Do have the mech to check through the major wiring harnessess. I had engine performance problems for a few months back and finally had it pin point to a lousy alternator to rectifier wire connection. My spark plugs did not have enough current to spark brightly under sudden snap throttle input, and engine sputter as a result. Apparently the battery alone is not enough.

And check that there's no exposed bare wires. I had my license light wire exposed when I took over and it touched the frame one fine night and shorted my sub circuit, killing all lights except the headlight. Had to brake early and gently and lane change really slowly withought signal lights...

Old bikes like mine have been throught more than 7 owners and some might have brought them to sloppy mechanics who join wires by simply twisting them together - a big no no for high current wires. After having them cut, soldered and crimped, my bike now runs like a champ. And achieve 27 km/l while at it =p

Oh and do remember to change the oil filter together with every EO change. Passing new EO through dirty oil filter = dirty EO quickly. It's recommended by manual as well.

Wow! I will heed ur advice once i'm done with the transfer on fri. Thks :)

Does Steed have an air filter and fuel filter too? What is the recommended tires pressure? Sori for asking coz i reali duno.

• Replies 4.9k

Yup. The air filter is behind the shiny triangular cover on the right side. Fuel filter is below the seat for my bike, Steed VLX. According to the manual, the VSE doesn't have one. Or maybe it's integrated with the fuel auto valve.

Tire pressure 200 kpa front and rear if solo. 200 front 250 rear if pillioning. Do not pump higher just to save petrol. It's dangerous as the contact patch is less.

Live to Ride. Ride to Live

@xavez: Thks for the info.

Any idea where i can get a stock or replica replacement for the left console(where the signal buttons, high/low beam and horn is at) and right console(where the on/off toggle and starter button is at).

So sorry coz i duno wat these 2 parts are called so i juz name them as "console".

call Boon Siew or FJT and see if they have any new parts

if second hand need to look at scrap yard

or look out for people going to scrap the same bike

buy the whole bike over to standby for spare parts

pls let us know how much u got it

i may also change mine if cheap

i riding a shadow

hi steed riders!

hi xavez! hehehehe

Go ebay get the console :p

Dun say me no share share okay. hehe

Xaves, my headlight on gsxr got problem leh then i just went to twist it.

What do you mean crimping. Where did you do the soldering? I have the equiptments and skills but no working space.

Damn.. i miss my baby steed400 sososo muchie

Gone are the days when you can blast your pipes and not worry about the TPs

Edited by Hydher

hi steed riders!

hi xavez! hehehehe

What do you mean crimping. Where did you do the soldering? I have the equiptments and skills but no working space.

thks for the advice! But i will be getting originals from chong aik coz inspection centres r getting reali strict on aftermarket parts. Costly price - right side $100, left side $110 but at least peace of mind.

Btw, i love the small bag u had behind ur sissy bar. Its so practical n suitable! Where can i find it locally? Mine is the original back rest.

Thks again!

Waste money only. they wont pick on such things. but your choice.

Scrap yard sure can find.

First motor sure have.

You can get it from ah boy then diy how you like to close it. Best is velcro.. I think it was about $10.

thks for the advice! But i will be getting originals from chong aik coz inspection centres r getting reali strict on aftermarket parts. Costly price - right side $100, left side $110 but at least peace of mind.

Btw, i love the small bag u had behind ur sissy bar. Its so practical n suitable! Where can i find it locally? Mine is the original back rest.

Thks again!

where is ur mechanic to fix the item?

how much is the workmanship

still hesitating whether to change mine too

looks like going to spoil but still can use

hi steed riders!

hi xavez! hehehehe

What kind of problem? After a while the headlight will get dimmer cuz the twist connection will "grow" some white stuff that become electrical insulator. Best to crimp it with connectors or a crimp joint. No space take out the fairing and headlight assembly lor haha

I went to Rosli and he cut off the old crimps that I did myself, stripped new wire ends, solder it to keep it from fraying, then crimp on the round type connectors. He said the flat types that I used is not good for main circuit.

Anyone have low sissy bar and wanna trade with the high ones seen in Hydher's video? In case anyone hasn't figured it out yet his ex-Steed is now with me lol. Inclusive of the Cobra pipes too, which I intend to sell off soon after I get around to cleaning it and polishing it...

where is ur mechanic to fix the item?

how much is the workmanship

still hesitating whether to change mine too

looks like going to spoil but still can use

I haven buy yet coz my bike stil at workshop since last fri. I figured its best to let my mech gif it a gd checkup b4 i offically start riding it.

Anyway, i plan to ride to chong aik next week once i get my bike. Better to let the staff take a look at the model b4 i buy the parts. U can call me @90991225 if u wan to go tgt.

Waste money only. they wont pick on such things. but your choice.

Scrap yard sure can find.

First motor sure have.

You can get it from ah boy then diy how you like to close it. Best is velcro.. I think it was about $10.

Hydher, am looking for some parts for my steed too. Can you share any scrap yard address that you know?

Soon i will throw ton of pieces of my Springer Steed , as we just keep the frame , forks engine , radiator and tank, all be available mid january when the bike will be fully finished , i will keep you update here

That's before .... wait to see After

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=254945&d=1345600787

Soon i will throw ton of pieces of my Springer Steed , as we just keep the frame , forks engine , radiator and tank, all be available mid january when the bike will be fully finished , i will keep you update here

Can the handle bar right and left electric control panel compatible for Honda shadow?

If can let me know how much u selling?

Dang, why does your springer not have a back rest? lol

Hi Bros, anyone changed your steed tyres recently? Any idea on how much for a front & back tubeless ones?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/242059-Single-Tyre-Replacement-Bridgestone-Dunlop-Metzeler-Michelin-Pirelli-Shinko-etc?p=5509167#post5509167 for a list of prices.

Our tire sizes are 100/90-19 front, 170/80-15 rear. And our bikes use tube tires. It's okay to put on tubless tire brands but must leave the tube inside. Not all tubeless brands will be compatible, so best is ask the mech

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/MCN/Products/productsresults/Tyres/2010/October/oct2710-tubes-with-tubeless-tyres/

I have no idea whether our rims are MT type. Time for some research

Dang, why does your springer not have a back rest? lol
because the previous and first owner dun like it la :D

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=254945&d=1345600787

Hydher, am looking for some parts for my steed too. Can you share any scrap yard address that you know?

Ah Ang or kok ang

Located at 76 sungei kadut street 1

9625 six five four nine.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/242059-Single-Tyre-Replacement-Bridgestone-Dunlop-Metzeler-Michelin-Pirelli-Shinko-etc?p=5509167#post5509167 for a list of prices.

Our tire sizes are 100/90-19 front, 170/80-15 rear. And our bikes use tube tires. It's okay to put on tubless tire brands but must leave the tube inside. Not all tubeless brands will be compatible, so best is ask the mech

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/MCN/Products/productsresults/Tyres/2010/October/oct2710-tubes-with-tubeless-tyres/

I have no idea whether our rims are MT type. Time for some research

Thanks bro,

I am sure mine is a tubeless one as the rims are sports rims, the previous owner had mod it .

Thanks bro,

I am sure mine is a tubeless one as the rims are sports rims, the previous owner had mod it .

not so true , only the alloy rim is tubeless, the spoke and iron one is not so tube less , for sure you can use it but your tire will leak air ... , the previous owner of my VLS have exerience it and have to change is rear rim for the alloy one for avoid this trouble ...

that's only my 2 cents from a guy run bike for more than 20 years and with a car mech diploma :-)

not so true , only the alloy rim is tubeless, the spoke and iron one is not so tube less , for sure you can use it but your tire will leak air ... , the previous owner of my VLS have exerience it and have to change is rear rim for the alloy one for avoid this trouble ...

that's only my 2 cents from a guy run bike for more than 20 years and with a car mech diploma :-)

Oh... forgive me... I didn't know the term for my rim so I said sports rim where actually it is an alloy rim. My mech quoted me $ 300 as those were tubeless ones and they usually costs more.

no problem Bro , i just try to make it clear as many people will read later this thread and think they can use tubeless in all type of rim, and after complain saying with guide them wrongly :p

So... it's still okay to use tubless tires on spoked rims as long as the tube remains inside right? My front rims are the original spokes and are currently fitted with tubeless tires and it doesn't leak.

Unless one of the previous owners had them converted. I wouldn't be suprised given that the sopkes are chromed :angel: