extract from a email i have received from a friend.

THIS IS NOT THE 'DON'T BUY' PETROL FOR ONE DAY, BUT IT WILL SHOW YOU HOW CAR OWNERS CAN GET GASOLINE PRICE DOWN

This makes MUCH MORE SENSE than the 'don't buy gasoline on a certain day' campaign that was going around last year April or May! It's worth your effort to join the campaign !!!!

YOU want gasoline prices to come down ?

All we need to do is we must take some intelligent, UNITED ACTION NOW.

The oil companies laughed at us on last year 'Don't Buy Petrol For One day Campaign' because they knew we wouldn't continue to 'hurt' ourselves by refusing to buy gasoline. It was more of an inconvenience to us than it was a problem to the oil companies. This time is different, consumers have the power to bring down the price of goods! This is a plan that can really work.

We have been conditioned to think that the only way for the gasoline price is up, medias reporting brisk car sales in China and India, power hungry nations building more power plants to grow their economy, the growth of China and India will gobble up most of the world resources; oil reserve going down and depleting in 50 years time.

NOW we need to act together to show that BUYERS can control the marketplace... not sellers.

Here's the idea: For the rest of this year, DON'T buy gasoline from the two companies, some car owners being brain washed to use a particular brand of petrol in order to keep their car engines in tip top condition which is not true, any brand will work well for your cars, you can reconfirm this if you have a friend who is a petroleum engineer, If not, just fill up your tank with another brand which you never used before to confirm it.

When the two oil companies are not selling any gas for a week, they will be inclined to reduce their prices. If they reduce their prices, the other companies will have to follow suit; oil companies work like a cartel

Shadow rider. Class 2A

• Replies 36

seems logical,but than there are quite a number of people in singapore,even if the fuel price increase or erp increase,it will not affect them much:giddy:

I guess the rest would be able to support?Seems like with alot of people still going to jb to pump,u still can see how packed some of the petrol stations in singapore are....

i tink if every1 is stopped from going to jb i tink singpore petrol business will be a big boom....

http://www.parrotparrot.com/stopcruelty/cruelty1.gif

LOL.. even if all of SBF does it... i dun think it'll make any difference...

The petrol price are going crazy...Is like one month increases the price one time...When are they going to stop???

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

alright then... i propose ESSO.

and to further make our efforts known...

we will only pump at SPECIFIC esso stations across singapore.

1 in north, 1 in south.. so and so forth.

seriously... who are we for dem to even care....

unless half da world does it, den it'll probably make a diff...

jus my 2 cents worth

"at the end of the day, it's still the rider..."

and to top if off, u all go pump at one station, demand exceed supply of station drive price up oso, u guys muz pick another station to pump and so on so forth, so where is ur supposed effect?all prices will rise whether u like it or not because we dun control the oil prices, the OPEC do.

Buyers might be able to influence prices yes, but only through a MAJOR boycott of the goods. but the thing is u cant really boycott a neccessary good can u? Rice? Cooking Oil? Petrol/diesel? Electricity? Water? so how? Suck thumb and complain on the net/kopitiam lo. better yet, raise it up at ur next "meet the MP session" and tell us how it goes.

Trading Xbox 360 games. PM for any titles available for exchange.

rofl.... so i'm not alone feeling that this 'boycott 2 petrol companies' will not work.

sounds like some scam from one of the petrol companies..

ya agree ..

if only singapore boycott it makes no effect .. got to see in global instead of 1 little dot

its only going to increase.. there's almost no way we can stop the ever increasing petrol prices.. its about S$1.4+ per litre in a few cities at US now.. and even if per barrel price is going to fall.. they are not going to reduce the petroleum prices they charge us..

every1 have seen non stop increment of petroleum price they are charging consumers.. but have petroleum companies profits been reduced due to less pple buying petrol from them? definitely not.. cos its a necessity.. so y would they reduce the price..

i guess we just have to suck thumb..

this is definitely not a marketing scam from one of the petrol to attract more sales. If people think this method will works, the petrol companies will burn their fingers eventually

If it will not work, the marketing scam is useless.

And this is a friendly discussion, not planning anything bad. Please dun kill the topic!

Shadow rider. Class 2A

and to top if off, u all go pump at one station, demand exceed supply of station drive price up oso, u guys muz pick another station to pump and so on so forth, so where is ur supposed effect?all prices will rise whether u like it or not because we dun control the oil prices, the OPEC do.

we are saying choosing one company not one station. One station will definitely not meet the demand of singaporeans.

Shell has about 64 stations, ESSO has about 72 station and SPC has about 38 stations islandwide.

There should be enough to pump at one Company.

Shadow rider. Class 2A

jus choose to pump at ESSO can liao lol . and if possible jus pump at JB , so don even give them earn our $

Guest stages

let's join force..... we can try.... cause its keep shooting :( ......

i already didn;'t pump in SG for couple of years liao but they still increase $$$ le

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01767/Triumph_Tiger800-2_1767913c.jpg

RD125 TZR125 Phantom200 GSXR400 SRAD750 CBR1100XX FJR1300A GSR600 Tiger800

Maybe we should just not talk about it and get off our chairs to do something destructive...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/cna/cgi-bin/search/search_7days.pl?status=&search=indonesia%20&id=349119

JAKARTA: Indonesia ns took to the streets in angry protests over the soaring cost of food and a planned fuel price hike on Wednesday as economic concerns overshadowed the 10th anniversary of Suharto's fall.

Several demonstrations were under way across the country against the government's plans to raise the subsidised price of fuel by as much as 30 percent to protect the budget from record world oil prices.

Indonesia has seen almost daily protests against the fuel price plans and the rising cost of food in recent weeks, but tensions were higher on Wednesday on the 10th anniversary of the collapse of the Suharto regime.

- AFP/so

one thing singaporeans will never do is protest. Why? JUst look at our current situation. ERP rise everyone complain complain but nothing results from it. GST rise everyone kao bei kao bu but nothing results from it. We, Singaporeans are bounded to be "kopitiam" complain kings/queens until the point whr a certain party doesnt hold majority in PARLIAment.

You wan protest can...Apply license, but we dun issue u. haha...WTH right?

You wan show political movie to ur own friends and family, can..apply license. but we dun issue. (the recent case of the CHEEs)

And us being singaporeans, are afraid of future repercussions. if u protest, u get caught, ur future gone down drain. then how to work? how to get ur R1/CBR/GSXR???

wayne_shadow, So could u also try to go into sglorrydriver,Sgtaxi,Sgcar,Sgbus forum to inform them of ur plan? see whats their reaction. haha. The lao uncles will probably laugh at you for ur plan.

One thing is for sure, u boycott a company then the company can terminate operations here. its ok for them. singapore is a small market. no profit, shut down lo.. they can just maintain their refinery operations here like BP. so u only left 2 or 3 oil cos. in singapore. Then u continue boycott another one, so on so forth, the price will still rice/rise. its not competition driving price up, its just that the oil prices are finally beginning to rise up to true value.(according to some profs).

Oil is a global product. not some small market product. So boycott or not, its not going to work, PERIOD. but, i'll still like to see u try. haha. for the fun of it. oh, by the way, i pump shell. cannot sit down pump. i dun sit, because i must put centre stand. haha.

oh for ur info, saudi arabia already increase output by 900k barrels per day. (not very sure i read correctly anot but saudi holds 21% of oil.) so price may fall! haha... hope la hah. i pocket oso got hole liaoz.