Do our land checkpoints need "SINGAPORE PASSPORT ONLY" lanes?  

87 members have voted

1. 1. Do our land checkpoints need "SINGAPORE PASSPORT ONLY" lanes?

• Yes! I'm sick and tired of enduring
    • No! The system is fine as it is.

Like the ones at the airports & seaports where there are:

1) "SINGAPORE PASSPORT ONLY" lanes

2) "All Other Passport" lanes

This should ease the jam for our citizens who travel in and out of Woodlands and Tuas land checkpoints.

Our TUAS checkpoint BIKES biometric system lanes are almost closed all the time, making it rather useless for BIKES users to use that system.

Even the Malaysian citizens have an "express lane" at their land based borders.

Your CONSTRUCTIVE views here please.

• Replies 44

YES!!!! A lane for SG passport only pls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

had enough of carbon breathing liao..later haf lung cancer how!?!?! :giddy:

waste of time being stuck together at the jam wif msian bikes..

yup ... everyday there is lots of malaysia bike in and out of sg

and jam up the whole checkpoints ... why is that so that we don't have our "SINGAPORE PASSPORT ONLY" lanes so that the traffic for our side is much easy to access ...

good idea!

even if its only one lane. it would be so much more faster.

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d54/amandaxp/topburanko.gifhttp://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d54/amandaxp/02982fc9.gif .

casue the govt dun encourage us to go over .....

so if u wanna go over , must be prepared for the hassle

i think even they have for sg passport lane.. still jam. cos the ica staff take their sweet time. kena 1 time she can even eat junk snack.. listen to radio.. one hand typing.. one hand feeding herself.. i gave an arrogant look at her. lol.

Do Not Speed

customs check is one area where i really hope that one day, they have some automated robot/computer behind the damn counter doing the job. would be bloody faster and more efficient.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

customs check is one area where i really hope that one day, they have some automated robot/computer behind the damn counter doing the job. would be bloody faster and more efficient.

dream on. they wont implement such advance system unless its a system that suck our money...e.g ERP

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

some jobs still require manual intervention, especially when it comes to human contact.

casue the govt dun encourage us to go over .....

so if u wanna go over , must be prepared for the hassle

yes the govt don't encourage us to go in but it does mean that we won't go ... :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

dream on. they wont implement such advance system unless its a system that suck our money...e.g ERP

yea. they will surely find ways to pass on more expenses to the road users. *dreams*

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

i think even they have for sg passport lane.. still jam. cos the ica staff take their sweet time. kena 1 time she can even eat junk snack.. listen to radio.. one hand typing.. one hand feeding herself.. i gave an arrogant look at her. lol.

hehe. guess tts the desperate measures they take when they only have 15 mins break, which includes buying food/toilet break/moving to the next counter. btw,u sound so singaporean...

who can suggest it to ICA ? its really a good idea

think can complain? shoot a email up or smth?

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d54/amandaxp/topburanko.gifhttp://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d54/amandaxp/02982fc9.gif .

sometimes... its not that we can't have a lane to ourselves... take a look at it this way... if its really really bad jam... until the top of the bridge... those JB bikes even " makan" the car lane.. what makes u think that u can make it to the front to settle the immigration ?

biometrics also having the same problem...

can't seem to get to the front... also have to breath in fume from those idiots who read newspaper while waiting and totally no leg power to push their bike.. move 0.5m also must open throttle accelerate...

what to do, its us who wans to go in to enjoy the benefits of cheap food, gas and cigarettes.. gain some and lose some.. thats life

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67030&d=1214533391

Phantom TA150 ----- Gone

CB400 Spec2---------Gone

Yamaha X-1----------Gone

CB400 Spec1.||| -------- Gone

Honda Silverwing 400 - FOR SALE

Can't we just go pass the SG customs just like the malaysian do when they are entering in/out from their country?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Can't we just go pass the SG customs just like the malaysian do when they are entering in/out from their country?

coz malaysia boleh!! sillypore tak boleh....

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg

they might wan to take a look at the motorbikes lanes..

from 4 to 5 lanes of queing to become onli 2 lane ..

then after that spilt to various booth again

This would have a low chance of implementation. Firstly, you need a lot of lobbying, and with most of us here (my guess) being arm-chaired typists in front of monitors, there is little nudge in favour of such a policy implementation. And then, the politicians are more likely to take care of the oil companies' interests than a few typists in this thread. It is quite clear that many of us bikers go in for petrol runs. Even if implemented, whether "Singapore Passport Only" bike lanes will shorten the time for our petrol runs is a doubt. When it becomes easier to make petrol runs, it is likely more bikers will make such trips. At some point, the amount of time spent in jams on Singapore lanes will regulate the amount of bikers crossing over again. The issue is not about lanes for bikes. At the heart of the issue is the unequal petrol prices between Singapore and Malaysia. Either Malaysians pay equally high prices as us, or we stop paying petrol prices that rises every month. With this imbalance, the phenomenon of SG bikers jamming customs will continue, SG passport lane or otherwise, unless the 3/4 tank rule applies to bikes. Given that the gulf in petrol prices between us and them are getting wider, this problem is likely to get worse.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

This would have a low chance of implementation.

I totally agree wif u.

Sg govt is using the jam to regulate (or control) the number of people going Malaysia. The reasons are simple, we singaporeans, goes there on to spend, be it petrol, food, clothes, cigarettes, VCDs, DVDs, entertainment so on and so forth, in economy terms, the SG $ is flowing out of the country.

M'sia govt, on the other hand, though "officially" doesn't encourge its countrymen to work overseas (in SG) but has no other choice to solve the country's unemployment issues, and Malaysia cannot pay their countrymen in Sg $, so although openly does not encourge, the Malaysia govt knows very well that by making clearance easier for its citizens, these hardworking guys lives would be made easier, and therefore bear less grudges to the govt.

Even Sg gvt encourges Malaysia to come here to fill the job vacancies of SG, which many S'poreans try to avoid. Car mechanics, bus drivers, waiters, factories workers, shipyard workers, wo malaysians, do u thk Sg govt can fill up those jobs vacancies, unless we import China workers by container loads.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"