Is PGM4 reali a Problem bike?!?!

1tym

Is PGM4 a Problem bike??!?!  

272 members have voted

1. 1. Is PGM4 a Problem bike??!?!

Hi guys im a Pgm rider n i feel yes for certain parts of this bike is expensive but consider this....the market demand for the parts is low compared to mayb CBR RVF etc.... tat wld firstly explains y the crank is ard 1k, y the CDI is oso 1k etc....but consider this if u hav the cash....buy pgm....Best redo the whole engine seals,clutch system, pistons, cranks etc includes harness..... hey the total costs u ard 3k provided if your cdi is still ok....im sure it will last you ard 1.5 years or 2 w/o major problems......

Personally for RS the weakness is in the parts from italy is not lasting....my frend bought less than 6 mths n had 2 change the GEARBOX.....n it will hurt in long run.....i like RS oso but tat kind of wear n tear is scary... bcos u will not b able to enjoy at all......

Last of all, to anybody who wants to buy a 2 stroke.....Pls do some readups or gain experience from reliable sources cos its not good to jus hear bikeshops....they oni talk wat they know at a limited level......... I believe most shops I encountered dun knw hw to handle 2strokes properly.....Im not going to name any.....

Buy 2stroke oni if u hav the passion for it! Otherwise stick to 4stroke cos its never bout oni glamour... its bout the the love for 2 stroke...... Thks for everybody's time....

RS250 or RS125? only 125 have known to break their balancing gears which is plastic. 250 never heard of. its water pump and 2t pump is plastic but never have any one i know of broke it.

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

• Replies 195

every bike got its problem. it all depends on ur luck when u buy the bike. if the previous owner maintain it well,then u are lucky. if not.. any bike also a problematic bike. lastly when u love ur bike any problem is not a problem to u :)

Mm.... i got one friend bought pgm 3 and install dry clutch...

Any difference between wet and dry...

but PGM3 no proarm =(

(Mar05) Honda SP 150 FR9470B

(Nov05) Kawasaki KRR 150 FU8637D

(Sep06) Suzuki GSX400 FK7652

(Nov06) Yamaha Sparks135 FBB511H

(Mar07) Honda RVF400 FN4991T

(07-10) Yamaha YZF R6 FBA7370G

(08-09) Suzuki DRZ 400 FBC4821G

most of the 250s racing 2 strokes are problematic bikes....unless you buy first hand and you really take care of it....rs250 72horpower more than 400cc but overtime no power already cause its wear and tear faster....pgm4 still loses to rs250 interms of power and handling....but looks....very beautiful....you cant first hand rs250 now...so dont waste money buying used 250s into thinking they can take on 400ccs sportsbike.....even after overhauling the engine...it wont be the same like new....unless send to specialist agent aprillia at italy.....spore mechanic do overhaul cannot pakai one....no power one.....ive been riding 250s last time before changing to 4 strokes bike...cost i like motogp 250s bike..cant get 500cc in spore so buy 250s...ride RGV250pepsi,tzr250r for about 2 yrs...give up cost me a lot of money....and still cant beat 400ccs sportbike at top speed.....i have a friend who bought rs250 bike 2nd hand and he really regret for not listening to my advice....he said 400cc are very common..rs250 very elegant,fierce looking,higer torque....looks like racer...till we try at 2nd link....my cbr400rrr leave him to smell my smoke......hahahhaha and at pasir gudang 400cc bikes still leading all the way infront of him..even 400cc scrambler is faster than his bike on straight.....like i said...250s day are over......

About this statement, I think if the mechanic is not good then the 400 can beat 250 in track.. but if the 250 are in healthy condition then the 400 need to do a lot of mods to beat the 250 standard machine..

Its all from my experience bro..:angel:

IF YOU CANT BEAT THEM

ARRANGE TO HAVE THEM BEATEN

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/4295/syafiquecopyru2.jpg

About this statement, I think if the mechanic is not good then the 400 can beat 250 in track.. but if the 250 are in healthy condition then the 400 need to do a lot of mods to beat the 250 standard machine..

Its all from my experience bro..:angel:

well..most 250s are discountinue in production.....or no longer sold in spore....only used ones left....still trying to repair the 250s engine???unless first hand bike 250....its very powerful....but in pasir gudang track ...5 laps....i usually see 400ccs bike dominate in 125- 400cc race....even the 400cc scramblers are good.....250s..very upset...lack of power...no endurance...like i said...it wont be as good as new....spore bikeshop doing the 250 bikes are not really good....even after overhauling its parts,you wont get the same power like the new 250s....many riders dont like 250 not only because of maintenance and problematic engine.....most of them know,that 400cc bikes are more powerful if they spend money to modified rather than 250.....dont believe me?go down to pasir gudang this track day,and you can definitely see someone riding rs250...see whether what isaid is true..its not that the rider no good or what...but can see the bike not as powerful as 400cc bike

even if we cant find first hand cbr or rvf...most of the 2nd hand 400cc bike are usually durable and good condition engine compare to 250cc 2stroke...cornering of course 250cc because lighter weight..for flipping in taking corners...but most tracks with long stretch corners,high speed cornering....nowadays bigger bikes but lighter weight are as good as 250cc...if you are talking about playing corners at marina south,kent ridge etc..of course 250cc is the king...but at pasir gudang or sepang.....i dont think so....r6 cbr600 etc...are as light as 400cc and powerful in torque and horsepower....manuevering for cornering wont be a problem to even up with 2 strokes bikes...like i said before..250cc 2 strokes days are over now.....i use to ride 250 in 90s.....even in kallang drag race...250cc bikes lose to 400 cbr...long time ago when 250cc bikes are very popular

Bro

It still stems down to human handling machine.......Y don u check out sme race groups currently having track sessions.....last time pple don mod heavily by spending couple of grands....nwadays, its becoming the trend.....but neverthless....400s cum in better on distance, whereas 250s stands in twisty corners... and last but not least, power is nothing without control!!

"Ride at best when my spirit is free"

"what doesnt die off gets better"

"Passions are energy"

of cos 4strokes ENGINE are reliable and durable compared to 2strokes cos both are different machine, but 2stroke feel n 4stroke is diff, one got a RAW feel another got a GENTLEMAN feel.. anyway.. which 250 u ride in e 90s??? did u spend alot $ n time on it to keep tip top condition??

actually diff people diff feeling, some ppl u let them ride e.g Bike'A' on track can get best timing, but when ride another Bike'B' bike maybe timing drop.. so just enjoy our rides!

Past Ride: FV5283E(KRR150) FL1135D(GSXR400RP) FQ1692K(CBR400RR) FQ2815S(NSR250RSP) FY7366X(Y125Z) FS366Z(YZF-R6S) FX8000A(Y125Z) FQ6261M(NSR250RSP) FBD1686U(GSX-R 1000 K8) FX8000A(SYM NEW FIGHTER 150) FBL2085E(YZF-R1 RN22)

Present Ride:

Live To Ride :popcorn:

i ride RGV250 Pepsi kevin schwant design..cant remember the spelling...follow by TZR250(2 exhaust at the side below..not not at the seat model)...change the pipe internal,jetting,tzr valve system modified to open up the valve faster at the valve cable there....RGV250 when i buy was already done by the previous owner...i have own two TZR250 same model.i bought another one after i scrap it...i was really into 2 stroke last time during MIck doohan. 500cc 2 stroke....always thinking 250s can beat 400cc anytime and can tailgate 750cc bikes.......and always thinking that can beat 4 strokes at corners.....well at pasir gudang...the track lanes are wider,longer distance cornering....and 4 strokes can compete with 2 strokes anytime....and more stable at high speed cornering cause of the weight...if you think 250s are not problematic in terms of maintenance..engine,piston,gearbox...etc...then go ahead and own one...last time i also dont really listen to old timer riders about the 250s....watch andy lau movie some more makes me think that 250 s strokes are very power cause their horsepower are higher than 400cc sportsbike in calculation....but i forgot about the engine capacity difference...i overhaul my tzr250 for 2 times...2nd time after overhaul the power was not as good as first time i bought the bike...i scrap it soon after and buy another tzr250...my rgv250 was indeed powerful in pick up and top 220km/hr even after few yrs..cause i bought it 2nd hand also....after sometime..power loss and must over haul engine and change clutch plate etc....too expensive so i sold it for only $800 to shop(no value)at loss...aprillia is using RGV250 engine for their RS250 at that time...you can try owning any 250s bike if you want and try it for your self....buy it,modified it with all the money you have....and see how long can the power last...and overtime can think back if its worth your money on 2 stroke 250cc or better of buying 400cc bike....is not about 2T,petrol compsumtion only because i dont mind spending money on that(cause i like racing)...there are other problems with 250cc bikes which you can experience it yourself...maybe if you are lucky then your 250cc can last as good as at least 2 yrs without major problem before getting class 2 bikes....but be mindful when the time you wanna sell your bike.....some shop wont even buy your bike.....or buy it at super low price....I bought rgv250 for about $4000+....tzr 250 for only...$2000+....you seldom see 250cc 2 stroke on the road or shop cause no value,problem bike,expensive price(some more expensive like 400cc bike),expensive spare parts,must order(they dont keep parts)especially RS250 and PGM250.....dont believe me its ok...ask experience biker...you ask shop owner of course they will say 250cc bikes are good,win a lot of race,vcan beat 400cc bikes pick up,can tail 900cc bike etc..all those nonsense crap.....

No comments... u face more experience.. so not much to add on.. just have to trial n error... :)

Past Ride: FV5283E(KRR150) FL1135D(GSXR400RP) FQ1692K(CBR400RR) FQ2815S(NSR250RSP) FY7366X(Y125Z) FS366Z(YZF-R6S) FX8000A(Y125Z) FQ6261M(NSR250RSP) FBD1686U(GSX-R 1000 K8) FX8000A(SYM NEW FIGHTER 150) FBL2085E(YZF-R1 RN22)

Present Ride:

im not trying to boast about my experience,everyone have different experience in riding certain kind of bikes....i used to be 250 siao.....until i gave up cause a lots money spend,times etc....ive regretted buying 250cc bike....everyone have diff opinion...maybe some experinece riders here can share your views after riding 250cc bike last time....those riding during early 90s?can share some views...if you ppl still think that 2 stroke 250s are reliable,then just buy it.....and try test it with any 400cc sportsbike....maybe that 250cc is still powerful than 400cc bikes now....

from my previous post i did mention 4strokes are more reliable n durable.. some points i will agree with u about 2strokes.. we cant do anything about it..

and 2strokes requires more frequent services den 4strokes.. wash carb, decarbonize, etc..

Present Ride:

Guys from what i read, it's quite plausible that an NSr250 can indeed keep up with a 600cc 4 stroke bike.. Been reading loads about it over in Perth. Details? I can't recall its bee awhile back. Oh yea, I might be a proud owner of a 1988 NSR250 soon.... key word is Might.. After reading up on some of the stuff posted here, looks like I would have to set aside 2-3k for doing up a bike. Any one has a clue as to how much a top end rebuild would cost in Singapore for a NSR250/pgm as you guys call it.

(P.S: It costs 3k over here)

u staying in spore or ur in perth now? top overhual roughly about 2k in spore ??

Present Ride:

i ride RGV250 Pepsi kevin schwant design..cant remember the spelling...follow by TZR250(2 exhaust at the side below..not not at the seat model)...change the pipe internal,jetting,tzr valve system modified to open up the valve faster at the valve cable there....RGV250 when i buy was already done by the previous owner...i have own two TZR250 same model.i bought another one after i scrap it...i was really into 2 stroke last time during MIck doohan. 500cc 2 stroke....always thinking 250s can beat 400cc anytime and can tailgate 750cc bikes.......and always thinking that can beat 4 strokes at corners.....well at pasir gudang...the track lanes are wider,longer distance cornering....and 4 strokes can compete with 2 strokes anytime....and more stable at high speed cornering cause of the weight...if you think 250s are not problematic in terms of maintenance..engine,piston,gearbox...etc...then go ahead and own one...last time i also dont really listen to old timer riders about the 250s....watch andy lau movie some more makes me think that 250 s strokes are very power cause their horsepower are higher than 400cc sportsbike in calculation....but i forgot about the engine capacity difference...i overhaul my tzr250 for 2 times...2nd time after overhaul the power was not as good as first time i bought the bike...i scrap it soon after and buy another tzr250...my rgv250 was indeed powerful in pick up and top 220km/hr even after few yrs..cause i bought it 2nd hand also....after sometime..power loss and must over haul engine and change clutch plate etc....too expensive so i sold it for only $800 to shop(no value)at loss...aprillia is using RGV250 engine for their RS250 at that time...you can try owning any 250s bike if you want and try it for your self....buy it,modified it with all the money you have....and see how long can the power last...and overtime can think back if its worth your money on 2 stroke 250cc or better of buying 400cc bike....is not about 2T,petrol compsumtion only because i dont mind spending money on that(cause i like racing)...there are other problems with 250cc bikes which you can experience it yourself...maybe if you are lucky then your 250cc can last as good as at least 2 yrs without major problem before getting class 2 bikes....but be mindful when the time you wanna sell your bike.....some shop wont even buy your bike.....or buy it at super low price....I bought rgv250 for about $4000+....tzr 250 for only...$2000+....you seldom see 250cc 2 stroke on the road or shop cause no value,problem bike,expensive price(some more expensive like 400cc bike),expensive spare parts,must order(they dont keep parts)especially RS250 and PGM250.....dont believe me its ok...ask experience biker...you ask shop owner of course they will say 250cc bikes are good,win a lot of race,vcan beat 400cc bikes pick up,can tail 900cc bike etc..all those nonsense crap.....

RYAN from CBR400 just change to PGM4 =)

wads up...

Present Ride:

wads up...

faster get ur bike done =)

lol.. matter of time ^^

need savings...

Present Ride:

lol.. matter of time ^^

need savings...

lolx, u so rich all bike full cash buy!!!!

sry hor..i work like dog every weekends to satisfise my needs :)

Present Ride:

steady la ryan ..

i alsO wan wOrk like dOg dOg tO full cash mine ..

think i wOrk giggOlO alsO hard tO full cash lOr ..

got lobang jio me also leh !!!!:cheeky: :cheeky:

PAST !!!:sian: HonDA & YaMaHa

NSR SP(FS736*Y) WAVE R(FZ32**X)

NSR SP(FS31**U) NSR SP(FS31**U)

NSR SP(FS*560Y)PGM IV (FN45**M)

RVF (FQ6***U)

125Z (FW471*U) SPARK135 (FBB8*Z)

UP 2 Date :cheeky:

2005 - **** : YAMAHA X1 (FZ9***K)

2007 - **** : Honda PhantoM (FT89**C)

2007 - **** : YAMAHA R-1 (FBA2*7G)