Eh, i wanna ask those who are/were paramedics or police officers and those with experience.

Let's say, a parent is critically sick/potentially to be critically sick and does not wish to seek medical attention. What powers do we have as a son to bring her to seek medical attention? Like restraints, or calling an ambulance, etc. Parent is of sound mind, just in denial.

My friend ask me this and i dunno how to help him. I remember last time when i was in NS, i was taught that if the person is of sound mind, you cannot force him or her to seek medical attention. But that was years ago. I may have forgot.

it better to advise n prepare him for the inevitable, sometimes resistance is futile, reconise that "denial" is a form of personal coping mechanism for ppl to deal with fear....maybe the reasons of old folks stoborness, getting angry will just increase their resistance

instead of aggitating the situation, a calm acceptance of the situation can help break the deadlock

try reading "tuesday with morris"

legally if the person choose to rot in his own private way , short of becoming a pubic nusiances, nothing can be done.

• Replies 8k

Yeah i read Tuesdays with Morris. Its a very philosophical way to die. Apply it in real life and it doesn't make any practical sense.

Aiya, no one cares la. We just read the book, that's all. Read the five people you meet in heaven also. Truthfully, these books like, nothing interesting ah.

I think memoirs of a geisha and rich dad, poor dad are much better reads.

hope ur fren can stay strong. its not easy to deal with stubborn parents as we know old ppl are hard to talk sense to them. maybe ur fren might wan to see a doctor to see wat suggestion the doc can give.

maybe that's an idea, who know he may get the same illness as the parents and all can be stuborn or willing together...

Eh, i wanna ask those who are/were paramedics or police officers and those with experience.

Let's say, a parent is critically sick/potentially to be critically sick and does not wish to seek medical attention. What powers do we have as a son to bring her to seek medical attention? Like restraints, or calling an ambulance, etc. Parent is of sound mind, just in denial.

My friend ask me this and i dunno how to help him. I remember last time when i was in NS, i was taught that if the person is of sound mind, you cannot force him or her to seek medical attention. But that was years ago. I may have forgot.

As a paramedic, we cannot force someone to seek treatment if he/she refuse. The police ah? If they are half as useful, things will be much better.

go geyland is still ok, skali go woodlands industrial park...

I have one final solution, ask the mum to withold sex from the dad. Settle.

Then again, he just might go Geylang.

His parents old already. What sex sia... :faint:

I have one final solution, ask the mum to withold sex from the dad. Settle.

Then again, he just might go Geylang.

Aiya. Offer the dad a callgirl la. Incentive for medical treatment. If he goes for treatment, you go Laksaboy get him a girl.

Sigh, i feel like getting a new spark plug. I want to try irridium.

Where to buy NGK CR7HIX or Denso IUF22? Any ideas?

Sigh, i feel like getting a new spark plug. I want to try irridium.

Where to buy NGK CR7HIX or Denso IUF22? Any ideas?

Use normal plug can oreidi, cheap n good..

"Shut Up n Ride"

Its like this. If you have $10. Will you prefer to spread your $10 to eat $2 chicken rice for 5 days, or spend it all on one medical treatmen/pills/consultation and starve?

Bet e $10 n double it so can eat chix rice n medical treatment lolz...

"Shut Up n Ride"

Use normal plug can oreidi, cheap n good..

This kinda advice all is scared to try advice. When i got my bike, people say this, say that, in the end, you can ask me what oil good, what should be done, all that crap. Because never try, never know. Of course must make logical reasoning before deciding ah.

Its like this. If you have $10. Will you prefer to spread your $10 to eat $2 chicken rice for 5 days, or spend it all on one medical treatmen/pills/consultation and starve?

My english not good. I don't understand what you are trying to say.

This kinda advice all is scared to try advice. When i got my bike, people say this, say that, in the end, you can ask me what oil good, what should be done, all that crap. Because never try, never know. Of course must make logical reasoning before deciding ah.

i think it is good advice. check up this thread.

as for what bugging me, i just wish i have treat wifey better:cry:

Medical fees in Sg arent cheap. Even with youngsters willing to chip in. Ultimately it do not wants going to be a big burden. Why people are willing to forego treatment or even check ups, is because they do not wish to become a burden/forced to commit to treatment.

All our journeys ends in Death. The choice of leading thru that journey, thru hardships, thru pain or thru being a burden, we when we are still in our minds, we can choose still, so we stubbornly choose the choice. Much like how you choose to ride on, despite the falls, despite dangers, despite the discouragements and despite objections.

Its your money, I only have 2 questions, is your bike a race spec bike? Do you use it for racing?

If both yes, use silver spark plugs... or can try find those 100 dollar spark plugs.

Its your money, I only have 2 questions, is your bike a race spec bike? Do you use it for racing?

If both yes, use silver spark plugs... or can try find those 100 dollar spark plugs.

Aiya, just try only mah... Few dollars more only... :cheeky:

Or i should worry about my freaking tachometer. Not working. I should get that replaced instead. So much from priorities lol.

Medical fees in Sg arent cheap. Even with youngsters willing to chip in. Ultimately it do not wants going to be a big burden. Why people are willing to forego treatment or even check ups, is because they do not wish to become a burden/forced to commit to treatment.

All our journeys ends in Death. The choice of leading thru that journey, thru hardships, thru pain or thru being a burden, we when we are still in our minds, we can choose still, so we stubbornly choose the choice. Much like how you choose to ride on, despite the falls, despite dangers, despite the discouragements and despite objections.

This is so true. LIKE!

I've met alot of uncles, granddads,aunties, grandmums forgo treatments juz so they would not want to burden anyone.

As u have said, we will all die in the end. When u r in ur 50s onward. Time no longer counts up, it counts down.

Sent from my MB511 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

Aiya, just try only mah... Few dollars more only... :cheeky:

Or i should worry about my freaking tachometer. Not working. I should get that replaced instead. So much from priorities lol.

Change bike la.

This is so true. LIKE!

I've met alot of uncles, granddads,aunties, grandmums forgo treatments juz so they would not want to burden anyone.

As u have said, we will all die in the end. When u r in ur 50s onward. Time no longer counts up, it counts down.

Sent from my MB511 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

Hmm, for me, i see my friend, the father was quite well. Like fit. Then he sick a bit, still can go checkup, take medicine all. But refuse. Then as the months pass by, become even worse. He is only 51.

Of course for me, i feel if can fix early and manage early is okay, but if got go diagnosis and its gonna be expensive, then respect his decision. The thing is that, need to know the severity of the case first and weight the options before making a decision. Skali, for all you know, nothing wrong, just need to take like anti biotics, then become well again? But dont seek treatment, become worse, than more complications. Oh well.

Oh ya hor, u r riding ybr 1250 cc rite, ok can try iridium, consferm powerful, can increase up to 15 hp or up to u lah how many hp u want to increase as long u happy can oreidi liaoz ...

"Shut Up n Ride"