• Replies 30

Suzuki's GSR400 has an EFI

Honda's CB400 is still using carb unless u getting the latest revo model.

GSR400 using monoshock system which some says very stable compared to dual shock system (CB400).

CB400's spare parts are easily found coz it's HONDA.

my 0.000002 cents opinion only

So u mean GSR Performance is nt as gd as S4. S4 is easy 2 maintance rite?

What the diff EFI n Normaly carb? I am noob here.. Wanna Buy 2A bike soon Juz wanna noe abit..

gsr tank capacity smaller then super 4. its only 16l plus. cb400 is 18. pick up and distant wise, cb400 wins hands down. gsr only looks nice and big but performance wise, it has to be cb 400

haha...Power ! :thumb:

This explain how EFI works.

And this explains abit of how Carburator works.

EFI or electronic fuel injection is hooked up with the ECU. The ECU is like the brain that is connected to lots of sensors like example,oxygen sensor,throttle position sensor and many other sensors. EFI injects the fuel directly into the combustion chamber for better fuel efficiency.

Carburator,works mechanically,fuel is controlled by jets. Air is drawn from the intake venturi of the carb,jets spray fuel,both is mixed,goes into the intake port of the cylinder head and into the combustion camber.

There is more things to explain but i cut short. When my lecturer explain about how this things work,i almost fall asleep.:cheeky:

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

Fuel injection bikes and cars..don't EVER run out of your reserve tank...fuel pump gonna go bye bye..xpensive stuff.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

come S4 thread n ask S4 n GSR comparison, obvious answer is, S4 better. ride S4, of cos say S4 better. where got say GSR better? moreover, driving centre uses S4 n not GSR. how many actually ride both n give the actual comparison?

ya where got driving centre use gsr?so petrol answer n maintance is there liao

because GSR is too new?

how many of you have actually rode both bikes before? then you can give a fair comment.

i had, and the results was surprising to me.

i always thought super4 was the better bike.

The GSR looks big and abit "clumsy", especially the tank.

after trying the GSR and a Spec3, i have these comments.

1) GSR feels much lighter than CB400.

2) It is simply much more agile than a CB400, you can flip left/right easily. 3) U-Turn is very easy and effortless.

4) Cornering is also very stable, i guess it's due to the monoshock.

5) EFI Engine is very very smooth, you get up to 180km/hr with no fuss and no sweat.

6) Because it's so smooth, sometimes you don't realise you are riding so fast.

7) Fuel consumption is very good, on a KL trip. can get around 24-25km/l leh.

but one thing i don't like about GSR is the very "quiet" exhaust.

sometimes when my friend ride behind or ride up to me, i didn't notice at all.

if i get the bike, 1st thing i change is to a aftermarket exhaust. :)

Ohk now i get it HOPEFULLY..

When said abt RIDING is GSR is better..

But in maintainace is S4..

But exactly both S4 n GSR is equal.. Both is GD bike.. Hermm.. i will still deciding.. But GSR is more into electrical, Once the ECU is "GONE" that it the bike won't works am i rite? I guess the ECU will cost $$$$

all the lastest and new bikes are going the EFI direction.

many superbikes/sportsbikes have been using EFI for the past 5 years or so.

cars have been using EFI for even longer.

the new CB400 is EFI too iirc.

many carb models bikes uses fuel pump too.

I never said carbs bike don't use fuel pump...like I say...go try out and run out of reserve and see what happened. Do you know actually what is goona happened?

if i get the bike, 1st thing i change is to a aftermarket exhaust.

Do you actually own a GSR or not?...and what are you riding now?..an S4?

I never said carbs bite don't use fuel pump...like I say...go try out and run out of reserve and see what happened. Do you know actually what is goona happened?

Do you actually own a GSR or not?...and what are you riding now?..an S4?

so why bring up the point of fuel pump?

i know what will happen.

I drive daily.

used to ride a '05 R6 for weekends, power/torque wasn't enough for me.

now thinking of upgrading to a 1000cc.

do i have to own a GSR to comment?

the important thing is i tried it for quite awhile on a ride to KL.

just sharing my views on the bike.

we wun deny the fact that ECU is ex to replace. but how often will ECU spoil under normal riding conditions? if talking about EFI or ECU, the upcoming revo is EFI n ECU as well. not forgetting its a TOTALLY NEW ENGINE compared to the vtec1, 2, 3, Ver S, Ver R n PB1. its not a tested engine like b4. outlook is more or less the same but engine is different from b4.

the bike's condition is judged by the amount of distance covered n not how old the bike is. we have GSR riders clocking up to 60K km n bike still going strong. its about maintenance. oil change, oil filter, spark plugs, air filter n so on. other wear n tear is replaceable.

n about running out of reserve, its simply never maintain enough petrol for the journey. always have enough petrol for ur journey. there's nothing to prove the the reserve is out.

Both are good bikes.. the GSR is a more "updated" bike with monoshocks, digital meter and efi, but it is also more expensive to keep then a s4. (tyres for example)

So both bikes has it ups and downs. However, I think there's something the GSR cannot compete with the super4.. it's the community. Cannot compete with the fact that mass outing equals hundreds of s4's roaring on the streets and also, most tom, **** and harry shop know how to service s4.

Both are good bikes.. the GSR is a more "updated" bike with monoshocks, digital meter and efi, but it is also more expensive to keep then a s4. (tyres for example)

So both bikes has it ups and downs. However, I think there's something the GSR cannot compete with the super4.. it's the community. Cannot compete with the fact that mass outing equals hundreds of s4's roaring on the streets and also, most tom, **** and harry shop know how to service s4[/color].

In another words, its as common as taxis on the road hahaha just joking dun get angry. To the thread starter buy what you like, it is your $. Btw another headache for u . The EFI CB400 revolution has reach our shores. :thumb:

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1409/6331730/12290258/303814503.jpg

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

Not much difference in outlook with the Vtec 3 except the engine and a hefty price.

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1409/6331730/12290258/303815490.jpg

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1409/6331730/12290258/303815916.jpg

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

so why bring up the point of fuel pump?

i know what will happen.

I brought it up for the benefit of those who are not aware of owning fuel injection vechicles. If you know, that's good for you but do think of others who do not...aren't we all here to share?

Like I said and again, I never say that carbs bike do not have fuel pump and why are you sounding so defensive about this I don't understand...please englighten me...I'm all ears for you.

I drive daily.

used to ride a '05 R6 for weekends, power/torque wasn't enough for me.

now thinking of upgrading to a 1000cc.

I don't understand...what has this to do with th subject matter here?

do i have to own a GSR to comment?

Preferably and more acceptable lah. The way you write in comparing them both sound like you own both bikes for months..then again, I was just curious. Don't feel defensive about my query..like I say, I was just curious.

With 30+ years of driving and riding and reading so much of bikes' and car's magazine reviews..I felt what you wrote could just be personal preference rather than lab tech test drive. But if you do own both and uses it on a day to day on/off on each bike..I'll take it from you wholesale...no change.

Its not a question of "believe or not to"..but just don't want to be misguided as I'm taking what you wrote as a rider ownership opinion that have spend reasonable term usage time on both bikes...qualifiied to comment or not..its up to you but I'm entitled to my question/questions for public viewing.

I have been asking around about this bike (as I have tot of getting the 600cc version,,but the new Bandit at 1230cc $15k tag change my mind) from a few mechanic who knows the bike reasonable well, check with Guan Hoe Sales Manger (a long time friend since 1982 stii working there), and their opinion was surprising not that favourable..in short, the S4 was given the better buyer choice though it lack most of the latest features that the GSR offers. Reliability was the main emphasis.

the important thing is i tried it for quite awhile on a ride to KL.

just sharing my views on the bike.

That's fine with me..I have no comment and do respect your opinion on the comment from your experience on the bike. One thing Guan Hoe told me is that the bike is a good bike but the body...from overall weight to CG design is meant to be powered by a 600cc. The S4 was designed specifically for a 400cc with torque and handling from scratch.

At any rate..one man meat is another man posion..to each their own and bear in mind, I do respect your opinion and impression of the GSR 400. Have fun and ride safe...errr..drive safe too.

So both bikes has it ups and downs. However, I think there's something the GSR cannot compete with the super4.. it's the community. Cannot compete with the fact that mass outing equals hundreds of s4's roaring on the streets and also, most tom, **** and harry shop know how to service s4.

revo n gsr, revo is more ex compared to gsr now. agree? maintenance? yet to know cos its a totally new engine.

S4 is like comfort cab whereas gsr is yellow top. one very common another rare. cos s4 is in the market for 10+ years? n gsr only abt 2 years max. any shop in sg knows how to service the bike. that oso means anyone can do magic, allowing the parts to walk on their own. :thumb:

My apologies if i sound defensive to you. :)

Because i do believe that fuel injection is the way to go, cars have been doing that for donkey years. The bikes world are slightly slower but they are catching on now.

Oh, i mentioned my old ride because you asked what i am riding and whether i am riding a S4.

Look at my comments about GSR vs S4, those are things you don't need day to day riding to experience it.

Just a quick ride on it and you can feel it.

My friend who own the bike have chatted and shared with me on what he feel about it too.

I am just sharing my hands-on experience on both bikes,as i believe not many people have tried both bikes before.

I will take GH's comment with a pitch of salt.

why? the 400cc is affecting their 600cc sales. (GSR400 is a parallel import afaik)

Like i say again, the bike feels light and very agile, coupled with the big fat rear tyes and monoshock. the handling and corner is really good.

Do try the bike if you have a chance.

We are all here to share and to learn.

No doubt CB400 is a great bike, proven its robust performance and reliability.

its GH's lost that they didn't bring in the 400s. they r selling better than the 600s alot more.

I have been asking around about this bike (as I have tot of getting the 600cc version,,but the new Bandit at 1230cc $15k tag change my mind) from a few mechanic who knows the bike reasonable well, check with Guan Hoe Sales Manger (a long time friend since 1982 stii working there), and their opinion was surprising not that favourable..in short, the S4 was given the better buyer choice though it lack most of the latest features that the GSR offers. Reliability was the main emphasis.

Read up some reviews on the new bandit 1250. Very impressive for its price. Make me very gian......think need to hurry up and register for my class 2.

Versys