[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

Hi guys, any idea how to Manual start the TA200? I can't start my bike electrically now! I keep getting the tick tick sound on the right side of the bike. I guess it means bat low but now I can;t even start to get it to the work shop!

HELPS!

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=how%20to%20push%20start%20a%20motorcycle

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

• Replies 1.8k

Hi guys, any idea how to Manual start the TA200? I can't start my bike electrically now! I keep getting the tick tick sound on the right side of the bike. I guess it means bat low but now I can;t even start to get it to the work shop!

HELPS!

push start? can find google for it... first time do usually very tiring one...

or jio your rider friend to push ur bike with their bike... den u throw ur clutch... =D

Do what's right, not what you think is right. =)

nah... changing the brake kit to higher end ones is too extreme for phantom... now my rear brake is too harsh already... :cheeky:

that depends on how you ride actually ;)

HELPS!

Push start! I reckon I've to do on mine the next time I try to ride :sweat:

i dont have to worry about it....my place comes with push start facility..but for 1 try only..

no samullah...

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

nop... just throw clutch can le.. dun need to press the switch!

i think somewhere here got teach...

but lotsa warning such as bike ran off cos too much throttle, clutch nv clutch in after engine starting, wheel roll over toes.. ahaha.. lotsa such stuff.. do be careful~ =)

Do what's right, not what you think is right. =)

jB> keep up the good work for updating the problems, reasons and solutions post summary.

.....:bouncefire: Reminder to all riders including myself:- Ride safely. Wear proper attire. Do not rush :bouncefire: .........

sian was riding quite fast jus now, around 100, then traffic light turned yellow, so kinda did an e brake, with "manual brake system" haha. but then the prob was i only did it with the front brake, and not the rear brake. before coming to a stop, my pillion and i both heard a pop sound, kinda similar to a punctured tire. checked the air pressue and it was fine. on the way back, friend noticed a screeching sound coming from the rear of the bike. when coming to a halt, or when doing a turn, also noticed a weird heavy grinding sound. was thinking whether the rear wheel alignment is off. any advise?

appreciate for reading!

sian was riding quite fast jus now, around 100, then traffic light turned yellow, so kinda did an e brake, with "manual brake system" haha. but then the prob was i only did it with the front brake, and not the rear brake. before coming to a stop, my pillion and i both heard a pop sound, kinda similar to a punctured tire. checked the air pressue and it was fine. on the way back, friend noticed a screeching sound coming from the rear of the bike. when coming to a halt, or when doing a turn, also noticed a weird heavy grinding sound. was thinking whether the rear wheel alignment is off. any advise?

appreciate for reading!

Hi weian, had similar encounter like yours..

the pop sound u heard most proably result of sudden decline of speed..

as for the grinding sound,u may wanna check ur brake pad..

if its botak, it will start grinding the metal plate of brake pad..

if persists u may needa change the whole brake clamp thingy instead of the brake pad =)

Dave

thanks mepkoh (typed meepok initially, haha) and dave!

in fact, i just had my rear disc pad changed only recently, so shouldnt be botak so fast. maybe it's the clamp as u said. will go down to chong when free. thanks again!

saddened.

appreciate for reading!

Have you solve the problem, do tell us what causes.

For my past experience, the rear brake pump jammed after a 'POP' sound, like punctured sound indeed. Then the rear brake cannot be applied, bike was like someone holding the bike from behind, have to trottle a lot to go forward, it was since the brake pads cramped to the disc. Can diy to release some brake fluid but went to mechanic straight. Ride real slow because don't want the burning smell of the brake pad. In the end changed a new rear brake pump, can't recall how much.

eh, i continued riding and the problem SEEMS to me that it has went away. my rear brake didnt jam or anything like that. but for some time after the incident, whenever i do a turning or cornering, the weird sound still occurs. but i THINK and FEEl all is good now. hopefully. :D

UPZ FOR GREAT INFO.

Problem 1: Exhaust emitting white smoke.

Reason: Engine oil is leaking into your chamber.

Solution: Pistol rings needs to be changed. Go to a bike workshop.

Reason: Your bike has a 2 stroke engine(ta150).

Solution: Its normal.

Problem 2: Engine stalls in heavy rain and unable / weak to start.

Reason: Spark plug could be getting wet by the rain causing it not not function

Solution: Remove, dry the spark plug and put it back properly. Go get the plug cap replaced.

Reason: Air fuel mixture may be too rich or lean.

Solution: Tune your carb to a leaner setting (turn screw anti-clockwise by 1/4).

Reason: Air leakages.

Solution: Change some of the rubber parts in tank.

Reason: Air filter clogged.

Solution : Get your air filter changed.

Problem 3: Flat / Punctured Tyres

Solution: Try to inflate tyre with portable pump / bicycle pump then go bike or tyre shop. DO NOT ride on flat tyres as they may damage your tyre or wheel.

Solution: Use tyre repair kit, plug and pump = good to go. Kit can be bought at LAB.

Problem 4: Cannot / Hard to start bike

Reason: Battery may be weak (confirmed by a tick sound from the right side cover under the seat).

Solution: Push Start(Clutch in after running with bike, release, give a quick throttle and clutch in) and go get battery replaced or ride to charge(if still can be charged).

Reason: Fuse may be blown.

Solution: Check Fuse. Fuse is located on right side of bike. Remove chrome cover under the seat and see. Look out for the centre of the fuse if its broken then FUSED lor. Change new one.

Reason: Bike is in gear, kill switch is on, no petrol.

Solution: Obvious.

Reason: Rectifier issue (despite new battery, bike soon becomes hard to start again)

Solution: Get mechanic to check with a voltage meter. Ah chong has one.

Reason: Petrol topped up too full - Don't laugh.

Solution: The petrol tank is not meant to be filled to the brim. Leave some space for air.

Reason: Water in petrol

Solution: Check that fuel cap is secure and no leaks

Others:

- Check ignition coil for sparks.

- Check magneto coil.

Problem 5: Cant go more den 80 km/h

Reason: You are not in the 6th gear

Solution: Down 1 time 1st gear. up 5 times to sixth gear

Reason: If confirm no 6th gear, gear box may be in bad shape

Solution: Go to a reputable workshop for a checkup, may need to over haul.

Reason: Insufficient Engine Oil (Very bad)

Solution: Check with dipstick as according to manual. Buy Engine Oil from petrol kiosk and top up.

Reason: Clutch may have been worn off (Engine reving very high but no power to go any faster)

Solution: Bike shop chance clutch.

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich (Crazy vibrations at higher revs making it too uncomfortable)

Solution: Tune air fuel mixture leaner (Turn screw anti-clockwise 1/2 - 1 round)

Reason: Sprocket may be worn off

Solution: Change sprocket and chain.

Problem 6: Weird sound on my bike

Reason: Might be battery low. (Ticking sound on right side when start button depressed)

Solution: Push start, change battery

Reason: If sound is on gearbox side, chain may be too slack

Solution: Check your chain tension 1st. Should have about 2 to 3cm slack, tested at the center of the bottom span of the chain. Anything more, get it tightened. Also, lubricate your chain.

Problem 7: - Exhaust Header got holes. Can repair?

Reason: Got one specific hole which is ok.

Solution: If unsure, post some pictures.

Problem 8: - Engine oil Dip stick broken (Broken part might be in engine)

Solution:

- Send to bikeshop.

- New dipstick costs around $11.

Problem 9: I have tried everything but to no avail. Any tow numbers please?

Solution:

- 67474740 Tiko cheong.

- 64560018 Wing Yap.

- 97384501 => Hello, you the tua chia one?

Problem 10: Engine Part Leaking Oil

Reason: Gasket Spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it replaced

Reason: Cam chain tensioner spoilt.

Problem 11: When riding, bike lean to one side. Let go of handlebar, steering was shaky and wobbling

Reason: Might be steering cone problem.

Solution: Go bike shop to get it fixed. May also need re-alignment.

Reason: Wheel bearings spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it changed.

Reason: Wheel alignment might have problem.

Solution: Bike shop, get it fixed.

Problem 12: Speedo is not working

Reason: The cable, or the gear at the end of the cable is spoilt or loose.

Solution: If loose, plug it back or tighten. Else needs replacement, go bike shop.

Reason: Speedo spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop.

Problem 13: My exhaust gives have a loud bang regularly. (Backfire)

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich or too lean.

Solution: Retune the carb.

Problem 14: I lost my bike Key!!! What to do??

Solution: Go find the key smith.

Solution: If want to change ignition, look for Ah Chong (Planet) or scrapyard.

Problem 15: Bike pickup super slow. Even slower than small cc cars.

Reason: Clutch is worn

Solution: Change your clutch plates.

Problem 16: Damaged Exhaust: Header got hole / Muffler loose or dropping.

Solution: Header got hole can weld it up.

Solution: Muffler dropping can cut open the pipe and take it out but pipe will sound louder.

Solution: Alternatively can change the whole system, pipe + header, about 300+-.

Problem 17: Hard to kick the gears

Solution: Change or top up EO.

Solution: Change clutch plate.

Problem 18: When cold start, bike got "tick tick" sound

Reason: cam chain tensioner spoilt.

Solution: Change the cam chain tensioner.

Solution: If its rattling sound instead of "tick tick" sound, bring bike to mechanic.

Problem 19: Bike wobble for no apparent reason.

Reason: Might have problem with wheel bearings or tyre pressure.

Solution: Check that the tyre pressure is correct.

Solution: If tyre pressure is correct, most probably is the bearing spoilt.

Solution:Change new bearings.

Problem 20: In Vehicle Unit (IU) Spoilt.

Reason: There is a whole lot of reason, old, water seep in, etc etc.

Solution: But a second hand IU but need to transfer name.

Solution: Buy a new IU at $155.80 w GST.

Solution: Don't go into carparks or go through ERP.

Problem 21: Weak Battery.

Reason: Battery old. Cannot charge or hold properly. etc etc

Solution: Recharge the battery (Wet), Dry ones cannot be recharged?.

Solution: Most people change batteries instead of recharging.

Solution: If leaving bike alone for a long time, disconnect the battery to prevent further unnecessary drainage.

Problem 22: Need to step real hard for brake lights to light up.

Reason: There is a knob for adjustment, it might be loose

Solution: There is a black screw lookalike plastic knob( near the spring) located somewhere near the rear brake pedal. u can play around with the knob by turning to adjust the sensitivity of your rear brake when you apply brake.

Problem 23: IU Spoilt.

Reason: No reason in particular. If its spoilt, its spoilt.

Solution: Inspect at Vicom. Replace a new one if under warranty. If not, have to buy a new one at about $155 (Slim).

Thanks for upping list, I don't think phantom only has 23 common problems? :rolleyes:

well you can always contribute to the list

++ Reason: If everything is working fine CDI might be spoilt

Solution: Tow to shop and change..2nd hand one will cause app $100 1st hand $200+

22/10/2009--20/01/2010 TA-150

20/01/2010--28/08/2010 KSR-110

28/08/2010--??? NSR *wink* *wink*

UPZ FOR GREAT INFO.

Solution: Remove, dry the spark plug and put it back properly. Go get the plug cap replaced.

Solution: Tune your carb to a leaner setting (turn screw anti-clockwise by 1/4).

Solution: Try to inflate tyre with portable pump / bicycle pump then go bike or tyre shop. DO NOT ride on flat tyres as they may damage your tyre or wheel.

Solution: Use tyre repair kit, plug and pump = good to go. Kit can be bought at LAB.

Reason: Battery may be weak (confirmed by a tick sound from the right side cover under the seat).

Solution: Push Start(Clutch in after running with bike, release, give a quick throttle and clutch in) and go get battery replaced or ride to charge(if still can be charged).

Solution: Check Fuse. Fuse is located on right side of bike. Remove chrome cover under the seat and see. Look out for the centre of the fuse if its broken then FUSED lor. Change new one.

Reason: Rectifier issue (despite new battery, bike soon becomes hard to start again)

Solution: The petrol tank is not meant to be filled to the brim. Leave some space for air.

Solution: Tow to shop and change..2nd hand one will cause app $100 1st hand $200+

Others:

- Check magneto coil.

Solution: Check with dipstick as according to manual. Buy Engine Oil from petrol kiosk and top up.

Reason: Clutch may have been worn off (Engine reving very high but no power to go any faster)

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich (Crazy vibrations at higher revs making it too uncomfortable)

Solution: Tune air fuel mixture leaner (Turn screw anti-clockwise 1/2 - 1 round)

Reason: Might be battery low. (Ticking sound on right side when start button depressed)

Solution: Check your chain tension 1st. Should have about 2 to 3cm slack, tested at the center of the bottom span of the chain. Anything more, get it tightened. Also, lubricate your chain.

Solution:

- Send to bikeshop.

Solution:

- 67474740 Tiko cheong.

- 64560018 Wing Yap.

Problem 11: When riding, bike lean to one side. Let go of handlebar, steering was shaky and wobbling

Solution: If loose, plug it back or tighten. Else needs replacement, go bike shop.

Solution: Retune the carb.

Solution: Muffler dropping can cut open the pipe and take it out but pipe will sound louder.

Solution: Alternatively can change the whole system, pipe + header, about 300+-.

Solution: If its rattling sound instead of "tick tick" sound, bring bike to mechanic.

Solution: If leaving bike alone for a long time, disconnect the battery to prevent further unnecessary drainage.

Solution: There is a black screw lookalike plastic knob( near the spring) located somewhere near the rear brake pedal. u can play around with the knob by turning to adjust the sensitivity of your rear brake when you apply brake.

Solution: Inspect at Vicom. Replace a new one if under warranty. If not, have to buy a new one at about $155 (Slim).

22/10/2009--20/01/2010 TA-150

20/01/2010--28/08/2010 KSR-110

28/08/2010--??? NSR *wink* *wink*

probabbly ill fitting or disc and pads. keep checking your disc.. might have cracks in time to come if not rectified.

hi there hydher,

i found out the issue already, it was due to the lousy brakepad supplied by the "friendly shop" along the road of queensway shopping centre. right outside the bus stop. i spent over $400 on china parts (which they claimed to be honda original). and yet more problems resulted from it. i strongly do not advise anybody to get it from there.

it's long this road, http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&q=&vps=2&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=38.502405,79.013672&ie=UTF8&geocode=FcGkEwAd5egvBg&split=0

byon you selling your phantom already ar? think i saw your post somewhere.

nope i'm using it for transport.. i was intending to rent it to people who wants to use it for weekdays.

Hi there, i've updated the list.

Phantom TA200/TA150 List of Problems and Solution

Others:

- Check magneto coil.

Solution:

- Send to bikeshop.

Solution:

- 67474740 Tiko cheong.

- 64560018 Wing Yap.

Solution: Retune the carb. (check problem 24)

Problem 24: Backfire tooooo frequent. Like 3-5 times a day. Or when u stop normally, not even sudden brake.

Reason: Gasket at exhaust head leaking air. Or #2, Exhaust has holes

Solution: Replace gasket. Or #2, send it to Planet Motor (ahchong) to weld the holes, or get a second-hand exhaust or get one cheaper exhaust at LAB (must make order)

Edited by byon
neater? updating the list