Hi guys, i'm having this fuel consuming problem when i'm riding my spec3 on the road. I'm hitting only 17-18km/L before reserve. vtec rarely on and just change EO, plugs, oil filter at 9k now 11k only. Is it my accessories consuming my fuel too.?

This is what i have on my bike.

1 Plot SWAGE LINE Brake Hose ( Front & Rear )

2 TITAX High Performance Levers ( Clutch & Brake )

3 LED Signal Light ( Rear Light )

4 BMC Air Filter

5 Yoshimura TRI - OVAL Full System Titanium (Street Legal)

6 AFAM Sprocket

7 DID Gold X' Ring

8 Philips Crystal Vision Lightbulb

9 TAG Handle Bar & Clamp

10 TAG Handle Grip

11 Kenso Jetkit

12 Main Stand

13 Bagster Customize Tank Bra

14 Devil Shaped Hugger

15 Belly Pan ( Long Version )

16 GIVI Headcowl

17 Analog Volts Meter

18 Front & Rear Flower Disc Brake

19 Spark Plug Optimizer

20 Side Shroud

21 Crash Bar

22 Six Point Grounding Cable

Can anyone advice me. Thanks.

• Replies 22

not too sure but i think ur after market endcan and jets do increase the fuel consumption. and all the barang barang are extra weight.

just my 2 cents

did u check ur tyre pressure? or do u hard trottle everytime?

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

high air flow filter, full system with jetkit....... definitely will increase FC. u might wanna find some good tuner to tune it for better consumption, and not better performance. not sure if it is possible, but i think it shld be...

i dont think the accessories will increase FC though. but agree with gwzc, check your tyre pressure. i check mine every 2 weeks. n it does make a difference. its more sluggish when pressure is too low. always feel smoother after pumping air. n watch out for your throttle habit, and when u change gear..

how do you all pump your tyres at petrol kiosks ?? i have a hard time finding a good angle.. never pump big bikes before :( always blocked by brake disc... damn !

can leh... need to find the angle to insert the pump handle into the rim... dunno how to explain also. but had to be careful when pumping the rear wheel, got few times almost kanna my exhaust :)

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

found a way to do it ! lol but look so newbie ! anyway.. whats the pressure you all pump for both front and rear tyres ? on my tyres it says 280kpa for both.. also how do you all calculate the fuel consumption by litres/km ?

Without pillion 225front 250rear (Kpa)

with pillion 250front 290rear (kpa)

This is just guidelines only. I culculate by pumping full tank to the brim. Reset my trip meter,run around for a few days till i reach reserve,pump again and see how many liters i need to pump till i reach the brim again. Let say mileage is 320km and i pumped 15L so roughly about 21km/l. So any other methods?.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

wad bike u riding? i riding a spec1 250 front and 290 rear.

pump, take mileage, ride till reserve, pump again, take mileage again, then subtract the mileage difference, take the number and divide by the litres of petrol pumped. viola~ u get ur litres/km. although need to do this for few times to be accurate

that is the amt of posts u post

more is different

guyz if u have problem pumping air to ur tyres, can try caltex, they are using shorter air nozzle. i alway pump air at the caltex along upp serangoon road.

me too got problem pumping the tires with the long pump rod. still have not pump yet.

anyone can show with pics how to do it.

when you guys mentioned reserve, is there a fuel reserve valve? i can't find on my vtec2 like what other normal bike i rode before.

items 4,5,6,7,11,19 are the only major factors in FC.

in reality, MORE POWER = MORE FUEL.

all items listed are actually to give bike more power/bhp increase.

worn out chain and spockets can make your FC bad. properly tighten chains can save alot of fuel.

good riding habits like getting a good biting point, moving off slowly, etc, can actually save a bit of fuel.

doing a carb wash can improve your FC too, as your carb maybe dirty over time and air/fuel mixture is not consistent.

get real. there's not such thing as MORE POWER = BETTER FC.

play around with the jettings if you are very concern with the FC.

the others accessories, most prob if you removed them will lighten the whole bike and thus also improving FC.

me too got problem pumping the tires with the long pump rod. still have not pump yet.

anyone can show with pics how to do it.

when you guys mentioned reserve, is there a fuel reserve valve? i can't find on my vtec2 like what other normal bike i rode before.

VTEC models' fuel tank works as vaccum, there's no fuel c0ck to turn to reserve. when fuel is in reserve, the indicator will blink left and right.

VTEC tank had 3L reserved. total tank capacity is 18L.

how do you all pump your tyres at petrol kiosks ?? i have a hard time finding a good angle.. never pump big bikes before :( always blocked by brake disc... damn !

Bro..the best is u change to Bridgeport tyre valve..$60 per pair..Very the ez to pump one!;)

There is more to life than increasing it's speed:cool:

for wat sia 60 leh is oso not that cheap

Just my suggestion mah...bt frankly speaking, its rili good n worth buying..i had it for myself..:thumb:

Hi guys, i'm having this fuel consuming problem when i'm riding my spec3 on the road. I'm hitting only 17-18km/L before reserve. vtec rarely on and just change EO, plugs, oil filter at 9k now 11k only. Is it my accessories consuming my fuel too.?

This is what i have on my bike.

1 Plot SWAGE LINE Brake Hose ( Front & Rear )

2 TITAX High Performance Levers ( Clutch & Brake )

3 LED Signal Light ( Rear Light )

4 BMC Air Filter

5 Yoshimura TRI - OVAL Full System Titanium (Street Legal)

6 AFAM Sprocket

7 DID Gold X' Ring

8 Philips Crystal Vision Lightbulb

9 TAG Handle Bar & Clamp

10 TAG Handle Grip

11 Kenso Jetkit

12 Main Stand

13 Bagster Customize Tank Bra

14 Devil Shaped Hugger

15 Belly Pan ( Long Version )

16 GIVI Headcowl

17 Analog Volts Meter

18 Front & Rear Flower Disc Brake

19 Spark Plug Optimizer

20 Side Shroud

21 Crash Bar

22 Six Point Grounding Cable

Can anyone advice me. Thanks.

from wat i see tru ur accessories, i tink its ur kenso jet kit dat 'may' coz of it bro...

Just my suggestion mah...bt frankly speaking, its rili good n worth buying..i had it for myself..:thumb:

when change tyre that time go change the "L" shape bridge lo. unique got sell 5dollar each. 60 dollar is abit expensive to me. haha though they sell it as well. for racing!!!

bro just dont think of it ....

keep go ask around

than add save fuel magnet , power abuser

felt waste of $$ FC still e same ......

my spec 1 FC also 17-18 without opening vtec

change gear at 5krpm

guess is due to old bike + after market pipe + KNN air filter ??

ta200 2003-2007

cb400 spec1 2007-now