hi bro , you need some simple knowledge for respray if you want a clean job, respray is not that much complicated but have so basic point you must respect , like sanding spray slowly and not only in one time , otherwise you will get a really bad result , if you need help feel free to ask me.

That's before .... wait to see After

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=254945&d=1345600787

• Replies 4.9k

Clean the surface

And spray

So simple?

What u mean by sanding spray?

Spray very little like sand wait for it dry and spray little again?

It will try if so simple

Any good brand of spray can to buy?

Hydher, the mod kit I was refering to is this:

http://www.cruisercustomizing.com/turn-signal-conversion-kit/part/EC-01315

It will fit the stock signal housing. No modification to the housing. Just stick the LED board to the lens and then route wires and tap into the stock wire harness.

are the stop lights bright enough?

Of course I trust my skills. I ride alone cos I don't trust the competency of the driver next to me.

hey guys, thinking of getting a steed, read thru the last 20 pages or so. seems like quite many guys got problem with their steed when they took over..

i know steed is a pretty old bike, what are the things i should i look out for when looking at the bike? thanks!

hey guys, thinking of getting a steed, read thru the last 20 pages or so. seems like quite many guys got problem with their steed when they took over..

i know steed is a pretty old bike, what are the things i should i look out for when looking at the bike? thanks!

Its an old bike so sure to have certain wear and tear. Best is to get some seasoned steed owner on this forum to accompany you for the viewing.

I got mine last month. You know what i did before i view? I browse thru all the steeds ever advertised on Sgbikemart and Singaporebikes. I managed to trace my 3rd hand bike(i'm the 4th owner) back to the last 2 transactions. Reading what was posted on them gave me a rough idea of the bike's history. Of course, the viewing itself matters the most.

Be sure to research more on steed and come back to this thread for advices. There are plenty of good people like Hydher and Xavez to ask if you need help.

The first (and maybe stupid) question will be for what purpose you buy a Steed aka: for daily use or leisure

Steed is a old machine with advantage and disadvantage like not so easy to find spare part some time can be a little capricious and need to be repair by people have experience in the old machines actually only few mech are qualified for be the doctor of your future baby.

This machine is really a charming old lady, but for daily use if you have no experience in old bike i will not recommend you this bike.

if you find the baby you are looking for, talking with the owner and look carefully will tell you a lot, example: if the owner is young and have this bike for a really short time that he have a problem with the bike so what is the problem ? i don't think someone will buy a bike and sell it 3 month after right ?? so find the reason and not the one seller will tell you aka: i change my mind i prefer to buy a Super 4 if you have no clue in mech , conclude the deal front of a mech and ask is comment can be consider a good option i have check many bike and i can tell you many time have small surprise behind when i was looking to buy my steed i have see many and some of them have small trouble hide (or not disclose)

1: years ago have an accident and the frame be weird

2: spil oil and need to be overhauled

3: one have cooling problem (maybe the pump)

i can find all of this because in my previous life i be a mech, but for a common mortal is not so possible to see it.

Hope that help and maybe see you in the future ridding your bike.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=254945&d=1345600787

Clean the surface

And spray

So simple?

What u mean by sanding spray?

Spray very little like sand wait for it dry and spray little again?

It will try if so simple

Any good brand of spray can to buy?

you have to cautiously clean with clean water and soap and depend on where is with (acetone after) the part where you want to spray, and use light wet sand paper slightly in and around the part where you want to spray.

If you never spray the best is to try one or two time to paint a white board or large brown carton, never try to cover all in one time a car or a bike is paint in two or 3 times (sometime more) let the first spray become dry and restart with a second layer.

find a place where have no dust aka minus two level in your car park dust is the enemy of the painter.

Lesson one finished :-) :cheeky:

thanks for the reply! yeah I was looking for a daily ride. initially thought steed have a pretty bullet proof engine. didnt know it's so problematic. guess it's an old bike after all. no expexperience in cruisers but would love to try riding one someday!

Steed is not so much problematic, but it's old bike so better to be aware time to time you can have some minor problem, bullet proof is more based on how you maintain your bike, in the past i have a old Norton(1970) and i never nay trouble but i frequently change the spark and the oil + i add a gas filter as such old carb are really sensible in 5 years daily ridding this bike i never have any trouble , but this baby is less complicated than the modern one less electronics less wire and strong engine so for sure you can call it bullet proof but if i don't change the oil and don't add gas filter be sure the bike will let me down time to time ...

All properly constructed bike have the potential to last at least 20 years. I can safely say that all bike can be bulletproof. Why are some more problematic? That depends on how diligent or heck care the previous owners were.

Example 1

Owner A, treats his bike(regardless of her age) like girlfriend. Always service her on time. Buy her expensive eo, expensive lubricants, bra for her top and good shoes(tires). Will rush her to Dr Mech if she's coughing a little, feeling weak or dripping juices. Makes it a point to caress her everywhere, exploring all her crucial parts, checking for physical injuries while taking their weekly bath together. Basically, he makes sure she's well taken care of inside and outside. His motto, "She must be happy first, then i will be happy."

Example 2

Owner B, treats his bike like an old wife. Last time he service her? Not sure. He can afford but just don't want to spend much money on her. Eo cheap cheap ok liao. Lubricate her? No need. Bra? No need to wear better. Shoes spoilt? Wait til inspection then buy. Everyday whack her mechanically. Rarely(never) bath her. Fever, cough, diarrhea? Just let her be lah. Will only send her to A&E if she got stage 4 cancer. He motto, "Siao! Spend so much for what? Just use her like a prostitute lah. Want to die then faster sell lor."

Edited by Veil

Cruiser meetup this Friday (1 Feb 2012) in the East. 7pm.

for more info, can contact either Hydher, Cruiserian or myself (92479696)

Of course I trust my skills. I ride alone cos I don't trust the competency of the driver next to me.

Cruiser meetup this Friday (1 Feb 2012) in the East. 7pm.

for more info, can contact either Hydher, Cruiserian or myself (92479696)

Duno if i can join u guys... My bike is at First Motor since 18th Jan. Fully stripped coz undergoing massive re-chrome and respray(including frame).

Will definitely meet up if i can collect it b4 this fri.

Bros, Any one out here has an extra pair of risers that you would want to sell or lend(if possible :angel:)? I am looking for a 4 inch one as a replacement for my current one which I plan to rechrome. Thanks.

Duno if i can join u guys... My bike is at First Motor since 18th Jan. Fully stripped coz undergoing massive re-chrome and respray(including frame).

Will definitely meet up if i can collect it b4 this fri.

ya can just contact my HP should you be able to make it

lol its 2013 not 2012 la.

anyway anyone got install or buy bike camera? recently too many accidents around. so scarly. i wan to play safe and protect myself. any good camera to intro?

http://www.imcdb.org/i141120.jpg

He was once a good cop. now he is Renegade!

ya can just contact my HP should you be able to make it

Sigh... Can't make it liao. Went to FM just now to check out the progress. Frame not yet spray and those parts sent for re-chrome only about 70% complete. Next week then can collect my bike.

are the stop lights bright enough?

yup. Comparable to the main ones.

Sorry guys I'm battling a severe neck/shoulder pain since tues so can't meet up. Don't know if it's got to do with adding brake pedal covers, thus changing the height (Didn't find time to adjust it).

Hopefully it's just sleep injury

Live to Ride. Ride to Live

Oh btw I ride my Steed to work everyday and I live in Hougang work in Boon Lay. 60km a day. Occasionally tiny problems like a leaky front brake reservoir pop up but no big problems. Honda engineering is soild.

Nowadays I'm lane splitting and following kup kias in jams :smile:

Live to Ride. Ride to Live