Hi everyone,

I just got my 2B license (Where are the pom poms.. ah here: :cheer: !!).

I want to get a Pulsar 200 - a new one.

In order to plan my budget, I was wondering if plusarians here could help me out with advices on what I might need to change/upgrade:

1. I read here and there that the Pulsar's tyres are not getting the riders best reviews. Is that true that one should change the original tyres to another brand/model? Which ones would you recommend? How much does it cost?

2.Should I think about other things to change/improve? (mirrors, lights etc. ?)

3. Which type of box would you suggest I get? Which size/model ? How much does it cost? It will be mainly to store 1 or 2 helmets, in the back.

4. oh, almost forgot: Is UM still the only place where one can buy a new Pulsar 200 or are there other shop that retail it in SG ?

I am very new to motorbike's world, so any tips/advices will be very appreciated. I am not interested in improvements for speed as much as I'am interested in improvements for safety and safe riding :)

Thanks for your help!

PS: Since the Bajaj group thread is huge (206 pages so far), is there a FAQ somewhere? Do you guys think we can start writing one, compiling all the important/frequently requested info that was shared in these 206 pages? I wouldn't mind volunteering for the job but since i'm new to this, I'd probably need directions on what sort of info to collect - let me know if I can help, got a bit of time on my hands...

Aaaand I'm done reading all the thread ! :clap::clap::clap::cheer:

Now I can answer my own questions (see above) and I feel much more familiar with the bike.

Regarding the FAQ, it's time for me to touch it up here and there: I mainly copy/pasted all information I thought could be relevant for new members or even for regular members of the team as reminders. I only seperated the content by topic and roughly categorized it.

So it's a lot of extraits and sort of a patchwork for now - give me a few days to try and polish it to the extend of my knowledge and I will email Nemesis & Blueyeagle with the result. From there I believe it can be made available to all to chip in their suggestions and content to improve the final result.

(I am sure it will need lots of improvements :cheeky:)

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

O'Ren

:faint::faint::faint:

:thumb::thumb::thumb:

:clap::clap::clap:

Better to be Late then Never....

It's Your Choice : LATE / NEVER

Class 2A - 01 Dec 2009

Look for cookie_monster... He can help u order a CDI reactor to help stablise ur rpm... very useful... and it actually boost ur power when u accelerate from low to medium rpm... At least now i can be always at the first or 2nd bike everytime at a traffic light...

U gain some, u lose some... by right i should lose some petrol in exchange for the boost in my acceleration power... I been testing it for around 2 weeks now already... Very useful but i really dun see much significant increase in FC though... But bikes moves off much smoother now...

hmmm.. yes.. i wan to order.. but wan see how it fares on ur bike for FC also first.. ha.. first 2 weeks probably cant see much change yet.. sooo.. wait abit ar..

lol.... actually I am also one of those who always like to try on others bike... But mostly I go for big big scooters like x9 or Yamaha majesty or goldwing... so far no prob with all the owner whom i had tried t...

power.. u lucky la.. hahaha..

wah lau

teach others to be bad sia

she my fav cousin leh

guai guai one k :thumb:

sometimes i do have this problem that when engine start like rpm not stable

i pull choke let it run awhile can liao

i think is because engine still "cold" ba

haha.. ur fav cousin.. but not young teach to be notti but teach to be hardy.. growl! haha..

last time i turn on engine din used to have such problem.. always steady RPM all the way.. nowadays start to unsteady liaoz.. anyway.. tml i goin down UM to check and service and wash and change.. haha.. so.. anyone goin down tomorrow? haha..

Not the CDI problem --> Check the carburettor and spark plug

yeah.. i was tinkin carburettor.. cuz of what everyone says.. den plus spark plug was one of the suspects.. so tml ask them check also la.. ha..

An inspirational video from our bike's home country' date=' to remember that as a team we ....[/quote']

nice.. great teamwork video.. i wonder if this kinda tings happen in SG.. ppl will only say.. SIAO ar! :dozed:

possible terms for CDI - Criminal Detention Institution

- Criminal Detective Institute

- Censorship Development Institute?

- Cash Delivered In-time?

- Coil Digital Ignition

:dozed: hahaha.. but good ideas.. haha..

Now I can answer my own ....

CONGRATS!!! :cheer::cheer::cheer::cheer:

cant wait for the website to be all full of FAQs and stuff.. ha..

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10752;417/st/20140315/e/Ride+Up+To+Meleka%21/dt/12/k/4d9a/event.png

Bajaj "Firefly" Pulsar 180 > Dec 2008 - present :cool:

any kopi session later tonite???

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

okok... no crazy.... Gila ok????

Ok i will be like the permas jaya...can????

Do what u want to do,do what u like,don't listen to what people said...u and your bike are bond together n become one heart..let the wind bring u let the gravity bring u..anything is possible it is only between u n ur bike...

FABIANO JIN

Now I can answer my own questions (see above) and I feel much more familiar with the bike.

Regarding the FAQ, it's time for me to touch it up here and there: I mainly copy/pasted all information I thought could be relevant for new members or even for regular members of the team as reminders. I only seperated the content by topic and roughly categorized it.

So it's a lot of extraits and sort of a patchwork for now - give me a few days to try and polish it to the extend of my knowledge and I will email Nemesis & Blueyeagle with the result. From there I believe it can be made available to all to chip in their suggestions and content to improve the final result.

(I am sure it will need lots of improvements :cheeky:)

Well done....:thumb::thumb::thumb::cheers:

Do what u want to do,do what u like,don't listen to what people said...u and your bike are bond together n become one heart..let the wind bring u let the gravity bring u..anything is possible it is only between u n ur bike...

FABIANO JIN

any kopi session later tonite???

not tonite bro mayb next time...we can chit chat like last time u me n nemesis..:thumb::thumb:

FABIANO JIN

hey guys..before i go down to UM, i want to ask u all...u all have any experience when u ride then want to stop at the traffic lights or any stop, u close throttle n u feel like jerkings when engine braking? wat is the cause ar? is it the chain or tyres or the engine ar? need help here b4 i kena accident it happens like that after accident also n i juz ignore it but when quite sometimes it makes me irritated..hehehe

mayb the gear...u go check uh...

FABIANO JIN

last time i turn on engine din used to have such problem.. always steady RPM all the way.. nowadays start to unsteady liaoz.. anyway.. tml i goin down UM to check and service and wash and change.. haha.. so.. anyone goin down tomorrow? haha..

what time u going down 2ml?

might be in that area 2ml afternoon

Edited by alvinyansg

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

Read this article (found the link on previous pages of this thread) and thought it could be a good read for everyone:

Safety is the most important reason to warm an engine before riding.

Most stock engines tend to lack power and deliver uncertain throttle response until they have run for at least a few minutes.

In fact, some engines will stop running altogether if the throttle is quickly and fully opened immediately after they are started. If that were to happen in front or someone running a stop sign with their SUV, well.... This kind of scenario, by the way, is the main reason manufacturers often recommend long pre-ride warm-ups.

So, what is a person to do to properly warm-up the engine?

Basically, give the motor a chance swell up and get its clearances act together. The bit of extra piston/cylinder clearance or piston ring end gap won't matter if you keep the loads and rpm moderate during warm-up. The lower clamping pressure holding the heads in close proximity to the cylinders aren't so important at half-throttle.

Why not just let the engine idle until it is warm?

This is important. A cold engine generally needs the choke to run at all. Chokes are relatively crude devices and dump too much fuel into the engine, more than it needs. This extra fuel washes oil off cylinder walls, finds its way past loose pistons (and ring gaps) and down into the oil. Other byproducts of combustion find their way into the crankcase and engine oil as well. These include: water, acids and carbon particles.

The best way to minimize all this contamination is to warm the engine as quickly as is reasonably possible. "Reasonably possible" includes placing a load on the engine by actually riding the bike. One or two horsepower are needed to idle an engine, but it takes 10 or so to go down the road. More horsepower develops more heat, hence, the heat from the 10 warms the motor faster, reducing corrosive oil and engine contamination.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

what time u going down 2ml?

might be in that area 2ml afternoon

UM dont open on sun, pls take note.

best thing is to call them check the q, unless it's urgent case. i've learnt my lesson where a few times went down n there's a long q.

Edited by arthur_chan

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

yeah.. i was tinkin carburettor.. cuz of what everyone says.. den plus spark plug was one of the suspects.. so tml ask them check also la.. ha..

for this problem, i think it has nothing to do with cdi, carburator or spark plug. most likely cause will be carbon built up or residue built up around piston area after long usage. new bikes usually wont have this problem. i know those over 10yr bike morning start will need choke.

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

regarding the bike wash,

the week of hari raya, Rudy n gang are closed.. and they reopen on 28 september.. and currently, they have a small issue with manpower.. Due to shortage of manpower, it is advised by them that with roughly 10 bikes, it might take from 10pm onwards to about 2 or 3 am (each bike roughly 1hr 30mins)..

Might i suggest we have the bike wash on 2nd Oct (Friday nite from 10pm) or 3rd Oct (Sat nite from 10pm) or 10th Oct (Oct BTMO, Sat nite from 10pm)? :deal:

Any ideas or suggestions?

Nemesis, ok with bike wash during October BTMO? (i think this might be a good time?)

In any case, we have to book the slots and confirm which bike is goin by hopefully 15 or 16 September.. then we might have a good chance to secure the slot for October :shades:

i am ok for the sat nite wash

my bike needs "bathing" liao

never bathe since i bought it :cheeky:

sianz

just got news that for OCT i can't make it from 10th-21st :cry:

got outfield exercise :cry:

haiz

if sat nite wash have to be b4 10th or after 21st :cry:

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

whats BTMO?

hmmm..and guys..i can't follow.. im working on 12th Sept.. =\

Arsenal

"..By far the greatest team.."

whats BTMO?

hmmm..and guys..i can't follow.. im working on 12th Sept.. =\

BTMO = Bajaj Team Monthly Outing :)

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

2009 SEPT BTMO

Information

Date: 12th Sept 09

Day: Saturday

Time: 2030hrs (8.30PM) (Please take note of the meetup/departure timing)

Itinerary

2030hrs - Gather @ Kallang KFC / Dinner / Break Fast.

2100hrs - Briefing before depart.

2130hrs - Tanjong Katong Complex

2150hrs - Contribution to Tabung Amal Aidilfitri / Photo Shooting

2150hrs- Briefing before Depart to Marina Barrage

2230hrs - Arrival at Marina Barrage

2320hrs - Briefing before Depart to KTM for refreshment

0000Hrs - End of BTMO

THING TO BRING

- just your extra cash ...

i) for donation

ii) for makan

IMPORTANT NOTICE:- Please observe orderly convoy riding at all times.

- Please comply to SG & MY Speed Limits.

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

- Please ensure that your motorcycle is in good working condition!

- Minimum safety Attire: Jeans, covered shoes. Riders and pillions not meeting this requirement will be U-Turned.

- Full faced Helmet, riding gear is strongly encouraged. Please bring along rain gear in case it rains.

- Safety of all the riders is of our utmost concern, so no superman antics please!

- Please observe orderly convoy riding.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Who is coming ??

1) Nemesis

2) Totalpet [think should not be a problem going, scare last min got things]

3) Uknight

5) mjbs64

6) SC Gaban

7) Viewpanel (TBC... Will try my best to make it)

8) glzco

9) O'Ren (no bike)

10) Alvinyansg (TBC)

11) Fabiano jin(KIV)

12) Katana999 (TBC But chances are can make it)

13) Solar

14) Lanzer (TBC)

15) stanco (TBC)

16) Beany144

17) pokvin'll probably just drop by kfc for dinner!

18) cookie monster

19) silverboi (auto-add) got one more ppl coming liaoz.. :thumb: n tt's u! :p

20)

Lets observe riding discipline and maintain staggered formation for the BTMO. Minimise annoyance to other road users and reduces risk to us riders.

Sorry taking myself out. Still stuck at events ground preparing for tomorrow.. zzz you guys have fun.

Hi, can i join the BTMO? riding FZ150i here...

sure. we welcome all bikes and even those without bikes. no worries bro. do head down and get to know the pulsarians :D :thumb:

Sorry taking myself out. Still stuck at events ground preparing for tomorrow.. zzz you guys have fun.

aiya... wad a waste. i went there with the intention to see you drool but end up you never come. :cheeky:

肥仔七åƒå·

sure. we welcome all bikes and even those without bikes. no worries bro. do head down and get to know the pulsarians :D :thumb:

haha... Thanks thanks.... been there and its great knowing some of the pulsarians.... :angel:

I miss my voom voom.....

Gonna hit the road back real soon with my dream "Xiao^Bai"..... :cool: heh heh.... hopefully....:)

haha... Thanks thanks.... been there and its great knowing some of the pulsarians.... :angel:

u r always welcome...:angel:

FABIANO JIN

screwed sia live east lol. pek chek feeling when going home lol

Low Life Helmet Stealers shld just DIE

05-06 - FU*7*7A NSR SP (Proj Bee)

06-07 - FY*3*3L Wave S (Proj Bass)

07-07 - FN3**3M RVF 400 (Proj Black)

08-08 - FU**9*U KAWA ZX (Squeaky)

08-09 FBB***9D Pulsar DTS-i (Black)

10- FBC**98S SYM GTS

katana - do u know the location of the gundam exhibition? maybe dis noon or afternoon i'll be just droping by to have a look.who knows theres some discounts on some model kits. thnks.

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

its at sengkang compass point

Low Life Helmet Stealers shld just DIE

05-06 - FU*7*7A NSR SP (Proj Bee)

06-07 - FY*3*3L Wave S (Proj Bass)

07-07 - FN3**3M RVF 400 (Proj Black)

08-08 - FU**9*U KAWA ZX (Squeaky)

08-09 FBB***9D Pulsar DTS-i (Black)

10- FBC**98S SYM GTS