those interested in diy their coils,will post more details later when i get home...will do it at my place carpark...if nobody coming then i will do my own wiring...

maybe can conduct a basic diy session on how to remove plugs,tank,change filter,change coil,change pilot lights...

Can you record it with your awesome camera? :D It would be great to have some instructional videos about our Pulsar.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

y u exit mandai uh? if u follow me till after wdld ave 12 will have bke exit also..oh well..nice riding wif u :D

I like to be nearer to the Orang Utan. haha

My bike out of steam. Can't keep up with your Fazer. I ride slow slow. 80-85km/h

i followed ur pace ley all e way..hahaha. juz dat i dun feel comfortable tailgatin car/van/bus

I like to be nearer to the Orang Utan. haha

My bike out of steam. Can't keep up with your Fazer. I ride slow slow. 80-85km/h

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg

@oren : I recently bought a pair of Red Wings motorcycle boots for 1/2 price at the shops near my office.

Steel toe cap and mid shin height. Its a bit heavy due to the sole but you will feel safe in them. raincoat goes over it and no rain goes in due to the height.

Original price was $400+, got mine for under $200.

u 4got to mention..buy fullface dun leave it at home to showcase..must wear while riding..(i am one of them..kekeke)

Was looking around for input on using hiking boots vs riding boots.

There's (of course!) a full length mega-detailed-extra-controversial thread on ADVRider about it, which leads me to conclude that nothing will ever save your feet from a crash better than hardcore off road boots that weight a ton and make no concession to anything before protection.

And also, that on the road from the flip-flop to the said hardcore MX boots, there are many many towns you can stop by for refreshment and safety : Full leather sneakers town, leather hiking boots or army boots town, non leather hiking boots, lightweight casual riding mid boots kampung, mid MX boots village (Alpinestars Tech 2 are my favorite).

This lead me to that : http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=584379

You know, just another illustrated proof that if you don't own a full face helmet, stop smoking, stop going out, and stop buying stuff for your girlfriend. Save and get a full face helmet. NOW.

And for heavens sake, DO NOT RIDE WITH THE VISOR OPEN !!!!

@oren : I recently bought a pair of Red Wings motorcycle boots for 1/2 price at the shops near my office.

Steel toe cap and mid shin height. Its a bit heavy due to the sole but you will feel safe in them. raincoat goes over it and no rain goes in due to the height.

i vote for army goretex boots anytime..cheap n good..not cheap..free and good..kekekeke

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
nope, didn't anything amiss notice about the filter light... YET.

oic. thanks for the hella info. :) if i didn't recall wrongly, brandon had red n black air horns when i saw his bike at HKL.

how i wish i have a CO2/O2 analyzer so that i can precisely tune the afr.. lol

Ya dont need one to check your fuel ratio.

Just pull your plugs to check. If its brown, leave it alone. If its black, turn the screw counter clockwise half turn. If its white, clockwise half turn.

Diy session due?

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

Address. Give it to me.

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Ya dont need one to check your fuel ratio.

Just pull your plugs to check. If its brown, leave it alone. If its black, turn the screw counter clockwise half turn. If its white, clockwise half turn.

Diy session due?

i tot the carbs we use on pulsar is counter clockwise mroe richer than clockwise mroe lean...

in search of the magical fuel penguins

Honda CB400F

i tot the carbs we use on pulsar is counter clockwise mroe richer than clockwise mroe lean...

Screw in (clockwise) for any carb bike for richer mixture, screw out (counter clockwise) for leaner mixture.

You are adjusting the air part of the air fuel mixture.

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Today i was travelling at 85km/h den suddenly my gear disengage....... i stop by road shoulder than try to move on than OK liao.... any1 knows whats the problem ???

Gear slipping is usually due to bad clutch.

Change the oil. If it doesnt help, change the clutch plates.

And lay off the full synthetic oils, if you want your clutch plates to last longer.

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

i always tot there were two types of carbs where one metered the fuel and the other air...and when turning the afr screw would adjust so respectively...cos got Fuel screw turned in (clockwise) gives a lean mixture and turned out (anti-clockwise) gives a rich mixture. Air screw turned in gives a rich mixture and turned out (anti-clockwise) gives a lean mixture.

Edited by robbedzombie

in search of the magical fuel penguins

Honda CB400F

Here the protec filter. feedback. I feel my bike a bit heavy like choking liddat after installing protec filter. Conclusion I guess I need to recalibrate my afr which I did two days ago before installing protec filter.

i always tot there were two types of carbs where one metered the fuel and the other air...and when turning the afr screw would adjust so respectively...cos got Fuel screw turned in (clockwise) gives a lean mixture and turned out (anti-clockwise) gives a rich mixture. Air screw turned in gives a rich mixture and turned out (anti-clockwise) gives a lean mixture.

Uh, no.

One screw to control ammount of air in the air fuel ratio. Another screw to control idling speed.

And usually another screw to release the fuel in the carburator.

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Anyone here rode bikes with this kind of tyre before ? :

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5184/5670496635_640f24d519_b.jpg

I am thinking of changing my Pulsar's tyres to something like this before taking off.

I want to avoid changing them in Thailand or Cambodia/Vietnam because my current tyres are still good to use, so I might as well keep them here and switch back when my trip ends.

I think i can manage with my street tyres fo most of the countries, but Laos and North of Vietnam don't seem to be anything but mostly gravels and dirt, and I wonder how the current street tyres will manage....

I'm not familiar at all with the things to have in mind when changing tyres and I'm hoping to changing my current battlaxe to the same size tyres, but with more "grip". The only thing on my mind now is the space between the front mud guard/fender and the wheel. besides that, anything else i should worry about before changing tyres ?

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Btw u guyz talking bout which screw in the carrburator to adjaust the afr

Here the protec filter. feedback. I feel my bike a bit heavy like choking liddat after installing protec filter. Conclusion I guess I need to recalibrate my afr which I did two days ago before installing protec filter.

Was it especially hard to start the bike when cold?

Tuning by ear, adjust the screw slowly while snapping the throttle. You want a good balance of the revs going up when throttle is pulled, as well as it going down when the throttle is released.

Usually goes up fast but go down slow is due to overly rich afr. Reverse shows lean.

Remember to pull your plugs on the next oil change to fine tune your mixture.

Single carb is easy. Inline 4 carbs are a *****. Dont ask me how i know. Haha!

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Itz not hard when cold start but the idle lower already. N now....what plug ur taking about?

Screw this. Juz sent over UM and ah teck play wif the screw. Good idea kan...

Alamak ... carburator issues again? . .. hmmmmm

fyi ... The Basics.

Searching the fuel/air screw… The above mentioned screws are responsible to adjust the air-fuel ratio which forms ‘food substance’ for your engine. You can relate it to our human body, where proteins, carbs, fats, water etc all are required in appropriate proportions with respect to each other for good strong body.

There is another screw which sets the idle speed of the machine. This screw is not related to pickup or mileage. It just sets the engine rpm at ’’idle’’ run. 2stroke machines have an Air screw and 4 stroke machines have a Fuel screw. I hope you note this VERY well. Air screw is located on the carb away from the engine. [ Engine - Carburettor - Air screw]

Fuel screw (or Volume Control Screw) is located on the carb but its near the engine. [Engine - Fuel screw - Carburetor]. If the make of your carb is Mikuni (Pulsar, Yamaha, Fiero) the fuel/air screw probably will be of brass (golden colour). If you fully unscrew this screw and take it on your hand, you will see a needle like tip.

Idle screw is closely linked with the throttle cable. Idle screw can be turned by the hand. Screw driver is not essential for it. Finding these screws are very simple. If you still cannot find the air/fuel screw, ask your mechanic or I can help.

Ok now what? Apart from the above difference I gave between Air and Fuel screw, there is one more major difference.

Fuel screw turned in (clockwise) gives a lean mixture and turned out (anti-clockwise) gives a rich mixture. Air screw turned in gives a rich mixture and turned out (anti-clockwise) gives a lean mixture. Lean means more air, less fuel. Rich means more fuel, less air.

This ends the basics.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=199106&d=1301892942

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=205612&d=1306419842

if i have time I will post pics and more info on our Mikuni CV BS29 carb ..... or very simple lah .. please read back what our bro mobilenerd posted you guys the link .... still not sure or blur2 .. then I will post lah later ok .... I now at present very busy lah ... very tired ... so don't fight ok ... we are all still learning and mistakes unavoided but don't do silly mistake ok ... don't know you ask ... for sure some of us here will share .... hehehe ... I too not an expert but still learning ..... like said if you asked me about archery then that's my line and profession! .. kekekekee

CHEERS!

Edited by mjbs64
source: Bike Advice on AFR

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

Screw this. Juz sent over UM and ah teck play wif the screw. Good idea kan...

Suka hati awak, lah.

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

did tuning after installing the TDK and protec filter. i'd say it did make a difference to the torque! awesome man! one more thing just now i took out my pulsar stock plugs, decided to bring them home to scrub, and decided to be cheap and try to compare them to my old Zx6 denso IU27 plugs.. upon comparing, they looked similar.

but just wanted to play safe so i googled RG4HC and IU27....

and turns out that they are compatible!!! 'free' iradium plugs!! wootz!!