the Wave i is 3.8L instead of 4L for the S and R.

Possible the 1st batch has some electronic "limiter" that prevents me from twisting to the stop??? Or the problem is the PGM FI??? I'm still very new to this Wave i thingy.....was thinking if they can solve it on the 2nd batch, is there not a repair kit for the 1st batch???

These are the times I hate parellel imports......no aftersales tech support.

I'll follow the instructions then, the recommended mix ratio. My other bike needs a clean too......

hi nologoicone

how your bike man?

actually how many types of wave are there in the market now??how do differiate them?

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

is it more difficult to service the wave i actually compared with the carbortor one?

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 12 2005, 11:43 PM

I'll follow the instructions then, the recommended mix ratio. My other bike needs a clean too......

Be careful not to keep the mixture in your tank for too long. It may have undesireable effect on your silicone 'O' rings under prolong exposure.

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by Dafanshu@May 13 2005, 12:23 AM

hi nologoicone

how your bike man?

Hoping someday, somehow, someone can solve the problem on the forth gear full bawl on the throttle prob. Maybe it's still new???

Originally posted by red rocket@May 13 2005, 08:55 PM

Be careful not to keep the mixture in your tank for too long. It may have undesireable effect on your silicone 'O' rings under prolong exposure.

Maybe on the Wave first....I'm riding it everyday. The other bike, likely not.

ask for log card to see???????????????

:sweat: :cheeky:

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 12 2005, 07:52 PM

Possible the 1st batch has some electronic "limiter" that prevents me from twisting to the stop??? Or the problem is the PGM FI??? I'm still very new to this Wave i thingy.....was thinking if they can solve it on the 2nd batch, is there not a repair kit for the 1st batch???

These are the times I hate parellel imports......no aftersales tech support.

Hi all Wave i riders, and Wave riders,

Especially the 1st batch owners like me.......

Are you all interested to get the 1st batch problem solved??? Meaning the "powercut" when the throttle is turned to the stop. Intead of me alone asking around for possible solutions, why dun we post what we found out (facts and rumours) and maybe even some thoughts after trying out certain solutions??? Let's try to solve this thingy together, so we can have more fun riding the 1st batch of Wave i.

The first approached I would take, is to invite a fellow 2nd batch Wave i rider to exchange the kupkia with me, so we can feel the difference with/without the problem.

Any takers???