Any discussion on the lastest 07/08 models are welcomed for all new/old riders.:)

Features -

* State-of-the art race technology

* 180 PS @ 12.500 rpm

* Yamaha Chip Controlled – Throttle & Intake

* 6-pot front callipers with 310mm discs

* Slipper clutch

Engine -

Engine type Liquid cooled, 4-stroke, DOHC, 4-valve, forward inclined, parallel 4-cylinder

Displacement 998 cc

Bore x stroke 77.0 x 53.6 mm

Compression ratio 12.7:1

Maximum power without induction : 132.4 kW (180 PS) @ 12,500 rpm / with induction : 139.0 kW (189 PS) @ 12,500 rpm

Maximum torque without induction : 112.7 Nm (11.5 kg-m) @ 10,000 rpm / with induction : 118.3 Nm (12.1 kg-m) @ 10,000 rpm

Lubrication system Wet sump

Fuel System Fuel injection

Clutch type Wet, multiple-disc coil spring

Ignition system TCI

Starter system Electric

Transmission system Constant mesh, 6-speed

Final transmission Chain

Fuel tank capacity 18 L (3.4 L)

Oil tank capacity 3.83 L

Chassis -

Chassis: Aluminium die-cast Deltabox

Front suspension system Telescopic forks, Ø 43 mm

Front travel 120 mm

Rear suspension system Swingarm

Rear travel 130 mm

Front brake Dual discs, Ø 310 mm

Rear brake Single disc, Ø 220 mm

Front tyre 120/70 ZR17MC (58W)

Rear tyre 190/50 ZR17MC (73W)

Dimensions -

Length 2,060 mm

Width 720 mm

Height 1,110 mm

Seat height 835 mm

Wheel base 1,415 mm

Minimum ground clearance 135 mm

Dry weight 177 kg

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

• Replies 31

irregular idling and knocking noise can be felt, anyone knows what's the cause?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

knocking noise as in when u clutch in at neutral? then i think the cam tension or something like tat is loose...but then its normal.. no need to worry.

as for irregular idling.. wat u mean by tat? care to elaborate more as to when ur idlings are irregular? just start? riding? etc etc?

maybe its just part of the characteristic of the bike?

have you tried asking hong leong? i believe they should the ones most familiar with the 07/08 r1 at this point of time

Dr Shaun

irregular idling and knocking noise can be felt, anyone knows what's the cause?

yup..what you mean by irregular idling..? cause mine will happen only during the initial warm-up period then when engine is at rite temp then the idling no prob le..pls share more..:thumb:

Respect others for you shall receive it

Share your experience for you shall never be the best

Give and Take for that's what's life about

Ride safely for one only has a life each

Maybe juz have to stop being a cheapskate and use 98 and above fuel instead? :)

Sir Tyræl

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/Bike/sig.jpg
knocking noise as in when u clutch in at neutral? then i think the cam tension or something like tat is loose...but then its normal.. no need to worry.

as for irregular idling.. wat u mean by tat? care to elaborate more as to when ur idlings are irregular? just start? riding? etc etc?

Cam tensioner usually sounds like tick tick sound. Like what bsk_R103 puts in, after the bike fully warms up, it's ok but the idling needle at the tachno seems to be jumping . Whenever in low gear, the bike seems to be no power.o_O

not much difference between 95/98.. just follow the machine recommendations of min 95 will do. i tried using 100 Ron mogas b4 and 92 Ron mogas on the track.. not much of a difference in terms of performance.. but generally 92 ron will burn faster compare to 98 (heavier density and boiling pt)

Sir Tyræl

like this also can? i use diesel u know.. mix with v power.. no wonder my bike cant catch up with u all. :(

Cam tensioner usually sounds like tick tick sound. Like what bsk_R103 puts in, after the bike fully warms up, it's ok but the idling needle at the tachno seems to be jumping . Whenever in low gear, the bike seems to be no power.o_O

hmm..the tick tick sound normal la.. no point spending a bomb to rectify the prob unless u gonna open up or gonna open up ur engine?

btw i find that the bike has bad power in low gear.. maybe u wan try opening more throttle? its after all supposed to be whacked. hahahahha

not much difference between 95/98.. just follow the machine recommendations of min 95 will do. i tried using 100 Ron mogas b4 and 92 Ron mogas on the track.. not much of a difference in terms of performance.. but generally 92 ron will burn faster compare to 98 (heavier density and boiling pt)

alamak i use diesel plus vpower mix le.. like tat how??

like this also can? i use diesel u know.. mix with v power.. no wonder my bike cant catch up with u all. :(

hmm..the tick tick sound normal la.. no point spending a bomb to rectify the prob unless u gonna open up or gonna open up ur engine?

btw i find that the bike has bad power in low gear.. maybe u wan try opening more throttle? its after all supposed to be whacked. hahahahha

alamak i use diesel plus vpower mix le.. like tat how??

o rly?

like that i must try also, to use disel and mix with v power.

whats the percentage like? 30% disel and 70% vpower?

can save more money like this :thumb:

especially with the rising cost of oil these days

Dr Shaun

07/08 R1 comes in diesel engine version?

i also wan. :lovestruck:

Sir Tyræl

o rly?

like that i must try also, to use disel and mix with v power.

whats the percentage like? 30% disel and 70% vpower?

can save more money like this :thumb:

especially with the rising cost of oil these days

Dr Shaun

nono..in my case its 70% diesel 30% vpower. save more money.

07/08 R1 comes in diesel engine version?

i also wan. :lovestruck:

Sir Tyræl

i modded my engine.. my only true mod up till to date. hope i can put a side cart for stability..oops we are drifting away from the technical parts. lets stop here.

Sir Tyræl

Like that confirm I'm a cheapskate cos I use 92 when I do top up in Singapore but I digress. :sweat: Now back to the technical aspects... :smile:

Probably my best guess is changing the spark plugs.Any recommendations?

Like that confirm I'm a cheapskate cos I use 92 when I do top up in Singapore but I digress. :sweat: Now back to the technical aspects... :smile:

Minimum recommended is RON95...

Don't ill-treat your R1! :faint:

Sir Tyræl

oooooooops

i modded my engine.. my only true mod up till to date. hope i can put a side cart for stability..oops we are drifting away from the technical parts. lets stop here.

Wont using diesel damage your bike? Can share more of this cost savings scheme with the rest of us? :thumb:

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb122/backmarker_2007/Bike%20Pics/ducati.jpg

oooooooops

it's been raining since noon..how bad can it get..:giddy:

Respect others for you shall receive it

Share your experience for you shall never be the best

Give and Take for that's what's life about

Ride safely for one only has a life each

Guess wat...one of the plugs is fouled. To add on, the OEM ones on my 07 are not indium types.:sian:

most likely engine doesnt even get ignited :giddy: :giddy:

Fouled plugs can lead to any damages?

once in a while a foul plug is ok, should not give the bike any problems

however if a foul plug constantly appears in the same cylinder then there will be some problems liao.. but urs new bike should be ok la.

change le then test again lo.

Thanks,vincent.Tested, so far no ok. But during cold start, still got the idling prb. Perhaps need to synchronize the throttle body.:cry:

Anyone here has got the Engine stalling problem ? It often happens when you are slowing down and coming to a complete stop.... the idleing gets too un-stable and weak..... Its dies... :faint:

Anyway, HL just did some adjustments to my bike recently and I can feel the great difference. It no longer idle like its gasping for air anymore. Hope the problem is fully rectified. Keeping my fingers crossed and monitoring still.

And there the mech said it was due to wrong riding techniques when I first surfaced the problem to them.... Like a year ago ? .....

just for sharing.

Regards... :cool:

Speeding is the No.1 ROAD KILLER...... U may kill the road......

Spark Plug change for YZFs for the DIY enthusiast!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3952871#post3952871

NOTE : Not an R1 but the basics are pretty similar. :cheeky:

Thank You.

AR2 Performance

http://www.raceshield.com/images/raceshieldmotorbikekits.jpg

RACEshield URL - > http://www.raceshield.com

RACEshield FACEbook - > http://www.facebook.com/pages/RACEshield/119281238033

http://www.facebook.com/badge.php?id=119281238033&bid=5427&key=171556654&format=png&z=1394638