Will you use non PSB approved helmets?  

271 members have voted

1. 1. Will you use non PSB approved helmets?

• Yes, I will.
    • No, I will not use non PSB approved helmets.
    • Not sure I will use, due the possibility to get "caught"

ministers with their fat pay, still need to ride meh? they only need spend less than one month of their minister salary already can afford $100+k car liao lo...

for average singaporean, dunno nid to take how many years of pay then can get...

Blacky Aka Xiao Hei May 2011 to ???

• Replies 222

We are already a joke to the rest of the world, esp based on the happenings this yr.

In the case of helmets, it is likely due to some bureaucrats sitting on the issue since the psb requirement looks good on his kpi for a local initiative. And no incentive to adopt the intl stds.

For me, i value my head. And some helmets must hv cost more for a reason, rather than some dime-a-dozen ones which i do not really trust that well enough to put my head into.

Just to sidetrack, if the changi gp hub us really completed, it will become another big fat joke to insist the motogp riders to use only psb helmets, otherwise the authorities will be adopting double stds. And we as citizens can of course write in to question and better still, seek equal treatment. Be patient,guys, our time will come soon.

Ride safe.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=224954

2B(8/09);2A(10/10);2(12/11)

Derbi "Black Maverick" Terra 125 (8/09-9/12)

Honda "Burly Bison" Varadero XL1000V1 (10/11-12/12)

Ducati "Banded Mustang" Hypermotard 1100 EVO SP (12/12-)

Vespa "Vicki" GT200 (05/14-)

"Brothers, what we do in life echoes in eternity."

Just to sidetrack, if the changi gp hub us really completed, it will become another big fat joke to insist the motogp riders to use only psb helmets, otherwise the authorities will be adopting double stds. And we as citizens can of course write in to question and better still, seek equal treatment.

Helmets used by riders of MotorGP are governed by FIM, and not local laws.

yup. Just taking the chance to gripe, thats all. :p

Any one knows whether Malaysia's version of 'PSB approved sticker' helmets are allowed to use in sg? Their 'PSB sticker' is red in color..

I believe that PSB is a local standard.

Also, some helmets like GPR and pro, the sticker is not outside but inside the cushion lining.

Actually from the article, the cost of testing one helmet is only about $200, so if they inspect one helmet and approve all helmets in the model then that cost becomes negligible. The problem is they require batch inspection where every helmet have to submit and then they randomly test a few in the batch and count total number of helmets submitted. The rational behind it is different batch may have different quality. I think a win-win solution is to have a single helmet model test for reputable brands where every batch is probably same quality, and the present batch test for unknown brands.

The current system actually makes people less safe. For example, a $500 psb approved helmet is maybe $300 quality+$200sticker. A non-approved $500 is $500 quality. So if a person budget is $500 and law abiding, then he would be using a helmet that is really $300 quality when actually he could be wearing $500 quality.

(This post is just my personal opinion and is not to be taken as fact. $200 benchmark of psb testing derived from article which says $3000 for testing 15 helmets)

Edited by Sadnewbie
indemity
Actually from the article, the cost of testing one helmet is only about $200, so if they inspect one helmet and approve all helmets in the model then that cost becomes negligible. The problem is they require batch inspection where every helmet have to submit and then they randomly test a few in the batch and count total number of helmets submitted. The rational behind it is different batch may have different quality. I think a win-win solution is to have a single helmet model test for reputable brands where every batch is probably same quality, and the present batch test for unknown brands.

The current system actually makes people less safe. For example, a $500 psb approved helmet is maybe $300 quality+$200sticker. A non-approved $500 is $500 quality. So if a person budget is $500 and law abiding, then he would be using a helmet that is really $300 quality when actually he could be wearing $500 quality.

(This post is just my personal opinion and is not to be taken as fact. $200 benchmark of psb testing derived from article which says $3000 for testing 15 helmets)

The best solution is for Sg to adopt the international testing standards, eg DOT ,etc. It is counterproductive and silly to have your own standard which isnt even internationally recognised.

So much for wanting to be "world class".

The more important question now is whether you are able to claim insurance in the event you get into an accident and the insurer finds out that you werent wearing a Singapore PSB approved helmet. Technically, you'd have broken the law by not wearing an approved helmet, and whether the insurance cover is still valid.

Think about it this way.....

When $$$ goes into their pocket. They happy.

When its $$$ they have to put to your pocket. You think they happy give?

Obviously not.

Qn here is when processing a claim, will insurers not disburse the money if they come to know that you as the insured was not using PSB helmet. Anyone encountered the same previously?

Obviously not.

Qn here is when processing a claim, will insurers not disburse the money if they come to know that you as the insured was not using PSB helmet. Anyone encountered the same previously?

I only remember an incident a long time ago, that some biker who had a accident, was looking for helmets with psb approved sticker and its receipt, to make a claim on damages.

Thx. Wonder what prompted him to do that, and what for?

huh?.. need receipt??

Of course. Need to prove how much it is what. Then can claim. Anything you want to claim from insurance need receipt to prove how much its worth.

Looks like there is a slight misunderstanding of my query earlier.

I wasnt referring to claiming damages to your helmet, but was actually referring to:

a) third party cover only - will motor insurance company cover the damages to the other vehicle if it found out that you werent wearing PSB helmet?

b) your own accident/life insurance - in case of injury, disability or even death, will the insurance company cover your hosp and claims if it found out that you werent wearing PSB helmet?

Looks like there is a slight misunderstanding of my query earlier.

I wasnt referring to claiming damages to your helmet, but was actually referring to:

a) third party cover only - will motor insurance company cover the damages to the other vehicle if it found out that you werent wearing PSB helmet?

b) your own accident/life insurance - in case of injury, disability or even death, will the insurance company cover your hosp and claims if it found out that you werent wearing PSB helmet?

That's what I had thought you meant too and not as in to claim the helmet... much larger sum at stake!

@epk

I was thinking maybe need the receipt to prove where it was bought at and date it was bought so it can be traced whether its a real psb approved helmet and not a chiong sticker (for which I could be in trouble cos I have no idea where the receipt to my helmet is...)

That's what I had thought you meant too and not as in to claim the helmet... much larger sum at stake!

@epk

I was thinking maybe need the receipt to prove where it was bought at and date it was bought so it can be traced whether its a real psb approved helmet and not a chiong sticker (for which I could be in trouble cos I have no idea where the receipt to my helmet is...)

In other words. They ask for receipt, say to compensate you. But actually can also use against you if yours is not a psb approved helmet.

@epk

Therefore, to clear the air, has anyone else encountered this situation? Able to claim successfully from both motor and life/accident insurers even when not using Psb helmets? Pl share... Thx.

You want to be safe then just ride stock bikes and don only PSB endorsed helmets.

Some of you guys are creating unnecessary worries.

If there was a "LIKE" button here I would have clicked on it.

I like too!

*I am beri safe, I wear PSB approved helmet and ride stock bikes. I also prefer stock guns.* *For Men, I like them agumented with $$$$$* :p

always be safe...wear psb approved helmets to ease ur worries....

even my arai is psb approved...costs $50 more than non-approved more than 5 years ago...

You want to be safe then just ride stock bikes and don only PSB endorsed helmets. Some of you guys are creating unnecessary worries.

Thanks for your candid comment, and honestly, I would have "like"d it too if I also happened to be browsing through the forums.

This thread, as I understand it, discusses the legal and regulatory aspects of riding in Sg, and may serve as an informative resource point for new or less knowledgeable riders and their queries based on the experiences of those who have "been through it" previously.

Since taking up riding lessons, I have been asking around other riders if they are aware, but there appears to be a dearth of clarification on the implication(s) of insurance coverage in the event it is discovered that a non-compliant headgear had been donned during that particular accident being claimed.

There are several ways that my latest query, which you responded to, may have appeared to others. On further reflection after reading your comment, do let me illustrate two of them:

a) "What if I am found out by the insurance company(s) that I wasn’t using a PSB helmet at the time of the accident?"

I believe this is how most would read the query as. Well, like you mentioned, to be on the safe side, just follow everything by the book, and nothing to worry about.

Or

b) "In the unfortunate event of an accident, will I end up adding additional financial burden to my family for hospitalisation, etc?"

This is where I am coming from rather than (a). Just because there are regulations laid down by the authorities do not necessarily mean that these regulations remain current or are really practicable in real life. Take a recent (today or yesterday) ST forum letter to HDB re displaying season parking label for example, the regulations quoted were deemed by the author to be obsolete, but he was penalised for it. Who's right, who's wrong?

In the situation we are discussing here, I am presuming most are using non-PSB helmets but meeting other international standards, i.e. we are all assuming these are "safer" helmets compared to those much less expensive PSB ones. The sense of added personal security from using these helmets, albeit non-compliant by local regulations, is to ensure our own riding safety - at least for me. But in the unfortunate event of an accident, would I really want to be bothered with regulations, or should I really be concerned with the overall impact to my family and loved ones, even though I was supposedly using an "international standard" helmet over a locally approved one? I'd choose the latter. Yes, this may appear to be a worry, but a valid one nonetheless.

I mean no offence, past or present, but just wanting to get a clear picture on this issue. Of course, the last resort will be to check officially with the insurers themselves. Once obtained, I will share that info here for the benefit of those interested.