We're getting close to a solution - it's part of proper pre-ride inspection to test the suspension. My front suspension is pretty much rock-hard and I get "damping" from the rubber on the grips and handlebar mounts.

It may be a deliberate 'tuning' act by the original bike shop since:

1. Under high speed hard braking I have compressed the forks all the way down until they bottomed out. Weight transfer was that extreme.

2. Stiff front/soft rear means understeer-biased handling tendencies which is good for cruising comfort and safety.

So to say with my present config I can either increase rear preload, decrease front damping (need to go bike shop for that and waste time haggling because F1 style rock-hard suspension NOT ok to me), or mod the headlight bracket.

Since I'm okay with the handling and the soft rear (this ain't a sportsbike) it makes sense a custom headlight would solve my problems.

Maybe when I get my front forks serviced I'll tell the next mech to reduce the damping. And then yes, excessive dive under braking occurs.

Ahh, the fun of physics. Just like discovering car tuning all over again.

• Replies 1.8k

the clinic is open 8 may 2010

time: 3pm

Itinerary:

1) grounding...cost per ground est. $5..could be cheaper(min. 5 pax to start.)

2)diy hazard lights ...still have 1 set left.

Wash + Chitchat

diner in sg . GP ..u decide

Checklist:

for washing..

Shampoo , cloths , polishing kit and patience

*bucket will be provided by Organiser only. *

Name List:

please show hands...idicate what u want to do..

1. mepkoh..grounding

2. Kalyan (maybe with secretary :p)->, Lexan windshield cleaning, lots o' chrome polish, kaypoh and bring pillows.. :cheeky:

i will source for colourful speaker cables..and ternimals...on wednesday at sim lim..

--

Here is some discussion on the benefits of a grounding kit

http://www.rx8club.com/showthread.php?t=73473

Yes I

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3

basically groundins maybe putting all common ground together?? i did 1 grounding only...

I'm not too convinced about dismantling various parts of my bike to add grounding cables; I've read about the benefits of a common ground but I'm happy with my bike as she is (stock with some functional accessories).

But if there's a demo installation going on I'd like to take a look and maybe buy the package from Mr. Koh if it doesn't involve too much surgery :)

I'm thinking of other DIY 'improvements' but they currently involve small stuff with cable ties, dismantling stuff for fun then putting them back... where to re-mount camera under the windscreen, etc.

I'm not too convinced about dismantling various parts of my bike to add grounding cables; I've read about the benefits of a common ground but I'm happy with my bike as she is (stock with some functional accessories).

But if there's a demo installation going on I'd like to take a look and maybe buy the package from Mr. Koh if it doesn't involve too much surgery :)

I'm thinking of other DIY 'improvements' but they currently involve small stuff with cable ties, dismantling stuff for fun then putting them back... where to re-mount camera under the windscreen, etc.

Hey bro, how's your windshield so far? Maybe you shud fabricate a fixture/pocket for mounting your camera/phone?

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

Hey bro, how's your windshield so far? Maybe you shud fabricate a fixture/pocket for mounting your camera/phone?

haass.. i be waiting for the next clinic to begin ;D

Bro, you'd installed windshield too?

i got a lousy windshield at home too ;DD only only

after working on several oilers...now i can make brackets out of aluminum rods..:angel: u can see my hand work on my bike..:angel:

Wah Mr Koh, you getting more innovative liao! Soon we have to browse thru your library of inventions! :thumb:

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

i got a lousy windshield at home too ;DD only only

Bro, if it serve it's purpose, it's not lousy! :cheers:

This is the time where I miss working in a workshop! All the machineries, materials, tools that we needed are there!!! I remembered machining a sets of balancer for my friend's bike! Hahaha... that was so long ago!

after working on several oilers...now i can make brackets out of aluminum rods..:angel: u can see my hand work on my bike..:angel:

wah!! so now what version is your oiler already??? Mine still using version 4 only.. working quite well still...

Bro, if it serve it's purpose, it's not lousy! :cheers:

haha.. but the whole shield will vibrate like mad!

yeah...workshop..

had a 200 hrs hands on course on various machineries...thos were the days...

u working same job as pureice?

mepkoh any other clinics open this coming week? :) i'm trying to get my brakepads changed this week and learn a tip or two.

the clinic meet is over...or rather cancelled this month..

vidak has just answered your brake replacement task.(in other threads)....i suggest u get him to supervise u for the replacement..

awww lol... but I am still having my exams... won't be free...

either way, uncle mepkoh, can I buy the last hazard light condenser from you...?

yeah..come over have coffee :angel:and collect...lah..:cheeky:

ok... maybe this friday or saturday... see how... :sweat:

Mr Koh, can I place a request for a "workshop" session at your place next weekend?

Not sure what the "top secret DIY project" will turn out like but I need to borrow some power tools :)

Wad's up your sleeves, bro?

misslies on bikes???