• Replies 174

Bro_Isk Newbie Tutorial Is BACK!

6th December, Saturday.

Contact bro_isk @ 92468571 for details.

Reminder: Only For New Faces & First Time Trail Riders

Time & Location Discreet.

Registration Via SMS Only.

-please sms/pm the followings for verification purposes:

*Name-Nick

*Bike Model

*Date of licence obtained/ Date purchase of dirtbike

*Contact No.

*MSN

Those participants who've attended my previous Newbie Tutorial V, please be present. I will be issueing the "Bro_Isk Trail Newbie Tutorial Guide" to u guys as promised.

Alamak miss this collection of the newbie guide...so when's the next collection?

http://www.bikehk.com/photo/2005/p004233/001.jpg

My past n present ride...

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

1998 - CBR400RRR (FP6854H) / Skipper125 (FL8169K)

1999 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / RVF400 (FQ7918X) / LC125 (FB9950)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2001 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / TZM 150 (FS4806U) / Daihatsu Hijet (GM3346G)

2002 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Toyota Starlet EP80 (SBR6249S)

2003 - Skipper125 (FL8196K) / XR200R (FS7249H)/ CBR900 (FJ76H)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2006 - Atlantic200 (FZ5576H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Tucson (SGC1185U)

2007 - DRZ400SM (FBBXXXX) / SWIFT SPORT (SGNXXXX)

Next - ....350Z???

Event: Bro_Isk Trail : Newbie Tutorial IX

Rain Or Shine, The Ride Will Still Go On.

Date: 11th July 2009, Saturday

Time: 8am - 12pm (KIV)

Level : Strictly For First Time Trail Riders Only (No Experience Riders Allowed)

Meetup Location : via SMS nearer to date.

*Need to register via SMS with the following format to be verified as a new trail rider.

Newbie Tutorial[sPACE]NAME[sPACE]BIKEMODEL[sPACE]PLATE-NUMBER to 96690472

Newbie Tutorial VII Report

Edited by bro_isk

http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee218/deryiu/newbie1.jpg

Past Rides: WR200(2004-2005), WaveS125(2005-2006), WR200(2006-2007), XR400(2006-2007),GN125(2007-2007),KTM200(2007-2007), XR400(2007-2008), Gilera200(2008-2008), Vespa(2008-2008).

Current Ride: XR400 & WR200

hi bro_isk,

its great of u 2 start dis! but is the trainer certified 2 instruct in off road riding? is of not good 2 the newbies if dat the proper instruction is not given n bad habits r form. dis would not be a good thing!

I doing this posting is just to share some other ways of learning how to ride.

I remember years ago when i just started off-road riding, its more sort of like observe what people do and then just try it, and sometimes when i ask them they also dun know how to put it in words.

I do often notice that alot of riders like to stick out their inside leg while cornering, from my own understanding its more sort of like the sticking leg can use to kick the ground if we corner too low and about to fall.

Then 1 fine day i happen to found this book while browsing at Borders Bookstore.

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs185.snc1/6173_113206009458_776674458_2923101_5574292_n.jpg

Then i realise the whole new meaning of sticking out a leg while cornering. I learn about how to do it correctly from this book.

For me i think learning from books and watching motocross videos, observing their small little details action is not a bad idea too.

Edited by Tricker

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w221/tricker_juan/Tricker/DSC00476.jpg?t=1177510513

I Been riding her since 2005:angel:

Event: Bro_Isk Trail : Newbie Tutorial IX

Rain Or Shine, The Ride Will Still Go On.

Date: 11th July 2009, Saturday

Time: 8am - 12pm (KIV)

Level : Strictly For First Time Trail Riders Only (No Experience Riders Allowed)

Meetup Location : via SMS nearer to date.

*Need to register via SMS with the following format to be verified as a new trail rider.

Newbie Tutorial[sPACE]NAME[sPACE]BIKEMODEL[sPACE]PLATE-NUMBER to 96690472

Newbie Tutorial VII Report

Past Rides: WR200(2004-2005), WaveS125(2005-2006), WR200(2006-2007), XR400(2006-2007),GN125(2007-2007),KTM200(2007-2007), XR400(2007-2008), Gilera200(2008-2008), Vespa(2008-2008).

I doing this posting is just to share some other ways of learning how to ride.

I remember years ago when i just started off-road riding, its more sort of like observe what people do and then just try it, and sometimes when i ask them they also dun know how to put it in words.

I do often notice that alot of riders like to stick out their inside leg while cornering, from my own understanding its more sort of like the sticking leg can use to kick the ground if we corner too low and about to fall.

Then 1 fine day i happen to found this book while browsing at Borders Bookstore.

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs185.snc1/6173_113206009458_776674458_2923101_5574292_n.jpg

Then i realise the whole new meaning of sticking out a leg while cornering. I learn about how to do it correctly from this book.

For me i think learning from books and watching motocross videos, observing their small little details action is not a bad idea too.

yes,dats 1 way of learning but sometimes wat u think u r doing may not be wat u r doing! exp: putting yr leg out 2 weigh the front wheel is yr leg high enough,is yr knee in the proper contact spot with the tank/shroud...minor things like dat make a world of difference.

but glad 2 see u now understand there is more 2 dirt riding than juz sticking the foot out! :thumb:

ps..i have out the hands positions on purpose! LOL!

2 many internet racers and not enough real racers in s g!

yes,dats 1 way of learning but sometimes wat u think u r doing may not be wat u r doing! exp: putting yr leg out 2 weigh the front wheel is yr leg high enough,is yr knee in the proper contact spot with the tank/shroud...minor things like dat make a world of difference.

but glad 2 see u now understand there is more 2 dirt riding than juz sticking the foot out! :thumb:

ps..i have out the hands positions on purpose! LOL!

Its call textbook style riding, and i think its suits me.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w221/tricker_juan/Tricker/DSC00476.jpg?t=1177510513

I Been riding her since 2005:angel:

A successful & enjoyable ride for new riders.

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs173.snc1/6495_96673173039_562333039_2099774_2750715_n.jpg

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs173.snc1/6495_96673178039_562333039_2099775_2950434_n.jpg

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs173.snc1/6495_96674238039_562333039_2099796_1171456_n.jpg

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs193.snc1/6495_96674253039_562333039_2099799_2801930_n.jpg

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs173.snc1/6495_96674728039_562333039_2099830_6078211_n.jpg

I am really surprised by all the unhappy comments being directed towards our brother Bro_isk with regards to him conducting a "mini experiential learning clinic" for newbies.

From what I understand everyone has good intentions about the safety and the quality of knowledge and skills being passed-on to the newbies. The goals are the same but so much complaints(typical of singaporean) and disrespect about how those things are being conducted. Pointing at worn out tyres lah, safety lah, proper knowledge lah...etc....etc.

Actually its the fact of life to point fingers and dig out faults from others. Everyone can do that until the cows comes home and it still won't be over. By the time u're finished(due to fatigue), everyone would have realised they could have done something better in their life rather than finding mistakes.

For e.g, roughly I would like to quote one of our fellow SBF members recommending MSSC as one of our beloved brother has proper accreditation from the U.S bla bla bla....(Proud of u bro for attaining that). But from one of the pic i viewed on the mssc website; I saw a guy in red T-Shirt riding the enduro trail without elbow guards and my gosh his goggles are facing to the back of his full face helmet. Very easy to find fault right??? Shall i go further to probe or make a complaint......I don't think i want to and its not in my nature. Why are we making things ugly just because we have some special certification, or concern about safety or ways on how to teach this n that.....its just a waste of time.

We can be proud of being bold and let out how we felt but to much of it just makes us immature as well as mutating to a monster called "Jerk".

There are so many ways on how to solve this and I don't see anyone especially the experienced riders or those with credentials lending a hand to work together. Are we too proud or jealous...??

As for bro_isk, he has a noble cause in his hands which are being respected by many newbies as well experienced riders. his integrity and sincerety about conducting these learning trails are most welcome to anyone who has a clear mind.

As for those who has been giving all this comments and gossips, perhaps you guys would like to lessen your effort in pointing fingers and maybe drop by on one of his sessions to see for yourself and have the chance to talk to bro_isk personally with regards to your concerns. From my opinion, why not recommend to others where they can get certifications to teach rather than bragging about being the only one in Singapore which has it.

For all the riders out there....practice good riding skills, inculcate safety habits in you n enjoy all your rides, adventures and endeavours.

hi gambit09sniper,

if any1 needs the info on teaching sports - the info is available from SMSA or Singapore Sports Council. :thumb:

p.s. there is a upcoming enduro event on aug 16th. can i personally invite u(gambit09sniper & bro_isk) 2 take part in this event. i will settle yr event fees,than maybe u would noe y the goggles is being face backwards or y some more experience riders do not use elbows guards. and also see other safety preventive measures being used by the riders.

its juz like a trail ride only with timing dats all.

tru dis the finer points of riding will come out n i do hope u can n will post wat u have experience during the event. :thumb:

bro_isk, it saddens me to see how much flak you've drawn, just for trying to help newbies out.

as someone who has participated in your newbie sharing session, i would like to highlight that it was fun and safe... i would even say it was educational, but i fear that others may pounce on this word to say that you were teaching/coaching/training without proper certification. maybe it would be more accurate to say that i was able to achieve quite a lot because of the environment you helped establish, and the tips/experiences everyone shared.

don't be disheartened by all the negativity. you're doing a great job. keep it up!! (=

it's really simple.. Airtime is the only certificated dirt bike instructor in Singapore. He charges people money for riding class... bro isk comes in.. does it for free... of course airtime not happy lor...

simple logic mah.. why you all make it sound so complicated?

Passion : a strong or extravagant fondness, enthusiasm, or desire for anything.

maybe u should charge money also lor.. then people would kpkb so much.

Hi big bro airtime,

Don't pay registration for me and bro_isk only. Do it for all the riders be it newbie or experienced riders as it will help you indirectly to teach everyone the safety aspects, correct skills and also valuable experience. Everyone wants a piece of the pie bro. So what say U?? Is that possible to sponsor all?? (100% free entry for everyone).

If that is possible then perhaps you would like to publish this in the SBF as well as Slackriders forum. You surely gonna get a great response that's for sure. An investment on education for the community.

P.S : To be a good teacher is not how u teach but how your participants improve and feel by your sincere contriutions.

hi gambit09sniper,

well the offer is 2 u n bro_isk only. so u can put the skills u learn 2 use n see wat its really all abt rather than poping a wheelie on a grass patch. its a club event dat is open 2 all riders - mssc member or not!

but if u r not interested in taking up the offer,its fine!

i thank u very much 4 the comments u made.

(note wat its stated at the bottom of my post)

bro _isk can be a coach 2....since he has spoken with kied. who has the V.P of motorcycles in SMSA. he has all the details but if bro_isk don wanna do it....well ???

like i said the event is juz a trail but with timing only. so if that is flak...????

bro_isk is very much aware of why the changes were made as explained 2 him by kied.

Originally Posted by newcomer

mind if i ask if the riding clinics are payable?

it is FREE!

if u wan, just buy the man a kopi-o!!

the good old days...

http://seasonmaster.webs.com/

don bother replying! thanks 4 the fun guys! LOL

Edited by airtime

trail with timing = race

i don't see why bro isk has to go do your stupid race lor.. you can be the fastest rider out there with the smallest heart. Broisk got a much bigger heart then you if you wanna talk about the sport.

Oh well, at least FARTIME is gone..

airtime, been viewing this thread..bro_isk is a nice guy. hes teaching newbies mah.

wats wrong with that.its not as if he teach newbies the wrong thngs..its a hobby..

bro_isk loves to share knowledge..and he is doing that right now aint he. its just for leisure.

i think he get satisfaction from teaching newbies.so be it.u get satidfaction from winning races..so be it..y mus ask him to join the race?

well , u get all sorts of ppl in SBF , and u can never please the whole world. Thread title edited as per requested

Thanks bro. Thread title edited from Newbie Tutorial to Newbie Sharing Session due to a complaint made by someone to SMSA (Singapore Motor Sport Association) in a high level meeting held a few days ago.

The dog barks, the caravan moves...

Edited by bro_isk

I also remember when i was starting out riding.. so many different teachings in books and online.. but look at it this way... bro isk provides an avenue for newbies to try out dirrerent styles and find out for themselves what works out best for them.

also i provdes an enviroment where everyone is new... so no need to be shy, no shame in "just trying".. also maybe offering advice in improving..

anw if someone is really interested in riding.. i'm shure he/she would already have done research on riding techniques.. better to try it out in an enviroment where there are many ppl around to help if something goes wrong then alone and helpless..

to bro isk. keep it up... i;m sure all that have riden with U greatly appreciate what U r doing!!