Erp is unlikely to decrease traffic, not when the vehicle population keeps rising in such a small country like ours. more and more people are able to own vehicles nowadays thus adding to the vehicle population. congestion is inevitable at peak hours.

that's why i love the motorbike. we can squeeze in and out of congestion much faster than our four-wheeled brethren.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

• Replies 63

Expressways should be like Germany's Autobahn where RECOMMENDED speed is 130km/hr.

THERE IS NO MAX SPEED LIMIT, except near junctions or where there is construction going on.

It's practically asking you to go faster and not hold up traffic.

Danger areas have a LED display to warn motorist to slow down as road can be slippery around the bend when wet.

Generally, I find the driving attitude of malaysian drivers are better than locals especially the bus and lorriy driver. When I am driving in malaysia on a 2 way traffic country road, when i wanted to over take them, There are few occasions I see them keeping their vehicle to the extreme left and signal you to overtake them, and when the opposite direction vehicle is approaching near, they driver of the vehicle which I want to over take will also slow down for me.

On the NS highway, they are more "automatic" to give way to fast moving vehicles coming from the rear even when the vehicle behind them dun highbeam them. Where by in sg, how many times have I encounter cars hogging onto the right lane at 80-90kph despite the left lane is clear, ignoring the cars queueing behind them. totally bo chap.

There are serveral times in NS highway when I see heavy vehicles overtaking another heavy vehicle, when a sg registered car comes from the rear, they will highbeam non stop to ask the vehicle overtaking to move away. so rude.

i think the general sg drivers need to be educated to be more considerate for other road users instead of always relying on govenment to punish them like a small kid.

If our local drivers would have better discipline, i believed our roads will be much smoother. I also find myself more enjoying driving together with a pack of malaysian driver rather than the locals.

is our expressway really an expressway???

haha, no! i doubt so..most prob most times can be called e'way only at night where there's lesser vehicles..other wise, during the usual morning n after office hours jam are crawling at speeds of 50 or lower instead of hitting even the minimum of 80..but i guess its fine..can squeeze, but as safely as possible..as long as it gets me to work n back guess it's fine..

I do not think maximum speed is a real issue. Most of the expressway is 90km/h (aka 110km/h), which I feel is quite reasonable for an everyday commute.

The problem is the bottom end, CTE during rush hour type of thing. Some of it is poor design (CTE entrance from PIE is too close to Braddel Road exit), some is just congestion. Top speeds do not help this. The above autobahn example is the same, did you know that every Summer when the holidays start the autobahn towards Italy will have 150km long jams when everyone heads to the beaches. The jam is longer than Singapore. >.

Singapore is full of irony one. They build super straight and long road like Changi Coast Road, and everyone race there, end up with bumpers and headlights littering the grass patches on the side every few months. So they have to paint super thick speed stripes. On the other hand, supposed expressways are always jammed.

The real difference is simply this. If you get jammed in the expressway, do you still get to your destination faster than if you get jammed in the alternative trunk roads. If it is still faster than trunk roads, then bo pian, it is still expressway.

The only way to really ease the rushhour jam is to stagger office hours. But that is hard to implement. Another way other cities have tried is to allow odd number cars on certain days, and even number cars on certain days. That is a big hassle. A third way is not to allow container trucks to operate during those rush hours. That eats into the profit of a major sector in Singapore.

The plan for the future is quite clear already, they want to build another business district in Jurong East, possibly will build others elsewhere. This is to decentralise the businesses and traffic. Another thing is the removal of carparks from the CBD, the idea is very clear, next time it will be $15 an hour to park in CBD liao, only towkay need apply.

hmm..i think the topic quite broad, in the sense that is our e'way really an e'way can mean, one, speed related..two, destination related..if with relation to speed, well, our expressway can be almost another ordinary road with a little bit higher speed limit..destination wise, our e'ways generally cut shorts the destination frm one place to another when compared to another route w/o e'way frm the same start & end places..

i hope everyone give up car and all ride bike.

supported :dot:

i hope everyone give up car and all ride bike.

if u can convince spoilt singaporeans that riding under the hot sun is better than driving in an air conditioned compartment, than this would happen in the future..

signature.gileraFXR180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.hyusongCometGT125.signature.

signature.gileraDNA180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.gileraRunnerVXR200.

drivers here are generally inconsiderate. they will hog the right lane and not move expecially for bikes as they think they are in the right of law. van and lorry drivers and even trailers here now travel in middle lane, forcing cars to move to the right lane..(just look at aye from jurong port rd onwards). wadever authorities implement and when there is no enforcement, ppl will always flout the rules or make the roads their own, adjusting to their preferred way of driving.

Yamaha 125Z-Oct 2006 to OCT 2010

HONDA CB400 SPEC 1 - OCT 2010..

if u can convince spoilt singaporeans that riding under the hot sun is better than driving in an air conditioned compartment, than this would happen in the future..

I agree. Now, where do we start?....:cheeky:

Erp is unlikely to decrease traffic, not when the vehicle population keeps rising in such a small country like ours. more and more people are able to own vehicles nowadays thus adding to the vehicle population. congestion is inevitable at peak hours.

that's why i love the motorbike. we can squeeze in and out of congestion much faster than our four-wheeled brethren.

ya loh, erp is more of a burden to bikers than rich car users

E(everyday & everywhere) R(rob) P(people)

went to taiwan b4, love:thumb: :thumb: the motorcycle lane

after visiting some countries, i think our expressway can be considered an expressway, albeit poor implementation.

the problem is with the layout. and the buses. public buses should be allowed to travel beyond 70kph. their slow speed is holding up the traffic behind.

and secondly, the layout. i'll state one very good example: has anyone noticed that along CTE, the very main jam is near the intersection with PIE area? problem is, there's only one puny lane to accomodate the drivers transferring from CTE to PIE, causing a bottleneck in the flow. This lead to a jam at the mouth of CTE exit to PIE, causing the traffic behind to slow down all the way to AMK area.

there are ways to solve the traffic jam along expressway. widening the slip road is one of the methods. installing erp gantries is not a method. claiming of erp to regulate traffic flow is just a "disguise by the authority to earn extra pocket money for themselves to pursue their lambo or ferrari dreams" (quoted from my friend).

ToiléTmaster | Seinfeld is still the best show ever!

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff308/super_marvel/ToileTmaster/vlcsnap-13527612.png

well they shd get to the root of the problem by not making it so assessable to own a car right? but tat's cutting into their pockets hmmm so back to sq one....