always wanted to learn more of my max. :smile:

if can, i will join you & learn 1 or 2 ideas on how to DIY my max. :smile:

buzz me @ 98778393 when you decided on which day to do the DIY. :thumb:

:giddy: i scare coc k up.......somemore i not sure of FI

:btw: anybody want a stator coil for the carb tmax? i have a brand new spare in hand, interested can pm me, cos this component confirm no stock 1

http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/6763/p1170016resizeqm6.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/8836/copyofnanshansoyamilkmame5.jpg

maxwell hawker centre :slurp:

• Replies 4.2k

:giddy: i scare coc k up.......somemore i not sure of FI

:btw: anybody want a stator coil for the carb tmax? i have a brand new spare in hand, interested can pm me, cos this component confirm no stock 1

http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/6763/p1170016resizeqm6.jpg

no problem for me as long as i can learn something. :smile:

http://photos-984.friendster.com/e1/photos/48/97/3507984/1_146825384l.jpg

ADVENTURE is taking inappropriate equipment to out-of-the-way places.

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/archive/articles/?Component=tcm:71-213931&PageTitle=2008%20TMAX:%20lighter%20and%20sleeker%20with%20new%20chassis&pageNum=1

2008 TMAX: lighter and sleeker with new chassis

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/SK04%20first_w_tcm71-229149.jpg

“The new TMAX is closer to a motorcycle than ever,” says Naoki Segawa, today in charge of Product Planning for Yamaha's scooter line up in Europe. The ingredients of this model’s improvements are a completely new chassis including an Aluminium frame and new suspension components as well as totally new bodywork.

----------------------------------------------------------------

2008 TMAX: lighter and sleeker with new chassis

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/tmax_action_01_m_tcm71-227385.jpg

He explains further: ” Bigger scooters certainly do have a good amount of stability already. But in our planning team, we felt, that the enthusiasts riding these big scooters today would like more of that motorcycle riding flavour as far as chassis behaviour is concerned. So with the new model we focused on this riding enjoyment and every modification was geared to give you that feel of motorcycle-like stability and handling. Our intention was in every aspect for customers to feel: Whoa I enjoy riding this machine”.

First TMAX was milestone

Back in 2000 when TMAX was launched, it was a break through and it is certainly a milestone model in the scooter category until today. It was the first scooter using motorcycle chassis technology, like a sturdy 41 mm front fork and a rigid mount twin engine with swing arm in a motorcycle style double cradle tubular steel chassis. This resulted in the sales of close to 100.000 units sold in Europe since its launch.

“To create such a successful model needs a lot of careful considerations. It is certainly not easy. But personally I found it even more demanding to work on a model change of something as iconic as the TMAX,” Naoki Segawa continues. He takes a sip from his Japanese teacup, filled with green tea from his home near Shizuoka. Thoughtfully he continues: ”We had a lot of controversial discussions in our team of what direction the new TMAX should go. Some people campaigned for a more radical TMAX, more close to a motorcycle, some others had the practical scooter aspects in mind and advocated for more comfort and protection. Finally we had to find the best possible balance between those ideas.”

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/45237%20PS_mp_tcm71-227255.jpghttp://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/tmax_line_01_mp_tcm71-225628.jpg

Best balance of sport and comfort

The fine balance of the new model appears in the alternating effects of certain body parts and functional items. The new TMAX face and front fairing looks bigger than before. Although it is just a little bigger in real size, it offers improved rider protection. On the other hand the total size of the scooter is pretty much the same. “We did not want to increase the dimensions of the bike, since compactness is the key when filtering in city traffic,” says Segawa. When you sit in the saddle of the new TMAX, it becomes evident, that the sporty qualities have increased at the same pace with comfort items. The riding position is more motorcycle like, the rider is seated closer to the handlebar and is positioned in the centre of the vehicle. This contributes to improved handling and stability.

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/tmax_frame_01_mp_tcm71-225633.jpghttp://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/tmax_naked_01%20PS%20huge%20left_mp_tcm71-227261.jpg

Chassis character like a sport motorcycle

When you ride the new TMAX on twisty roads with bad surface, you quickly realise where the improvements are. The scooter feels stable like a motorcycle and literally swallows bumps. Even when pushing it hard, unlike typical scooter behaviour, when the front wheel is directed into the corner, the new TMAX stays precise on course. No wobble, no shaking, just like what you would expect from a good motorcycle, not necessarily from a scooter.

The reason for this lies under the new bodywork: A completely new frame, which replaces the original tubular steel unit, is constructed from a mix of extruded aluminium sections and cast aluminium sections formed by Yamaha’s exclusive CF die-casting technology. This composite design allowed Yamaha to create a lighter frame with an ideal rigidity balance that delivers both excellent motorcycle like handling characteristics and stability and helped reduce the bike’s weight by 5 kg.

The front fork has increased diameter from 41 to 43 mm, a different spring rate and stronger triple clamps. Together with the increased front wheel size (from 14 to 15 inch), this front end accounts for increased preciseness in cornering and better stability at higher speed.

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/brake_front_mp_tcm71-225638.jpghttp://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/tmax_brakelever_mp_tcm71-225643.jpg

It corners like a sport bike

“Quite honestly speaking, when you ride it on small winding roads, you forget it is a scooter. This new TMAX just handles like a sports bike and it brakes like a sports bike”, says Segawa with a smile on his face. Indeed, the new brake callipers are coming straight from the motorcycle parts shelf, the same four-pot mono block brake calliper used in Yamaha sports bikes are mounted to the new fork tubes. The newly designed brake master cylinder with increased piston diameter creates enough pressure on the pads of the two callipers to achieve enormous stopping power. And like on a sports bike, the brake lever has an adjuster for 5 different positions.

After all, the new chassis makes the new TMAX more motorcycle like regarding road holding and braking. Another positive effect of the new sporty chassis: even on cobblestone roads in city traffic, the new suspension absorbs bumps and contributes significantly to rider comfort.

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/DSC_3049%20PS%20huge%20left_mp_tcm71-227267.jpghttp://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/DSC_3165%20PS%20med_mp_tcm71-227273.jpg

Comfort not forgotten

“TMAX is largely used as a commuter. So comfort and user-friendly features have to be part of the concept, not only the sporty strength.” knows Segawa. The increased rider protection with a relatively high windshield contributes to these values. Also the inner panel has two glove compartments now instead of only one, even including a card holder for highway toll tickets or toll cards for example. The seat is hinged at the rear part and opens to the rear in order to improve loading the luggage compartment underneath. “We could manage to keep the luggage compartment same size than before and increase the fuel tank from 14 to 15 litre capacity.” says project leader Tomoo Taira.

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/45235%20PS_mp_tcm71-227279.jpg

Engine with improvements

“A serious discussion point was, if to change the engine”, explains project leader Taira. “However to increase engine capacity would have resulted in a bigger size engine and consequently the scooter would have become bigger in size and certainly heavier. But our main focus was lighter weight and improved light feel handling. Also the total size should not increase to keep TMAX a slim and agile vehicle in city traffic. So we finally decided to keep the existing TMAX engine, and improve on it.” A new air induction system and throttle body together with a newly designed exhaust system increased engine response. The clutch springs have been modified to improve starting acceleration. Certainly a benefit to escape from traffic when the traffic lights turn green! Together with a modified mapping in the ECU control unit, the new TMAX offers better acceleration from start as well as improved passing acceleration and it complies with the new EU3 emission regulations.

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/tmax_cockpit_02%20PS_mp_tcm71-227364.jpg

High value interior design

“What I personally like very much, apart from the technical improvements, is the new dashboard and interior design,” concludes Segawa. “The inner leg shield area with the central ignition key just looks more rewarding and the instrument panel offers more information with its speedometer as the central information unit.”

“Finally we have achieved an even better balance between motorcycle performance and scooter comfort”, concludes project leader Taira .“I hope our customers and in particular our TMAX enthusiasts will appreciate its new strength.”

The 2008 TMAX continues the original theme of duality, its in-depth development programme conceived to enhance its commuter functionality, sports bike performance, touring bike comfort and environmental credentials.

These are the main changes:

Chassis & body:

1. New Aluminium die cast frame.

2. Sport style exterior.

3. New 15inch front wheel.

4. Four pot mono block front brake callipers.

5. Adjustable brake lever.

6. Rear hinge seat opening system.

7. New instrument panel.

Engine:

1. Intake layout is changed.

2. New muffler.

3. Clutch setting is changed.

4. ECU is changed.

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/Sk01_mp_tcm71-229124.jpghttp://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/Sk02_mp_tcm71-229130.jpg http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/designcafe/en/Images/Sk03_mp_tcm71-229136.jpg

Sketches during TMAX 2008 development

Very detailed explanations and excellent sales pitch!! :thumb:

so when u buying??? :faint:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Very detailed explanations and excellent sales pitch!! :thumb:

so when u buying??? :faint:

He put in so much work n research on his current CArb Max u tink he will change meh..lol..he said b4 in previous posts that not tempting enough to make him wanna change..but cheeko,i read frm somewhr hor,the new max top speed is 190km/hr leh..meaning 10km/hr faster leh..lol..lighter means less fuel consumption and 1 litre bigger tank n remap ecu blah blah blah etc.. :angel:

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Current : Tmax 530

Found 1 more exhaust..French brand..liked by japanese as well..behold...

Devil

http://www.devil.fr/images/com/moto/motos/1834_z.jpg

Any 1 know this place?

Distributor

Distributeur : SMI Distributors

Range

Gamme : Road and Off-Road Route et Tout Terrain

Address

Adresse : 246 Onan Road 424627 - SINGAPORE

Phone

Téléphone : 97337796

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

He put in so much work n research on his current CArb Max u tink he will change meh..lol..he said b4 in previous posts that not tempting enough to make him wanna change..but cheeko,i read frm somewhr hor,the new max top speed is 190km/hr leh..meaning 10km/hr faster leh..lol..lighter means less fuel consumption and 1 litre bigger tank n remap ecu blah blah blah etc.. :angel:

:thumb: yo swing777, u noe me too well eh! Still looking at the new tmax internals. For FI most headache is kena those funny disnosgtic error code then can't find out where is the problem, the electronics also bunch of headache if got problem. Sure to be very expensive to rectify, at least my carb is mostly mechanical, easy to troubleshoot

Found 1 more exhaust..French brand..liked by japanese as well..behold...

Devil

http://www.devil.fr/images/com/moto/motos/1834_z.jpg

Any 1 know this place?

Distributor

Distributeur : SMI Distributors

Range

Gamme : Road and Off-Road Route et Tout Terrain

Address

Adresse : 246 Onan Road 424627 - SINGAPORE

Phone

Téléphone : 97337796

its around joo chiat area. :smile:

http://www.streetdirectory.com/singapore.cgi?x=35474.5110&y=32554.2590&star=1&level=6&sizex=430&sizey=555

Courtesy of Streetdirectory.com

Yo swing777, finally after so many years, Ohlins has come out with an aftermarket rear suspension for the tmax500. Quality as usual looks very good. I believe road holding will improve very much to the already stable tmax. U guys can go mah to check it out

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/8702/monogz7.gif

http://www.motostorm.it/images/monoammortizzatori/mono_tmax.jpg

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/6667/28062007419zv3.jpg

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/8510/28062007420ci5.jpg

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/6789/28062007418pq5.jpg

http://www.thornbikes.com/medias2/T-Max/T-Max%20compresseur%20(8-2).jpg

Yo swing777, finally after so many years, Ohlins has come out with an aftermarket rear suspension for the tmax500. Quality as usual looks very good. I believe road holding will improve very much to the already stable tmax. U guys can go mah to check it out

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/8702/monogz7.gif

http://www.motostorm.it/images/monoammortizzatori/mono_tmax.jpg

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/6667/28062007419zv3.jpg

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/8510/28062007420ci5.jpg

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/6789/28062007418pq5.jpg

http://www.thornbikes.com/medias2/T-Max/T-Max%20compresseur%20(8-2).jpg

Cheeko, you mean Mah Pte is the distributor for Ohlins? :confused:

they have the suspension in store now? :confused:

actually in euro country quite long ago have alrdy..i now contacting a store which has everything for tmax..mostly pre 08 models..let u all know when cfm..

Here's the webbie..can use babelfish to translate the web page..i will put on a few examples of the webby..

Brake Pump Covers - http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=it_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.magazzinirossi.it%2fmoto%2ftmax_coperchi.php

Tmax Grips - http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=it_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.magazzinirossi.it%2fmoto%2findex.php%3fcont%3dSCHEDA%26id_prodotto%3d3395

Replacement mirrors with yamaha logo - http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=it_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.magazzinirossi.it%2fmoto%2findex.php%3fcont%3dSCHEDA%26id_prodotto%3d3877

Front Fender in Carbon - http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=it_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.magazzinirossi.it%2fmoto%2findex.php%3fcont%3dSCHEDA%26id_prodotto%3d3520

Racing Pistons - http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=it_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.magazzinirossi.it%2fmoto%2findex.php%3fcont%3dSCHEDA%26id_prodotto%3d3719

Ohlins Rear Shock - http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=it_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.magazzinirossi.it%2fmoto%2findex.php%3fcont%3dSCHEDA%26id_prodotto%3d3929

Exhaust Range - http://www.magazzinirossi.it/moto/tmax_scarichi.php

Just to name afew..loads more like naked bar set up etc etc..got time u all slowly browse..

Now i looking for the best low end exhaust for 08 and dunno R6 fork can fit 08 model anot..if u guys have info,let me know..

Just to name afew..loads more like naked bar set up etc etc..got time u all slowly browse..

Now i looking for the best low end exhaust for 08 and dunno R6 fork can fit 08 model anot..if u guys have info,let me know..

haha..... let the cat out of the bag liaoz lah .... so that means u confirmed buying the '08 model loh .... :p

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

he's the soul of this thread leh. :cheeky:

once he comes back, all appear. :cheeky:

u can drop by to pay them a visit

Sporting is the distributor for Olins in Singapore. Dun think they have it in stock. Cos no demand.

Bitubo rear shock for Tmax cost abt $1300. Inclusive of installation.

Setting adjustments :

- Length

- Spring preload

- Rebound

- Compression

Available for all Yamaha T-Max model Years 2001 - 2007

http://80.68.199.26/bitubo_images/T_max2web.jpg

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Sporting is the distributor for Olins in Singapore. Dun think they have it in stock. Cos no demand.

Setting adjustments :

- Length

- Spring preload

- Rebound

- Compression

Oh... but its not direct from mezzo right? :confused:

cannot tell u here. classified stuffs. haha

TEAM RedBull Singapore

cannot tell u here. classified stuffs. haha

the ohlins looks tempting. :slurp:

got spring some more. :lovestruck:

order yours now la..must wait 1 wo..just nice for MHS trip..1300 is quite cheap wo..

Setting adjustments :

- Length

- Spring preload

- Rebound

- Compression

seems that the Ohlins should be better or more EX.... looks of it... perhaps ard $1,500-$1,800.... ?? :faint:

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

An Olins for super bikes cost abt 2k plus. Not surprising if the Tmax one cost abt the same. Not forgetting the rear shock system setup, Olins & Bitubo build for Tmax is the same as super bikes. - Spring preload - Rebound - Compression

TEAM RedBull Singapore

order yours now la..must wait 1 wo..just nice for MHS trip..1300 is quite cheap wo..

An Olins for super bikes cost abt 2k plus. Not surprising if the Tmax one cost abt the same. Not forgetting the rear shock system, Olins & Bitubo build for Tmax is the same as super bikes. - Spring preload - Rebound - Compression

waiting for the combi price. :cheeky:

think i will keep my Max till COE ends bro's. :lovestruck:

souping up all the safety aspect. :cheeky:

Bitubo & Braking setup.

Safe & comfortable ride.

Wat a peace of mind.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

souping up all the safety aspect. :cheeky:

Bitubo & Braking setup.

Safe & comfortable ride.

Wat a peace of mind.

GUys, just seeking some opinions here....

i mean i do see alot of people trying to "mod" their bikes (say TMAX for eg), but i'm wondering certain things, is there really a NEED to do? like for example, changing the brake rotors, discs and suspensions etc (all to aftermarket ones)?

Especially when the bikes are rather new, say less than 3 yrs old... of course changing pipes is for a different set of reasons....

but when the reasons are for so-called "safety" reasons.. ??

i do believe that the yamahas & hondas have done their R&D, and the bikes are suitable for their "standard" usage. unless say one really pushes their bikes to the max, thrashing their bikes to their limits, then perhaps can justify the NEED to change to steelbraided hoses, brembo brakes, Ohlins suspension etc...

just tink that more often than not, the actual reasons is: just wannna be different fr the rest, got lots of $$ to spare, nothing better to do, or, if that thing's expensive, probably its much better than the stock....

i mean, when the TMAX is so darn new, is there really a need to change those stuff?? hmm.... hope i've not opened up a pandora box and kenna flaming.... :giddy:

but i seriously do believe that the stock machine would probably justify the needs of (perhaps) 80% of the rider's riding style (habits)...

haha, i also fall into the above "trap", saw the PC3 USB for sale on ebay, any purpose to buy it if i'm not changing my pipes?? hahah ... Bo Liao rite?? :sian:

Cheers :thumb:

Jim Rogers-19/20/08